User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "- Easy to use - UI is stable, not buggy - Flexible for navigation and filtering - I like live tail feature a lot."

  • "Good set of features and easy to set up. The trial was up and running in a matter of hours and we could start getting useful information pretty much straight away."

  • "it's easy to use; has an intuitive interface for search. It basically almost always does what it's supposed to do."

  • Cons

  • "Works well so far so have no complaints. The UI, although have been recently updated, still seems a bit clunky and not too pleasing but works well."

  • "When the amount of the data gets large enough, the search may not work - it will either end up giving me partial data or timeout."

  • "The product doesn't necessarily scale to all sizes of organisation. It's suited to a certain size of organisation."

Browse Scalyr Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -32 of 18 results

September 2017

Ben from DataFox Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Love Scalyr

Pros

We were a very early adopter of Scalyr and it continues to be the core of our devops setup. We use it for the majority of our monitoring, alerting, forensics and log analysis. The biggest pro is that it's a fantastic value for the cost -- it's literally a fraction of the cost of SumoLogic or Splunk. It's also a lot faster than both of those options, especially Splunk. Integrating with Slack and PagerDuty were trivial, and the API is dead simple to use (we push stats into Redshift so we can graph timeseries in Chartio). The customer support is always quick and extremely helpful. Overall, we're big fans.

Cons

UI is still confusing at times, though this is greatly improved over the last two years. It also lacks some of the advanced graphing features of Splunk like complex time-series analyses, though these are nice-to-have features for me.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Easy to use logging software which provides great value to both large and small teams.

Overall experience has been great. Our servers are entirely on the cloud, by combining Scalyr with Splunk, we are able to monitor server logs on a realtime basis and immediately be alerted of production fires or any errors which occur thereby helping us respond in near realtime basis. While querying was not very intuitive at first, the newer powerqueries seem to hold great promise. the scalyr software has more progress to make, but at the moment it really does give the value for every penny invested in this software.

Pros

It gives you a real time insights into your server logs. This is especially important for SaaS products, because you can literally monitor every single log. It is very easy to setup and get started, nothing too complicated. Alerting is very easy based on various criterion Minimal but fully functional software

Cons

1. Searching and Querying is still in it's primitive stages, so searching is only as good as the way your logging is enabled in your software code. The scalyr software essentially displays your logs. If your software has no logging in place, then if you have a production fire due to bad code on production there is no way of knowing it. 2. Not sufficient documentation to get up to speed and running wrt querying.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Does its job well

Pros

it's easy to use; has an intuitive interface for search. It basically almost always does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

When the amount of the data gets large enough, the search may not work - it will either end up giving me partial data or timeout.

September 2017

Jeffrey from Results Generation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Great tool with some work to still be done

Pros

Fast searches for just about anything within the log files Easy to setup Easy to use query language and parsers Easy to create dashboards Easy to use APIs This has helped us find problems very quickly, and avoid many problems, it has paid for itself many times over.

Cons

No export from web console Short timeouts on queries causing problems sometimes when trying to gather data over more than a week There are some features/integrations that we had to build because they do not exist like Rabbitmq stats, memcache stats, and running SQL queries on our databases. Bug in live tail makes it difficult to use when you have multi line log entries

September 2017

Khaled from Zalando SE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

I used Scaylr everyday with our applications and it's really amazing.

Pros

* Searching and filtering for logs is really awesome * Performance of the agent and really good. * Switching between different accounts after the new UI change is really useful. * Log Volume tracking.

Cons

* Sometimes search is a bit slow for large queries, It would be nice to optimize the message indexing or having to prepare some frequently used queries. * It would be great to share queries between team members or have pre-defined filters. * Having some built-in analysis for errors and different log levels would be great.

September 2017

Michael from Plivo Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Powerful logging and search engine

Pros

- Very easy to setup - Search engine is very intuitive for any technical person (regex, .. etc) - Log parser is very flexible - Alerts are very helpful to detect error or anomalies in your platform

Cons

Very few things that could improve the product for my own use case: - Allow date/time with timezone in the time range filter (eg. 2017-09-21 17:44:17+00:00) - Allow exporting search result/logs and graph from the UI

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Very good

Pros

It's very fast and allows to filter data in a very easy way

Cons

It's UI is a little bit old wich in the first touch make me a little bit unconfortable

September 2017

Youssef from Zalando SE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Easy, fast and flexible

Pros

- Easy to use - UI is stable, not buggy - Flexible for navigation and filtering - I like live tail feature a lot.

Cons

- It is not clear easily from the UI how much logs Scalyr retain from the past. - The applications list screen can be very long if one uses Scalyr for many services, better to find a more nice way to show those.

September 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Easy to use and fast

Pros

I can get to the information I'm looking for quickly and easily. UI is modern and visually appealing.

Cons

.

September 2017

Avinash from Logitech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

September 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Great solution for my new startup team to get visibility to our apps in a unified way.

Having used significantly more expensive solutions in prior companies I really like the value.

Pros

The ease of onboarding has really been a highlight. With only a few hours of effort we've quickly instrumented several hosts, adapted the parsing to meet our needs, and are getting real value. As a small team in the startup scene I'm very impressed with the app.

September 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Developer

Pros

Quick and easy access to logs, nice search options, and a rapid interface when browsing and reading a lot of lines from a log.Scalyr does exactly what we wanted it to. It automatically stores the logs for each server separately, and have a good search function to easily find the right date or error.

September 2017

James from Advance Internet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Publishing

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

September 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Good Feature Set

Pros

Good set of features and easy to set up. The trial was up and running in a matter of hours and we could start getting useful information pretty much straight away.

Cons

The product doesn't necessarily scale to all sizes of organisation. It's suited to a certain size of organisation.

February 2019

Dealdiane from NetPotential

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A great tool for managing and troubleshooting multiple projects

Pros

The fact that logs from different servers can be managed from a single place is great. Setup was easy although we haven't tried advanced configurations yet. It works well for what it's been intended to do.

Cons

Works well so far so have no complaints. The UI, although have been recently updated, still seems a bit clunky and not too pleasing but works well.

August 2018

Juan from Axtel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

May 2019

Prashant from General Motors

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Logs at your fingertips!

Pros

Super fast log search and custom dashboard are the much appreciated features.

Cons

Pricing model can be improved and made more customer friendly.

September 2017

Charlie from Johnson & Johnson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017