User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(4)

4

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Weka Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -40 of 10 results

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

My first mining tool

learning data mining.

Pros

Had to proof a theory in data mining using Weka in my studies. This software thought me a lot about the subject when implementing as a university project a data mining algorithm. The result were reproducible on another software, but the my theory was learned and refine using Weka.

Cons

Limited literature available and online support in case of issue. This took a lot of time to pass in order to enjoy the software functionality. But this is common in data mining software.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Chaya from Scienter Technologies (Pte) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Weka - Easy of mining data sets

Weka is one of the main tools used for data mining .Weka provides large number of data mining algorithms for the users which helps the users to try any type of data mining technique through one software product. Also it provides data preprocessing facility which helps to format the data set.

Pros

Weka Waikato Environment for Knowledge Analysis is a data mining tool which helps the users to analyze the data sets and identify patterns and make decision based on them. Weka provides data visualization and large number of algorithms which helps to analyze the data sets. Users are given the facility to import data sets through different data types.csv (Comma separated Values) files, data base files Weka is a freely available software tool which can be downloaded through internet with out making any specific payment. Weka provides functions for data preprocessing. Using Weka users can mange null values ,deal with different data types and format data ranges easily .Preprocessing of large data sets can be easily done in Weka when considering the other data mining tools. Weka is not for a particular data mining process. Using Weka users can try data mining techniques like clustering ,classification ,regression. All these techniques are provided in this one tool

Cons

Weka is implemented in java. In order to use Weka users need to have a certain knowledge about it. Once a user is given proper guidance or proper guidelines user may carry out the process with out any issue. But there must be a guidance with out proper instructions it is difficult to work on Weka. It is not easy to connect Weka with a separately developed user interface .It does not support all the IDEs .Weka supports only few java based IDEs like eclipse. Yet still it takes lengthy and complex coding to connect Weka with a user interface developed by any other IDE when comparing to the other tools.

February 2018

Swetha from Educational Institution

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great application, Easy to use, less resources for learning, needs more documentation

I could learn the basics of Data Mining and Data Warehousing with this software. It helped build the basics. I could explore a lot of things in the application very easily because of the ease of its usage. It should be a definite stepping stone for each and every student who is new to the world of data science.

Pros

Weka was the first tool I had used for Data Mining. It's a good tool with all the bare minimum functionalities for any student. It provides as a great source of learning and exploration. As a student, I loved working with this software and writing reports of my findings. The machine learning algorithms that can be implemented with this software are also very easy to understand. Modifications and tweeking of the data and playing around with the input and being able to visualize it is a bonus.

Cons

This software has very less documentation and support available online. Not many people have been using it. It needs more acceptance in the Data Mining industry, especially for introducing these tools to the students. It proves to be a very good resource and learning experience as seen in my case as well as my classmates.

February 2019

Mihitha from Scienter Technologies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

best way to data mine and get graphically

Overall experience with weka is good. first I worked with weka for my university assignments. At that time I am not familiar with that. but in very small time period I was able to work with this environment because it is easy for handle. It gives very clear graphical details and those graphical details are very attractive. weka is the best software to do data mining.

Pros

We can use this as very easily for designe data mining algorithms. This software gives very clearly graphical out puts. Very easy to work with software because there is no anything have to do very hard. it is user friendly also. It helps to user solve their problems and get quality predictions. no any breaking points. as well as there a re no any kind of mistakes. This software is very helpfull to me for do my datamining tasks. as a student and a employee.

Cons

This software is mainly use for data mining using algorithms. So at that time if we can create this much more user friendly that is the best this ever do. But now also there is no big issue with that.

April 2018

Xiaojun from UHCL

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

I taught Weka in a graduate course called Business Analytics.

Weka is free and powerful. I used it to illustrate data mining concepts.

Pros

Weka is powerful and easy to use data mining software. Currently, it is open source. The free online courses associated with Weka are very valuable.

Cons

The file format for Weka is not very popular. There is a learning curve. An intelligent assistant system would be very useful to help people understand errors.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Useful and free

I first used Weka during my machine learning class and then I used it again every time I wanted to do data analysis without writing code from scratch.

Pros

It is a free software for data analysis and machine learning. It is a must for students and researchers who want to learn. Very rich documentation (both written and video).

Cons

I had a very hard time integrating Weka with python, although it is possible to do so. Once done it works fine though. Maybe not the most suitable solution for enterprise use. It is written in Java.

September 2018

Jared from Purdue University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Perfect free tool for teaching intro to machine learning

Perfect learning tool for teaching students!

Pros

Weka is a program developed by academic and is free to use, which is great because I use it to teach the basics of machine learning to my computational social science students. Its simple interface is easy for them to use, and the different types of analyses to choose from, like decision trees, are great for them to learn from.

Cons

I wish the regression analysis would give p values. But then again, if I am going to do regression then I will use Stata. That is not the focus of this software, so it's not a big deal.

March 2020

Preetham from Smilecare

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Good software for academic programs

Pros

Learning the art of machine learning and data analysis through simple logics.

Cons

It needs a bit upgradation, although it is impeccable.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

The big data analyser

Pros

Major benefits from this software was the ease to analyse clusters and classify data. Understanding the uses of various data sets and the ease of excel sheets i.e. .arff files. Loved it...

Cons

Can be much more user friendly in terms of the way it operates. Many a times many functions are deactivated as bugs...

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Weka Review

Pros

It is written in Java, hence can run on any modern computing platform and it usable for open source and Linux users.

Cons

It could have a simpler menu for graphic depiction of the data analysis.