Kannu

Kannu Reviews

RATING:

4.81

(47)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.81

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Browse all Kannu Reviews

  • Have you used Kannu and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 47 reviews

User Profile

Ge

Verified reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

aesthetics matters; a thoughtfully designed and elegant LMS (at last)

Pros

Finally, a LMS whose interface was clearly designed by people who care about making full-featured systems, understand the importance of elegance, and grok the educational experience for teachers and students. Having long struggled with Coursework (tolerable) and Canvas (yikes), working with Kannu has been a breath of fresh air: 1) it doesn't feel like an endless hodge-podge of obligatory features checked off by some corporate committee, but a purposeful integration designed by educators; 2) the portfolio feature is simply excellent, particularly for courses with creative projects. Its presentation really elevates (rightfully) a sense of accomplishment and pride for the student as they go from project to project, and something they can later point to as part of a job application. LMS's are complex, and Kannu is no different (there is a learning curve). Yet Kannu is lightyears better than other LMS's I've used for one core reason: everything about it gives me the sense that it intensely cares about its quality of use, and by extension what my students and I can do with it.

Vicky

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

MDST project making use of Kannu

This is a multilingual digital storytelling project (https://goldsmithsmdst.wordpress.com) that works with multiple schools in the UK and overseas and has as its key partners the BFI, British Museum, Museum of London and NRCSE. We have used Kannu to set up a safe shared place for schools, their teachers and students. We have been using kannu with the teachers for just over a year and we have found where teachers make the time to engage with the platform, upload sessions and keep a clear ongoing record of their work that the platform facilitates this. We have carried out regular training sessions with teachers on the use of kannu and emphasising the importance of getting their students online and critiquing and commenting on other digital stories. However, we are still finding it hard to facilitate this. At the moment teachers are more focused on the work in preparing the students in creating their digital stories and they have not given as much time to getting their students logged on and critiquing the stories of others. They have tended to do this as a group activity in the classroom where the teacher selects a range of digital stories that the children respond to orally and in small groups. We are working across a large age range from 8 - 18 years old. We also wanted to set up an e-portfolio or reflective journal on the kannu site and this is not yet possible. We set up a survey that some of the students completed but again this was hard to implement across all the schools. We have found it a very good platform but some teachers have found it hard to navigate.

Pros

Easy to manage and develop.

Cons

Hard for teachers to navigate with their students.

Response from Kadenze

Hi Vicky! We actually added a portfolio feature early last year. If you head to your profile (hit your user icon in the top right), you can set up your Portfolio there. You can upload any media you like, and it'll all get stored in a personal library on the system so you can add/remove at will.

Replied February 2017

Alvalyn

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

December 2020

Kannu support needs improvement

I've taught online courses in design and drawing since 2007. I've experienced several different LMS as an instructor and a student. I have had the worst experience with Kannu, and the lack of responsiveness to cries for help is not acceptable. My overall experience was not easy, and I spent a LOT of time trouble-shooting. Right now, I'm attempting to download my courses and continue to receive error messages via email, and support tickets remain unanswered.

Pros

Having used other LMS platforms, Kannu didn't measure up. I didn't like much about it.

Cons

I want better instructor support. There's delayed or no response to support tickets/requests. There's no chat or ability to call and TALK WITH A HUMAN to resolve problems. Students had problems with uploading coursework. I had problems with posting comments, critiques, and grades.

Jay

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2016

The future of higher education, professional training, and online learning

Kadenze's Kannu is an incredibly flexible business model and versatile platform. We were looking for a solid tool to build our own portal for Real Industry's educational content and also white label the platform for prospective industry partners. Kadenze said 'no problem.' Did I mention that we're a small non-profit - not a Fortune 500 company or a major University? My students have found their courseware 'refreshing and pleasant to use.' The product design is clean and intuitive for both viewing and completing assignments. The dashboards for educators are simplified and user friendly - no user manual required to update, create assignments, view grades and performance analytics. I use this platform for teaching at top universities (Stanford, University of Michigan, NYU,...) but also have portals for running academic workshops, small group tutoring, and even corporate training!

Pros

Interface, support, and team behind the product

Cons

Analytics is present but isn't quite up to what you'd get from a Google Analytics type integration.

Natalie

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Awesome for teaching art and design

Support staff are very helpful when able to address tickets. The built in system guidance made a huge difference in helping new faculty learn to organize content online. Was able to develop a consistent relationship with the vendor because it is a small company.

Pros

The gallery module is perfect for online critiques. Makes such a difference for online art and design instruction. No other Learning Management System offers an elegant solution for this. I also appreciate how easy it is to populate my content with dates to control student visibility. I also appreciate the contemporary UI. Received a lot of focused attention and support.

Cons

Smaller company so there is not a lot of personnel on hand for support but this issue will improve as the company grows.

Michael

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2017

I have moved all my courses to the Kannu LMS, and for good reasons!

Pros

The Kannu LMS is a great tool for me and my students. From the creation of the course to the final student evaluations, this platform helps me to help my students. The process of setting up a course on Kannu makes me be thoughtful about what I want to the students to learn and how I plan on guiding then through that process. But the platform is flexible enough to add material that is unexpected, unplanned or even material discovered by my students. The ease of uploading reading material, linking to any all media types and promoting discovery through online discussions means I can have a plan but that we, myself and most importantly, my students, are not locked into trajectory that seemed right in September, but needed adjusting by October. The fact that I can copy a course from past semesters to upcoming semesters means that over time the resources grow and can be curated as fast as my course's subject matter evolves.

Cons

All Learning Management Systems have a learning curve, Kannu is no different. Luckily the curve is fast.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Very polished, friendly system

It helped me run my MOOC

Pros

The system is easy for students and instructors to navigate, and it has a very polished feel throughout. I've used Moodle and Blackboard in teaching, and they are much clunkier and less intuitive for students (not to mention they are very ugly out of the box, and it takes a talented internal tech team to make Moodle/blackboard look good).

Cons

It is not as customisable as Moodle/Blackboard. For instance, group submissions are not supported as far as I'm aware.

Gina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2016

Responsive Learning Management System Site and Staff

We've worked with Kannu for more than a year now and overall are pleased with the service and the versatility of the product. We looked at a lot of systems and most are outdated and don't work for visual learners (which is almost everyone). Kannu has an updated app like interface that is easy to use. There is a learning curve however and we would like more on-boarding videos for our students but I believe they will provide that as development continues. They regularly provide smart upgrades.

Pros

Beautiful interface. Friendly and user friendly design. Broad functionality.

Cons

There are features that we don't need and we would like to be able to turn off. That probably can be accomplished through development as they have a staff that works with you but we have not requested too much customization as the portal works for us well as is.

User Profile

Ciaran

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2018

2 years using Kannu

Support was quick and effective.

Pros

The site looked great, and was simple to use. Minimum additional instruction was needed when introducing users to the site - navigation was very obvious.

Cons

Video upload & processing could take quite a long time. When setting up repeats of a course, every element needed the dates manually changed and publishing.

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Kannu for Visual Arts Classes

our art and design department really likes how modular the system is and how many different options you can have with modifying the content

Pros

Great utility for having well documented digital and physical work. Easy to work with and very flexible in the way you can teach a class.

Cons

some calendar and time management systems could be broaden to improve the efficiency in which you can edit some data. i.e. maybe use a csv to do some of the date reorganizations faster

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Impressed with the contemporary design, easy navigation, and built-in instructional features.

It allowed us to grow our eLearning program.

Pros

It truly serves as a digital hub for the classroom. Not only is my own instructional content in the system, but students can upload a variety of coursework. There is auto-grading and auto-tracking so it easy for students to track their progress and for us to communicate with each other.

Cons

I would like to see a more robust ePortfolio system and more course analytics for administrators to pull out usage data.

Nilesh

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

Intuitive and elegant UI that encourage student engagement

Blended delivery of on-campus courses with Kannu helped reduce tutorial time. It is also helping to reduce the time spent on grading standardised assessments. We rolled out bite sized online courses that cater to a large segment of learners who could not come to our campus. This helped us make education accessible and affordable.

Pros

Course cards look very cool, modern and clean and is one of the most elegant course catalogue looks I've come across. Session and coursework building is simple, quick and efficient. Excellent communication features. We use the individual and group messages with students a lot. And students love to use these too since they have very familiar look and feel like popular social messaging apps. The Course Galley feature was our first step to encourage students to engage in peer assessment. The entire faculty team love the announcement feature, especially the ability to schedule any number of future announcements. We use them a lot to remind students to keep up with learning tasks, due dates, etc. All it takes is an hour at the beginning to the term to set up the entire messaging for the term (with planning of course!) Automatic grading of quizzes is a huge time saver, especially for classes with peak student numbers. We even run final exams in full automation by programming the start time, end time and fully automatic grading. In-video quizzes is simply awesome. Helps heaps to make videos into interactive learning tools with very simple quiz setup. This is a gem. And finally, the folks at Kadenze work with us (you) to solve challenges and to roll out features. Kadenze doesn't treat us like another client, we feel we are in a learning technology partnership, and that gives us the confidence to disrupt course delivery practices and effect change.

Cons

A faster server would be great (we can never get enough speed, can we?! :) ). Also, a deeper drill down of individual student engagement analytics would be awesome. We believe this is in the works. The App version of the Kannu is awaited. Though the mobile version of Kannu works/feels almost like an app, ability to send push notifications, etc. would be awesome. We would have loved to have the ability to lock/release individual sessions based on completion of the previous lesson in the sequence (and not just by time/date).

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2016

Ali Akbar College of Music Uses Kannu

This is the first time we have used a product to manage our online class webinars, and we are enjoying the simplicity of the final product that our students interact with. In the past, our interaction with our students was primarily through emails, and sorting through the emails to find lessons was cumbersome. We don't actually use many of the features Kannu offers, mostly because of the size of our organization, but what we do use has streamlined our webinar interactions with the students in a very beneficial way.

Pros

The setup was easy to understand because of the personal training session I received, and Kannu's customer service is amazing. When issues have arisen their response has been prompt and the follow through has been quick. They were responsive to the needs of our school and tailored a few sections the way we needed things to run. Honestly, what I like the most about Kannu is the end product. Our students are happy with it, and it has made the handling of our class webinars neat and efficient.

Cons

When we first started, back in February 2016, there were a few bugs in the system that needed to be worked out. However, Kannu has just launched, so I wasn't surprised by it. 7 months later, many positive changes have taken place and things have evened out for us.

Nancy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Kannu takes our grad program to a higher level >> easy to use, dynamic, visually collaborative.

Enormous benefits: collaborative platform with visually aesthetic appeal and fairly easy to set up and utilize.

Pros

Ease of use -- both for students and faculty. Kannu is aesthetically pleasing, streamlined, and built for collaboration >> all important things for a portfolio driven graduate program such as mine. The creators and administrators of this product are always trying to improve usability. They're innovators and have a collaborative approach to improvement. They listen and are incredibly responsive to the particular uses of our program. Their tech support is ON IT -- I cannot praise them more highly.

Cons

The site is sometimes "wonky" -- certain areas are more complicated than others to set up and once in a while issues you thought you resolved creep back up. However, support is highly responsive. They'll investigate immediately and fix your problems with a "can do" attitude.

Christoph

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

Kannu is awesome.

Kannu is streamlined, elegant, powerful and the perfect fit for any institution that wants to deliver high quality educational content through a safe and encrypted online learning platform. I use Kannu to manage my "One Minute Academy", whereby students from around the world learn to film and edit one minute videos (http://www.oneminuteacademy.org/) The "Kannu experience" starts with informative phone calls with Kadenze's welcoming staff; next they start the branding and on boarding process. The team is really looking out for every client's best interest. Once the platform is ready to roll, it only takes a couple quick clicks to upload video content, add/delete quizzes and format tests to create a superbly engaging experience for students. My single regret is that I only use a small portion of the many features that Kannu offers, but over time I know that I'll make a better effort to integrate all of their technology into our digital curriculum. I strongly encourage others to use Kannu without any hesitation whatsoever.

Pros

Streamlined, elegant, powerful, best LMS on the market. I'm a big fan of the video uploading capabilities and integration with AWS video encryption. The closed captioning functions are top.

Cons

Too powerful and robust, which isn't a bad thing, it's only daunting.

Amy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Clean and Clear!

Successfully created my first online course!

Pros

This LMS is lightning fast! I've lost many a student's attention due to slow load/response times. Click a button , jump from video to video and it starts almost immediately (less than 1 second). Navigation is clean and clear. This platform helped me to re-think and re-organize my course in a way that was decidedly better for my students without making me feel as though I had to conform to a norm, dumb down, or surrender any of the artistic nature of the course. The team that I worked with when developing and shooting the course was remarkably efficient and personable. It was the first time that I had ever shot video for a course and felt that I was in good hands.

Cons

The little IVQ indicators in the videos seemed to disappear on me once but was fine after refreshing the browser.

Carl

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Kannu is elegant, flexible and time-saving

saved hundreds of hours of time.

Pros

Kannu helps us manage student submissions and communicate with my team. Having everything related to my course in one environment is key. Kannu interface is clean and beautiful (nothing more hypocritical than teaching design using an ugly and tedious LMS). Finally, Kannu support is the bomb.

Cons

Its improving constantly, which is great. And this comes with the territory of a web software that grows with technology, but it is something to be aware of: as a user, I need to be on top of new developments.

Brian

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY