All AutoCAD Reviews

1-25 of 3,018 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ganapathy

51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

AutoCAD: User review

User Profile

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

AutoCAD remains the uncontested drafting software for my daily civil & architectural demands.

For a while now, AutoCAD has been my go-to CAD utility thanks to its rich features & undisputed performance. The software has a neat interface for easily navigating through the variety of plotting tools & organized tabs for all drafting purposes. it's hard not to recommend this software to anyone who's looking for a flawless CAD experience.

PROS

Since college, I've been regularly using AutoCAD to design 2D schematics in various course projects & till this day, the software has never failed me in fulfilling my work. The user interface is sleek & the plethora of features & compatibility to complement the fantastic user experience. More specifically, whenever I'm working a schematic that contains multiple layers (civil, electrical, HVAC, etc.), I'm easily able to lock or freeze other layers while working on a specific layer. This has countlessly averted me unintentional alterations of layers that I weren't supposed to modify.

CONS

Since updating to version 2023.1, I've noticed an increase in CPU usage on my Athlon 200GE desktop which occasionally led to audible inconvenience from the desktop fans revving at full speed. I hope a future update could resolve this minor annoyance. A great piece of software nonetheless.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

While FreeCAD is admirably free & open source with a modest amount of features, I wasn't quite satisfied with the seemingly messy, convoluted user interface which made resort to AutoCAD.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD

AutoCAD offers an easier UI without compromising on features or performance. Besides, the frequent, large-sized software updates meant that CPU usage was bogged down when drafting & storage was quickly filling on my C drive. This ultimately dissuaded me to continue on using the software altogether & make the switch to AutoCAD.

Mehmet

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Autocad for Everyting

Although we are generally satisfied, the reasons I mentioned prevent us from using it with pleasure.

PROS

We have been using it for years. Since it is a well-established program, you can easily find what you are looking for. A wide variety of libraries have been derived. Indispensable for technical draftsmen.

CONS

The fact that it still uses a single core prevents us from getting full efficiency from the program. it should be rebuilt.

Nick

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

A critical program that often doesn't live up to its potential.

This program is on the out in terms of office use, but it has proven pretty reliable. The drafting tools are adequate and fulfill most of the challenges when assembling a drawing. There are some major gaps and omissions with the tools when compared to other programs like Rhino. Performance issues are the biggest road block that Autodesk hasn't seemed to iron out over the lifetime of the product. It still chugs and freezes at inopportune times, particularly between model and paper space. Revit is this future, but this will get you by.

PROS

Robust linking and organization tools. File formats that are easily transferred to other programs. Relatively simple UI.

CONS

Performance issues abound. This program uses more RAM and CPU power than it has the right to. A lot of freezing and hang-ups even on beefy machines. Some very frustrating UI decisions and limitations with commands.

Priyanka

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

The very easy going software to new users

PROS

I like the most about Autocad is it's easy going tools and techniques to complete our work. It provides number of commands which are greatly easier to work upon with. New user can also knows the basic commands within hardly 1 hours of time.

CONS

Actually there's nothing to understand easily in AutoCad. I would say a normal person can also learn wholly within 15 to 20 days.

Rui

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Its very Expensive

PROS

At our company we love to draw in autocad, it have all features that we need

CONS

Its a unsupported price that we cannot sustain.

John

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

AutoCAD- a designers dream

After a few training courses, I have been loving AutoCAD to help grow the business by designing and launching some new products. AutoCAD makes the design process much better, more professional, and needed for manufacturing of 3D pieces. From small to large design pieces, AutoCAD can handle all types of design projects.

PROS

AutoCAD is incredible at enabling you to design your 3D models, no matter what you are trying to create.

CONS

It can be said that AutoCAD is quite an extensive, almost intimidating product, but once you get into it you should be able to pick it up with some practice.

kagisho joseph

Construction, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Great experience

1 year experience in a piping department

PROS

it is easy to use, more efficiency, so accuratetly

CONS

to make pipes for other companies to get the plat running,

ELIUD

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Eliud reviews

user friendly and very accurate. easy to annotate

PROS

user friendly and very accurate. easy to annotate

CONS

it is too mechanical. drawing line by line

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Essential for MEP Engineers

PROS

AutoCAD is highly recommended once you get the hang of a few shortcuts and keys because it provides an array of customization choices, particularly for schematic and shop drawings. The rest just happens as you imagine.

CONS

The program may be less accessible for people who only recently started out or have limited funds.

Henry

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

AutoCAD is brilliant software.

Overall AutoCAD has been brillaint and has really helped me.

