Cognota Software

Cognota Software

Find out more:

Find out more:

About Cognota

Cognota (formerly Synapse) is the first and only operations platform for corporate Learning and Development teams. Our award-winning software streamlines training intake, project and capacity planning and content design processes, allowing training teams to work more efficiently and providing them with much-needed data and insights about their operations. This first-of-its-kind software allows our customers to get better visibility into the training needs of their businesses and consolidate the disparate tools they are using so they can make better, more strategic decisions about learning needs and investments. Founded originally as Synapse, Cognota changed its name in April 2022 and has clients in multiple sectors around the world. For more information visit www.c...

Cognota Pricing

Full pricing details are available on our website: https://cognota.com

Starting price: 

$1,499.00 per year

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Close

Image 1 of 1

Cognota User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

5

Customer support

5

Functionality

4.5

Showing 10 reviews

User Profile

Nazli

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Cloud trainer

Pros

Cloud based learning tool and i really like its webinar and live session trainings.

Cons

Its very expensive and that's the only thing i feel no easy solution for middle or low range business.

Jeff

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

The missing link in your L&D software suite.

The team at Synapse is top-notch. Really engaged, responsive, knowledgable, and focused on continuous improvement. Our VP of Client Success really feels like part of our team, and Synapse has become an invaluable part of our overall L&D process. It's allowing us to work so much smarter and more efficiently.

Pros

Synapse really centralized and bridged the gap between training requests and the development of assets. Prior to Synapse, my team tried and failed with other programs and processes to manage training requests, projects, and capacity planning. With Synapse, every employee on the L&D team has insight into what requests we receive, who is working on what, all in a central platform. We have absolutely reduced the time it takes to review a request, script it, and get it ready for development.

Cons

Would like to see more robust reporting and analytics, as well as the ability to house final authoring files, making it a completely one-stop show for course managment.

Reasons for choosing Cognota

Synapse was the only learning-focused product. Everything else we evaluated didn't actually fulfill our needs to effectively manage training intake, project planning, and rapid design.

Lois

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Get it done. Fast.

The team is relentlessly positive and responsive. They are eager to partner and listen well to feedback. They are honest when there are limitations and helpful with creating workarounds.

Pros

Our goal was to build 100+ elearnings, working with global SMEs across the company. The easy interface sped up development, we saved roughly half our development time. Creating standard templates gave us brand-standardized results. The responsiveness of customer service far exceeds any and all prior experiences.

Cons

Templates and ease of use come at a cost. There are some pieces that cannot be customized. The positives outweigh the limitations, so we are willing to design the elearning options around these limitations.

Shannon

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Synapse Brings Visibility to our Global Team

Easy to use, easy to implement - excellent customer service support and training.

Pros

Synapse allowed us to track and prioritize all the global learning requests coming across the organization. We are able to visiblty see and report out on all the different work coming our way.

Cons

I wish we had more options with customzing the user portal to add branding and make it more visually engaging for the end user.

Amanda

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Great Platform for Remote Employee Onboarding and Training Materials

Prior to Synapse, maintaining an up-to-date training repository was difficult given the number of regional offices located across the country. Now, Synapse has allowed us to create one central hub for all of our training materials and we can rest assured that our staff is accessing the most relevant and updated materials.

Pros

Synapse was easy to use and deploy to our remote field staff. The ability to constantly update and refresh our materials without having to switch out any links was very helpful.

Cons

One thing I would like to have seen is increased tracking and analytics for course usage, beyond the assessment.

Mileidy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Synapse Is Amazing to Create Your Content

Exceptional experience.

Pros

If you have the content, and would like to put it together in a innovative platform Synapse is the way to go! The customer service is impeccable.

Cons

It does not let you change the colors of the letters within the system. You can change it in word, and then copy and paste into the system.

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Very user friendly instructional design software

Outstanding

Pros

This software is incredibly user friendly, and can make even the most novice trainer an instructional design expert. I quickly noticed that Synapse follow the Blooms Taxonomy which we had followed previously at our company. Everything thus far has been fantastic from their sales approach, software implementation, through customer support.

Cons

Nothing I like the "least" per sea but they are still continuously improving the product. They take customer feedback very seriously and make changes to the software if it makes sense.

Brandon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Extremely easy to use. I liked that they have share links.

I was able to build product training quickly. The share links enabled me to embed the training in my mobile application that my users are on. It was really easy to use and guided me to understand how to do things. I was able to repurpose content that I had in my company into shareable lessons. Awesome product overall!

Pros

Couldn't track training. They are apparently releasing this feature in a month or so. I would have liked to see tracking and assessments.

Cons

It's a new product, so it felt a little light in certain areas. With that said, it served my needs for the most part.

Christopher

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Cognota is a powerful learning program management tool

The Cognota support customer experience teams are extremely approachable, friendly and supportive. The user interface is clean and easy to use. Cognota makes this easy.

Pros

Cognota's intuitive point and click interface and easy to use design.

Cons

Very little, The support we have from our Cognota team has been exemplary. Forced to pic, having only some field that can be searched and having to select Boolean operators each time when running searches is just click heavy at times. But not to any great extent.

Reasons for choosing Cognota

n/a

Maddy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Cognota Makes Learning Management Easy

Pros

I like the auto-updating feature. In a highly regulated industry, this makes it easy to update materials and re-assign them via our LMS to keep us compliant.

Cons

There's not much I dislike about Cognota. However, my one con is that the Design part of the software doesn't have a way to manage courses outside of titles and tagging. I always wish for a way to better organize old courses that I have to keep for compliance purposes.