User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.74

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Love that I can aggregate all my logs from multiple AWS services (a large fleet of EC2 instances and thousands of Lambdas) in to a single log stream."
  • icon"The ease of setup, especially on kubernetes, is outstanding. The web application features are rich and provide us almost all of the tools we need."
  • icon"The customer support is attentive and helpful with any question."
  • icon"We have to restart at least one logspout container each 1-2 weeks. And there ARE NO ALERTS that things aren't ingesting properly."
  • icon"There has not been much of cons for our use case but once I did feel there has been an issue with log ingestion where we missed some logs."
  • icon"We needed some way to have per-cluster views/searches, otherwise it would be very difficult to navigate."

All Mezmo Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Shubham

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Best product for logging in market

I would recommend logdna to everyone. It's pricing, feature parity and support are best.

Pros

We have tried many logging solutions out there in the market, but logdna was the cheapest, simple and best solution out there for logging. It has good support for different platforms like cloud, kubernetes and hosted machines. The setup is very simple for even a beginner and UI is very intuitive. It has all the required features for logging. The search and tags functionality has reduced a lot of pain of debugging. The support channel is very active. I have got the solution to all my problems quickly. The alerting feature is very useful in case our service goes down or misbehaves. It supports mails, slack and webhook which we use to automatically restart our server.

Cons

We can't set per service based logging limit. There are not many colour options for different logs.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

LogDNA

Our overall experience with LogDNA has been brilliant. While we've looked at other solutions since using LogDNA, we've never really had any desire to leave. LogDNA does everything we need it to do and will continue to serve us well into the future.

Pros

The ease of use at being able to direct logs from servers in 3 different locations, plus logs from various AWS servers, being able to view more than one of these logs at once, in time order and start from a specific time has made debugging much easier than the past, and then being able to be notified about specific errors as quickly as we think is right. We are now, more often than previously, able to follow the paper trail to see how a certain bug arose without needing to contact the end customer

Cons

Sometimes the search/filter bar can be quite cumbersome to use, with certain string matches working, even though LogDNA says it shouldn't, and then other string matches, that should work as expected not to work without notice. You can often get these to work after a bit of tweaking and regex work, but it can take some effort at times

Reasons for choosing Mezmo

We chose LongDNA because of the price and ease of set-up when we were still relatively small, and LogDNA has grown with us we've gotten bigger.

Gordon

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

We loved how easy it was to get started, but we hit some pain points as we used it more heavily.

We were able to get up and running logging centrally from Kubernetes, and it got us through at least one software MVP. Kudos to the team, there just were too many rough spots to move our entire logging infrastructure over to LogDNA.

Pros

- The Kubernetes integration was fantastic, it was easy to get set up - The pricing was very reasonable

Cons

- We wanted a single account for our team to make billing easier, but we had no way to segregate "Views" on the left sidebar. We needed some way to have per-cluster views/searches, otherwise it would be very difficult to navigate. - We found we could not trust the "Live" view after clicking around in the UI for a little bit, or leaving it running for a while. We couldn't pinpoint what made it stop updating correctly, but we often had to do a full refresh of the page to see the latest logs, after which we would be inundated with logs that we had missed and it was hard to find our place again.

Allan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Best tool I've ever used for logging. It just makes sense!

Pros

We've used a few other logging tools before, and still struggled with debugging our webapp on multiple servers. Then we found LogDNA, and decided to give it a try. Wow! It's so simple to install, we were up and running within a few minutes. The user interface is clean and intuitive. It's really easy to search keywords (even excluding terms), and jump to timeframes in your own local timezone. You can even type in 10 hours ago and it just works by jumping to the log line with a highlighted marker. It's saved us so much time when diagnosing a problem, tuning our app/server performance, and even when reviewing the logs to predict trends. I also love the alerts and integration with email, Slack, PagerDuty, and even your own Webhook. With a couple of clicks, you can set up the notification rules to trigger an alert. With LogDNA, we always know what's going on at every level throughout the stack.

Cons

You can't customize the colors for log levels. Although they have a few preset themes to choose from, you can't fully customize it. For example, it's easy to see the Error level highlighted in red, but for the remaining log levels such as Info, Notice, Warning, Fatal, etc., the colors are the same so you can't quickly skim the logs without reading it.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

DNA of your product!

Pros

1. json log ingestion. We were logging our application logs in json formats and when we were looking for the application it fit into it. 2. S3 back up. Sometime we need to search for the older logs and it helps to get it from there. 3. Search. The advanced search really help us to get what we exactly want it. And we go the context quickly(using switch to context) and it really a cool and handy feature to use. 4. Dashboard. Some time out applications misbehaves and flood the logs. It is super easy to find the service using the dashboard by seeing the log ingestion rate. And we use 50s of services.

Cons

In the recent release, there is some problem with the search it seems. Getting irrelevant logs

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

LogDNA makes logging fun and easy!

Pros

After struggling for years with tail-ing the logfiles of our servers, some genius told me that I should have a look at LogDNA. With their low pricing, I could hardly imagine that they offered quality software. But they do! Once setup at the server, it's easy to create filters (based on server, process, tag or level) to create custom views. So, for example, you can set a view to show all log entries from an error level for a certain process. On top of that, you can also create alarms for views to receive notifications at a certain treshold.

Cons

For 99% it does what I expect it to do. The only downside over the past years was that occasionally it was a bit slowish with realtime live updates. But most of the time it's pretty fast.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Easy log management for Kubernetes

Pros

- Very fast search over terabytes of data - Easy to integrate with Slack and other tools - Easy to get up and running overall, especially on Kubernetes. Only two lines of code to implement and start seeing it on the LogDNA dashboard - Lets you control what is being stored, and filtering on ingest means you don’t get charged for filtered data, even if you’re still sending it in for tailing. Pretty fair way of doing pricing. - The overall developer experience is good, and quite intuitive to build graphs and dashboards.

Cons

- Takes a while to dig in and figure out all of the features - Alerting is nice, but could use more customization

User Profile

Eli

Verified reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

LogDNA is the perfect tool for someone who just needs to aggregate all of their logs into one place

Pros

Not only is LogDNA incredibly simple to setup and use, but it doesn't overwhelm you with features. It does one thing really well: logging. Also, LogDNA is very affordable compared to the alternatives (most of which have lots of features I don't want). LogDNA is a simple product, but it fills a niche that no one else does as simply or elegantly.

Cons

Nothing! LogDNA is exactly what I want it to be. The only thing that's slightly annoying is that their search doesn't do partial string matching very well, but it's really not that hard to type out the whole search string :)

Jacob

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

This is really a fantastic service.

We use LogDNA to send meaningful logs from our many microservices. It gave us the ability to look through historical error events and check the status of the workers. For critical services, we are able to receive notifications when errors occur. It's really superb.

Pros

It's very fast, always working and the feature-set makes it so great to find bugs and see status. The meta search and time filters are superb.

Cons

We have many microservices and it's hard to manage more than a few saved views. The ability to organise and create collections of saved views would really be the final polish for our use-case.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

good product

very good. already moved lots of our product to LogDNA

Pros

- i like the S3 archiving - the search is fast

Cons

- sometimes, the search part is not powerful enough. - it will be great if can have a local parser for reading archived data.\

Mauricio

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Title for my review? Huh?

We make software robots/chatbots. We don't store conversation transcripts inside of our primary database because we don't want to store those transcripts forever nor add the load to our primary database and app. So we use LogDNA to store all of those transcripts and when errors occur we can pull them up via LogDNA and debug what happened.

Pros

The interface is quite nice. It is also priced well for high volume. Lastly, it integrates well with other platforms, in particular the Heroku setup is really nice.

Cons

* The indexing lag lately has been a bit high. Sometimes we get alerted to errors in Slack from our apps and it takes a few minutes before we can read the logs to see what happened. * The search is a little finicky. It'd be great if we could toggle between full text searching and searching using special characters so we didn't have to escape special characters all the time. * It's awesome that LogDNA serves as a single store for all app logs. However the UI for selecting which apps to display and switching between them feels clunky.

Alternatives Considered

Loggly

Reasons for choosing Mezmo

Pricing and ease of use.

Switched From

Papertrail

Reasons for switching to Mezmo

The pricing is better for LogDNA.

Per

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Great, except for repeated issues with log ingestion (remote syslog)

Pros

User interface is top notch. So much better than most competitors I've evaluated (which is quite a few actually). Saved views, quick searches and view context functions makes this a joy to use.

Cons

Two things are blocking our expanded usage of LogDNA for our much bigger product & team: 1. Reliability. The repeated issues with the remote syslog log ingestion is just not acceptable. I've contacted support about it before, but I won't bother again until it seriously improves. We have to restart at least one logspout container each 1-2 weeks. And there ARE NO ALERTS that things aren't ingesting properly. Basically I don't trust that all log data is there anymore. 2. Pricing. The pricing is great for small log volumes and short durations (as for the product we've migrated to LogDNA). But for slightly larger volumes (say 50 GB) or longer storage (14-30 days), the pricing is too high compared to competitive offerings (from e.g. Logentries). Fewer plans (3 + free) with clear separation by features would be clearer. Costs should increase linearly with storage volume AND retention length (multiplied). This would make pricing clear and logical, instead of using "minimum charges" which is just annoying and stops us from increasing our usage until we reach that threshold. I completely understand the need to raise prices for more value delivered, but it should be structured so that customers clearly perceive the added value. For instance, you should probably add advanced alerts to an "Enterprise" plan, and possibly limit graph usage for "Starter" plans, etc.

Alexander

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

LogDNA is a must have for any tech company

LogDNA has been helping us managing logs since early days (when our company was just 5 people). It helps us pro-actively identify bugs/crashes before our customers even had a chance to log support ticket.

Pros

- LogDNA is very easy to integrate - takes 5min to setup - LogDNA saves disk space - you dont need to store logs in your server anymore - LogDNA views makes it easy to organize logs based on environment, service, filter, etc - LogDNA alerts enable us to pro-actively identify bugs/crashes before our customers even had a chance to log support ticket - LogDNA makes it easier to expose logs to everyone in the team without having to give them access to the production servers

Cons

There is nothing i like least about this product. Maybe the fact that it gets more expensive as your system and users grows, but thats fair and expected

Mani

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Easy to setup and use, and with the best pricing out of all logging services.

Great product at the best price in the market with a true pay-as-you-go usage model. Installs and works without issue on every cloud and platform we've tried it on from Kubernetes to VMs to local laptop.

Pros

Very quick setup on all platforms, especially Kubernetes. Solid UI, fast tailing of real-time logs, structured logging and good search capabilities.

Cons

Dashboards and metrics based on logs is rather basic. Could use more features and dashboard/charting functionality.

Jason

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Great logging

Pros

Really easy to send logs from our servers to LogDNA. We run our workloads on AWS and use the CloudWatch to LogDNA lambda to ship logs to LogDNA... Works like a charm. Love that I can aggregate all my logs from multiple AWS services (a large fleet of EC2 instances and thousands of Lambdas) in to a single log stream. Also really love how I can set alarms for specific strings in the Logs... I get notifications when certain strings appear in the logs which allows me to react to specific events much faster than normal.

Cons

Searching logs can be cumbersome. It's not simple booleans, which can make things a bit challenging with complex queries.

Reasons for switching to Mezmo

Aggregation.

Arkadiusz

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY