All McGraw-Hill Connect Reviews

1-25 of 171 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jessica

Education Management, 51 - 200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed February 2022

High-Quality Products with Disappointing Tech & Customer Service

User Profile

Tamika

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

A Great Learning Resource!

I usage both McGraw Hill's textbooks and e-learning materials in teaching Developmental English. McGraw Hill's books are an invaluable resource that is a staple in my learning tools.

PROS

I like the ease of usage, instructional practices, and the overall comprehension that McGraw Hill's textbooks and e-learning books benefit both students as well as instructors.

CONS

The results I receive from my students are clear indicators that this software works as their test results reflect such. Therefore, I cannot find any negatives to associate with usage of this product.

User Profile

La'Toya

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Connecting with McGraw-Hill Connect

Overall I love the software. Our K-6 ELA teachers use it daily in the classroom as their main ELA resource. The students love that they can log in and complete assignements assigned to them by their teacher.

PROS

I love that McGraw-Hill Connect made it easy for teachers to add the product license themselves for the teacher book and the student book. Teachers are also able to setup their own account.

CONS

i can say the only thing I don’t like about McGraw-Hill Connect software is the process for uploading students into the program. You have to use a excel template to type certain login credentials for each student. This process is okay on the front in of setting up your student accounts but we get several new students a month and it would be easier to just type those few students information directly into the program instead of completing the excel template and then waiting for it to upload.

Trevor

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2023

Terrible product and service

Incredibly frustrating and time-consuming. This service was not made for someone with a full-time job.

PROS

There are no pros. This is a bad service and I feel sorry for any student forced to use this service.

CONS

You have to purchase the material, and then pay a download fee to actually receive your material. McGraw Hill Connect states they have made it easier to learn....all they did was copy the questions so a user has to answer them twice. Terrible customer service that offers no resolutions. I feel that this is an incredibly lazy service for a university to use. Outsourcing work to a third party that truly does not care about educating the students forced to use this service.

User Profile

Sasha

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

McGraw-Hill

Overall, it was good and I would recommend it to others.

PROS

I liked how there were many electronic copy resources online. Being a special education teacher, we don't always get access to the general ed curriculum but are still expected to assist students with the general education materials. This allows us to have access to the curriculum.

CONS

It takes a lot of time to figure out how to use/access materials. There are a lot of resources and it would be easier if it were organized differently. I had a difficult time finding the interventions in the beginning.

User Profile

Adelyn

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Used for a biology class, generally good results

PROS

I used this software for a biology class and it was connected to the textbook that I was using. I really liked that because then it made sure that what I was reading was directly helping me apply the concepts to the homework assignments. It was also easy to navigate and didn't crash at all, which was a relief because academic work can have so much pressure, despite the unforgiving technological difficulties. There were also tools to help you figure out where you could find some certain information in the text, hints, etc, and by giving me more than one attempt as well as the resources I needed to get the question right, I had much higher rates of success and of retaining the information.

CONS

I felt like at times the voiceover in the beginning could be very redundant and unhelpful (borderline annoying) because the software is so self-explanatory.

Emma

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Expensive and Keeping Students from paying bills

I hate McGraw-Hill. They are greedy, and their site needs some major updates. Would not use it for your school.

PROS

Nothing. Why does higher ed book producers feel the need to capitalize on others? Because they don't care about those using their materials.

CONS

Everything. It is outragously expensive and you only get the product for a year at a time. After the year runs out you have to repurchase.

User Profile

Louisa

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

McGraw-Hill Connect makes keeping track of homework and learning for my college courses a breeze!

I have loved using McGraw-Hill Connect as a college student, and always appreciate when my professors make use of this intuitive, seamless platform!

PROS

What I personally enjoy about using McGraw-Hill Connect as a college student is the platform's ability to put all of my key components for a course all in one place, allowing me to access eBooks, homework, assignments, and other items with ease. The sleek and simple design is extremely easy to navigate and ensures I do not waste time trying to pull together all my supplies for a certain course.

CONS

What I like least about McGraw-Hill Connect is the platform's inability to allow students to easily and intuitively connect with one another.

User Profile

Daisy

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

McGraw-Hill Review

Overall, different curricula is accessible through McGraw-Hill and allows teacher to access all the manipulatives that come with it.

PROS

I appreciate that on the McGraw Hill app, teachers are able to see all the different curricula on the website or app.

CONS

I wish that the curricula were scripted more. This would be beneficial for teachers that are beginning their career or implementing a new curriculum.

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Good Textbook for Survey Course

Good experience overall. Customer service very helpful when needed.

PROS

Its a textbook, so it will only serve so many purposes in the modern classroom. The map resources are really helpful and the lesson topics are diverse and interesting. Assessments and projects lack depth, but a strong teacher should be able to implement textbook where necessary.

CONS

As noted, project ideas and assessments are weak. There are some decent ideas for project based learning, but the educator will have to modify for specific needs. Good

Tasneem

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Wide range of learning tools under one platform

PROS

1. Simple McGraw-Hill login and access. 2. A step-by-step navigation guide. 3. It is user friendly. 4. It has a personalized approach to building sessions and topics from various learning resources. 5. Making student assignments simple. 6. Day to day follow-up and tracking of student activities. 7. Supervising the slow learners is made easy. 8. Interactive Virtual labs are an attraction. 9. Excellent e-learning tool for students. 10. Assessment questions can be generated automatically based on topics selected and can be imported easily. 11. Instant technical support.

CONS

1. It's pricey. 2. Requires internet connection.

Anna

Higher Education, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The New Way of Learning

Overall, this product is a great learning tool. It is also more affordable if you do the E-book option with the assignments instead of buying the college textbook and the assignments. You can highlight and take notes on the E-book too. I don't like carry a bunch of heavy books so I always preferred the E-books. The learning tools are great to build your knowledge on the material.

PROS

When I first started college years ago before I took time off I really struggled with school and learning. During my last few years of college teaching and learning had changed. My college started implementing Connect with various classes like Accounting, Statistics, Math, Business classes. I am sure there are others but I was in the Business program. With connect you can have homework assignments, online E-book, quizzes, tests to be completed on there. They have study materials like flashcards and practice problems to build your skills. My grades improved tremendously with this supplemental instruction.

CONS

The only cons for me was navigating the site. It can be tricky at first but once you utilize the program enough then you get the hang of it. Also the reading assignment sometimes froze on me, but that could be because I was at school using their WiFi and that can be spotty depending on how many students are on it at the same time.

Joshua

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

Frustrating experience

The experience has been frustrating. McGraw hill's UI and UX is much to be desired. It has led to unnecessary prolonged study sessions and a test of patience for a student that is trying hard to understand the material. I am a student that would like to not have to understand the education platform as well.

PROS

McGraw-Hill is aspiring to create an online ecosystem in which a student (such as myself) can learn on a PC/Phone/tablet. That is really cool, and I'm glad I can take my homework with me on my phone, makes it easy to connect and get to work.

CONS

The overall feel and experience of using McGraw Hill connects platform is akin to a prison yard. The online book will not let me copy text or use external reading functionality. This prevents me from googling difficult topics or taking notes for my exam with ease. The smartlearn platform is nit picky and incorrect in it's time assessments. An assignment that should take an hour ends up taking 4 because of repeat questions and a failure to move forward. The book we are using has yielded multiple mistakes which makes me (the user) second guess if I have the correct answer or if the book is wrong. I think McGraw Hill is trying hard to keep it's users from propagating the educational material it hosts, which I understand. But I would like to say it does it at the expense of a grad students sanity and patience. Please focus on the UX and UI, because right now it is unenjoyable.

Hannah

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Decent tool for class assignments/management

McGraw-Hill Connect is very good for business classes and classes that use numerical data, but not so much for foreign language classes.

PROS

I used this when I was taking business classes. The format of how the homework questions are laid out in most classes is easy to follow. I also love how you can get hints or you can click the "book" link and it will take you right to the section of the book that the question pertains to.

CONS

The language courses on Connect are not very well-formatted. They will not give you any points if you make a typo which doesn't seem like a very good system. Also, it costs a lot of money, at $110+ per course (which lasts about 4-6 months).

Dawn

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

MyMath

I have used the MyMath program for close to ten years. I would like to see more review embedded. I do not like the way they have multiplication in 3rd grade crammed into 4-5 chapters and not really spread out as it needs to be for mastery.

PROS

I like that students and I both have digital access to the text. In addition we have access to games and homework sheets.

CONS

The assessment software is very cumbersome. It is not user friendly. I have tried on several occasions to create test and it is not worth the time I put into it. It has potential to be powerful, but just not well executed.

Reasons for switching to McGraw-Hill Connect

District adoption of new math series

anitha

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

McGraw-Hill for online teaching

so far I had good experience, highly recommend for online homework and quizzes especially if you are teaching a larger classes.

PROS

I like their presentations and assignments, it is very easy to design a quiz and exams using this software. Straight forward to use, it is very helpful to my students and their performance in exams have improved after using McCraw-Hill

CONS

software is definitely helpful for students, however the price is little expensive, students often complain about it.

Andrea

E-Learning, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2022

The worst software I have ever attempted to use

The worst experience with online learning I have ever been forced to endure. This product fails at every level - especially when held up to other main stream options. Horrible, Terrible, No GOOD- Worst product

PROS

I am in my 6th semester of online learning. I have used everything under the sun. This is the worst platform in terms of functionality, accessibility, cost, ease of navigation, speed and buffering, seriously you name it...literally every relevant aspect of the user experience- are ALLL SUBPAR.

CONS

I didn't like a single thing about it. It was horrible, I cringe at the thought of giving you scum bags my money. You are not worth my time or effort-

Reasons for switching to McGraw-Hill Connect

My class required it

Gabrielle

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Connect

Overall, I like it. It can be a bit expensive, but no more so than a textbook, and it can be used for more than one course (if they use the same textbook).

PROS

I love using connect for my classes. The Smartbook feature gives a great introduction to the chapter, and the software allows for a seamless transition between the book and the assignment.

CONS

Sometimes, if the settings aren't exactly right, the professors have trouble understanding what the students can and can't see on their end, so there is a bit of a disconnect there.

Savannah

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Resourceful

PROS

Great sources for more student interactions

CONS

So many options to choose from overwhelming at times

Wendy

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Good supplement for students.

PROS

As an educator it does a good job of being user-friendly and easy to understand for students to navigate. Students can access practice tests, interactive and assignments. I really like having a digital copy of each textbook available. I use it to supplement my curriculum.

CONS

There are times where Connect has technical issues. It does not have an integrated LMS service which would enhance its appeal for teachers. Sometimes the info is not as current as I would like.

Myriam

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

A good tool that is still a work in progress

The software is useful for review learning and for short weekly practice quizzes. Customer service has been excellent, prompt and knowledgeable.

PROS

The adaptive learning aspect works well. It helped many students learning the content and pass the class with a good grade (B+-A). Once the instructor becomes familiar with all the functionalities, it is a valuable analysis tool.

CONS

The use of the software is not intuitive. Many extra steps are required to perform simple tasks such as copying courses from one quarter to the next. The date and time tool does not work consistently. Integration and synchronization with the learning management system can be erratic leading to panicked emails from students. There is no way to enroll as a student. Student preview is not enough to troubleshoot students' problems.

Isaac

Business Supplies and Equipment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE