User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(53)

53

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The interface is great and it is applicable with a wide range of courses offered"

  • "It is easy to access and navigate to and within from anywhere. This makes taking classes online enjoyable and a valuable."

  • "Very friendly user interface. It makes online learning possible. The ability to download lectures for offline is very useful."

  • Cons

  • "The only disadvantage is that some activities, such as the so-called "word cloud" can not be executed within the same app (from an iPhone), but all the rest of them work without problems."

  • "Almost all the courses on offer are not free. That is a major challenge. The cost of getting certified sometimes can be quite exorbitant. All in all, though, it is really nice"

  • "The course dashboard is a bit messy and needs some modifications but this doesn't mean that it not easy to use."

Browse Open edX Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 67 results

January 2018

Cesar A from Gobierno del Distrito Capital

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

The best MOOC site in the web

With EDX I learn a lot about project management, economy and sustainable development. The courses offers had show me how are working some organization to have a better world, using alternative energies and saving a lot of money and resources with it, besides the project management courses had help to organize my own schedule and to begin a new business.

Pros

EDX offers a big range of courses and specializations to improve your knowledge or your academy grade, the quantity of courses offers by EDX are virtually endless and the emcompass a big amount of fields like: project management, development, economy, history, grammar, languages, economy, geography, and so many other that can be so useful for students, academics or general public to learn about an specific topi. EDX offer certificates to check the grade of the course or courses that you do, with this certificate you can improve your resume and demonstrate to the people all that you have learn, even in digital ways this can be possible, because the certificate bring a link to check their authenticated.

Cons

Since a couple of years EDX does not offer so many free certificates, and this can be a big limation for peoples who has not the money to pay. I think that EDX must offer the opportinity to have in every course that they offer a free certified, this can be a great opportunity for people of poors contries to improve their knowledge and abilities and to show it to the others.

December 2018

Tohibullah from Gen-Ct Support

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Storehouse of knowledge through online courses from the best faculties and mentors

Preferred online destination to learn from the best faculties and mentors.

Pros

Their courses cover almost all the fields starting from languages to technology, religion to crafts. They are one of the best online education service providers giving an option to audit most of their courses for free. The other option is to pursue a verified certificate by paying a fee. It is a win-win for all. Those who are affluent, paying a fee can be like paying a donation! The other advantage of going for a paid certificate is the motivation to learn when you get something by paying your hard earned income instead of free. Not to say, the recognition of a paid certificate by edx also makes your CV/profile appear more professional.

Cons

Despite all the hypes towards video, I still prefer learning the traditional way in a book format, which can be ebook (pdf) in today's digital age. I find their way of organizing learning materials confusing and rather obstructing.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Practical LMS especially for higher education curriculum seeking ways for innovation

It is used as a support LMS in our university integrated with Moodle and it provides a wide range of courses for Writing and Speaking Centers including the library.

Pros

The interface is great and it is applicable with a wide range of courses offered

Cons

certificate is the hardest part to get unlike the ease of the courses

Reasons for Choosing Open edX

Course variety

November 2019

Corine from Infinite Promotions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

A Great Place for Learning

Overall I would say that I have had a positive experience with OpenEdX. I think it is a great idea and really gives people opportunities for learning that they would not have been able to have elsewhere. However, I think some of their courses are a little bit costly.

Pros

I have mostly just use the "edX" part of OpenEdX. I think that it is a really awesome way to learn things that you wanted to learn, but just learning it online without having to get up and go to a real classroom. I think it is also great that it gives people the chance to learn from Ivy League universities for free when normally they would not have had the chance to do so.

Cons

What I least like about this software is that many of the edX courses are not free. I think there is a good amount that is free, but some of the more useful courses are not and they can sometimes be quite expensive. I don't necessarily think they are worth the money when there are other places like Coursera to find something similar for free.

August 2019

Khalil from Events Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

its's good when you have the commitment

in general, I'm thankful that there are some people who are really nice to provide free education for others for free and it's always good to learn and continue learning

Pros

I like that it provides me with almost any field of study I'm looking for and it happens to get educated from really smart people sometimes for free

Cons

I would prefer if there was a way to make animation lectures which means the professor writes the contents and there will be animations who explains it. I feel sometimes animations can remove the boring feeling of me.

February 2018

Victor from Ministerio Poder Popular para Hbitat y Vivienda

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Edx thousands of courses for all people, the knowledge available to everyone

EdX is a platform that allows you to access endless sources of knowledge and experience. the access to this knowledge is made through tools designed by the best universities in the world and with the different levels of access, it is presented as a great opportunity for all people

Pros

The platform gives you an extraordinary search engine that fits the requirements of all. thousands of universities offer tested and guaranteed courses to acquire knowledge in any area you want, from robotics, languages, culture, history, project management, smart cities, big data, are a sample of what you can get in EdX. You handle learning process at your own pace, with the option of personalized or general certificates. EdX is an excellent option for self-taught knowledgeable people, allows advance in areas of knowledge through the development of courses designed as programs. offer courses in multiple languages and even the techniques to learn these languages The management of time in the courses is well defined, this allows users to organize their agendas and can participate in several courses simultaneously. the knowledge programs are carried out through timelines. the level of difficulty, hours of dedication and connection with other courses are indicated in each course

Cons

The time the certificates are sent depends on the university responsible for the course and it may take a few months for them to be sent to you.

May 2019

Leong from Ga Tech

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great platform for educator

Pros

Very friendly user interface. It makes online learning possible. The ability to download lectures for offline is very useful.

Cons

There is still bugs and issue when dealing with proctoring exam.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

EdX Free Course on Nutrition and Health

I learned a great amount about Nutrition and Health (the course that I was enrolled in) but it was hard for me to follow through with the lessons without a constant reminder to take them.

Pros

The program is accessible and free. The lectures are short, making it easy to take classes with a busy schedule. They offer SO many courses in various areas of study.

Cons

Even though lectures are short it is hard to keep up with the courses/lectures without a consistent reminder to take the classes.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Learning never stops

I love using edX (which is based on open edX) to learn new skills everyday :D

Pros

It provides education right from the best minds in the world. It makes accessible knowledge right from prestigious institutions like MIT and Stanford. I really like how you can learn anytime, anywhere!

Cons

Nothing. The concept is great, and the platform enhances the experience all the more. It helps increase your wealth of knowledge

June 2019

Martha from The Childrens practice

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Exceptional app

Overall, through Edx, I have learnt a lot about project management, I also have basic knowledge of Spanish and I did few courses in history.

Pros

Edx is one of the few platforms with a wide range of courses in almost any topic from different high-priced reputable universities in the world which offers several courses all for free.

Cons

The certificates aren't free, they come with a fee which is little though, compared to the ocean of knowledge you would be getting out of it.

January 2019

Carol from ashworth college

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best LMS interface...

Awesome! I love this platform. The experience is enriching and dynamic.

Pros

Awesome features... I use less dynamic LMS platforms and this one is one of the most engaging. It feels like a real classroom; students can engage in real time as long as they follow syllabi. If you fall behind you can reset your dates and your grades are rolled over from the previous date. I've used the live video conferencing feature which adds to real-life interaction. The discussion boards and forums are aesthetically pleasing. You can download the app and the features are equally good. You can audit the course.

Cons

You have to pay for credit, though it is not expensive.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

An Online Learning Platform above the Rest

It has helped improve me both individually and professionally. I have taken a few personal growth courses on the OpenEdx platform as well as some necessary professional proficiency courses on the platform. It is really brilliant

Pros

OpenEdx offers a vast array of courses, relevant for individual, team and company growth. The OpenEdx LMS is really flexible and fun to use. It offers a collaborative environment for tutors and learners to interact. Although virtual, the collaborativeness of it makes it appear more physical than not. It is really nice

Cons

Almost all the courses on offer are not free. That is a major challenge. The cost of getting certified sometimes can be quite exorbitant. All in all, though, it is really nice

February 2018

Jonathan from Aloglobal Technologies

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

It is an excellent platform, with material of high academic content, very updated with the latest tr

I have done several courses that are on the platform, which have given a value in my career, I have applied several study techniques that have increased my learning ability.

Pros

What I like most is that you can do the courses as a completely free auditor, this is supported by many universities, you have many videos that make the courses easier and they are in several languages.

Cons

I would like the evaluations to be more interactive with videos and dynamic exercises, that in the courses have laboratories totake virtual practices.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

The go to platform for free and quality online courses.

Pros

It's almost the only platform that offers a huge amount of courses in all sorts of fields and topics and for FREE !! It doesn't just have a gigantic library of courses in almost every topic you can think of but also a lot of these courses are from reputable universities and institutions like MIT, Harvard, NYU .. etc. You'll also find multiple courses on important topics like English writting or programming so that you can choose the course you prefer according to the duration, the provider, the content and many other variances.

Cons

It doesn't offer certificates for free you must pay for the courses to have the certificate. A lot of courses have a really high price but compared to other platforms it can be affordable especially that other platforms rarely give you the opportunity to have the course for free even without the certificate.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

LMS for masses

Pros

- open-sourced. you're not bound by any license fees, so you can deliver to unlimited number of students - easy to customize. the quality is high, so it's easy adding new features in order to innovate - feature-rich (it has everything you would expect from modern LMS) - modern UI, mobile-ready

Cons

- initial installation requires some experience - analytics is not a part of the initial package and requires additional installation

September 2018

Ann M. from BVK

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easiest way to take online classes

I have taken both for credit classes and non credit classes online with OpenEdX. In every case, the experience was enjoyable (even when the subject matter wasn't or was challenging). As noted, take the time up front to get familiar with the application including the various formats of support materials and where to navigate to. I don't hesitate to take a class online with OpenEdX because I know the access and navigation will not be stressful. I have found other education platforms via local universities to be much more challenging and require more support. Thank you for having such a nice way to further my education

Pros

It is easy to access and navigate to and within from anywhere. This makes taking classes online enjoyable and a valuable.

Cons

Each class can be set up a bit differently, so when you start a class you do need to take the time to get acquainted with the class, files, and support formats including video and audio

September 2018

pratibha from AIESEC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Excellent software for open source learning

Overall, the software is the best for open learning with flexible pricing options. It is easily accessible to all and has learning options for all the subjects and technology.

Pros

EdX is one the best software for learning anything and everything in the most convenient, simple and accessible way. There are various courses available in all the fields known, which cater to the needs of modern education as a whole. The video lectures are clear and have subtitles along in different languages which make it accessible to all. There are various features like drag and drop, enrolling in various courses at the same time and also pricing and certification options as per the students needs.

Cons

There are some self paced course which have different soft wares used to which links are not easily available and hence there should be proper guidance for this. Personalized chat sessions with the mentor should also be available,making the interaction easier.

July 2018

Karamveer from Kaivalya Education Foundation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

I am learning from edx since last 5 years and i have wonderful experience of using it.

I have learnt from various courses from foreign universities. Wonderful and very informative content.

Pros

1. We can explore new courses as per need 2. We can add subtitle of videos 3. It's very easy to use on web

Cons

1. Edx app 's user interface can be modified to make user experience better. 2. It can be multilingual (Hindi,Gujarati etc.) 3. Offline access of content can be added in app 4. Can add option to share the course

December 2018

Debjit from Alpana Web Solutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

One of the best LMS system currently available.

I love the simplicity for teachers and learners. It is so much better then it's other alternative that I am surprised how well edx performs with only 512mb of ram.

Pros

OpenEdX is the one of the best system that currently available on the market. I love because it is free of charge and supported by an active community . There are thousands of user who is using its online web service which shows what OpenEdX is capable of doing. Using it is far more easy as it have every deployment option available. Just donload the ISO and run it and it is that easy to start. The bothe LMS and studio is user friendly as I have already used them at their web version and it is simple. I am just blown away that thousand of cources and millions of people are taking those courses using this platform. The opensource nature helps this to get update and pathces as they occors. I have seen less bugs for this perticuler software as it is just so smooth.

Cons

The only time when I strarted in live VPS enviornment and install it using git it cant install all the dependencys and I have to install it from VM image.

February 2018

Raquel from Gobierno del Distrito Capital - Corporacin de Servicios

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Courses online for professionals of all ages

The opportunity to studying and learning a lot about new tendencies in the administration market and in the data analysis world.

Pros

It is awesome have the opportunity to continue learning after of years of leave the college, EDX offers courses of so many features but my favorites are the ones related to administration, organization and data analysis, there are so many tools in the market like R Programming, Python, Advanced Excel and so many others of which EDX offers courses for professionals. The content of the courses is awesome always updated and the videos helps a lot to understand these new tools and tendencies in the administration and data analysis world.

Cons

All the courses has a certified but unfortunately all that I choose are for pay, so I still did not have the opportunity to access to a certified to check my knowledge and add to my curriculum. I think that they must offer free certificates for people of some countries, like all the countries of Latin America.

February 2019

Bruce from EGI Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

The best hosted training solution - if you're into that.

We have had good experience both developing the service as well as building content for it. Our learners are extremely happy.

Pros

OpenEdX is the most feature-complete on-prem teaching and learning solution. It takes a different approach to developing curricula and materials, using the X-blocks system. The feature list of OpenEdX is impressive by itself, but the xblocks system of incorporating relevant material makes OpenEdX the best choice.

Cons

The one thing we wanted from OpenEdX that it couldn't provide was integration with the discourse discussion platform. Instead an internal discussion / peer help system is used, which is of lower quality than Discourse.

February 2018

ALEXANDRA DANIELA from Consejo Federal de Gobierno

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

A great option to improve your knowledge

It was awesome for me learn for free about data analysis with Excel and R software, the tutorials videos, the text, all the interaction with other user was an amazing and very grateful experience for me, I absolutely reccomend EDX for courses to everyone.

Pros

EDX it is plataform that offers a lot of courses for professionals and people who wants to improve their knowledge in some specific topics like technology, marketing, data anylisis, history, languages, development, nature, and so many other topics. In my case as a Geographer I like to take course about data analysis because I can learn about the new tendencies in the data analysis and start using new tools like R programming, this tools combine with GIS are an amazing tool to analyze spatyal data and understand some patters of human behavior using socioeconomic information.

Cons

When I start using EDX I did not notice that most of the certificates are for pay, so I start and finish a couple of course and at the end they send me a mail telling me that I have to pay for the certified and unfortunately I have not money to pay for it, and that is a problem because I did not prove to anyone that I pass a course in this plataform, I think they must offer free certificates for people of some countries.

April 2018

Mayra A from Colegio Santa Mnica

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Platform of online courses, I like it a lot because there are courses in several areas for free and

It is the best option to do online courses, the platform is very good and there are a lot of courses available in different areas.

Pros

It offers a large number of courses. I can take courses of practically any kind I want, it can be technology, philosophy, geography, environment, development and any. The teachers are very good and the platform is excellent. The most important thing is that it allows access to content for free and in some cases in Spanish.

Cons

The page is excellent offers courses that can be done for free so I have nothing bad to say about it, the only thing is that certifications are very expensive. But I can instruct and learn, in the case of needing some certification because I will simply make the sacrifice to buy it.

June 2018

Anton from Microelectronics Center ITB

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Self hosted version from popular learning center edX

Pros

Same feature as online edX, great interface, easy to use for user. easy to manage for administrator. Easy to clone from edx's github repository

Cons

It a bit difficult for users, need special software and hardware requirements. Installation itself is very difficult too. Need to trial and errors.

February 2018

Jhon from MPPEE

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

knowledge with high academic level online

Pros

An excellent site, to find support material with good academic level, to start in the study and knowledge of a topic of interest or novelty, either through courses or specializations in different topics, such as: languages, social sciences and other technologies. Additionally, we can interact through the community, sharing knowledge of our interest. Finally, certification is a great added value for our work synthesis.

Cons

Very low the offer of free certifications, I think you miss a great opportunity to create a larger user base by allowing to have some courses that can be certified for free.

June 2018

Daniel from Unikemia

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

The best LMS for open courses or MOOC

The best thing is that the app has total synchronization with the web version, so I can continue my courses from anywhere, both on my computer, and on my mobile device. The videos and tests load very fast in the mobile version and with such responsive design.

Pros

Its ease of use is impressive, from the beginning you can know the entire structure of the course and its learning resources. As a student, the application is very intuitive, and it records all my progress.

Cons

The only disadvantage is that some activities, such as the so-called "word cloud" can not be executed within the same app (from an iPhone), but all the rest of them work without problems.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Always learning new things

Pros

edX is a great tool to hone skills. I generally use it to learn programming features, how data structures are implemented in various programming languages, and how to wrangle and analyze data. The courses are self-paced and free; however, for a small fee a certificate is attainable. I have learned to write my own Python scripts and perform data analysis. It has a user friendly interface and the courses are from top universities. Overall a great tool if you are always trying to learn new tools.

Cons

Nothing to dislike. Please keep these great courses coming!

February 2018

Maria from Fondo de Compensacin Interterritorial

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Courses of anything you want direct in your computer

Great option to do courses in the internet the offer is high and the content is extraordinary.

Pros

EDX is awesome portal to do courses of anything you want, with this plataform I can do courses about programming in Python, R programming, Data Visualizing and so more, all this only enroll me and enjoying from all the materials, specially videos that are perfect because they explain the theory and practice in a great way, all the materials are updated and the professors are high qualify.

Cons

Most of the courses do not offer free certificates, so you have to pay for it if you want to get want, I think that they put an option to get free certificates basic on your grade or in some tasks of the courses that you are doing.

March 2019

Hassan from University

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Learning Teaching Sharing

I have earned a certificate in psychology program from Queensland university Australia.

Pros

Its free app.Choose to earn a certificate.You can enroll in any course of any university for free.Teach the world on your own by preparing whole course.Manage your enrolled courses within the app. Reminder to notify ending course time.

Cons

The app doesn't work smoothly. Wait a lot to download and play video

February 2018

Augusto from Libreria del Sur

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

The best option for a MOOC

Whit EDX I have learn a lot about Project Managment and the new theories about development an sustainability, and I have the change to improve my knowledge of English and another languages like French.

Pros

EDX it is the best option for people who wants to improve their knowledge or just learning about a new topic, the offer of courses of EDX is huge, you can choose MOOC to learn about enviroment, a language, project management, and so many other issues of your interest. They offer certificates to validate your learning of every course.

Cons

The main limitation of EDX is that the most of courses do not offer a free certified, so you have to pay for it, this is a great limitation for people who cannot afford to pay for it.

August 2018

Sanket from IIITB

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Very good Learning Platform

It was fantastic. I learned python on very basic level but intuitive approach in teaching made me understand stuffs easily. Topic-wise quiz helped me to stay attentive while video is running as well as cleared my doubts. Provided IDE for some small programs also helped me to gain more actual programming knowledge of Python. I think the approach of teaching something is very nice.

Pros

1) User friendly in case of UI, functionalities. 2) Unique from all, the video running has transcript that is flowing sidewise which makes user experience very nice as sometime student cant read between lines. 3) Quiz structure is very nice as well.

Cons

1) Try to provide more advanced courses in case of ML, languages, DevOps and other web development stuff for free or minimal cost.

January 2018

Sandeep from Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Simple and easy to understand.

- All MOOC features - Easily scalable and modularised deployment - License free, open source so can be customised to tailored needs

Pros

- User interfaces are intuitive, simple and easy to understand. - Course searching and enrolment is pretty easy - Can have assignments and proctured exams - Badges, Certifications

Cons

- Course authoring needs to be opened for user access at least for public forums. - Course authoring can have more inbuilt modules, but yes platform is extensible and community is quite wide

November 2018

Abhishek Singh from Ecosmob Technologies Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Best platform to host online courses.

OpenEdX has evolved itself for the years and now it comes with an awesome mobile app too. The green ticks after the lession completion give positive feel.

Pros

I like OpenEdX most because it is an open source.

Cons

Though we get the quick help from OpenEdX community, I would say there are no any cons.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

The best MOOC courses out there.

Pros

It has a huge library of courses in nearly all fields of life and what makes it better and better is that they are from reputable universities like MIT , Harvard , Galileo .. etc.

Cons

The course dashboard is a bit messy and needs some modifications but this doesn't mean that it not easy to use.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Degree doesn't matter any more as there is OpenEdX.

Pros

There is a huge library of courses in almost every life aspect and they are not just courses, they are from reputable universities like harvard, MIT and stanford.

Cons

I can't find any thing bad about OpenEdX except for the user interface which needs to be adjusted more to be user-friendly.

March 2018

Rhonda from CHI AuPair USA

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

My favorite learning tool

Pros

Love the online learning portal! Love the ease of use! Love the classes! Love the administration and the design of the software!

Cons

I have nothing Bad to say about this app. It's amazing and brings learning to life any time and anyplace.

June 2018

Cristian Camilo from University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I used this platform to take a course of introduction to device programming

Organized, usable interface, honest and clear, quality material

Pros

Organized everything is explained and described very clear and concise, about course information and the material is easy to explore Usable interface, find anything is not difficult and don't spend long time Honest and clear, everything about prices and certifies are clear from the start of the course Material, the material has very good quality and content

Cons

Cost, Some courses are so expensive and impossible for some students take it Sometimes the courses are available for epochs

March 2018

Licex from Gobierno del Distrito Capital

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

The best MOOC plataform on the web

Perfect option for make MOOC on the web.

Pros

The amount of courses is huge and variety is enormous I can do courses of anything I want, it can be of technology, philosophy, geography, enviromental, development and anything you think. The materials and the level of the professors it is very high and the institution that offers the course has international recognition.

Cons

I have nothing bad to say about it, because EDX has everything that I need to improve my knowledge in very aspects. The only bad thing is that verfiied certificates are very expensive.

September 2018

Ejiro from Super Slum Creative Studioz

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Learning outside the confines of the Classrom

Its a really amazing MOOC and the best part, many courses are free. Looking forward to more developments from them

Pros

You can do as many courses as you want. Plus after the trainings, you get a free certification (depending on the course) All courses come in bite sized easy to learn videos and there's a massive support group with other course mates you can interact with.

Cons

Some really interesting courses are paid. would be great if there was like a live training session.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

I have been on some online classes

Pros

With online classes you can learn at anytime and anywhere, EDX make it easier with the app. There are always new and interesting courses, EDX is continuously updating the content

Cons

You need to have discipline for e-learning, know that you must finish what you start or it would be useless

February 2018

Ines from Universidad Nacional Experimental Simn Rodrguez

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

My first experience with MOOC in the web

Start learning with EDX was a great experience for me, I never think that at my age I could open a new world of knowledge just using an amazing tool like this, I feel very happy for it.

Pros

I like very most the types of courses offers on EDX, they have a big quantity of courses for people who wants to learn more about an specific topic. In my case I choose courses vinculates with enviroment and development, and all the materials, lectures and videos was so nice and I learn a lot about the new tendecies and new tools in using in the enviroment and development.

Cons

I cannot have the option to get a certified becuase the most of them are for pay and I do not have the money to pay for it, I feel a little sad because I do not have any proof to show my family and partners that I am using my time to learn new issues.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Qualified courses for professionals

I am using edX for learning different topics which I can combine with my current job and improve myself. It has great courses and agreement between top universities is very cool.

Pros

edX presents professional courses of very broad of topics and you can get certificated from these courses if you pay for it. edX is well known in the industry.

Cons

Certification price is a bit much and does not guarantee you if it will be respected for such authorities.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

A great learning platform

We use it to share great courses around our business department for anything the team is interested in leanring about. we tend to organise a small group of people who will do the same course and so can talk about it. it works great.

Pros

It gives you great access to free and cheap learning material.

Cons

Some of the material was not massively relevant to the course. some courses seemed to go off on a bit of a tangent and not stick to the course curriculum.

February 2018

Maryalba from Autnomo

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

The best option for do a MOOC on the internet

Pros

If you are trying to improve your knowledge or you just want to learn something about a new topic, EDX is the website for you, they offer a huge amount of courses of everything, you can find courses of philosy, geography, history, languages, project management and so many of technology and new tendencies in the market business. Start learning with EDX was and still is one of the best things that I can do in my free time.

Cons

The offer of free certifies is virtually dissapear, in the most of the courses you can only audit, and you do not have the change to get a free certified, this can be a great limitation for people of so many countries who cannot access to the certifies and validate their knowledge.

February 2018

Nathaly from Colegio Canigu

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

I did two courses and it went very well, I understood the content because it could go at my learning

I have grown professionally and continue to grow in knowledge, I have achieved it at my own pace and I liked the structure and content of the courses, I was able to download the content on my computer and I was able to review or consult doubts

Pros

edX offers a large number of courses and many of them can be taken at our own pace, this is great for the people who work and not always at the same time, it does not require me to move anywhere, I can do it from

Cons

edX offers a lot of courses but to get the certificate you have to pay, although teaching has allowed me to grow the job, the certificate would help me economically in the company where I work, more in my case that I am Venezuelan and in my country government ban we do not have access to foreign currency

March 2018

Teddy from Corporacin de Servicios del Distrito Capital

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

An endless serie of courses to improve your learning

The possibility to increase my knowledge doing courses about so many topics.

Pros

The quantity of courses available is huge, and the amount of information that is available for you to learn is enormous, the quality of the courses is very high and the courses are offer for big universities like Harvard and MIT, so the content is so updated and is very interesting. I like a lot the videos and the possibility to download all the materials and use it later whenever I need.

Cons

Unfortunately I still had not the chance to have a verified certificate because for my is to expense, and by this times they are not offering free certificates for the people who enrolls in their courses.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Find any kind of courses you want from reputable universities.

Pros

I always rely on openEdX in self-learning as they have wide range of courses in all aspects of like. Also they are not just courses they are from very big universities like MIT, Stanford and Harvard.

Cons

They dashboard needs to be redesigned as the user interface is very crowded and i always take time to understand how to flow works.

February 2018

Emerita from Universidad Central de Venezuela

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Free courses for people of all ages

The possibility to do courses which are constantly updated and show the new tendencies about data analysis.

Pros

At my age I never think about it to continue learning but with EDX I find a way to do it, they offer a lot of courses about a huge amount of things, history, technology, development, languages and so many others, but the one that I most like are the courses about data analysis and statistical, they are the best and I always enroll in them to know about the new tendencies in data analysis.

Cons

I cannot be able to have a certified because I have to pay for it and I do not have the money, I think that for some people they must offer free certifies.

March 2018

Mara Luisa from Colegio Universitario de Caracas (Universidad Nacional Experimental de la Gran Caracas)

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

EDX allows me to keep up to date on issues related to my work.

Pros

What I like most is that the courses are of high quality and offered by important universities, I love the courses they teach is EDX

Cons

what I liked the least is that the web application facilitates the monitoring of the course completely, but to do it on mobile is less efficient

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A Harvard Education For Free??

I was introduced to OpenEdX a year ago and didn't think it could possibly be real. Ivy League schools for free? It really is what it claims, and over delivers. You can purchase certificates, but if you are just looking for quality information, this is definitely better than trying to find it on YouTube.

Pros

The classes are really good. I have a 4 year degree, and these are right up there with the ones I took.

Cons

Some classes are better than others. I've loved classes and hated others. I wish mobile had a 1.5x - 2.5x speed.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 67 reviews