User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.61

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Although it is an open source log management solution, it is really flexible and agile, and helps me parse data rapidly and intuitively."
  • icon"And with the available plugins, you can take what you had and improve. Simple example, in the past I would get an email of all errors but now I can get an email, Slack or push it as a ticket via API."
  • icon"Its a good solution when comes to log collecting and alerting based on the metrics. It can use for send notifications through mail, slack etc."
  • icon"With limited hands on a team for a smaller company, there’s often not enough time to write extractors and content packs."
  • icon"Implementation was hard. There were issues within the log retention setup and sometimes had to rotate manually."
  • icon"Catching up on the latest updates can be a pain."

All Graylog Reviews

1-25 of 28 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Chamroeunrith

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Graylog Enterprise Log for Business

prevously we using syslog server to centralize log, and when we have more server and network we can not put all those log into syslog server that store data in mysql, it perform slow search and not report correctly, i have try spend sometime to search and i found graylog, i try to setup a few day until success because its new related to elastic search, but finally i find out and keep using until now, its around 3 years already since i use graylog server to monitor all the network activity, monitoring server with nxlog agent, monitor cisco switch with syslog, linux with syslog, and can monitor the radius authentication log, each time users plug the network or connect wifi log generated and sent to graylog-server, and graylog server create alert message send by telegram to system admin.

Pros

- Graylog is very powerful log, i have search around 50million of record in 3second only, very powerful log because it integrated with elastic search that perform log search very fast. - Telegram alert notification is what i like, i create the rule to let it send notification to telegram so i know what is going on on the network/server log. - enterprise license are free for one year, and make sure your traffic log not hit to 5GB/day. - support various log protocol, nxlog from windows, syslog from linux, and other such as aws. but i use only nxlog and syslog only.

Cons

its perfect already but the dashboard not so nice, not so flexible on the reporting yet.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

normal log search server support only syslog protocol, its not enough and not detail information. well, graylog is enterprise class, license cost is cheaper than other, fast search, support multi protocol of log, from windows server, linux, aws, and more protocol, but based on my experience and real work with graylog is we use graylog to store windows log, linux, cisco, mikrotik, fortigate, unifi router, dell server, dell SAN storage, and dell core swithc only. currently we have around 300 devices that sent log to graylog server, and log traffic around 3GB/day, but graylog can perform search the log information well even the database of graylog is 500GB for 6months, as we always archive the database when it increase to 500GB of log.

Reasons for switching to Graylog

syslog server when we have data store alot in mysql server it slow on search report, and not generate graph well.

Tim

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Great value to cost ratio for a solid log management solution

Graylog has been great to work with. Their sidecar implementations make client configuration and management very easy, and even with the free version, they provide reliable, albeit limited support (I’ve gotten good, live email replies to a couple of questions, versus only allowing you to access forums, etc).

Pros

Very low cost of ownership, particularly if you can get the Community (Free, Open-Source) version to meet your needs. I’ve implemented Graylog at multiple organizations for only the cost of hardware / storage.

Cons

Would love to have more plugins / content packs available in the Graylog Marketplace. With limited hands on a team for a smaller company, there’s often not enough time to write extractors and content packs.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Again, of note, we didn’t purchase. While there’d be added value to enterprise plugins and support, we are meeting our needs with the Community (F.O.S.S.) version.

Reasons for switching to Graylog

Cost associated with using the tool, based on data ingestion, was going to substantially increase our expenses to even maintain the solution as it stood. This was the case at multiple organizations, as well.

Response from Graylog

Hi Tim, Thank you so much for taking time out to write us a review. Glad you are happy with Graylog & the cost savings you are seeing. We have recently launched "Illuminate" which has a lot of ready to use content packs. You can check it out here - https://www.graylog.org/illuminate/illuminate-authentication. You can sign up for our newsletter too to get updated when we launch new content packs - https://www.graylog.org/newsletter . Thanks again, Team Graylog

Replied November 2020

Rahul

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2020

Graylog support

Pros

Its easy to use and deploy. We have installed it over centos and its easy to deploy and start working on.

Cons

The customer support structure needs to improve, we have been facing unknown issues for which rca was needed however there have been issues. The streams were showing running but they were struck. Also option should be there to easily search logs

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Cost

User Profile

Adam "Abe"

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

You can’t do better for building a Log Management Ecosystem

I’ve recommended it as a solution to many local governments during my conference presentations and they’ve listened.

