All Foothold Reviews

1-25 of 39 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Adele

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Changed My Life

PROS

I could go on and on about the benefits of Foothold's Awards program. It is very easy to use. Change is hard for everyone and my staff was nervous about it but all migrations (for many program) couldn't have been easier. Of great importance to me was the tech support. I never have to wait to address a question or to get clarification. The software has actually made the management of my agencies, much easier. I have explored areas of productivity that I never thought was possible. Everything we need to provide services is easily in one place. We have successfully used Awards in various applications and it has been successful with each.

CONS

At this point we have no issues with this software. I only wish I had more time to explore some of the features I have not yet used (and I use many of them already).

Reason for choosing Foothold

Ease of use and ease of customization.

Bessy

Mental Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Solid quality, user-friendly, flexible for reporting!

The relationship/trust building at the beginning was essential for the buy in. Thankfully that foundation was well established and continues to this day.

PROS

Absolutely simplified and saved time on billing tasks. Form Builder is also an indispensable feature for our agency. We constantly build customized forms/reports to assist is funding/accountability efforts. In addition Help Desk could respond a bit faster at times.

CONS

Our agency chooses not to use the calendar feature due to it's complexity.

Reason for choosing Foothold

The relationship/communication with Foothold was superior. All questions/concerns were addressed. In addition the price was right and the software flexible enough to meet our needs.

User Profile

Nicole

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Very User Friendly

Overall I have enjoyed my experience with Awards in the last 5 and a half years. I have a great senior project manager who can always answer my questions and help me with anything. The upgrades to the software have been ongoing over a long period of time but have been for the positive. I would recommend Awards to any social service agency that wants to build a relationship with their EHR vendor and work closely with them over the years.

PROS

Awards is easy to use for our front line staff. Training is quick and simple to get them started. The software is very user friendly in a point and click capacity for staff. As an administrator I like the ability to customize my reports and build forms that I need for my programs.

CONS

Some of the areas of the software are very old and clunky. They need to be updated and the response to where the company is on updating them isn't great. The administrator functionality could be better, it would be great to have access to a dashboard to see how my database is doing and if there is anything that needs attention.

Darlene

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Unity House of Cayuga County, Inc

We have realized greater efficiencies with data collection for the use of analysis and reporting for current needs internal and external to the agency but also in preparation for changes in the service system and greater need for quantitative demonstrations of successful program and service delivery. We have greater flexibility for documentation of service provision as it can be completed from multiple locations on an agency computer. We have utilized AWARDS fora portion of our billing.

PROS

I appreciate the ease of use with AWARDS, it has kept up with the changes in regulatory systems over our years of using the software. We have been able to create forms that meet our specific needs or preferences. The system has online support, is linked to reference materials for medications and is evolving to add new services. All of our employees use the system, support departments, facilities and IT, OPWDD, OMH, PROS and OASAS programs. The report module has assisted our Directors to collect data for data-driven programmatic decisions and is especially helpful.

CONS

There have been a few times when we had hoped to create a form that mirrored on in AWARDS, but found that it would lack the same functionality. We were able to develop an acceptable work-around, but it delayed the roll-out by a month or two. Years ago, I would have had more "least-liked" parts, but the improvements in the last couple years have made a big difference.

Lisanne

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Couldn't be happier!

We are especially pleased that AWARDS not only supports set up and training of staff on the system, but provides us with a long term, ongoing support specialist who continues to help us make the best use of the system in our work. Foothold Technology is not a transactional enterprise, they are a real partner in human services!

PROS

AWARDS is an easy to use, comprehensive tool designed for human services organizations. We spent years researching options and carefully considering the move from paper to digital, and finally selected AWARDS. In addition to the program having a wide array of important features (including outcomes reporting), it is affordable, can be easily customized and the customer service and support of the Foothold team is superb!

CONS

Not the fault of the software, but as we are located in Massachusetts we have specific document requirements that were preset in AWARDS. Our required paperwork limited us slightly in making full use of the AWARDS platform.

Reason for choosing Foothold

Price, customer service, experience of the company, wide range of organizations using the product and the company's focus on continual quality improvement and enhancement of AWARDS system.

Nicolas

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

As a psychiatrist in an agency using awards EMR

Comparing Foothold Technology's Awards system with other products, Foothold has showed it is a much better product, with much better performance, much more easily to use, more user-friendly. Also in the last 8 to 9 months the support has improved dramatically, and now the response time is excellent. So in my opinion Foothold exceeds other similar EMR/e-prescribing programs. The documentation is much more accessible to all employees that need access. The forms are much easier to complete than other EMR programs I have used in other mental health clinics, and the e-prescribing experience is way much easier (and has been without significant problems for the last 9 months). When you compare Foothold with other programs you can prescribe with much fewer steps, much faster, more intuitively, and you can verify right away if the prescription was successfully transmitted. Other products oftentimes are a nightmare, often telling you the transmission never went to the pharmacy until long time - sometimes several days later- and often you find out only because the patients can't fill their prescriptions. So for a relatively inexpensive program, it does way much more than the inefficient and expensive alternatives. Additionally, from what I understand, the control panel is apparently easy to be managed by the clinic supervisors, and they can fix problems with progress notes, and other clinical forms for most basic problems. In that regard, that's also my experience comparing Foothold with other programs. I must say the CONS I found: -When initially we started using this program, the training wasn't thoroughgoing and comprehensive, but in the last 9 months the staff in the agency has been well trained by the supervisors, so the issue has changed positively. I must say I have now a very positive opinion about Foothold's Awards. I recommend it.

Brad

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

AWARDS Review

Foothold has been AMAZING! They have been right there with us at every step; from our initial setup and deployment, to assistance setting up the BillingBuilder, to quick and efficient Help Desk support. We never feel like we are on our own!

PROS

Hands down, the reporting function. The different ReportBuilders offer an amazing amount of customization options and virtually every field in AWARDS is reportable.

CONS

Our agency struggles with the Plans and Reviews module, as it is not super user-friendly or intuitive.

Vendor Response

Thank you for acknowledging our robust reporting capabilities! We're delighted that you find our ReportBuilders customizable and comprehensive. At Foothold Technoloogy, continual enhancement of user experience is a priority, and your valuable feedback contributes significantly to our ongoing improvements. We truly appreciate your input!

Replied December 2023

Vickie

Mental Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Foothold Technology a Great Choice!

RSS has worked with Foothold Technology since 2008. The assistance with start up and the on-going support has been great. They are always willing to listen to thoughts and ideas on how to improve the system.

PROS

Foothold Technology is a platform that can be modified to meet an agencies specific needs. It offers an easy-to-use platform for staff of various backgrounds and education level.

CONS

Sometimes it takes a while to get helpdesk issues resolved.

Vendor Response

Thank you for highlighting the adaptability of Foothold Technology to cater to specific agency needs. We're thrilled to provide an easy-to-use platform for diverse staff backgrounds. Your feedback is appreciated as we strive for continual improvement.

Replied December 2023

Colleen

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Foothold Technology /Awards-Hopewell's review

PROS

Switching from paper records to Awards was a simple process for our organization. There was a lot of support from Foothold Technology and they were there to guide us through each step of the process. They were always available and responsive to our questions. Awards was easy for our staff to learn and navigate. The options for adding our own forms and customizing areas was one of the reasons we decided to purchase Awards.

CONS

We are very happy with Awards. One of the features we would like to see is an easier way to print an entire record. While you can do this now, there are a few steps to go through, making it a little more time consuming. I am confident that this feature will be available in the future. In our experience with Foothold, they seem to really listen to the customer feedback and make changes based on user experience.

Joan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Best Tool for HMIS

PROS

Foothold's customer service is excellent and they are at the forefront of new products and system usage.

CONS

The design of the bed inventory is complicated and difficult to manage. I understand that it is the design required by the federal agency, but it is tedious to update the inventory changes.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the fantastic review! We're thrilled you find our customer service top-notch and AWARDS versatile. Glad our user-friendly system helps manage data efficiently and aids in report generation for funding programs. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to enhance our services further!

Replied December 2023

Jennifer

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

A successful transition from paper charts to electronic health records

Our agency provides a variety of Residential Treatment and Community Services throughout multiple counties within the state. Understanding that our services are vast, there was hesitation to think that we would find a system that would meet all of our regulatory and oversight needs. It is fair to state that AWARDS meets these needs and expectations. The system is customizable in many ways. The Foothold/AWARDS staff are responsive and great to work with. Overall ease of use is great.

PROS

AWARDS permits programs and services to be developed and configured independently or globally. The formbuilder feature permits our agency to develop forms in the format we like, which certainly eased the implementation period. Reportbuilder provides opportunity for reports to be built specific to the user, program or agency based off of (pretty much) any field that is entered in to the system. This has allowed our agency to streamline data collection, identify more indicators to measure success and be able to access outcomes in real time. Our implementation consultants were highly supportive throughout the agency's transition from paper charts to electronic records. Following our implementation phase, we were assigned a senior consultant whom we quickly discovered is equally responsive and helpful. As the implementation researcher, lead and system administrator, I have worked with several Foothold/AWARDS team members. All of whom have demonstrated professionalism, appropriate problem solving skills and willingness to help whenever asked. Due to the success we experienced throughout the first three years with AWARDS, we chose to increase the use of the system by implementing the billing builder feature. We plan to begin this new phase of implementation soon.

CONS

AWARDS does not have a mobile app for phones. Although the site is accessible from a mobile device, it is difficult to navigate the site on a small mobile devices while in the field. Employees report it would be much easier to have clients/families sign documents if there was a phone app or better flow of signatures. In addition, we have encountered a few issues surrounding e-signatures and alerts when a form is ready to be signed. We report these concerns to the helpdesk and they are always attentive; however, it is in this 'con' area because it has been an issue that we have encountered on more than 3 occasions. The help desk always resolves the problem, until it comes up again.

Nancy

Mental Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Product Review - Foothold AWARDS

Our overall experience with AWARDS has been positive. Our implementation specialist was wonderful, as was our temporary support person who assisted us with reviewing survey results with management. Our current support person is difficult to reach and does not reply to questions/concerns in a timely manner. We also find the HelpDesk people to be very accommodating when they can, and the new HelpDesk feature (using email) has been great so far!

PROS

This product is very easy to use for all staff; including Direct Support Professionals, Managers, Executive Leadership, and Fiscal staff. The integration with existing business processes was a relatively smooth process. Our implementation specialist was wonderful in working with us to develop forms and adjust processes to work within AWARDS. The BillingBuilder took quite some time to set up and test because it was very different from what we had currently used, but we had sufficient support. One feature that has made a positive impact is the Reporting capabilities. Anyone, from Managers checking/signing progress notes, to Executive Leadership searching for trends, finds the ReportBuilders easy to use. Pulling data from the system has become an integral part in our efforts to improve process to increase efficiency, and satisfaction of stakeholders.

CONS

There are a few identified areas of AWARDS that we'd like to see improved upon. One, is that we'd like a way to "turn off" the internal notification tied to the new E-Signatures Configuration for Progress Notes. Our process requires staff to sign their progress notes after review; once staff click "Save Note," the system automatically sends the notification that they have a note to review, but, they've already signed the note. Another area that has room for improvement, is when the need arises to create a new form that is different from the current version. Many of us need to have access in several ReportBuilders to the older form, but AWARDS does not suggest "moving forms." If the form is removed from it's current holding spot (i.e. Services or Charting Timetable) and moved to a "blank" holding area, the form can be accessed via client history. We need to have older forms remain available to all licensing and regulatory agencies in our ReportBuilders.

Reason for choosing Foothold

AWARDS was more cost effective and we were able to customize several processes to help meet the needs of our persons served in rural locations and residential settings.

Reasons for switching to Foothold

To have more control over custom forms and increased reporting capabilities; I believe cost was also a factor.

Michele

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Customization, Collaboration, and Overall Utilization

Being one of the co-chairs of a committee of community providers who utilize the AWARDS program in NJ, having the same Senior Project Manager, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] , is helpful in streamlining the overall process for all users. We share ideas, forms, best practices, and sometimes resources. We have partnered with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to meet on a regular basis to discuss and/or review topics such as AWARDS updates that affect the IDD population, Medicaid updates, regulatory compliance, enhancements, etc. Since [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] works with all of us, there is ease in that no one provider agency has to explain the "Why" or "What type of data or work do you do" type questions. We can get into the meat of an issue which helps move to a resolution faster. This partnership and experience enhances the overall experience in that there is strength in numbers and having the leverage to make changes in not only the AWARDS program, but also in overall advocacy. To the actual AWARDS program, the overall experience has been positive. The "home" page is user friendly and intuitive. The new format in the Service Module with Plans and Review has made the overall process of Outcome/Strategy development less stressful and reduced the steps in modification and discontinuing plans.

PROS

The AWARDS program affords us opportunities to build forms to capture critical data and then run reports on that data for meaningful use when communication with doctors, nurses, dieticians, and medical or behavioral specialists. This in addition to having the ability to set up rules and parameters around progress note data entry, e-signing, and billing configurations.

CONS

The inability to have interoperability with the NJ Depart of Human Services Department of Developmental Disabilities, and more specifically with the iRecord system. If there were interoperability between these two programs running utilization reports would capture the data in which is impossible today. One example: The ISP (Individual Service Plan) and SDR (Service Detail Report) in iRecord show the billable units per calendar year (or set period of time). Having that data at our fingertips across programs and individuals in the AWARDS program would help run a report on the number of units available and the number of units utilized; resulting in a report on lost potential revenue. Currently there is a lot of data manipulation to capture the same information. This would also assist with the ease of transferring the data from the ISP/SDR into the AWARDS program rather than manual input.

Astrid

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

So many different programs

I have had the pleasure of working with AWARDS since 2009 and any time an agency had to undergo the process of selection of an EHR, AWARDS was what was selected. It's the best bang for your buck. While I didn't get certified until a few years ago, it was an easy enough system that I could be an administrator for my agency and really create processes that streamlined my programs. I didn't need to implement all programs at once or implement one module across the board, it allowed for me to plan, test, and rework things without having an external deadline. Most importantly, this could not have been possible without the staff at Foothold. They took the time to explain things thoroughly, discuss potential other uses and guide me if I was stuck. When changes were implemented because of regulations, they helped us navigate that and if they were making changes they communicated those too. They provide the vision to all users and accept input. Staff are knowledgeable about programming and offer more than one option of doing things in the system. Having several options also helps with it's user friendliness, you can get to the same destination from different paths and not break anything in the system while doing so. They have build in lots of safeguards for this too.

PROS

I have worked at several big agencies that have a multitude of types of programs, state regulations and internal regulations that this system allows me to gather information from all on a consistent basis. Creating reports is easy and any type can be made! I can create reports for the board or for individual front line staff to give them feedback. I can look at one program, subset of programs by type or all at once (homeless, veterans, DV, shelters, incidents, senior, meals on wheels, group homes, etc.)

CONS

The system has so much more potential and while they are trying to improve each section, I wish it would be faster but not from lack of trying. There just isn't enough time in the day.

Reason for choosing Foothold

Pricing (based on concurrent users and a lot of standard features without additional cost) and ability to customize

Dani

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

AWARDS Review

Overall we have had a good experience with AWARDS. We've had a consistent Project Manager since implementation 10 years ago. The helpdesk staff are responsive and helpful. My only criticism is that sometimes Foothold will make changes to the system without consultation with users. Obviously not every enhancement and upgrade needs user approval but for ones that have massive impact on users, there should be a forum for discussion and piloting. Sometimes they do this but not always.

PROS

What I like best is that AWARDS has a feature called "formbuilder" which literally does what the name implies. I can take any existing form my organization uses and "build" it into AWARDS using a user friendly platform to select drop down boxes, text boxes, etc. This form can then be added to different parts of the systems such as client face sheet, progress notes, etc.

CONS

A few parts of the system are clunky. For example, there is a charting timetable where reminder events can be scheduled so that staff get tickler alerts. However, this module doesn't "talk" to the module where the actual event (an assessment, for example) is actually done. So the process of keeping the timetable updated with completion dates is a totally manual process. It would be more efficient for staff if this was automated like their PlanBuilder (Treatment/Service Plan)module is.

John

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Excellent Customer Relations

We have used the AWARDS database for about 16 years or so in different capacities. When we began billing Medicaid we began using the billing builder. We periodically evaluate our experiences with Foothold every few years and have looked at other EHR vendors at those times. Each time we decided to stay with Foothold. In our estimation Foothold gives us the biggest bang for the buck.

PROS

We have used the software so long that it has naturally integrated into our organization. Like with every EHR there are periodic glitchs. Customer support has been excellent. Between the Helpdesk staff and our monthly meetings with our Foothold analyst we are usually able to resolve things quickly. The best feature I believe has to do with it's form builder & report builders that allows an organization to customize the look & feel of the software, data collection as well as collect data point information.

CONS

Of course there are changes that our organization has championed in relation to the software. Sometimes Foothold administration doesn't agree or designates a change plan they do agree with as a low priority. That can at times be frustrating.

Brian

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Bang for the Buck!

We have been using this software for a very long time, almost 20 years. About 7 years ago many like sized not for profits were told that we were going to need to purchase other EHR's because of changing software requirements. Foothold technologies pushed AWARDS to keep up with those requirements at a reasonable cost. The AWARDS team is easy to speak with and has a full grasp of the populations we work with and is able to optimize the software to meet our needs. I appreciate that they stay abreast of the trends in our field and are able to help us stay current in the software.

PROS

It is very simple to use. There are customizations that you can create for your own purposes. The team is easy to speak with and I appreciate that they really have a focus on quality.

CONS

I keep in perspective what I would be getting often for much more money and realize there is very little I don't like.

Ed

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: