User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(18)

18

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Browse Graylog Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -23 of 27 results

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Adam "Abe" from Municipal Information Systems Association of Ontario

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

You can’t do better for building a Log Management Ecosystem

I’ve recommended it as a solution to many local governments during my conference presentations and they’ve listened.

Pros

Graylog is built on ElasticSearch and extends its functionality out into a great product with the System Administrator in mind. You stand up the platform, point logs at it and the rest is up to your internal processes. I also enjoy that the vast majority of intelligence and augmented data is built directly into the platform rather than an outside product. The community support forums are chock full of helpful folks.

Cons

For a long time the visualizations were quite lacking and we required additional tools to properly tell our data stories but this is improving drastically with each new release.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Cost and simplicity. Also, you can leverage any aspect of ElasticSearch that you desire as well making it a very versatile choice.

November 2020

Tim from Kalahari Resorts and Conventions

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great value to cost ratio for a solid log management solution

Graylog has been great to work with. Their sidecar implementations make client configuration and management very easy, and even with the free version, they provide reliable, albeit limited support (I’ve gotten good, live email replies to a couple of questions, versus only allowing you to access forums, etc).

Pros

Very low cost of ownership, particularly if you can get the Community (Free, Open-Source) version to meet your needs. I’ve implemented Graylog at multiple organizations for only the cost of hardware / storage.

Cons

Would love to have more plugins / content packs available in the Graylog Marketplace. With limited hands on a team for a smaller company, there’s often not enough time to write extractors and content packs.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Again, of note, we didn’t purchase. While there’d be added value to enterprise plugins and support, we are meeting our needs with the Community (F.O.S.S.) version.

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Cost associated with using the tool, based on data ingestion, was going to substantially increase our expenses to even maintain the solution as it stood. This was the case at multiple organizations, as well.

Response from Graylog

Replied November 2020

Hi Tim, Thank you so much for taking time out to write us a review. Glad you are happy with Graylog & the cost savings you are seeing. We have recently launched "Illuminate" which has a lot of ready to use content packs. You can check it out here - https://www.graylog.org/illuminate/illuminate-authentication. You can sign up for our newsletter too to get updated when we launch new content packs - https://www.graylog.org/newsletter . Thanks again, Team Graylog

December 2020

Rahul from BT

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Graylog support

Pros

Its easy to use and deploy. We have installed it over centos and its easy to deploy and start working on.

Cons

The customer support structure needs to improve, we have been facing unknown issues for which rca was needed however there have been issues. The streams were showing running but they were struck. Also option should be there to easily search logs

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Cost

December 2020

Ray from Ryerson University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

One of The Best Log Management Tools in Market

Pros

Amazing documentation & really easy deployment made life easier for me. Data search also I found really easy & I have tried multiple products but graylog probably the most easiest one to follow

Cons

Nothing much so far. It has been great for our company

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Cost & better search. Also i found graylog better integrates with our current infrastructure too

June 2020

Remi from RAPIDRTC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Very strong on open source on-premise solution

Experience has been great, we started by using the free version, it has provided benefits early on to the dev teams to search through web logs without the need for downloading them and using a log parser application, or committing early to expensive paid tools. Since then we keep adding new sources and are looking at more enterprise features as usage grows.

Pros

Graylog has alot of flexibility and a mature feature set. We use it across all of our Windows as well as Linux servers. It has a strong community and alot of flexibility, does not impose restrictions on our applications, good documentation and generally receives regular updates and features.

Cons

I find some of the latest changes to the GUI (changes happen all the time with Graylog) are less user friendly - functionality to get count tables are still there but it is less dummy proof whereas before a novice user could click around in the side navigation and discover certain features. There are also less cloud offerings for Graylog so it fits more the on-premise model where you manage the graylog server/infrastructure.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

We had a senior team member that had experience with Graylog.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Incredibly flexible open source log management tool

I am a data analyst so I often deal with large amounts of data that are really complicated to parse and sort through. I used Graylog to aggregate and parse logs which I later analyzed for relevant information.

Pros

Graylog is a fantastic tool to summarize and aggregate data into simple and highly accessible visual depictions and dashboards. Although it is an open source log management solution, it is really flexible and agile, and helps me parse data rapidly and intuitively. I think it's one of the best alternatives to Splunk - and probably is a much better tool even for enterprises.

Cons

Learning curve is a little bit steep. You need a somewhat technical background to learn it, but once you grasp the basics, it is way less cumbersome than others such as Alienvault or Loggly.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Splunk conduces its searches via a formal query language. Since I didn't know it, it was really hard to extract meaningful insight from aggregated logs that spanned across many different categories.

June 2020

Abel from Clinic IT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Logging done right

I love the product. I spread the word everywhere I go because I believe it has a future in the undustry.

Pros

Traditionally every IT/MSP business will use some sort of system to log data from all inputs. What I hated the most about other systems was that they really didn't improve on what was given to them (meaning logs). They either just held the logs or perhaps told me about errors I already knew. With graylog, we were able to get a wealth of additional info. Sure it requires some work writing extractors or pipelines, but at the end you get exactly what you are looking for. And with the available plugins, you can take what you had and improve. Simple example, in the past I would get an email of all errors but now I can get an email, Slack or push it as a ticket via API. Another great feature is the side-car addition. No more managing configs individually, you can manage and maintain the configs all from graylog. My wish is to introduce native plugins for other SaaS products. Recently they added ability to inject Okta logs. How about Cisco Duo or Umbrella. Both are in hot demand right now, might as well get that data too.

Cons

It's great at what it does but it does have some limitations. Dashboards and graphs are not as flexible as lets say Grafana. Not that it should be, but if someone wants a pure dashboard system then this may not be for them.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Marc from Stayforlong

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Great piece of software

Great piece of software, all our applications and cloud provider logs are being sent to graylog. Very easy to filter and review the logs. Their staff is nice, they're always grateful to help with doubts and giving support to OSS contributors.

Pros

All in one product. Lot of inputs available so you can ingest logs from a wide range of applications. Pipelines are a powerful tool to normalize data before indexing.

Cons

UI used to look "old". Now is getting much better but it still needs more love. The "single" designated master is not very cloud friendly. I'd like some kind of automated cluster management (with quorum to elect the master node) so we don't have to manually set one node as master while keeping our scaling operations.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

We considered ELK for this but the amount of available inputs made us to choose Graylog.

Response from Graylog

Replied October 2020

Hi Marc, Thanks so much for taking time out to leave us a review. Glad you find the variety of inputs useful. We have shared your suggestions with our product team and they will definitely consider them. Thanks, Team Graylog

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Luís Miguel from Claranet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Windows Servers Events Agreggation

My overall experience is very grafull, since i didn´t know anything about Graylog / Elastic Search, it´s been an adventures. Tears and Joy, may hours in deep community forum and documentation. Since then, audit active directory, filesharing, is been very easy to search.

Pros

We use graylog for Windows Server Events (Event Viewer) in one place, it´s very usefull. The Alert Setup and new features like Pipelines (For disclose unknown error codes) is one plus in the Graylog. The other Pro is the community forum and support. Theres a VDA version ready to use. (Ubuntu) Free Enterprise Licence with Traffic limitation ( normaly for one server / event aggregation)

Cons

If you need to custom setup with several graylog nodes is hard to get it running in the first try. Some nice features are only available in Enterprise Edition. No backup for Indexes is available , need to use external options. Very hard post-config and clean the logs for the right information (need work)

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Main the only one with no limits for free edition in terms of traffic / machines ... The Dashboards and the query agreggation made the job very easy afterwords.

June 2020

Sinisa from WBSD

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Enterprise grade log management

I started with free version several years back and grew the cluster into multiple nodes. Product itself is solid and easy to maintain. Keep the documentation in sync with new features.

Pros

Initial deployment is well documented but after that it's up to the admin to figure out how to utilize the software.

Cons

Complexity grows with deployment size, which is expected from such software. Adding more predefined dashboards would save time for new admins while providing examples how to best utilize graylog.

June 2020

Nathaniel from IT Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Great features and a dedicated staff.

I haven't used Graylog for logging of large enterprise systems so I can't how it performs in those cases, but I do like the DIY feel for smaller projects. It is very customizable and easy to configure things how you like.

Pros

I like Graylog because of how easy it is to get logs flowing into the platform. Most of my experience has been with the AWS Cloudtrail plugin, but syslog wasn't hard either. The documentation works for most typical cases. I also love the new update! The dashboards are beautiful and it's easy to get any statistic you want. It's come a long way which shows dedication and a want to always be improving.

Cons

Most typical use cases are covered by the documentation, but if it isn't it can take some searching to figure out if there's a way to accomplish your goal. I have no experience with the enterprise or community support so I can't say how much that might help.

December 2020

Viraj from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Great Solution for Log Collection

A complete solution when collecting log streams and alerting based on them.

Pros

Its a good solution when comes to log collecting and alerting based on the metrics. It can use for send notifications through mail, slack etc.

Cons

Implementation was hard. There were issues within the log retention setup and sometimes had to rotate manually.

July 2020

Ashley from 2plus1.com PC Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Find it, fix it..

Pros

Fire as many log files in to Graylog as you can find across your infrastructure, whether it be Linux, Windows or hardware. Fine grain search, alerts and actions are at your fingertips in milliseconds

Cons

Not really any downsides.. as long as you have enough storage!

July 2020

Fabio from Ministerio de Hacienda

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Excelente

Monitoreo de logs

Pros

La facilidad de uso y configuracion , las alertas.

Cons

Tal vez los gráficos , la configuración para HA

June 2020

Niazuddin from ClinicIT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Great software that keeps improving

Pros

Meets all of our logging needs and is very customizable. Community Edition is a great introduction to Graylog.

