User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(59)

59

4 stars

(37)

37

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Browse Elasticsearch Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 100 results

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Adam Victor from Liferay, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best search engine on the market

I work with Elasticsearch as a developer on a daily bases for textual search. It is the greatest tool I've used in years. Really like it.

Pros

It is just the best back end for search engines in the market. A NoSQL database that is trustworthy. Also, it is open source. Incredibly easy to use.

Cons

Mostly for developers: other people would have a hard time with it.

Reasons for Choosing Elasticsearch

Elasticsearch is basically the standard of the market. Much easier to set up, maintain and extend than Solr. And it is an open source software, unlike Algolia.

September 2019

Jim from AristaMD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Scale, Features, Functionality.

Excellent. The ELK stack is the foundation of our audit process, and it's held up really well. The installation can be automated, and archiving in the AWS environment works quite well. We have not yet had a problem in scaling resources to match our resource needs. The integrations with logstash, beats and kibana have been excellent, and used to great effect.

Pros

Scale: You can run this from a single server or even co-installed on a database or file server. I wouldn't recommend it, but let's just say it will run in a small box. On the top side, Elasticsearch will run in clusters managing multiple Terabytes of data. Features: Excellent flexibility to absorb multiple types of data sources, and great integration with Logstash and Kibana.

Cons

The upgrades in terms of archived data. This platform changes significantly on an annual basis. If you do a ton of customization, automation, or work with a lot of data, this can be an issue as you will need to update ALL of your data for every upgrade.

Reasons for Choosing Elasticsearch

When starting up we did not want to be harnessed by the cost of analyzing our data output. Elasticsearch had the capacity to handle our data needs at an essentially zero license cost.

April 2021

Zack from Kong

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Best open source search engine, offers fast and speedy search

Elasticsearch is an essential part of the our operations architecture.

Pros

Adding elasticsearch to most projects is a great way to have high performant full text or json document search. The common use case is for searching through log files (ELK or EFK stack) which is now the canonical way to handle logging for most distributed systems such as Kubernetes. Installing elasticsearch is not trivial but has been made much simpler in recent years due to being able to run ES in containers (i.e. helm charts). We use ES to accelerate general search, as well as being a core component in our logging stack.

Cons

There are many different configuration options available so there is still some ramp time required. There's also the issue of Elastic changing the licensing from Apache 2.0 to SSPL and Elastic. While this is probably not unexpected due to Amazon's predatory behavior when it comes to OSS and AWS, it doesn't help customers and the community to have two different projects.

November 2020

SREEHARI from ALTIMEtriK CORP

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Decent Data store but lot of scalable issues

Pros

Its decent search to NOSQL DB and I find it good for content management

Cons

it has scalable and reliability issues. I would not recommend this for your SOR

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Blazing fast in searching through a lot of data!

I am extremely satisfied with Elasticsearch, its speed & querying capabilities among lots of data amaze me!

Pros

The fact that Elasticsearch offers really efficient & quick querying of data without a compromise on the different range of queries it can support is really awesome, also Elasticsearch can rank matching documents based on matching criteria which is also very useful. Elasticsearch also handles distributed queries very efficiently.

Cons

Reindexing documents can be a real pain if there is a major change in the schema, otherwise no complaints.

Reasons for Choosing Elasticsearch

Elasticsearch has more features, a good user community, and suited our needs better, therefore we selected Elasticsearch.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Best way to process application log data

We had lots of network-related log files with millions of records to be processed and identify errors, user activity, and many other pieces of information. If we didn't have Elasticsearch its a nightmare to process those. With the help of Elasticsearch, we were able to process those and even visualize them with nice graphs and charts. ultimately we were able to build an automated alerting system when there is an error or unusual user activity in the network system.

Pros

It's really easy to set up and there are not many configurations need to get started with. It comes with other supporting tools such as Filebeats to collect the logs from the files, Logstash to ship data to Elasticsearch, and Kibana to visualize the data. It processes millions of data within seconds. Elasticsearch can be clustered with multiple nodes and it guarantees higher data availability. Elasticsearch has lots of proper documentation and community support. It's easy to integrate with programming languages such as Java

Cons

Elasticsearch doesn't provide backward version compatibility. We have to use the same version of Elasticsearch, Logstash, and Kibana. Data is getting saved as files inside Elasticsearch and those can get deleted. There is no easy way to edit the data.

June 2020

Sanchit from Visa

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Highly recommended for search platforms

Setting up a search platform using Elasticsearch was super fun and easy. I was able to get some great search query response times and development efforts were minimal compared to dealing with Lucene directly.

Pros

It's a great tool to setup a search platform almost of any size in a company. I have worked with Apache Lucene and Elasticsearch just saves all that trouble of dealing with the indices all the time in Lucene and rather provides seamless integration through APIs for search queries. It was really easy to setup the cluster and shards and manage the stack. The APIs offer a wide range of search features and saves a lot of effort coding hundreds of line for every small advanced search filtering function.

Cons

The documentation of the APIs could be improved. It was a bit overwhelming at times to lookup the correct functionality we wanted to actually implement. The tutorials and courses are quite expensive.

October 2020

Stanislav from ALICE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Industry standard for search

As a developer, was using it for quite a lot of time for different projects and would say it is almost impossible to find an alternative for this product due to the fact it is the best product in the segment.

Pros

- the overall performance is great, easily handles big amount of data and provides near instant response times; - fail tolerance and high availability features out from the box; - open-source; - elk stack is mostly the best tool to analyze the logs of your applications;

Cons

- could be hard to setup / maintain even for technical people, so probably you will need to use some services which provide support and better analytics - migration between versions could require some additional efforts due breaking changes

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Distributed Search and analytics engine available in cloud

Best search and analytics software available in cloud, flexible to use and available free trial to evaluate it.

Pros

This is best search software for data searching and analytics on stream data in cloud. It is so flexible complex keyword searches and very efficient. Great tool for analyzing logs very powerful. 24/7 customer support.

Cons

Not really a negative side but if you have low bandwidth web interface will become very slow.And think learning manual still needs some improvement.

February 2021

Sam from TrueCommerce EDI Solutions Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Elasticsearch Review

We really enjoy using Elasticsearch (ELK Stack) in our Kubernetes environment. the ease of deployment is unmatchable compared to other solutions.

Pros

I loved how easy this was to spin up and get going in our environment with minimal research, trial, and error.

Cons

I think to cluster Elasticsearch was my least favorite part about the implementation. there were a lot of "nitty gritty" config details to be ironed out

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Dilraj from Click Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great solution for implementing searching over vast amount of data!!

Elasticsearch helps in performing optimised searching over the vast amount of data present in your system. The configuration for Elasticsearch can have some learning curve, but once setup completely, the indexed searches are really fast as compared to other basic solutions and helps users in searching your system from vast amount of data. Its ideal for Big data and can be used in other e-commerce solutions also. Text searching is really fast and helps your system in maintaining performance and scalability over search operations.

Pros

Elasticsearch is a great solution for implementing optimised searches over the data you have lying in your databases. The setup and configuration is a bit tricky, but once you have configured the data points and the indexes, the search is lighting fast. You can go for the complete text search or for the autocomplete bases suggestions which can help your users to quickly search for the right things in your system.

Cons

The setup of Elasticsearch does have a learning curve for the developers, but the documentation is really helpful in getting you over the curve. Setting up indexes or data points for search can be tricky. Elasticsearch needs to setup a more proactive customer support so that developers who are facing deadlines, can easily sort their issues with the help of tech support.

April 2020

M. Serhat from BAUM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A complete stack for full text search

Elasticsearch might be overkill if you are working with a small or mid-sized applications. However it's a serious solution for big-scale apps that are dealing with millions of records. The setup of the Elasticsearch might seem easy, but the maintenance is not. If you have simpler needs, I would suggest the full-text search functionality of modern PostgreSQL versions.

Pros

Elasticsearch is quite powerful and fast. You can implement it to any enterprise software independent of the scale. It's well documented and getting frequent updates. It's also a reliable software that you can use in mission-critical operations.

Cons

Breaking changes between different versions are hard to deal with. Each major version upgrade of ElasticSearch is bringing new functionality, improved security, and speed - but at the same time, it requires you to update your indexes, which is not an easy task if you don't have a strong infrastructure team.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Filip from Castle Intelligence

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Essential tool for all my devops needs

Pros

I've been using Elasticsearch since early days, with very different things in mind. I started with simple text search - with some additional tweaks, stemming and other cool features it helped us drive enormous traffic to our website. I can't imaging pulling it off so easily with any other tool. Every day I use it for web server log analytics. Search and great visualizations make it an absolute essential in work my toolset. We also run a lot of algorithm analytics on top of our Elasticsearch cluster. If you're looking for managed options check AWS Elasticsearch Service, or the recently introduced Elastic Cloud.

Cons

My only concern with Elasticsearch is that it might get expensive to run pretty quickly. But with a certain amount of effort put into optimization it's gonna be worth it.

December 2019

Onur from D-Smart

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Working On Big Data Is Now More Comfortable

Our company uses elasticsearch to analyze data in very large data. Successful indexing is designed in a cluster (node) structure, which has made our work much easier. Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Cons

The only feature I don't like is that it is Java based.

Reasons for Choosing Elasticsearch

Nowadays, there is no issue that can be said negatively in the IT sector except elasticsearch is java based. When a search engine researcher tests this product once. They will ask themselves why they have not used it so far.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Elasticsearch is a general purpose search engine that can do much more than search

We use Elasticsearch to filter and sort search results in our marketplace. We've built out many complicated queries that allow us to do interesting things like geo-based queries, personalization, and time boxed deals.

Pros

Elasticsearch offers a very flexible system for adding search capability to your systems. It is also capable of much more. The REST API and great documentation makes getting started very simple. Elasticsearch was also designed with scaling in mind. Adding nodes and self balancing is quite easy. AWS offers hosted Elasticsearch that makes spinning up your first cluster as simple as a few clicks.

Cons

Writing complicated queries can be quite tedious at times. The JSON interface is not always easy to read when trying to match up parentheses. Upgrading from older versions is not a simple process.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Great for indexing a large amount of data

We're ElasticSearch mainly to index large amount of logs from several servers. Its makes it very easy for us to index and search logs. Logstash sends the logs and with Kibana we access to logs and create nice dashboards. But, you have to manage your indexes. For our log an index is created every day which we reindex monthly to a new index, then we do a forcemerge and after that we delete the daily indexes. This keeps the number of shards low. If we don't do this we run into problems because if to many shards. But, you can schedule this via curl and with every new version of Kibana/ElasticSearch you can do more and more via the GUI. For us this is the number one tool to index and search gigabytes of logs on a daily base and we're able to keep months of logs and still be able to search through it.

Pros

Indexing large amount of data Searching data Very scalable Creating a cluster is very easy Ability to send commands via CURL to the API Creating snapshots of your data

Cons

Managing indexes can be a bit of a pain Sometimes issues with indexes becoming read only

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

One stop solution for all the heavy search operations across huge set of data

It's been great!

Pros

As a backend developer, I know for a fact that I can rely upon elasticsearch for all the times when I have to support search based on string across the database. You throw some set of documents to elasticseatch, and you are good to go to search anything amongst the provided documents. They have some supercool features to support string based search for say support for distributed systems, support for aggregations and analysers & folding, etc. The documentation out there makes it lot easier to get going with it :)

Cons

The memory optimisation related issues could be alarming sometimes if not taken care of properly. You may end up having some weird system crashes.

April 2021

Matthew from Fidelity Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Superb search, logging, and analytics platform

Searching a database of parameterized data to provide results to buyers. Ingesting millions of product updates on a daily basis from dozens of distributors. Logging and analyzing user activity for business metrics, system performance, and security. Elasticsearch has been a vital tool for all these use cases.

Pros

Search functionality is our basic need, and Elasticsearch nails it - scalable, fast, efficient. It is also good at logging, aggregation, and analytics when used in combination with the rest of the Elastic stack.

Cons

It's complex and can be a challenge to dial in performance unless you have a really vanilla use case. Docs are light on details and examples, so there is a fair amount of trial and error.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Gedson from Carrilho Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The perfect searching allied to a RDB

We've been pairing Elasticsearch with a traditional RDB in many projects with great results. This way we don't compromise our data reliability and searching speed is blazing fast.

Pros

Searching is where elasticsearch is second to none, either in terms, n-grams or full-text. Latest releases have greatly improved the aggregation performance, so it's also a great fit for analytics workloads. The customizable sharding and replica configurations make is very reliable too.

Cons

Searching and joining different documents has room for improvement, it's usualy not as fast as we would like it to be, so most of the times we end up un-normalizing documents and en-richening their data to boost searching performance.

January 2019

Miguel from Solutions LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Elasticsearch Makes Big Data Possible

We've dramatically improved the stability of our big data analytics compared to any other data store we've used.

Pros

Elasticsearch is the single most valuable tool I have come across in my career for solving big data problems. No other datastore scales as well and as easily as ES. The premium features that come with a license are extremely powerful and definitely make a case for upgrading beyond just the need for support like most database solutions.

Cons

Elasticsearch definitely has a significant learning curve for developers and administrators experienced with a more relational database solution. However with some time and with the aid of the fantastic UI Kibana these hurdles are small in comparison to the power you can reap.

August 2017

Ramakrishna from Sharp

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Elastic Search is built on top of Lucene, it provides the most powerful full-text search capability

Pros

Easier to horizontally scale Distributed by design Excellent full-text search Elastic Search is schema free'instead, it accepts JSON documents, as well as tries to detect the data structure, index the data, and make it searchable. Elastic Search is document-oriented. It stores real world complex entities as structured JSON documents and indexes all fields by default, with a higher performance result. Elastic Search is API driven; actions can be performed using a simple Restful API. Elastic Search records any changes made in transactions logs on multiple nodes in the cluster to minimize the chance of data loss.

Cons

Elastic-search query DSL is less common and less flexible than Postgres SQL . Everything is indexed by default, which creates an index overhead. in order to understand how to properly query your data and how it is stored, you have less control over consistency.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Using ELK stack for monitoring and logging

It has been really good. We only have JSON data and we stream it to the elastic search. We can search and index data as we need and it is really bast and performant.

Pros

This is the most awesome software stack for data analysis and searching. We stream data to the elastic search and index it so we can search it and analyse what we receive on the fly. It does the job extremely well. On top of that, the software comes as a managed service on cloud providers which means it comes with almost no maintenance overhead.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. The only thing is Json is mandatory data format unlike the Apache Solr which is a competitor.

March 2019

Aditya from Capiot Softwares

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Searching made easy when you need it the most.

and look for log files and then find the issue. ELK sovles this problem efficiently.During troubleshooting, it is biggest pain to open servers

Pros

A consolidated UI to search and find the patterns in log file. Speed of search return is also very good. The way this product manages the files at the backend, it does conserve a lot of space considering the amound of data it stores.

Cons

Search pattern bar could be more user friendly. When the load increases, serach bar is the first to show impact and starts to deviate from an efficient behaviour. Cursor keeps going away during such times making it difficult to tweak the attern.

January 2020

Arbaaz from Calsoft Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

This is the best in the market.

Elasticsearch is one of the best in the market, it's efficient and highly scalable.

Pros

It's user friendly, considering the fact it has a complete stack (ELK) associated with it, which not only stores data, but collects log(Logstash) and it's capable of showing those data in it's visualization tool(Kibana).

Cons

I have not come across anything associated with this too that I did not like.

Reasons for Choosing Elasticsearch

Elasticsearch is highly preferable because of the fact that it's highly scalable and obviously the ELK stack associated with it is really good.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Luis Felipe from Sprinklr

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Have too much data to your database?

Our application makes many filters for too much data, without Elasticsearch it just stops

Pros

- Almost 100% of uptime - Great support - Really fast and easy to use for any application - Easy to configure

Cons

- The cost of product may inviabilize it's use for small applications or companies - If the configuration goes wrong it may really affect the speed

Reasons for Switching to Elasticsearch

Cloudsearch was not fast enough

August 2017

Ravikiran from Sharp Software Development India

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Best product for search and aggregations

Great full text capabilities. Highly scale able . Good documentation. Good set of libraries.

Pros

The search is very good and very fast in response. Documentation is very good for writing NoSQL queries. Libraries are there for 90% of popular languages.

Cons

It would be good to create a standardization for NoSQL. It would be great, Elastic search provides IDE to write the queries rather than editors.

September 2020

Neelesh from ToTheNew

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

ElasticSearch: A Powerful Search Engine

Its a very good search engine as it has a power to query for more than thousands-lakhs of records in just few seconds and sometimes is perform better. But again its all depends on the query you have written. Sometimes writing a specific busniess query got harder over SQL queries.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance. Good for Distributed full text search, No-SQL, Aggregation. Can be used as a replacement MongoDB and RavenDB. Capability of handling mutiple type of data- including textual, numerical, geospatial, structured, and unstructured.

Cons

Mostly for developers, other people's would have a hard time to understand and work on it. Also the query is typical or hard to write in terms of SQL queries.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Damon from Sigma Connectivity

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Excellent Tool When Used Correctly

Pros

Elasticsearch simplifies data queries and integration with user interfaces. Describing the records as JSON makes updates as simple as modifying your JSON format. The query builders make selecting complex data relationships easy to construct.

Cons

As designed and by default, Elastcsearch does not immediately synchronize data between server nodes. Updates and inserts to records take time to reconcile which can cause some data integrity issues with frequent updates. ES is not the best tool to take bulk or rapid changes to the data. It is a great tool for retrieving data. The best combination is to use a SQL database for CRUD operations and replicate/synchronize the data to Elasticsearch for user interface/reporting.

April 2020

Ken from H2 Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Works well for document storage and searching

Good experience, excellent open source search product.

Pros

We were looking for a solution to help us store and sort documents. We have a large dataset that needs to be organized and quickly sortable by end-users. Confidentiality is also a key requirement. Elasticsearch fit the bill, it's very easy to setup and also quite scalable. We are working with the 6.8 version of Elasticsearch and find it to be robust and resilient. There are a LOT of features that we haven't even tapped yet. The UI is fast and performant, we integrated Grafana for its dashboarding capabilities.

Cons

Filtering and searching does require some ramp time to understand the syntax. ES comes with a lot of features so it can be overwhelming at first. Hit a UI glitch with 7.x which is why we rolled down to 6.x. Support is community unless you want to pay.

June 2018

Keren from CheckPoint software ltd

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Managing big databases

Pros

The product is very popular among many companies, therefore there is a big community who can share their knowledge, the search is very fast and the installation process and integration are very easy.

Cons

I leas like the Elasticsearch itself does not provide much except just storing the information, the additional tools (Kibana and Logstash) are required.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Wechuli from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Quality Search and Analytics Software

Elasticsearch has been a powerful search engine that caters to most of my search and analytics use cases.

Pros

- Powerful and fast, near-real-time search capabilities that can handle massive amounts of data with a breeze. - Free, you can download the software and use it on your own infrastructure without any license concerns - Ability to enhance search speed and storage capacity by building clusters that store part of the data. Configuring of clusters is fairly straightforward and easy to do. - Machine learning capabilities - API clients available for popular programming languages such as PHP, Python, JavaScript, Java , GO and C#. - Convenient cloud offering that makes the deployment, security and configuration of an ES cluster super easy. - Free Kibana client to visualize data in ElasticSearch

Cons

- A bit of a learning curve to get up to speed with the query language - There are some nuances and security pitfalls that you might run into if you try to configure an ElasticSearch cluster yourself.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Adam Victor from Liferay, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

One of the best text-based search products in the marketing.

We get to solve our search scalability problems on our on-premise product with the ease and consistency of Elasticsearch.

Pros

* Easy to use, especially when compared with alternatives s.a. Solr. * Free software. * Elastic has a great customer support. * It is very powerful, supporting heavy loads. * Well-documented.

Cons

* Demands a specific knowledge of the theory of search. * While way higher level than most services, it is not as high level as, let us say, a Google search. * Often used as a NoSQL in inappropriate settings.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Really fast

Pros

Its a really good solution for people looking to process large volumes of data, it allows to filter, make aggregations and other operations really fast even when you need to rely on text search.

Cons

Its really easy to make your performance really low, you have to be really careful with your cluster setup, mapping and queries.

February 2019

Ekaterina from Spree Solutions LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

A revolutionary tool for web applications

By using RoR as a platform we use wrappers developed by Elasticsearch. This is a great, well-documented solution for a quick start, a great help to the developers.

Pros

As a web developer, I have been looking for opportunities to make our apps better, smarter and more developed. Elasticsearch made a revolution in our business by providing complex filtration systems and search, which weren't easy to implement previously: too much code and server consumption. Our products got better, we make good money and save our time.

Cons

I still haven't figure the implementation of replication and clusterization of Elasticsearch, but maybe it is a lack of information.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Chirag from CitiusTech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

ElasticSearch - Modern NoSql datanbase

We are building a new and next generation product and we are using elastic in all search or autocomplete area of the application. Its really fast and powerful tool.

Pros

ElasticSearch is one of the most popular and fastest growing NoSql data store. one of the best feature we are using is to search and return data quickly. Schema less is making its most powerful features and base of this entire product.

Cons

Only cons we are facing right now is its major version Upgrades and breaking change.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

One of the best NoSQL Databases

I use it every day in a production environment, with all the stack that it provides.

Pros

This database allows you to store the data in a document format. The ability to get it runnning in a cluster configuration is perfect for many projects. Its continuos development is introducing very important new features.

Cons

The Query DLS is a little tricky at first, sometimes you need to write a complex query in order to achieve the logic you want.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

James from Digital Media

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

High quality search engine tool

Pros

Easy to get started, fast with basically no optimization. It can handle massive amounts of data without breaking a sweat.

Cons

Getting data INTO Elasticsearch can be tricky, depending on the source. Version 7 fixes a lot of these issues, however. Licensing is less than ideal, too: many useful features are locked behind a paid support license, and the open source version is receiving fewer and fewer new features.

November 2017

Sagar from Trustgeek

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Fastest and easy data storage and search engine

Pros

Elasticsearch stores and search through data in a distributed manner. Available to integrate with most of the programming languages to integrate with own application. Also provides rest api to directly integrate through command line or browser. Easier to add and remove cluster nodes for larger distributed datastore.

Cons

It requires large heap memory for better performance since is based on JVM. The datastore handles text only.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Chris from EFI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Elasticsearch is wonderful free software. It is fast, scalable and easy to use.

Pros

Free! API driven Scalable multi-node architecture. Easy to understand JSON Tight integration with logstash and the rest of their stack

Cons

The steep initial learning curve Their own log format is often difficult to parse Some features are only available in the paid product.

June 2017

Al from Brown Technologies

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Great software. We use it everyday to index and find items of interest

Pros

How it is designed to make search fast with the replicated indexes. It is also well designed to handle complex structured data and queries.

Cons

There is not as much admin interface to help manage the indexes. At times the cluster turns yellow due to shards being re-allocated.

August 2019

John from Production Lift Systems, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

An extremely powerful tool that must be secured

My initial attempts to get a full ELK stack running were supremely frustrating. After spending loads of time getting a few installs up and running, I now just spin up a snapshot clone on Digital Ocean. Instant fresh install.

Pros

The options available to tweak this platform is literally endless. You are able to extend this setup to handle virtually any data source / data type that you have. Just to get up and running will cost you nothing.

Cons

A default, "simple" install is almost instantly hackable. I was aware of this issue, but according to a never ending list of current news stories, most users aren't aware of how vulnerable this setup is. Keep in mind that this is not locked down by default and if you install this on a public facing server without IP access restrictions or solid firewalling, you will be taken over, you will leak customer data and you may end up with the type of brand recognition that you do not want.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Gabriel M. from Investing.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Significant upgrade to our search capabilities

We refactored our search engine and used ElasticSearch as a back-end.

Pros

The flexibility, it's free, large community and plenty of tools

Cons

You have to use 3rd party tools in order to make the best of it (management mainly). It's JAVA, so GC could be an issue.

August 2019

Michele from SpazioDati

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

You know, for search!

Pros

It's simply the industry standard for search. The extensive functionalities make complex problems look easy.

Cons

Documentation could be a bit more helpful, especially in dealing with breaking changes.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Gilad from Forter

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Best out there, hard to master.

I'd definitely recommend to anyone. Just take your time to study it carefully as its powerful tools requires mastering.

Pros

* It's free * Very powerful tools - can do almost anything with a single query * Works on any data

Cons

There is quite a bit of a learning curve. Syntax could really mess the intentions up. There is a difference between 'filter' and 'filters', 'term' and 'terms' filters and that's the beginning. Even basic tasks like searching if a field exists are not as straightforward as key and value. Queries could be very long and not very declarative.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Excellent Database for Storing/Querying Data Efficiently

Overall I like this database but I did face some challenges related to certificate passing while making a connection due to lack of knowledge base on internet

Pros

- Indexing Feature to store large amounts of data - Quick and easy searching - Wild card/best match searching - Graphical representing of data

Cons

- Elastic search client JAVA libraries not backward compatible with higher version of elastic search - Not very easy to connect to ES cluster using JAVA - There should be more sample codes available to easily illustrate JAVA, Python, etc to connect to ES cluster

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Super powerful search engine for your Business.

A bit hard at first, specially tweaking the queries & indexes to get just what we needed from it. But after that, it has been a very reliable tool that we use everyday.

Pros

ElasticSearch provides some of the mos accurate & fast search results of the market. We moved from a Sphinx installation into ES and have never looked back. Multiple indexes, lots of querying options & great support from tooling.

Cons

Can be a bit hard to get into at first. However, the product is very well documented, so you just need to invest some time in their docs.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

wow. it really is powerful

Pros

it's a really powerful tool that can find exactly everything you need on your data.

Cons

if you manage it by yourself on your infrastructure, pay attention to the needed resources

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Elasticsearch is a real-time distributed and document based search and analytics engine

This is one of the favorites in Streaming Analytics.

Pros

Mainly it an open source. Improved Scalability with full-text search, sharding & Aggregations.

Cons

When it comes to querying, it's less flexible comparing to PostresSQL. Not much recommended as a "Data Store" when comparing to Hadoop or MongoDB.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Amazing product

Free (open source) software with so much feature and best search functionality.

Pros

Flexible, great API support, active development so new features are added all the time, open source, can scale

Cons

Sometimes cluster goes down without much information what happened. No troubleshooting tools that are easily available, have to plaugh through logs

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Kyle from Amazon

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Highly scalable search functionality

Pros

If you worked in a big online store on the analytics side you can really understand the hard work that this software is doing, and the value that it adds to your conversion rate. It has great potential and used in combination with Kibana it proves a very good choice for fast and great search results.

Cons

Depending on your users conversion rate and volume it can become a high cost operation, if you have low margins.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 100 reviews