User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I loved this software for originating mortgage loans! It's ease of use and step by step through the application process was the best for origination software in my opinion."

  • "Product does exactly as it says and quickly. Variety of new products always come available which are competitive. "

  • "I like the ease of use and understanding. The layout makes complete sense and follows the mortgage loan documents. "

  • Cons

  • "Although easy to use once familiar but it has a steep learning curve that may cause some difficulties to new users."

  • "The upgrades don't change the GUI or functionality much. However, even the slightest change takes a little getting used to. "

  • "This software has been a staple in the mortgage industry throughout the years. I'm disappointed that the interface ability is still very poor in my opinion. "

Browse Calyx Software Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -22 of 28 results

November 2018

R. Curtis from Alliance Transportation Group, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Mortgage Loan Management Made Easy

I am a user and administrator. I have integrated stand alone and hosted systems on many occasions. I love the completeness of this application. I have not seen any other that has so much in one place. As a team manager Calyx Point makes my job easier.

Pros

Calyx Point has every single aspect of the mortgage loan process integrated into one application. I have used others in the past but none compare. They offer stand alone and hosted applications. This software can support a 2 person organization to 100s of loan processors with ease. Single point management makes managing the application seamless.

Cons

This is a large application and you have a lot of users you will need in house IT to support all of the integration. Although Calyx has great support you need someone to be there for day to day computing issues.

January 2018

Gregory from Pinnacle Mortgage Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I shopped for better value (price and feature) systems, and didn't find any.

Pros

Point has been a mainstay of Loan Origination Systems for years. I've used several of the biggest name products (Encompass, Genesis, LendingQB) and Point offers some of the best feature/price balance available. It does NOT try to be all things - it's an LOS. Other sytems attempt to include CRM, and advanced marketing, and rules and engines, but for a small mortgage brokerage, there are better 3rd party tools to do all of that, and Point does a good job at playing well with others. Combined with a hosted server, it's very secure, easy to navigate, and integrates with all the major players in the space. It does have all of the necessary loan origination tools, it updated regularly to keep pace with changes in the industry, and it FEELS like you're entering data directly onto a paper loan application, so there is very little learning curve.

Cons

The interface hasn't been updated since 2004 - maybe longer, so it looks like software from the Windows XP era. It also doesn't know how to handle custom forms other than Word, or custom views or custom much of anything else. It's an installed application, with a lot of function, but if you're looking for something cloud-based, or infinitely flexible, this isn't it.

June 2020

Kim from Keller Williams

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Calyx Point in universally known and used

Very easy to use and common with most mortgage companies.

Pros

If you are a mortgage professional this software is widely known and used. Very user friendly and it mimics the documents you use (1003, 1008, etc) Always a favorite over other programs. Use it in contract processing

Cons

It has been a while but the software rarely had glitches and I had no complaints whatsoever. I used it regularly for about 10 years in my home office and at a few different offices pre-2009

March 2018

Mark from St Pete Mortgage

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

WARNING: Potential for expensive software failure ... unresolved.

I use it in my daily business as a Mortgage Broker.

Pros

Old, ancient, familiar software. Interfaces well with Fannie Mae DO ... and credit reporting vendors. INKit e-signing is convenient yet potentially dangerous to Mortgage Broker's income.

Cons

Unstable ... data entered correctly does not always flow through to the critically important Loan Estimate (LE) ... yet their INKit system will then send out an incorrect Loan Estimate (LE) that could cost the Mortgage Broker $1,000's of dollars ... and worst of all ... they take zero responsibility for the accuracy of their software ... and choose to define the problem as "unkown" ... before telling the Mortgage Broker "too bad you lost money" using our product ... their corporate culture is as old & ancient as their software ... search for an alternative.

October 2018

Laura from Real estate

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Calyx Point is great!

Calyx Point is a great software for mortgage brokers/bankers, originator & processors to use. Great for reports with tons of different customizable options. Very user friendly.

Pros

The software is pretty self explanatory and easy to use. Features "Read Only" mode if multiple users are in a file at the same time so you don't have to worry about multiple save versions.

Cons

They update the software too often. Sometimes there will be 2 mandatory updates within a 2 week period, instead of just lumping both updates into one.

October 2019

Deborah from The McMillan Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Calyx Point is a pioneer

Calyx Point is an outstanding program and I highly recommend it to the mortgage industry.

Pros

Calyx Point has been around forever and we've been using it for so many years. It has always been a flawless program to use. We couldn't imagine business without it. Calyx always keeps up with the changing times. A must have for the mortgage industry.

Cons

At first like with most software there is a learning curve. It's not super complicated but you will have to get used to it.

August 2019

Patti from Home Mortgage Consultants

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Calyx Point Software

I used this daily and loved the format and all the functions for mortgage origination.

Pros

I loved this software for originating mortgage loans! It's ease of use and step by step through the application process was the best for origination software in my opinion.

Cons

I liked everything about this software.

Reasons for Choosing Calyx Software

N/A

August 2019

Taniya from SNH Capital Partners

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

General Use Review

Customer service is great and very helpful and informative.

Pros

Product does exactly as it says and quickly. Variety of new products always come available which are competitive.

Cons

Pricing options are limited. Get cornered with higher prices even when volume increases and have to use this vendor.

March 2019

Sara from Title Mortgage

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Calyx Point Review

Pros

It was easy to input information and run reports. The reports could be slow at times, but it depends on the data you are searching as well. All of the federal and state documents are included in Calyx and you can also custom make your own documents to print and have the specific file information you need automatically inserted.

Cons

I have not used Point Central, but feel that should be their basic platform used instead. It allows you to implement rules so things are not forgotten and missed. With Calyx Point base program you do not have these options.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

It got the job done.