PROS

I mainly use AutoCAD to produced 2D detailed floor plan drawings and for this purpose it is extremely good, I find it extremely useful in my day-to-day work life and it benefits me massively.

CONS

At first it can be a bit confusing to use, however, after watching a couple of tutorial videos it makes it so much easier and after that I have had no problems.

Francisco

Internet, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

The best for architects

PROS

It is the universal tool for architecture, no other tool can replace it. Always in a high profesional environment

CONS

So difficult to learn. You might need to take a good course if you want to get demotivated and abandon it.

Kelsey

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Love love love

PROS

I honestly love the commands in AutoCAD, they're pretty intuitive without being overly complicated. I like that the command bar also explicitly spells out additional options for each function. I feel like the overall ease of use is relatively good. If you're familiar with programs in general, CAD will be no big deal. However, the return on the project is exponential for the ease of use, so that's wonderful. I use the program daily, even above doing simple linework in Adobe products, for example. CAD has become so ingrained in my workflow that I really can't do without it.

CONS

The biggest con I can think of has to do with the consistent functionality of certain commands I use. For example, the hatching command does not always read linework as complete/joined even when I know that it is, which results in a wildly skewed hatch. As well, the draw order command does not always function properly. Basically, I don't have a huge complaint - more like I think there's still bugs that need to be worked out. Overall, I love CAD.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD

Rhino is a more complex program to use. It's more geared towards 3D I think than 2D modeling, though you're perfectly capable of doing both there. I much prefer drafting in CAD.

Subodh

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

WATCH this before installing Auto CAD

Drafting, designing and overall needs of our company is cleared with this app, also mechanics and plumbers are using this software.

PROS

everything is overall best and maybe the only problem with people nowadays is they think's they're perfect after a design or after some days. It takes time to dig down, keep practicing more, there is free trail period available for student's. verify and do it. don't wait. keep going.

CONS

This app provides all new features and functions of AutoCAD' so there is not much problem i can say but when you keep working and working into it you can find some problem but u can solve it. make your own code and it all available. And the thing needed is time and practice.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

it is easy and provides best results and free for students. that's all you need for the perfect software.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Using Autocad at the office and site works

A software that can not be replaced especially the Pc version of it but some other softwares may be helpful for making Autocad more efficient and easier to use.

PROS

As it's to most developed software of it's kind of softwares, it contains the most important and useful tools that can be used to create or modify or even evaluate or improve the plans and the content. Especially in the windows or ios versions but unlikely in the mobile version.

CONS

Sometimes it's necessary to get more tools and libraries from the internet wich makes it more difficult whenever you are working on a different type of plans, it would be very helpful if they could include all of the other items and libraries in the main product.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

Autocad makes it genuinely easier and professional.

Adam

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Industry Standard for Drafting and Designing

As I use AutoCAD on a near-daily basis in the engineering field, it has become a tool that is second-nature while drafting and designing. While AutoCAD is an extremely effective tool to help designers and drafters to create drawings that look great and are easy to manipulate, it can struggle to handle heavy project workload with many 3-dimensional objects in one drawing; if you are able to plan and predict what a project will entail, you can plan your drawings accordingly to make sure that there isn't too much content in a single drawing which seems to cause this issue. As a leading tool for engineers, AutoCAD remains an excellent software for drafting and designing.

PROS

AutoCAD is a great drafting tool that has some great built-in functions to assist the designer in efficiently designing and drafting engineering projects. The customization in AutoCAD allows for great consistency in drafting by having custom uniform text, styles, and general features (such as pipe networks, pressure networks, and profiles to name a few), though this customization can also be a detriment which I will mention below. The majority of the interface is designed for ease-of-use, having all of the commonly used features in the ribbon and on the taskbar, while retaining the text commands for quickly accessing features for more advanced users. AutoCAD has widespread compatibility in terms of files it is able to import and read, as well as output formats to other drafting softwares. As I use AutoCAD with the Civil 3D add-on, there are some very helpful 3-dimensional tools that make it easy to draft your intended design with ease and the functionality of having various levels of complexity such as 3-dimensional surfaces, 3-dimensional pipe networks, and all of the associated tools (roadway corridors, grading tools, and surface manipulation.) AutoCAD is an industry standard for a reason - it helps the designer to efficiently and effectively complete designs with a wide variety of tools and options.

