User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.64

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"In the ease in which we have to work besides being a profitable platform."
  • icon"The team at Uberwriter are extremely responsive and great to work with. They keep up with the guideline changes made by all of the agencies and update the income calculator quickly."
  • icon"Formating used for reports are very intuitive to go read and go over even for relatively inexperienced officers. The solvency calculator feature is a great plus."
  • icon"Several times I've had a borrower who left a company and then came back in the same yr and there is no way to analyze but on the pro side, you can go in manually and adjust averages."
  • icon"We could use a separate field in the debt section for notes that don't necessarily fit with one debt in particular."
  • icon"Calculations for rental properties are a bit off in some scenarios. Search indexing for loans can be confusing."

Browse all UberWriter Reviews

  • Have you used UberWriter and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 61 reviews

User Profile

Ankit

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

UberWriter -The Best!

Excellent tool

Pros

One of the best tool available in the mortgage industry. Instead of using worksheets, I prefer UberWriter as it provides a detailed description of item along with warnings for income which do not meet the guideline. Such warning are helpful in avoiding errors.

Cons

As such there are no cons; however, would like the UberWriter to improve the navigation and provide analysis on certain line items which usually other worksheets do not use.

Kimberly

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Great for new and seasoned underwriters

Pros

The team at Uberwriter are extremely responsive and great to work with. They keep up with the guideline changes made by all of the agencies and update the income calculator quickly. Because things can change a good bit, having the changes in red with the guide reference is extremely helpful. There is no kind of income that can not be consistently calculated with Uberwriter, regardless of the users experience level.

Cons

The only changes I would like to see made in Uberwriter are a net income calculator by state for VA loans, a calculator built in for more accurate percentage of non-taxable earnings when grossing up this type of income, and possibly an option for 80/20 meals & entertainment for over the road truck drivers. Overall, there is nothing I don't like about using Uberwriter. Keep up the great work!

Thomas

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

January 2019

uberwriter

worthless, don't know how to use it, tried to ask was told 'go watch a video'- not how you win customers

Pros

nothing, don't know how to use it and the training is nonexistent

Cons

lack of help to learn how to use it, the approach of telling me to go watch a video to learn is worthless

Tom

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

January 2019

Great evidence we thoroughly reviewed the income and debt portion of the loan file. So far every outside auditors have been impressed with our files.

Pros

Easy to use. Follows agency guidelines. System and income warnings appear to be updated regularly. Tutorials available to staff. Income trending - Makes it easy to compare to agency guidelines. Might consider including the income trending graph on/in the output.

Cons

Because we are post-closing, all our review documents are converted to a PDF and saved to a individual borrowers file. Sometimes the printed material on the report will be split between two pages. Also, at times there is a lot of pages printed with no information on them. Example - File number 457480/loan number 0922193901

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Best Tool in the Mortgage Business

100% satisfied and will be looking to purchasing a subscription at my new company.

Pros

I can't stop raving about Uberwriter. Way better than LoanBeam, way better than any FNMA/FHLMC excel tool. When I left my previous company the only thing I missed was Uberwriter. It's easy to use and most importantly if you look at what it does, you can learn how it calculates income so you can speak to it better. It handles everything on the taxes from Corp Income to Real Estate- anything on your Schedule E. And my favorite it calculates liquidity on balance sheets.

Cons

It was all great! May take a few tries to get it figured out but it's intuitive and easy to use after that.

Kushal

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

UberWriter - Amazing underwriting tool!

UberWriter is one of 'The Best' product I have ever used in my career in the Mortgage Industry.

Pros

The ease of use is no match with other sheets or software used anywhere in this industry. Additionally, it is helpful in taking an appropriate decision in terms of income as it minimizes errors and provides helpful pop up which indeed helps a lender avoid repurchases.

Cons

There are no cons for this; however, the navigation can be improved further. Summary of borrower and co-borrower income can be placed side by side followed up by detailed analysis .

Kapil

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

UberWriter

As per organization, this is a useful tool for the mortgage industry. We can do perfect income calculations from this tool including wage & self-employment as well. Also, UberWriter provides the perfect income calculation hence we need to do any second thought which is a best part of UberWriter.

Pros

This software is easy to use and user friendly.

Cons

UberWriter should change some graphical effects those will increase more interest to use this tool for the mortgage income calculations. Also, UberWriter can update with the income calculation formulas which will reflect into UberWriter.

Jean

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Uber Writer = Income analysis + Easy

This software helps us with compliance especially with regard to fair lending. It helps my lenders ensure that they look at income on every loan the same way.

Pros

I love that it consistently updates to the changes in rules and regulations for representatives. I love that I know that my income calculations will be the same no matter who on our team calculates it. That consistency is vital to fair lending, compliance and overall a strong loan portfolio!

Cons

One update made it so that you now have to change it every time you want to search all files. I was hoping that down the road I will be able to set my preferences. I review many people's work, so it would be nice to not just search the recent files.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Best Income Calculation software for UW

It provides us best Income calculation experience. This is very accurate software to calculate Income.

Pros

1. It is the best software so far I have used for Income calculation. 2. It provides all logics with the explanation, How Income should be calculated. 3. It explains all FNMA guideline related to Income with proper logic. 4. One can understand Income guideline better in Uberwriter then FNMA guidebook

Cons

As of now I see nothing which I like least in Uberwriter

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Best Software Program For Income Analysis

my overall experience is smooth and could not have asked for any other software program to be used in the mortgage industry

Pros

the Pros to this software are almost unlimited, you can do over 30+ income types, with income warnings depending on which agency you are using. the ease of the system and easy to understand the income is what every lender needs to be able to accurately calculate income

Cons

there is no cons to this program, because i cant think of any

Barb

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Uberwriter Review

Overall the experience with Uberwriter has been very beneficial and has been a great tool in underwriting files.

Pros

The income report is easy to read for both me and loan officers or processors that may need to read them. The layout of the input is great and follows most paystubs and tax returns for self employed borrowers.

Cons

a bit cumbersome to start, but now that the learning curve is over it is good. There are only 3 true cons that I can think of, when you are inputting SSI, pension that type of income, Uberwriter defaults to grossing up which isn't used in all cases. For properties on the REO, if you have to delete an entry, it doesn't actually delete the entry you chose, but the one immediately below it and leaves the one you meant to delete. When you are inputting information that may have a tip that pops up in Uberwriter, it comes up every time you put data into that field. For example, other expenses under REOs when they have HOA dues. Not too much of an issue when there is only 1 or 2 other REOS, but when you have many more like 32 (yes that really happened) that is 64 times you have to click ok to acknowledge the message that pops up.

Tammy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Excellent Underwriting Tool

I am in underwriting and I have noticed a marked improvement in the accuracy of the income figures calculated by the front-end staff. They are being warned when their income trends are of concern, are given recommended income to use for qualifying, and are told when they are entering figures in a field that is not typically used.

Pros

I like the option to pick my loan product, the ability to annualize variable income types, the comparitive analysis and solvency calculator. I appreciate the pop-up warning boxes when entering things in the "less common" fields - it is a great reminder to all of our processing staff to double check what they are adding.

Cons

I dislike the fact that when using certain income options for 1065 or 1120S companies, the corporate income (depreciation, amortization, etc) do not calculate into the total and we have to do that manually. I also think it is odd that the software has rounding issues - sometimes the income is off by 1 cent, so we have to select "user override" and type the amount in that field in order for the total to be accurate.

Samad

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Income calculations

It is very useful to train the new underwriters and in case of any update or complicated situations provided video works great in solving the doubts.

Pros

It is very easy to calculate the income on uberwriter and the beautiful thing is you will get a detailed report generated which you and further reviewer of the loan can check.

Cons

It gets like a processing work mostly in rental income calculation.Underwriter always love the reverse calculation in rental income starting from the net rental income and then adding back the insurance,taxes, interest, and depreciation etc.

Richa

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Easy to use

Overall the experience with Uberwriter has been very beneficial and has been a great tool in underwriting files.

Pros

It's helpful and easy to use. The income report is easy to read for both me and loan officers or processors that may need to read them. The layout of the input is great and follows most paystubs and tax returns for self employed borrowers.

Cons

Not too much of an issue. Sometimes documents are converted to a PDF and its shows some error and printed material on the report will be split between two pages.

Pam

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

So Helpful

The customer service level is above and beyond what I would expect - while the website may not always function perfectly, I always get a timely and personal response when I email for help.

Pros

What I like most about Uberwriter is that it has so many different calculations available for me in one place.

Cons

There is no option for calculating income from assets for USDA loans. There is one that can be used for 401k type income, but when calculating Annual Income for USDA, that is not the only type of asset we have to look for.

Patricia

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Uber Use

I resisted using it at first because I had my set way of calculating everything but once I started using it, I couldn't believe how easy it is and how much time it saves me!

Pros

The breakdown of sections for each type of income and for REO are fantastic!

Cons

Calculations when there are gaps in employment can't be adjusted (#of mos to consider). Several times I've had a borrower who left a company and then came back in the same yr and there is no way to analyze but on the pro side, you can go in manually and adjust averages.

Cristina

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

UberEasy

In my opinion, it has really helped improve the UW process by making it more efficient.

Pros

I like report that is provided that shows the break down of the income calculation. I like all the features it provides and how Uberwriter can tailor to different loan products and customize each income calculation recommendations to coincide with the loan product. In addition, when a calculation has been inputted previously it's less work if the data is inputted correctly.

Cons

There's not much to say about what I least like, but I did not like that if I had previously input an income calculation, someone else can change it after me within the same calculation report; however, there is a new feature where the calculation report can be copied and worked on with out altering the original report.

Kelsey

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Great at helping calculate income

Pros

I like that it breaks down monthly income for the last 2+ years so you can see the trend in income. I like that different types of earnings are separated. Very easy to use once you get the hang of it

Cons

I wish the website could calculate income if you enter it as a formula (similar to Excel where you can add a bunch of numbers together and once you press enter, the Sum is populated). When using paystubs to calculate earnings and the borrower has a bunch of "regular earnings", you have to open up your calculator and add all the earnings together and then type that number into Uberwriter.

Dawn

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4