Pros

I found it very easy to navigate and to know exactly where to input your information. I do like the ability to separate borrower profiles in different folders.

Cons

This software has been a staple in the mortgage industry throughout the years. I'm disappointed that the interface ability is still very poor in my opinion.

October 2018

nitish from XL dynamics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Morgage User friendly

It is very user friendly and it great software for mortgage originator and processors to use.

Pros

I liked that the screen and user interface are similar to the loan originator form. This also helps in keeping my client information in an organised manner. I like the ease of use once familiar and the ability to customize the loan originator system to your system.

Cons

Although easy to use once familiar but it has a steep learning curve that may cause some difficulties to new users.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Calyx is the industry standard. I love it!

Pros

The majority of my mortgage origination and loan officer jobs have required familiarity with Calyx Point software. I have found it to be the industry standard.

Cons

The upgrades don't change the GUI or functionality much. However, even the slightest change takes a little getting used to.

June 2018

Apple from philadelphiahouse.com

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

My experience with calyx point is very good. Im using it almost everyday at work.

some of the benefits I get from this software are having my file organized and being able to have one file organizer and share it with the team.

Pros

what I like the most with this software is that it keeps records from my clients and help me organize my files. it is awesome that i can separate their profile to different folders i wish to have as long as it is connected with my computer's jungle disc.

Cons

what I like the least with this software is that it cannot filter if the clients name is already there by just saving it. i have to go to advance search tab and type the client's name in order to know if they are already there.

March 2018

Ana Maria from PhiladelphiaHouse.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I still have to learn much about navigating to this program though it is helpful in keeping info.

The best thing that we get here is the ratio of the client whether they are qualified for a mortgage loan and how much they can be qualified for. It is automatic once you enter all the details given by the buyer.

Pros

Since we are in a real estate business, getting the ratio of a client based on their income which are automatically computed in this program makes it easier for us to know how much will their closing cost be and so help the client prepare ahead of time.

Cons

It is a bit difficult to navigate on this software if you are not very much familiar. It took me weeks to familiarize myself.

April 2018

Jason from Caliber Home Loans, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Calyx Point is a great simple loan origination software.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the ability to customize fields to customize the loan origination system to your business.

Cons

I do not like the non-cloud based system. The system also does not have a good indexing system for file names.

July 2019

Romayeo from Real Estate

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Loan processing software

Was extremely happy with the product after switching from encompass

Pros

The ease of use for myself and my processor.

Cons

The initial training on the product was difficult.

June 2016

Michael from Alliance Mortgage Funding

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2016

Calyx is getting worse

I've been using this software in my mortgage company for over 10-years. We used to be satisfied with it, but not any longer.

Pros

NONE

Cons

Tech support used to be great. I've waited two-weeks to get a reply from tech support. When they do respond, it is often nonsensical , or they outright lie about the issue at hand. The program itself is full pf problems: printing issues, mis-calculations, data that should transfer to other forms does not. Support and management do not listen to user suggestions. They only seem to be interested in serving larger companies.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Calyx

I used Calyx for years as a loan officer. I found it robust but not easy to use at times.

Pros

I liked used Calyx because it of the amount of features on the software platform . Its is very robust

Cons

I think that the software is not very intuitive and is a little tough to maneuver. It gets a little frustrating

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great software for mortgage loan processing and underwriting.

I liked the detail of information that could be entered into the system.

Pros

I like the ease of use and understanding. The layout makes complete sense and follows the mortgage loan documents.

Cons

Nothing really. Again, this software was very easy to use.

December 2018

BRYCE from EASY AZ MORTGAGE, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Better than most, but still needs improvement

Pros

The customer support is great, but for smaller companies like mine, it would be nice to have a more turnkey program -- this software requires a lot of initial set up and customization. Some may find that good, but in a heavily regulated industry, it's nicer to be able to just plug and go.

Cons

Needs to be more turnkey. There are a lot of things that require customization and template-setting at the beginning. This is extremely time-consuming and costly.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

From an IT admin perspective

Pros

It was fairly simple to manage user accounts and licenses. Phone support when needed was fantastic

Cons

Setting up rules could be troublesome and small changes had large ripple effects.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Overall a good system

This system generates clean documents. This can't be said for other LOS.

Pros

There is always something to learn with this system. I haven't even scratched the surface of what this system can do.

Cons

Learning the system was a little difficult because there are a few quirks, but once you learn them the system it isn't a problem.

June 2017

Tonya from TWR Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Very easy to use and understandable

I ask my client about detail information the entry was right where I could put the information in use. No guessing where the information has to be retrieve. I am used to this software only.

Pros

Very clear on setup and where to information is explained in detai. The software is easy to use and very professionally detailed.

March 2018

Argyll from philadelphiahouse.com

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

my experience was hard the first time working on it.

i can easily file my client's info

Pros

what i like the most about this software is that it really helps me file up the information of our clients

Cons

what i like the least about this software is that it is really complex to understand on my own so i had to watch videos first

February 2019

Michele from DLP Real Estate, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great for lending business, easy to learn and use.

Pros

This software is easy to use and easily input basic information to get the qualification I factors I am looking for.

Cons

Cost can be expensive but easily offset by the added business you will have.

January 2019

Fred from arrivva, inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Point

Aweful

Pros

Nothing. It's old school junk that has been lapped

Cons

It's 2018 and this is a dos program that is not web based. Their thing about security is lame and pathetic.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

At the time it was the best

Pros

Industry leading interface with underwriters and banks

Cons

At the time it seemed a little behind the times for graphical looks and inteface nuances

January 2016

Christine from 1952

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

January 2016

Quick efficent program

Found it very easy to use for people with little to no experience in loans. Gave quick accuate answers