CONS

Though AutoCAD offers some very useful tools, some of these tools are complex and there can be a steep learning curve for new users. The bulk of the issues encountered while using AutoCAD seem to happen on larger complex projects. For larger-scale projects where many different drawings and objects are referenced together, it is important for the user to understand efficient ways to link drawings and AutoCAD objects together to prevent file slow-downs and bloating of project files. The dreaded 'Fatal Error' is also not uncommon when working in larger complex projects, especially when using 3-dimensional functions in the software such as surface grading. As newer versions of the software cause older versions to become obsolete, it is crucial that you stay up-to-date with the newest version of AutoCAD if you are planning on collaborating with external parties or consultants. Ensure the machine you will be using AutoCAD on exceeds the minimum recommended software and hardware requirements, as it can be difficult to efficiently use this software on an under-powered computer.

User Profile

Sadaf

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

AutoCAD- A powerful tool for drawing and modelling

Work with AutoCAD begins at the conception stage (conceptual design, schematics, design development) through to construction (good for construction and as-built drawings) and completion. I have been using AutoCAD for the last ten years and honestly, I would not trade this software for any other. Our company uses AutoCAD for drafting two-dimensional layouts, editing, developing 3D models as well as using it to import and export to other compatible software such as Revit for BIM and IES for energy modelling respectively. It is a fundamental drafting software that has no competitor in the market, especially for the construction industry. I highly recommend this powerful tool for enhancing the quality of detailed architectural, mechanical, electrical and civil 2D drawings for better implementation on site.

PROS

There is no limit to what can be produced with AutoCAD, from architecture, product design, and landscape drawings, from the tiniest to scales to the largest. As an Architect, I feel that mastering this software has been an indispensable skill, and I will be using it for many many years to come. Once you get a hang of it, developing layouts is simple, with a customizable interface and menus. I especially love the Object Snap command that helps me prepare drawings and details that are 100% accurate. Being compatible with a majority of modelling software, exporting CAD drawings is quite straightforward too. There is a plethora of support online as well as provided by Autodesk, if things seem challenging or there is a glitch to fix. The best part is that AutoCAD offers a fully functional free version for students, which is definitely a step in the right direction; not all companies do this.

CONS

The price tag associated with AutoCAD is steep, considering designers, architects, and engineers, all use it perpetually. To function without major glitches such as screen freeze, slow processing speed the software needs system rich in memory and RAM. A few commands like Trim and Hatch function slowly if your computer is (in my case) old or short on available RAM. For new users, the entire interface can be quite overwhelming considering the number of commands available for varied functions. I don't really have major issues with the 2D drafting feature, as it is comprehensive, accurate and user-friendly, but somehow the 3D feature isn't the best. In my opinion, there is other software available which can produce exceptional, presentation worthy and realistic 3D renderings as most have their own ray tracing, something that AutoCAD lacks. Additionally, for complex projects, it can be challenging to update sections, elevations, and detail drawings even if there is a minor change in the plan/s. For this purpose especially, I prefer BIM software when working on large and challenging projects.

Mirza

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

AutoCAD is very easy to use!

First time I got introduced to AutoCAD it was in high school, second grade. Since I went to high school which is specialized for training construction workers I have used many software's for drawing and one of them was AutoCAD, which I found very easy to use. I used it for 2 years in that period of life and it was very amusing for me to find something like that to ease my handwriting , drawing and drafting work with paper, pencils, rulers and divider. I had many different school subjects and most of them required drawing and drafting, so most of my work was done by AutoCAD software using mouse and keyboard. Later on in my life I had a few encounters with AutoCAD in a company that I work for and again it was like riding a bicycle, some things and stuff are just easy to use and remember, for me it was the AutoCAD.

PROS

Accuracy and precision with really ease of use, that is exactly what AutoCAD is. With just computer mouse function and a little bit of keyboard usage the things you can draw without holding a pencil and without any need for all that drawing and drafting equipment on your table. Any kind of 2D drawings or 3D modeling drawings you can draw with AutoCAD, which helps you to visualize the objects better and that can be very helpful if you are a architect, construction engineer or a construction worker currently working on a project including building an object or infrastructure. The basic commands like Copy, Mirror, etc. can get your job done in just a few clicks! AutoCAD really saves you a lot of time. Most people would probably be interested in a price of this software and I can say that the price is pretty much good and affordable for a software of this kind, but I think the user should decide that one for it self.

CONS

Some add-ons might be hard to install, but not necessarily. File transferring sometimes can be a little difficult especially if files sizes are bigger and because of that sometimes you won't be able to load some of the received documents, so you will have to find a fix for that, but still I did not have many problems of that kind or any other. One more information that could be useful is that AutoCad's files only can be opened with its own extension which is DWG ( I don't know is that a problem for some users or not, but there it is, truth is out there).

Abdallah

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT