TeacherEase

TeacherEase Reviews

RATING:

4.24

(62)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.24

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Our district likes the seemless integration with student management and teacher gradebook functionality. We have been using this software since 2008 and has meet or exceeded our needs as a district."
  • icon"Its price and ease of use for teachers, students, and parents."
  • icon"We use it for many things such as: attendance, student demographics, registration, report cards, etc. Really nice that all of these things are on one site."
  • icon"When an assignment is updated (with a grade either manually or thru Google Classroom) the missing tag has to be manually removed."
  • icon"I do not like how when I'm inputting lessons plans if I leave it times out and I loose my lesson plan and have to start over."
  • icon"Limited capability to include staff members on emails on less they have a grade book. No need to purchase a grade book for priest and janitor."

Browse all TeacherEase Reviews

  • Have you used TeacherEase and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 62 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Review from Teacher

Pros

-you can make folders by subject -generates report cards -take attendance -can input grades by percentage or fraction -super organized -all info is in one place -family contact info

Cons

none at all, i have been using this for 7 years and LOVE it. everything is clearly laid out and organized. all people have access to the sight and you can see all students in your school.

LaShawn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

TeacherEase

My overall experience with TeacherEase has been a positive one.

Pros

The feature the I like the most about TeacherEase is the ability to locate and assess the different menus that I need to perform my job.

Cons

One of the things that I do not like about TeacherEase is its inability to talk to other programs we use in the district.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

The cost.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

Lumen did not provide all the features we need as a school district.

Response from Common Goal Systems

I am happy that you like the ease of navigating our system. We have opened TeacherEase for data integration with other platforms and have development plans to increase integration in the near future. Feel free to email us at support@common-goal.com to discuss your data integration needs.

Replied November 2020

Luai

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2020

Mediocre at everything, Awful at some things. Financially Shady

My Story & why we'll never return: After paying for the coming school year, we then decided that we would like to cancel our subscription & move onto another SIS. Teacherease refused to refund our check, despite the fact that we requested the refund on July 15, nearly two months before our school year began. As time went on, they did not respond to my calls and emails. I would actually call the technical support department and explain my situation to tech support. That's the only way I managed to get someone on the phone. They kept saying escalating the issue for over a month until they finally escalated it to the president of the company (whyyy?? It's just a basic refund???), who, surprise surprise, never reached out to me or responded to my calls and emails. We're in the midst of the Coronavirus pandemic and every private school is struggling to stay afloat. Yet, Teacherease chose this time to basically steal from private schools like mine. Thousands of dollars just gone, and the Teacherease staff are not responding to our calls. It's so disappointing.

Pros

The gradebook is the redeeming quality of this software. It's pretty easy to use and visually appealing. Everything else about teacherease is not user-friendly and limited in capacity.

Cons

The software is not user-friendly: it takes quite a few clicks to get wherever you want to go. Customer service takes forever: normal wait time is about 10-15 minutes. Other companies are near instant. Not very customizable: There's not much functionality build into the website unfortunately. It's very limited in its capacity. It's most costly than you think: If you want to build a fully online SIS for your school, you'll need some functionality, like a central attendance system, many of which are cost extra per year. Honestly just do yourself a favor and shop elsewhere. This company is not to be taken seriously.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

I didn't. My school was using teacherease for a few years before I was hired as the vice principal.

Karen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Long time user

As I said above I have used, oversaw the initial set up and training, back in 2009. A number of years ago we switched our school grade levels from K-8 and 9-12 to K-5 and 6-12. We were able to make the change easily and did it fairly quickly with some opening support.

Pros

We like that it is web-based/hosted. We do not need to worry about updates, hardware, etc. they are done for us. Being from a very small school we did not have the manpower to devote an employee specifically to only our student management system. When I looked at this product I was the only technology person in the district. The quality of their support made me feel like I had a partner helping me. I think the logical layout of using the software makes it user friendly. I knew that if I contacted support I would get an accurate answer. I never feel like I'm just being pushed along. I think that their reports are easy to use especially if you are the ISBE SIS person for your district. The uploads to the state Student Management System couldn't be easier. I have used this TeacherEase since the 2009/2010 school year.

Cons

As I mentioned, we are a small school and somewhat unique but it would make our jobs so much less stressful if there was a way to run labels, envelopes, etc by family. We have two databases - one for the elementary and one for the Jr/Sr High school. We can't run addresses or labels for each family - allowing us to "group" families together when mailing items. I wish there was more training when the state comes out with new requirements. On a number of occasions I have called with a support issue and I'm pointing out the errors to the support people. My biggest item that I wish it had was a log of who did what. If someone runs GPAs for example and messes up class rank - we want to know who did it.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

Because of a combination of all the of the above information.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

STI was going to drop the product they had. We moved up to their newer Information NOW and it was a complete nightmare. It didn't do anything that they said it would during a demo. We switched back to the version of STI that we had and immediately started looking at other vendors. When we called CommonGoal we explained what we needed to see and hear. They sent out a salesperson and a tech person. They listened and impressively when we asked, "Can it do A, B and C?" they not only answered us but they showed us. At one point we even told them about something that STI had that they didn't and we would really miss it. They agreed that it sounded like something they thought their customers would like. They went back to the office and before we ever made a purchasing decision they had implemented that particular upgrade. THEY LISTENED TO WHAT WE NEEDED. That sold us on the product and the people behind it.

Mary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

WMS WEIGHS IN

I will say that after 5 years of using the program, it has become second nature. I have long forgotten the things that were the most irrational to me when the journey began. For the most part It is now easy for me to navigate in Teacherease/Common Goal, but that ease was aquired over time.

Pros

1.) The ease of integration with the other school in the district 2.) The tab format in the single student window puts all information at a glance. 3.) The basic format of the program makes it easy to navigate in.

Cons

1.)There are small improvements that are often requested but never addressed. (i.g. Creating a toggle switch for attendance email list so that you don't have to manually uncheck them all every day). 2.) Although the tech support is generally helpful, the wait time has been as long as 90 minutes in the past. There seems to be a turnover of employees that leaves you many times with them "getting back to you". Even though the Knowledge Base is available, a personal conversation settles the matter much more effectively when you have to do 6 things at once. 3.) There is an issue with searching out course sections to copy the learning targets to other sections. We have inquired about this twice now with no resolve. 4.) The same color appears for each school and district. It would be nice to see different colors used for the separarte entities. I not only work at the Middle School, but have to do all the state reporting which requires going back and forth from district to school level and from school to school.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

We are a small district and could not justify the price of Skyward.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

We wanted the option of parents being able to view their child's grades and information as well as pay online. At that same time we were transitioning from traditional grades to standard grades. The general consensus was that Commongoal offered a better format for working with standards based grading.

Lauren

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Excellent Customer Service

It has been a wonderful experience. The company has gone above and beyond to help us set up different aspects of the software to meet our needs.

Pros

the customer service is excellent. I have always been able to get ahold of support to help me with any questions or issues in a timely manner. They are always friendly and supportive.

Cons

Sometimes support does take a while to get through to, but that is to be expected during COVID times. This is not necessarily a con.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

We were unable to create reports within Powerschool easily. We needed a product that was better suited for our district.

Response from Common Goal Systems

I am glad to read about your positive experience with our support team. We are adding headcount to improve answer times while providing the same high level you expect of us. Feel free to email us any questions at support@common-goal.com

Replied November 2020

Bethanie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Student Management System

Customer support is great, even during busy times. I like it.

Pros

Teacherease is a product that we, as a small school, use every day. It doesn't give us too much or too little. It does what we need without the fluff. It is effective. I like the simplicity of what we have to do in the program for our school

Cons

The only thing I don't like about the program is that there is not enough of a notification if you move from one academic year to the next other than a little toggle switch. I wish they would change the background color or the font color for every year.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

We felt like it matched our small school needs. In addition, it seemed easy to implement and was cost effective.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

We went to a Windows based, less expensive option.

Lana

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Competency Based Education

TeacherEase was easy to learn, and I usually struggle with new programs. The people we work with are friendly and patient!

Pros

I like being able to add comments right on the assignment grade for students to see. And parents can see the comments, too. I also appreciate the ability to email students and parents directly from the gradebook so I don't have to leave the program.

Cons

We had trouble linking our rosters with TeacherEase this fall, but that was on the part of our tech office, not the gradebook.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

Motivis was hard to use. I lost material often. And it was not actually a gradebook which we absolutely needed from the product.

Response from Common Goal Systems

I'm glad you like the communications features of our TeacherEase gradebook. I'm gld we sorted out the data integration issues with your SIS and Clever. Feel free to email us at support@common-goal.com for any questions.

Replied November 2020

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Insight Financials

Pros

I love the ease of use and the customer service is outstanding. I love that all updates are done automatically.

Cons

Not able to print screen unless it's a report

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

The price and we have heard that the other program was very difficult to use.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

Chalkable was going out of business

Kris

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

TeacherEase User

I find it relatively easy to use. I would love an assignment view. Currently the only view is from the standpoint of competencies.

Pros

It is easy to navigate through assignments, students, and competencies.

Cons

Our use is slightly different than others. It has been a bit of challenge to get the product set up the way we want it. This is mostly in grade calculation.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

We started out with Motivus. It was not a user friendly product. It had too many limitations. Setup was extremely difficult.

Response from Common Goal Systems

Thank you for your review. We love your unique use of TeacherEase since you are a CBE school. We strive to be the leader in CBE and standards-based learning. Your calculation methods are not your typical recommended SBL/CBE mathematical models such as Power Law, Decaying Weight, Mode/Median/Average of Recent Scores and more that are out-of-the-box with TeacherEase. To address your complex needs (and others with very specific calculation requirements), we enhanced our standards-based grading with logic-rules and more grade calculation options - https://www.teacherease.com/app/news/article/Logic-Rules-for-Grade-Calculation-in-Competency-based-Education-CBE As for the assignment view, you can see it by going to Gradebook > Assignments. Feel free to contact support at support@common-goal.com to help you with that feature. Thanks again!

Replied October 2020

Meher

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Robust software allowing you to do all the admin and teacher things needed to reach students/parents

A very savvy technology immersed individual will probably take one full week of using this software to really learn how to use it. So for parents, its going to be tough since they wont be spending too much time on it. For teachers, it will take a week or so, so best to get started before your kids come into the room. For Admins, it will take all year. The features are endless. but great one stop shop for all your student and teacher related data.

Pros

Its got all the little functions teachers and admins need to keep track of student related matters -- grades, home work, upcoming assignments, field trips, notes, behavior, tardies, attendance, fees, tuition, ALL the things.

Cons

Its a bit clunky and ugly looking -- but thats on the spectrum of very low importance -- nothing to make me stop using this software in anyway. However, because its clunky, theres a bit of a learning curve. You need to practice and practice to make sure you know what you're doing with confidence.

Response from Common Goal Systems

Thank you for your feedback. As a cloud provider that regularly adds capabilities, we continue to strive to update the user experience with ease of in mind. For teachers, I suggest your team leverage the Help with the hundreds of knowledge base articles. In addition, there is the Instructor Video Series in the Help that is a great resource for both new teachers and refresher for new tips for current users. Thanks again from the TeacherEase team.

Replied April 2021

Jeanne

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Excellent Standards-Based Grading System

They are typically very responsive when we need support and have included many updates we have asked for over the years.

Pros

This is one of a few grading programs that actually allow standards-based grading to be entered into the system in a logical and meaningful way.

Cons

Some of the coding needs to be updated. There are very outdated systems still in place within the program.

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

It was simple to use and had what we needed to match the way we grade.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

PowerSchool could not provide the same level of standards-based grading that TeacherEase does.

Response from Common Goal Systems

Thank you for your feedback on our industry-leading standards-based learning tools. We take great pride in going the extra mile building capabilities based on the research while listening to user input on workflow usability. To that end, we do have the classic tech company challenge of adding new code. It is never-ending to keep up with the latest. Fortunately, as a cloud provider, we provide updates every week to the product based on feedback from our clients. If you haven't yet, feel free to provide feedback from the menu at Help > Feedback for your requests. Alternatively, you can reach out to customer support at support@common-goal.com. Thanks again!!!

Replied November 2020

Michelle

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Teacherease use in a school

Overall, I am very happy with the ease and functionality of TeacherEase. I would recommend it for any school that is looking for a management system.

Pros

Teacherease is easy to use. It has many great features and is always updating to meet the school's needs as it pertains to state reports and requirements. They did a great job of adapting when COVID hit and completely changed the daily functions and operations of the school setting. Another strong feature is the communication ease with families.

Cons

There are some limitations with reports. Users are the best input for what could be helpful and our input is always accepted. However, sometimes they change things and it isn't always for the better.

Laura

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

I like TeacherEase!

I've used it exclusively through my school setting so I'm not sure how it would work outside of the education realm. I do feel it works well in a school and would recommend it to others to use.

Pros

Once I learned the ins and outs of the program it became very easy to use. I like that you can have the icons right on the main screen for quick access. I also like how the gradebook automatically calculates the child's overall scores for their report card. This is especially nice since we are using Standard Based Grades. In our previous program, we had to do it ourselves. Overall, I feel like the program is user friendly and with a little training easy to navigate.

Cons

I wish there was a way of tracking whether a parent is seeing our emails. I wish there was a time or date stamp to see when the parent looked at the email we sent. It would also be nice to be able to delay a message being sent for the future. Being a teacher using this, sometimes I forget to send an email when I need to and it would be nice to write it up when I am thinking about it and set it to send out later.

Mary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2021

Teacherease

Pros

The area I like most is the standard-based gradebook. It allows for multiple standards to be chosen for assignments and allows it to link to progress reports and report cards.

Cons

The area I find most underwhelming is the report options. The reports available are always not exactly what we are looking for, and no 'export' option makes it difficult to work with. Would like to see reporting features available to help with tracking student assessment better and reports allowing us to tier students more effectively for MTSS.

Response from Common Goal Systems

Mary, thank you for the kind words regarding our standards-based learning tools. We are proud to be the leader in SBL. We would be glad to talk to you more about your reporting questions. Our support team can answer your questions to see if the reports you need are available. You can also post your requested features from TeacherEase from the Help Menu. To contact support, you can reach them at support@common-goal.com. Also, you might be looking for reports that are available with Standards-based Score Analysis. I don't know if you have that reporting enabled with our Longitudinal Data Analysis module at your district. Again, support can help you out. Thanks again!

Replied December 2021

Megan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Teacherease User Friendly

It makes it easier to do state reports. It also is great that we can use 1 system for lunch, attendance and schedules. The tech support team is great to work with.

Pros

We love Teacherease in our district. It is user friendly and any school level can use it. I especially like that I can export the data from Teacherease to upload to the State Student Identification System (SIS). This capability has made my job so much easier. I usually get a quick response from the support team if we have an issue or questions.

Cons

I do wish it would keep track of our local student ID numbers so that we don't accidentally reuse a number that a student who has moved had.

Reasons for switching to TeacherEase

The teachers had been using the gradebook portion of Teacherease and it just made sense to which all of our student information over to use one system.

Response from Common Goal Systems

I am so glad you use our direct upload to SIS feature. TeacherEase has a built in feature to autogenerate unique student numbers feature with an options to keep numbers unique across all academic years. Feel free to contact us at support@common-goal.com for help setting it up.

Replied November 2020

Janette

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Standards-based Grading Platform

Overall, customer service is excellent and responsive to the needs of the customer. Training videos are included for all of the components of the program.

Pros

Ease of managing platform at the school level; user friendly for teachers; easy access to the information for parents

Cons

When we transitioned to standards-based grading, the services were not quite as developed as the traditional grading scale

Reasons for choosing TeacherEase

Teacherease was selected based on both parent and teacher feedback after trials of the other product

Valarie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5