Pros

Graylog is built on ElasticSearch and extends its functionality out into a great product with the System Administrator in mind. You stand up the platform, point logs at it and the rest is up to your internal processes. I also enjoy that the vast majority of intelligence and augmented data is built directly into the platform rather than an outside product. The community support forums are chock full of helpful folks.

Cons

For a long time the visualizations were quite lacking and we required additional tools to properly tell our data stories but this is improving drastically with each new release.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Cost and simplicity. Also, you can leverage any aspect of ElasticSearch that you desire as well making it a very versatile choice.

Remi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Very strong on open source on-premise solution

Experience has been great, we started by using the free version, it has provided benefits early on to the dev teams to search through web logs without the need for downloading them and using a log parser application, or committing early to expensive paid tools. Since then we keep adding new sources and are looking at more enterprise features as usage grows.

Pros

Graylog has alot of flexibility and a mature feature set. We use it across all of our Windows as well as Linux servers. It has a strong community and alot of flexibility, does not impose restrictions on our applications, good documentation and generally receives regular updates and features.

Cons

I find some of the latest changes to the GUI (changes happen all the time with Graylog) are less user friendly - functionality to get count tables are still there but it is less dummy proof whereas before a novice user could click around in the side navigation and discover certain features. There are also less cloud offerings for Graylog so it fits more the on-premise model where you manage the graylog server/infrastructure.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

We had a senior team member that had experience with Graylog.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Incredibly flexible open source log management tool

I am a data analyst so I often deal with large amounts of data that are really complicated to parse and sort through. I used Graylog to aggregate and parse logs which I later analyzed for relevant information.

Pros

Graylog is a fantastic tool to summarize and aggregate data into simple and highly accessible visual depictions and dashboards. Although it is an open source log management solution, it is really flexible and agile, and helps me parse data rapidly and intuitively. I think it's one of the best alternatives to Splunk - and probably is a much better tool even for enterprises.

Cons

Learning curve is a little bit steep. You need a somewhat technical background to learn it, but once you grasp the basics, it is way less cumbersome than others such as Alienvault or Loggly.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Splunk conduces its searches via a formal query language. Since I didn't know it, it was really hard to extract meaningful insight from aggregated logs that spanned across many different categories.

Ray

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

One of The Best Log Management Tools in Market

Pros

Amazing documentation & really easy deployment made life easier for me. Data search also I found really easy & I have tried multiple products but graylog probably the most easiest one to follow

Cons

Nothing much so far. It has been great for our company

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Cost & better search. Also i found graylog better integrates with our current infrastructure too

Abel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Logging done right

I love the product. I spread the word everywhere I go because I believe it has a future in the undustry.

Pros

Traditionally every IT/MSP business will use some sort of system to log data from all inputs. What I hated the most about other systems was that they really didn't improve on what was given to them (meaning logs). They either just held the logs or perhaps told me about errors I already knew. With graylog, we were able to get a wealth of additional info. Sure it requires some work writing extractors or pipelines, but at the end you get exactly what you are looking for. And with the available plugins, you can take what you had and improve. Simple example, in the past I would get an email of all errors but now I can get an email, Slack or push it as a ticket via API. Another great feature is the side-car addition. No more managing configs individually, you can manage and maintain the configs all from graylog. My wish is to introduce native plugins for other SaaS products. Recently they added ability to inject Okta logs. How about Cisco Duo or Umbrella. Both are in hot demand right now, might as well get that data too.

Cons

It's great at what it does but it does have some limitations. Dashboards and graphs are not as flexible as lets say Grafana. Not that it should be, but if someone wants a pure dashboard system then this may not be for them.

User Profile

Marc

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2020

Great piece of software

Great piece of software, all our applications and cloud provider logs are being sent to graylog. Very easy to filter and review the logs. Their staff is nice, they're always grateful to help with doubts and giving support to OSS contributors.

Pros

All in one product. Lot of inputs available so you can ingest logs from a wide range of applications. Pipelines are a powerful tool to normalize data before indexing.

Cons

UI used to look "old". Now is getting much better but it still needs more love. The "single" designated master is not very cloud friendly. I'd like some kind of automated cluster management (with quorum to elect the master node) so we don't have to manually set one node as master while keeping our scaling operations.

Reasons for choosing Graylog

We considered ELK for this but the amount of available inputs made us to choose Graylog.

