All Maptitude Reviews

1-25 of 74 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Sheldon Neil

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Maptitude's ability to use my data for analysis and visualisation it is phenomenal.

I use Maptitude to conduct drive time analysis and calculate the optimal sequence of serving key locations. This has helped to reduce my dead kilometre cost but also has the added benefit of being able to provide drivers with instructions in the form of left and rights and maps. I use it to extract and analyse demographics for an area I will be serving to understand the makeup of my customers. I create selection sets to apply my analysis on only the set of data I'm interested at that moment. I create heatmaps that shows public transit safety aspects such as accident hot spots, driver abuse from customers etc. One of the interesting case studies I did not long ago was to map all the bus stops we serve and also all public toilets that are within walking distance to the bus stops. This helped my drivers to know where they can have a biological break if they need to during their journey.

PROS

Whenever I need to analyse my data and represent it visually I always go to Maptitude. The software is a GIS that can import, covert and export Google Earth, OpenStreetMap, Esri Shape, MapInfo, GPS, AutoCAD, Excel, Text etc. I've been using Maptitude for more than 13 years and bar TransCad (Caliper Corporations Public Transit Modelling Solution), there is no other GIS software that delivers like this!

CONS

I've compared Maptitude to many other solutions and can honestly say there is no major dislike that I have. If I'm really critical I'd say probably that the Caliper brand name appears on the bottom of the maps I produce (very small), and I'd like to keep secret how I am able to do what I do.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Easy to use and has all the data prepared for me already. Saved me heaps of time.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback on Maptitude mapping software!

Replied September 2019

Bob

Building Materials, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Most Powerful Mapping Tool in Our Arsenal

We have been using Maptitude to show retailers, dealers, and manufacturers their Total Available Markets based on our product forecasts. Once we load our forecasts, dealer locations, housing starts and other demographics, we are able to show where potential new business can be won. Maptitude has allowed us to better display our insights beyond the usual charts and tables.

PROS

Maptitude provides great details of geographies along with demographics and economic variables at all the hierarchies we need. It is the best mapping tool we have and is so much better than some of the big data software packages we have used. We use maps from Maptitude for our reporting and analytics and clients are excited about how much detail we can give them.

CONS

It takes a little bit to understand but once you get it the tasks become easier. Our team wishes we could incorporate maps into other online data systems like Big Query or Tableau.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Value and capabilities of the software.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Maptitude has much more analytical capabilities and the maps are much more detailed.

Alex

Retail, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

Great GIS with affordable perpetual license, not bloated but you may miss features from ESRI

If you already know GIS you will find this easy to use. Interface is more like pre-Pro ArcMap but that's fine. I'm agnostic to ribbons vs. buttons. The point is to run the analysis. It hasn't crashed on me once. Way fewer geoprocessing tools than you might be used to, so if you're doing very specialized work check the documentation.

PROS

Cost. Much easier to reach a purchasing decision. I loved the integrated country data package so I didn't have to download census layers and other info - it was all built in.

CONS

No way to share live interactive maps with stakeholders. Most of us GIS users want to run the analysis and then share with a non-GIS expert without them needing to have the software. I think there is a separate online license but that was not available in my company's pre-approved software purchasing program. One strong feature I recommend is a job history log with time run. I ran a filter on nationwide streets and it took ages... I'd like to know how many minutes it ran so I can re-run it again without disrupting my workflow.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Cost! And Maptitude was pre-approved by my company's software team.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review! We are so glad to hear that Maptitude is working well for you, and we will work hard on your suggestions. Yes, Maptitude Online is only $420 and allows you to easily share maps created online or on the desktop.

Replied May 2024

Nick

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2015

Great value!

Maptitude comes with a wealth of data at an unbelievably inexpensive price. The Australian data, with which I'm most familiar, if bought separately from other sources, would run into the thousands of dollars and I am stunned at the value for money. Please don't think that value for money has compromised functionality or capability! Maptitude has a wealth of analytical features that satisfy my ongoing needs in the area of demographic analysis. Regular in the business/demographic sphere include thematic mapping, route planning, territory design, trade area analysis and location/allocation modelling. A critical area is output and Maptitude has this covered with the ability to produce good quality maps of any size, a wide range of graphics formats and also Kmz/kml output for Google Earth. If there is one criticism, it's that the you can't produce a visual legend for Google Earth and if the exported geographic features have too many points, then they simply won't appear in Google Earth..a point reduction function would be very useful. On the negative side. It is a slightly dated looking package, reminding one of the Windows XP software and it's annoying that you only merge two geographic features at a time, a definite disadvantage if you need to merge data from a variety of sources into one geographic layer. It makes it a bit fiddly. This is not a package just for the professional, full time user. A newbie will find the package relatively easy to learn and the software site comes with a series of tutorials that will allow you to transition from newbie to effective novice relatively easily. That's given us the confidence to recommend Maptitude to non-GIS users such as sales managers, database analysts, franchise managers, advertising planners, retailers and merchandisers. All in all, value for money, good quality output, a wealth of data and functionality and easy to use.

Rich

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Maptitude - Hands down best out of the gate geospatial platform

User for nearly two decades and it really gets the job done for me.

PROS

Simple to understand, very powerful, great data availability - and they tech support is second to none.

CONS

It is not as fast in terms of processing is other tools.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Still use Alteryx as well for heavy lifting work and then port some of that back into maptitude for visualization and streamlined capabilities

Vendor Response

Many thanks for your loyalty and feedback! We are working hard to increase the speed dramatically.

Replied April 2024

Taunya

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Maptitude for Planners

Analysis of demographics, locations, paratransit trip history, etc., to help local governments, committees, and agencies plan and change fixed route patterns, expansion, timing, etc.

PROS

I have been a planning consultant for over 20 years. I highly recommend Maptitude. The learning curve is short - it is the most intuitive but powerful mapping applications I have ever used. Others are fine, they cannot beat the ease of use and functionality of Maptitude. It is easy to create map layers and final presentation maps from scratch with it. And Maptitude comes with map layer data of its own, which is the best I have seen. In addition can import a variety of file types, which is extremely valuable when you are working with local governments using a variety of map formats. This means you can readily combine data from many sources in one map in Maptitude. You will really like working with it.

CONS

I cannot think of a thing I didn't like about it.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Usable with more clients and data sources, ease of for a variety of presentations with a minimal amount of outside graphic presentation.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Because Maptitude is capable of opening and converting a variety of data formats, and the learning curve is great.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback on the #Maptitude mapping software GIS application!

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Paul

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

GIS software that matters.

The overal experience is very good, with the tools and features and plug-ins, the majority of logistics analysis projects can be executed.

PROS

The User Interface, offering tools and features that are only a few clicks away with excellent inbuilt support pages and examples.

CONS

Focus not so much on Europe, maps for European countries are not as actual as for other countries.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Maptitude is by far superior to other products in the market.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Maptitude GIS software. We're delighted to hear that you find the user interface intuitive with tools and features just a few clicks away. Our goal is to provide powerful yet accessible GIS capabilities. We also appreciate the feedback on our mapping data for European countries. Providing high-quality, up-to-date maps globally is an ongoing priority. Your comments will help guide our data enhancement efforts, particularly for the European region.

Replied May 2024

Tracy

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Best bang for buck in GIS is Maptitude

I attended 2 classes in Boston early in the stages of Maptitude. I had little field experience in GIS and the instructor helped me understand the power of Maptitude.

PROS

Low cost of investment. Annual upgrade is less for previous users. Ability to import large records in layers (some call this vectors).

CONS

If one downloads the app and has a key, that does not always work. And there is no weekend support. Examples of how to create queries. Examples need to be shown like Qgis. How to rubber-sheet a map. How to export to KML data and examples.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

ArcGis and Esri were too expensive. Qgis was in the early stages of development and limited manual.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review! Have you checked out the learning portal? We would love to add your suggestions: https://www.caliper.com/learning/articles/what-if-i-dont-see-an-article-for-my-problem/

Replied September 2023

Subham

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Maptitude

Good

PROS

The OD matrix generation and census data

CONS

We cannot alter maptitude road or rail networks to generate OD data for multiple years. This is one provision maptitude should offer to its users, especially for transportation planners.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Maptitude does certain computations really quick, which no other software can perform

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review, Subham! We will reach out to explore how we can help make the tasks you are performing easier and to help identify if there are quicker ways to achieve your goals in the software.

Replied September 2023

Kyle

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Maptitude - the Value GIS

Great. I have recommended Maptitude to several people.

PROS

I started the Research Dept where I work and needed a GIS. Not wanting to ask for a lot of money in the startup dept, I found Maptitude. I was able to purchase it at a great price. It is also easy to learn for anyone with other GIS experience.

CONS

Some of the feature are not intuitive and I have to use the online help if I don't perform the actions frequently.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

Price.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review, Kyle! We will reach out to explore how we can help make the tasks you are performing easier and to help identify if there are quicker ways to achieve your goals in the software.

Replied September 2023

Raymond

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Amazing product at a great value with even better customer service!

I am using the software to Map out where all of our dealership are located throughout the country while mapping out where our competitors are located in order to identify potential acquisition targets. The benefits have been providing invaluable insight to upper management regarding what kinds of opportunities are out there and consequently, giving the company a chance to grow via acquisitions. Moreover, the additional features within Maptitude allows you to identify new areas of growth or new markets to enter given the plethora of demographic data it has embedded within the software. it shows population growth, income levels of population and so so much more. It really provides a high level overview for any user who wants to learn and find out anything about a particular area of the country.

PROS

Maptitude offers a lot of bang for your buck. I did hours of research, looking at different mapping companies before choosing Maptitude and surprisingly, Maptitude is one of the very few companies that allows you to pay a one-time fee only (which is very reasonable given you're getting) and you get lifetime access to the software. Most other companies require you to pay an annual fee which can add up pretty quickly. The mapping software itself is amazing. It is robust, dynamic and does everything you can possibly imagine and then some. It is very user friendly and has a lot of built in features that can help making maps extremely useful as it provides invaluable insights into your data. The best part is after I purchased the product, the amount of customer support I received was fantastic. Every time I had a question, the company would always reply back immediately with a solution. They were very knowledgeable in their product, timely and very helpful. The mapping software is a home run and I could not be happier with the product nor the high level of customer service. Thank you!

CONS

Nothing as of right now. If there are any dislikes, I will be sure to address it to Maptitude first before airing any dirty laundry. More often than not, it is more likely user error that is the cause of any major issues.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Switched because Map Point was old, outdated and no longer being supported. Plus, this product blows Mappoint out of the water in terms of value, functionality and customer service. I have no regrets whatsoever making the switch. Biggest regret was not switching sooner!

Murtaza

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

The best value for money for spatial analytics.

PROS

I am more of a spatial analyst than a cartographer. Thus, what attracts me to Maptitude is the ease with which I can perform spatial analysis. Manipulating spatial data by creating spatial overlaps or buffers are just two examples. Once the data are ready, I can easily generate thematic maps, and if needed, run ordinary least squares or binary logit regressions from within Maptitude. In the past, I'd export data as CSV to Stata or R to run regressions. However, with Maptitude, I can test my preliminary hypothesis right there without running the risk of erroneous data translation from one software to another. Given that most if not all spatial data are correlated in space, one may need an estimate for spatial autocorrelation. With Maptitude 2018, I can readily generate Moran's I statistic to test the presence of spatial autocorrelation. The 3D Map feature in Maptitude 2018 is welcome. Now, one can generate a choropleth with two distributions where color may represent one variable and height represents another. As an example see the map at https://twitter.com/search?q=race%20and%20transit%20ridership&src=typd where I have plotted public transit ridership and the percentage of visible minorities in Toronto to highlight that transit ridership is more pronounced in racialized neighbourhoods. Given its strong transportation pedigree, Maptitude remains the best off-the-shelve GIS software for simpler transportation analysis involving networks and facility location.

CONS

Maptitude can be even better if it were to include the following: - The ability to record commands such that point and click exercises automatically generates a script that could be manipulated for repetitive tasks. - The ability to work with Google Maps and other similar APIs. - An integration or coupling with R, Geoda, and Stata

Richard

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Maptitude GIS

I am a public health scientist, epidemiologist, who studies the spatial/ geography of disease. This includes dealing with questions concerning disease clusters (e.g. several breast cancer cases in a neighborhood and its location to say, a toxic waste site) , the impact of air quality in some neighborhoods versus others, access to medical care and where people work, etc. When I started using GIS in public health about 20 years ago I started with Maptitude 3.0. I also had access to two other packages, ArcView and MapInfo. I attended a workshop in Iowa that used Maptitude and its cost was less than half of the other brands. (that is still the case) The cost really appealed to my boss and especially since Caliper included census data, rivers, streets, much more whereas the other vendors were charging the proverbial arm and a leg for data. Caliper still does this and includes even more. After a while I started teaching GIS to public health practitioners in my state (WA) and I learned the other packages because sometimes health departments had already bought software but no one knew how to use it. I made up a set of exercises all of which I could do in Maptitude but much to my chagrin about half I could not do in brands X. I taught in summer institutes which were a week long 8 hours/day. I found that by Monday afternoon we were making maps of all kinds and starting to do some really complicated stuff. With the other packages when I taught them it would be Wednesday afternoon before we could tackle the interesting problems. This has not really changed although brands X have improved a lot, but Maptitude has too and remains very easy to use, is stable, and has excellent documentation. You do not have to buy a bunch of extra books to learn how to use it. The PDF manual that comes with it is excellent. You really can teach yourself how to use it even for the most complicated problems. It remains the least expensive, comes with a ton of data, has excellent tech support done by people who get interested in what you are trying to do. But there is one more thing. I have a lot more to do than work (play!) with GIS - which I love to do. Maptitude is logically laid out and designed in a way that the procedures to do this or that stick with me even though sometimes I have to be away from it weeks at a time. Ordinary people can learn to use it; no need to be a GIS wonk. No need to necessarily hire a GIS technician.

PROS

Ease of use, logical sequence of steps for mapping procedures, quick making of several types of thematic maps, well designed procedure for spatial overlay -a critical feature for public health work, integration to Google Maps, routing capability, ease of selecting features, can be connected to ArcMap, 3D maps, buffers, unlimited number of columns and rows in the attribute data (not the case for other GISs- a big deal for public health data which often has 500+ columns) , Caliper's training videos, stability, tech support. Easy to make slides and fancy maps for presentations and publications. It is fast. Geocoding is quite good. I have geocoded a few hundred thousand death certificates in 30 minutes with a very high hit rate, sometimes higher than commercial geocoding companies. Video demos available through the Help menu. Merging, overlay, clipping, the usual GIS functions - straightforward. Provides a connectivity matrix to use for spatial modeling.

CONS

I would like to see more raster map capability, more higher level spatial analysis tools. However there are several open source/access tools which can be integrated with Maptitude to some degree. I would like to see the scripting language changed to Python. The current one is powerful but nothing like Python. The regression package should not be used to model spatial variables if you are interested in a real spatial regression as it does not take into account proximity. But Maptitude does provide a connectivity matrix of several orders which can be used in statistical packages like SAS, Stata, and R.

Len

Banking, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

20 year Maptitude user review

The software is the "best bang for the buck" as far as I am concerned and the support from the Caliper tech staff always has been very good. I continue to be amazed at how sophisticated the software is and what we can do with it. After 20 years we are still learning and developing new applications for our bank clients.

PROS

Maptitude is very sophisticated software which nevertheless is easy to use. It also is an incredible value for the cost. Maptitude includes hundreds of demographic variables and no added charge.

CONS

This is difficult question to answer because we like Maptitude so much and we've been using it for more than 20 years. Like most software companies Caliper is always creating new updated versions of its software and for non-technical users like ourselves sometimes we can get a little frustrated learning the new way to do things in the latest versions.

Reason for choosing Maptitude

More than 2 decades ago we switched to Maptitude because we recognized it as an incredible value. But I must say it offers incredibly sophisticated analysis (we use "drive time rings" to help banks determine the "practical service area" around their branches for example) that doesn't demand a high level of technical knowledge (we are a small company).

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback!

Replied August 2019

Mike

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

User with 15+ years experience with Maptitude

I've been using Maptitude for more than 15 years. It is simply the best tool available for businesses that need a market planning mapping and data resource. It can do everything I need it to do - from the very simple to the complex. It integrates nicely with other programs and file types making analysis and presentation very easy. I highly recommend Maptitude to firms who need a function-rich GIS mapping solution. It is the best!

PROS

Easy to use and function-rich. Easy to produce impactful, presentation maps. Territory management tool and location analysis capabilities are outstandimg.

CONS

No particular weaknesses. Even if you're not certain how to accomplish something, their expert technical team will find a way and suggest options to help the user achieve the desired result.

Reasons for switching to Maptitude

Because of the features included, it allows me to do everything I need to do. And, very cost-effective, so it was an easy 'sell' to license the product.

Murtaza

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Maptitude: The most affordable resource-rich GIS software

I have been a Maptitude user for over 10 years doing research and teaching the next generation of Spatial Analysts. Maptitude is great value for mone because of the range of spatial analytic tools that come bundled with the main purchase. There is no need to purchase additional expensive add-ins. The software comes bundled with geo-demographic data, street network files, and other data sets primarily focussing on North America and the UK. There are several global data sets available as well. Given that Maptitude is topology-sensitive, it can do spatial analysis that some other GIS cannot. Furthermore, it is very fast with large data sets. Personally, I would like to see two additional features in Maptitude. First, I'd like to see the ability to create a script of the commands being executed so that one could rerun the same analysis by simplifying re-executing the log file on the updated data sets. Second, I'd like to see better integration with the freeware R to extend Maptitude's capabilities. Even without my wishlist, Maptitude packs more functionality than any other desktop GIS know off and at the most affordable price.

PROS

Most affordable. Packed with advanced spatial analytics Comes bundled with geodemographic data

Debbie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Maptitude Makes a Visual Impact

Maptitude maps have been a key component to showing a huge cancer cluster around Fort