Cons

Catching up on the latest updates can be a pain.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

Main features of Grylog

test traffic and log DB (eg. MySQL ...) test all OS Unix/Linux system log and traffic test log and traffic Firewall fortigate and FortiWeb device F5 loadbalancer Docker machine LXC container .........

Pros

1- Understand how different equipment, operating systems, databases, services and processes and different teams work in the organization. 2- Detecting security threats (in-depth analysis to find the source of the threat) 3. Dealing with cybercrime, using logs and traces of intrusion 4. Improve the process of managing applications, servers and services in real-time 5. In-depth and accurate checking of incoming and outgoing traffic at the packet level 6. Identify the relationship and correlation between logs and events 7. Identify any anomalies in different layers of IT the organization 8. Automate the process of detecting and reporting errors and anomalies to relevant teams in the organization 9. Perform normalization and immediate correlations of events and traffic 10. Provide real-time field of view and capture Network Flow data events In close proximity to advanced analytics, the service status is revealed 11.Prioritize alerts 12. Excellent speed and quality 13. Ability to write proprietary Content Pack 14. And hundreds more wonderful possibilities 15............

Cons

1-Speed and quality 2-Access to Content Pack 3-Being a user of Friendly 4-Support most softwares and devices 5-Good doc on the main site and internet

August 2020

Houcem from TPS

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Excellent log management platform

Great log management platform, extremely flexible.

Pros

Multiple deployment options Powerful log parsing and dashboarding features Open source (for the most part)

Cons

Some great features are exclusive to the paid tier.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Pricing.

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

The old solution we had is end of life.

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Graylog

Very good, we needed to collect our application logs for an audit, Graylog does the job perfectly!

Pros

Very easy to send logs to Graylog and collect them using sidecar.

Cons

Building dashboards takes some time to understand, check out the marketplace for them

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Splunk was way too expensive

July 2020

Uthpala from CodeGen

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Graylog used as a platform for performance monitoring

Pros

We have integrated graylog with a ES cluster and used beats forwarders to send performance metrics from a server cluster. So from a single interface we were able to setup log settings for multiple inputs. Also the grok patterns were very useful for incoming message processing.

Cons

Would like to have few more dashboard options. Some panels like Kibana dashboards.

July 2019

Lawrence from IT

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Logging and alerting all in one place

Pros

The most that I like about this software is that it keeps all of our application error logging all in one place and we use it to set up alerting policies whenever we get more than 5 errors in a minute or so. This allows us to get our engineers on the problem and fix it as soon as possible instead of waiting until a end-user reports an error which is not proactive.

Cons

The least thing that I liked about the software was the way that it collects the logs, you need to send your logs in a specific format for Graylog to consume so that may take writing a small application or script in the middle to parse and format your logs over to Graylog in the correct format.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Graylog-One stop for centralized log management

Overall, Graylog was serving the purpose of centralized log management solution. Easy to install with ELK stack to improvise the log server architecture. We were able to implement a centralized log management with GUI and sent filtered logs to SIEM which saved cost of SIEM license and enhanced security incident management.

Pros

Integration with multiple log sources and log filtering.

Cons

Alert notification based on correlation of log parameters feature is missing.

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Easy installation and migration to licensed version.

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Kiwi Syslog was not having filtering features.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Good tool for centralizing logs, but difficult to configure

Pros

The possibility of centralizing logs, besides being able to create deshboards

Cons

Difficult to configure and manage, confusing

December 2020

Oguz from AMANA

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Good log analysis solution

With time, a powerful solution

Pros

Dashboards and custom fields. Compatible with every system

Cons

Its not easy for beginners , no price list on the website, time consuming installation

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Great product but could use some additional documentation and examples

Overall the product is great and you can get away with a lot without having to purchase a license.

Pros

Open source, scalable, efficient, many powerful features, accepts all sorts of inputs for logs, open marketplace for users to share their content packs

Cons

Large scale deployment documentation is missing (sure they give you ideas but it could really use a how to article or video). Could use some of the features from kibana.

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Kiwi syslog is ancient and provides near zero ways to analyze your data like graylog can

June 2020

Allen from Information technology and services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Easy to set up and use

When I needed to get logs into one centralized location for reading and understanding, graylog accomplished this when others couldn't.

Pros

Compared to other products of similar nature, I found graylog to be the easiest to setup and deploy, even on a limited VM. It's surprisingly well put together and can run even on a resource limited virtual machine.

Cons

The interface could be a bit nicer, maybe it has improved since I last used it, but that's the only issue I had with it.

June 2020

Deepthi from Pros

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Great tool

Pros

The ease of use and integration, we are sending all app logs to Graylog and generating alerts and sending the alerts to Splunk. This is helping reduce the cost.

Cons

There is no particular feature we haven't liked.

June 2020

sunny from GoSecure

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Excellent Tool

Excellent. Highly recommend to folks looking for SIEM.

Pros

Ease of Deployment. Ease to Configure Rules. Very less overhead when Implementing.

Cons

Documentation can be improved. Speed of digestion can be improved further