Response from Graylog

Hi Marc, Thanks so much for taking time out to leave us a review. Glad you find the variety of inputs useful. We have shared your suggestions with our product team and they will definitely consider them. Thanks, Team Graylog

Replied October 2020

User Profile

Luís Miguel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2020

Windows Servers Events Agreggation

My overall experience is very grafull, since i didn´t know anything about Graylog / Elastic Search, it´s been an adventures. Tears and Joy, may hours in deep community forum and documentation. Since then, audit active directory, filesharing, is been very easy to search.

Pros

We use graylog for Windows Server Events (Event Viewer) in one place, it´s very usefull. The Alert Setup and new features like Pipelines (For disclose unknown error codes) is one plus in the Graylog. The other Pro is the community forum and support. Theres a VDA version ready to use. (Ubuntu) Free Enterprise Licence with Traffic limitation ( normaly for one server / event aggregation)

Cons

If you need to custom setup with several graylog nodes is hard to get it running in the first try. Some nice features are only available in Enterprise Edition. No backup for Indexes is available , need to use external options. Very hard post-config and clean the logs for the right information (need work)

Reasons for choosing Graylog

Main the only one with no limits for free edition in terms of traffic / machines ... The Dashboards and the query agreggation made the job very easy afterwords.

Nathaniel

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Great features and a dedicated staff.

I haven't used Graylog for logging of large enterprise systems so I can't how it performs in those cases, but I do like the DIY feel for smaller projects. It is very customizable and easy to configure things how you like.

Pros

I like Graylog because of how easy it is to get logs flowing into the platform. Most of my experience has been with the AWS Cloudtrail plugin, but syslog wasn't hard either. The documentation works for most typical cases. I also love the new update! The dashboards are beautiful and it's easy to get any statistic you want. It's come a long way which shows dedication and a want to always be improving.

Cons

Most typical use cases are covered by the documentation, but if it isn't it can take some searching to figure out if there's a way to accomplish your goal. I have no experience with the enterprise or community support so I can't say how much that might help.

Sinisa

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Enterprise grade log management

I started with free version several years back and grew the cluster into multiple nodes. Product itself is solid and easy to maintain. Keep the documentation in sync with new features.

Pros

Initial deployment is well documented but after that it's up to the admin to figure out how to utilize the software.

Cons

Complexity grows with deployment size, which is expected from such software. Adding more predefined dashboards would save time for new admins while providing examples how to best utilize graylog.

Viraj

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2020

Great Solution for Log Collection

A complete solution when collecting log streams and alerting based on them.

Pros

Its a good solution when comes to log collecting and alerting based on the metrics. It can use for send notifications through mail, slack etc.

Cons

Implementation was hard. There were issues within the log retention setup and sometimes had to rotate manually.

Ashley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Find it, fix it..

Pros

Fire as many log files in to Graylog as you can find across your infrastructure, whether it be Linux, Windows or hardware. Fine grain search, alerts and actions are at your fingertips in milliseconds

Cons

Not really any downsides.. as long as you have enough storage!

Fabio

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Excelente

Monitoreo de logs

Pros

La facilidad de uso y configuracion , las alertas.

Cons

Tal vez los gráficos , la configuración para HA

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2020

Main features of Grylog

test traffic and log DB (eg. MySQL ...) test all OS Unix/Linux system log and traffic test log and traffic Firewall fortigate and FortiWeb device F5 loadbalancer Docker machine LXC container .........

Pros

1- Understand how different equipment, operating systems, databases, services and processes and different teams work in the organization. 2- Detecting security threats (in-depth analysis to find the source of the threat) 3. Dealing with cybercrime, using logs and traces of intrusion 4. Improve the process of managing applications, servers and services in real-time 5. In-depth and accurate checking of incoming and outgoing traffic at the packet level 6. Identify the relationship and correlation between logs and events 7. Identify any anomalies in different layers of IT the organization 8. Automate the process of detecting and reporting errors and anomalies to relevant teams in the organization 9. Perform normalization and immediate correlations of events and traffic 10. Provide real-time field of view and capture Network Flow data events In close proximity to advanced analytics, the service status is revealed 11.Prioritize alerts 12. Excellent speed and quality 13. Ability to write proprietary Content Pack 14. And hundreds more wonderful possibilities 15............

Cons

1-Speed and quality 2-Access to Content Pack 3-Being a user of Friendly 4-Support most softwares and devices 5-Good doc on the main site and internet

Niazuddin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Great software that keeps improving

Pros

Meets all of our logging needs and is very customizable. Community Edition is a great introduction to Graylog.

Cons

Catching up on the latest updates can be a pain.

Houcem

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY