User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.63

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance."
  • icon"It's an inexpensive solution that's easy to configure for searching of complex content like major support portals."
  • icon"API driven design for accessing and querying data. Great community with easy integrations."
  • icon"Installation & Configuration is something I have struggled a bit especially while upgrading to a higher version."
  • icon"Can suffer from 5 V problems that are Velocity, Veracity, Value, Volume and Variety. Query is less flexible than SQL query."
  • icon"The cost of product may inviabilize it's use for small applications or companies. If the configuration goes wrong it may really affect the speed."

All Elastic Stack Reviews

1-25 of 60 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes for best scalability

Organizing chat data to be searchable and log management to proactively fix issues.

Pros

One of the best features I like is that Elastic built their own kubernetes operator to extend the k8s orchestration and make it easy to deploy, scale, change, secure and configure hot-warm infrastructures. Their operator saves a ton of time during configuration. I have deployed stacks on different k8s architectures like Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service and small on prem clusters with microk8s without issues. When we reach performance thresholds we add more elastic nodes and ECK secures and joins it to the cluster and in minutes we can leverage the extra compute. A lot of changes that are done after going to PROD are non-disruptive since ECK is aware of the main node and makes sure to pass the master role before the main one is re-deployed. I have also migrated Elastic Cloud Enterprise deployments running on bare metal and the stability of ECK is unmatched.

Cons

Currently it is not recommended or supported for a PROD cluster to do its own self monitoring so you have to deploy a monitoring cluster. In cloud scenarios this adds costs and extra complexity so it will be great to have this feature supported.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Elastic Stack for Application Logs

Elastic Stack is an open source full stack solution for logs of modern day big data applications processing logs with its different applications of Logstash, Elastic and Kibana. We are using it to read through application logs, storing logs data and using dashboard to easily navigate thru the big chunk of files. Its an amazing combo of applications, completely free of cost with easy implementation and powerful online support.

Pros

1. End to End Solution of enterprise logs with services such as Logstash, Elastic and Kibana. 2. Strong User Community and support. 3. Easy to use and implement. 4. Proactive updates on possible downtimes. 5. Dashboards for easy navigation.

Cons

1. Cloud performance is slower than on premises installation. 2. It crashes in between which delay things sometimes.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

My favorite BI & SIEM Tool

overall i am delighted to have chosen this application, it solved many of our problems

Pros

Lightening fast, we built BI dashboards and the 5 years reports data gets populated within seconds that would otherwise takes hours traditionally database or BI tool

Cons

Very Big learning curve, first tie deployment takes very long time to make it work perfectly and then optimize it. need very good technical expertise

Reasons for choosing Elastic Stack

Not applicable

Victor Luis

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

This powerful tool allows you to take data from any source and format to search and analyze.

Pros

It is a super fast and efficient data extraction tool. Recommended for medium-sized projects. Handles large amounts of data, is scalable.

Cons

Usable from any device, however these must be state-of-the-art and offer great calculation speeds and ram storage.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Elastic Stack - A Complete Package for Big Data Visualizations and Fast Data Query!

Elastic Stack is a powerful platform which allows you to quickly search and query on the data even if the data is in huge volume, thanks to its distributed computing and storage. it has enabled me to develop an application which fetches results from TBs of data in seconds.

Pros

1.Allows Faster searching and query operations 2.Provides with easy data visualization for analysis 3.Support for multiple data sources 4.Good SDK support for quick integration with application 5.Scalable as per the requirement with support of kubernetes

Cons

1.UI is simple ,could be made more robust and dynamic 2.Calculations and processing speed can be further improved 3.Proper usage knowledge is required when using it on scalable platforms

Reasons for switching to Elastic Stack

Apart from data visualization capability Elastic Stack comes with seach and query functionality

Houcem

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Powerful stack for event collection, management and visualisation

A solid product with a rich feature set, if you get past the initial setup complexity.

Pros

Provides great features for log ingestion, normalisation and visualisation. Has a free open source tier which can be used to cover many use cases. Visualisation options are diverse and powerful. Solid community support in forums.

Cons

Initial setup can be tedious and is rather complex. The provided security ruleset tends to produce many false positives and requires fine tuning. Log ingestion options are not entirely covered by the web user interface.

User Profile

Animesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Best for Website Monitoring, Event Management and Log Analysis.

This lightweight, yet powerful, modern SIEM is well-suited for the modern security operations center as it can handle a wide range of activities with ease. elastic Stack is a powerful and flexible SIEM with feature-rich out-of-the-box tools that make it easy to get the job.

Pros

We are using ELK Stack SIEM, a scalable aggregation engine that helps us find patterns in our data as well as provides a wide array of customizable analytics and reports. With Elastic Stack, we have a better understanding of flaws and security issues, particularly memory tier support that ensures the security of our data and networks.

Cons

It is very challenging and time-consuming to upgrade cluster node roles and data replication.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Elastic Stack is the best for Business

we use elastic stack to integrated with elastiflow to track all the traffic destination, protocol log, and other activity inside network, it very nice and work well, and produce the nice dashboard and clear view.

Pros

the very powerful search engine I search around 5 million log in a second only. Very nice real-time dashboard, I can integrated with other software and see all the view of network traffic, traffic flow very well.

Cons

well I would say, it's pretty good already, but still some function need to use command alot.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

One of the best , simple log analytics and searching tool.

Best for searching, log analytics, and visualization software available in the market. The integration of Elastic Search, Logstash, and Kibana makes it one of the best overall software to manage and visualize and analyze logs.

Pros

It is very easy to deploy using docker containers and Kubernetes support. It's very easy to query a high volume of data and get results in seconds. Its easy-to-use UI is self-explanatory and also the forum support and documentation are quite helpful.

Cons

Sometimes it crashes in between. Query structure is somewhat completed, and can be made simple with more specific examples to use directly in projects.

Reasons for choosing Elastic Stack

It's easy to use and has good community support.

Isak

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Great tools for data visualization, aggregation and querying

The Elastic Stack allows our team to solve multiple problems, ranging from logging, to analytics and search.

Pros

Provides a large and powerful set of features suitable for many different data-dependent areas. Superb support.

Cons

Depending on use case it might be quite difficult to use - the most intuitive solution might not be the best at all.

M. Serhat

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

A complete stack for full text search

Elasticsearch might be overkill if you are working with a small or mid-sized applications. However it's a serious solution for big-scale apps that are dealing with millions of records. The setup of the Elasticsearch might seem easy, but the maintenance is not. If you have simpler needs, I would suggest the full-text search functionality of modern PostgreSQL versions.

Pros

Elasticsearch is quite powerful and fast. You can implement it to any enterprise software independent of the scale. It's well documented and getting frequent updates. It's also a reliable software that you can use in mission-critical operations.

Cons

Breaking changes between different versions are hard to deal with. Each major version upgrade of ElasticSearch is bringing new functionality, improved security, and speed - but at the same time, it requires you to update your indexes, which is not an easy task if you don't have a strong infrastructure team.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Elasticsearch is a general purpose search engine that can do much more than search

We use Elasticsearch to filter and sort search results in our marketplace. We've built out many complicated queries that allow us to do interesting things like geo-based queries, personalization, and time boxed deals.

Pros

Elasticsearch offers a very flexible system for adding search capability to your systems. It is also capable of much more. The REST API and great documentation makes getting started very simple. Elasticsearch was also designed with scaling in mind. Adding nodes and self balancing is quite easy. AWS offers hosted Elasticsearch that makes spinning up your first cluster as simple as a few clicks.

Cons

Writing complicated queries can be quite tedious at times. The JSON interface is not always easy to read when trying to match up parentheses. Upgrading from older versions is not a simple process.

Onur

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Working On Big Data Is Now More Comfortable

Our company uses elasticsearch to analyze data in very large data. Successful indexing is designed in a cluster (node) structure, which has made our work much easier. Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Cons

The only feature I don't like is that it is Java based.

Reasons for choosing Elastic Stack

Nowadays, there is no issue that can be said negatively in the IT sector except elasticsearch is java based. When a search engine researcher tests this product once. They will ask themselves why they have not used it so far.

User Profile

Gedson

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

The perfect searching allied to a RDB

We've been pairing Elasticsearch with a traditional RDB in many projects with great results. This way we don't compromise our data reliability and searching speed is blazing fast.

Pros

Searching is where elasticsearch is second to none, either in terms, n-grams or full-text. Latest releases have greatly improved the aggregation performance, so it's also a great fit for analytics workloads. The customizable sharding and replica configurations make is very reliable too.

Cons

Searching and joining different documents has room for improvement, it's usualy not as fast as we would like it to be, so most of the times we end up un-normalizing documents and en-richening their data to boost searching performance.

Miguel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Elasticsearch Makes Big Data Possible

We've dramatically improved the stability of our big data analytics compared to any other data store we've used.

Pros

Elasticsearch is the single most valuable tool I have come across in my career for solving big data problems. No other datastore scales as well and as easily as ES. The premium features that come with a license are extremely powerful and definitely make a case for upgrading beyond just the need for support like most database solutions.

Cons

Elasticsearch definitely has a significant learning curve for developers and administrators experienced with a more relational database solution. However with some time and with the aid of the fantastic UI Kibana these hurdles are small in comparison to the power you can reap.

Andreas

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Tolles Produkt - Misserables Firmengebaren

Der Elastic Stack mit 15 Nodes betreiben wir OnPrem als zentrales Logfile-Monitoring für unzählige Systeme.

Pros

Die search engine ist der Hammer. Die Software funktioniert gut, zuverlässig und performant.

Cons

In 4 Jahren hat 3 mal der Firmensitz gewechselt, letztes mal ins Ausland. Cowboy-Manieren beim Vertragsverlängerung - friss unsere AGBs (in Business-English) oder stirb. Ständig wechselnde Ansprechpartner. Rechnungen mit wechselnden Kontoverbindungen.

Reasons for choosing Elastic Stack

Wir wussten nichts von dem unverschämten Geschäftsgebaren von Elastic.co

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT