All Process Director Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Paulo

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Low-Code Digital Transformation

Process Director has allowed us focus on delivering business solutions that improve our overall customer experience while streamlining operations, increasing accountability and transparency.

PROS

Process Director switches the focus from custom solutions development to business process optimization. The product makes its easy to tackle complex workflows quickly and effectively, allowing us to address evolving business needs without delays. Out of the box integration with Active Directory and built-in connectors to multiple database systems facilitate identity management and data connections to ERP systems or other applications. Full audit logs, report building tools, and digital signatures make compliance requirements a non-issue. The new web form builder not only elevates the end-user's experience, but makes form creation even easier. Forms are responsive and can be created and deployed in no time.

CONS

Process Director will challenge the "developer mindset" who'd like to get underneath the hood to address specific needs. Overcoming this requires you to think differently, and forces you to look at a challenge from different perspectives.

Reason for choosing Process Director

We knew that Process Director would address our needs at the time with a robust feature-set that allowed for future growth and would push us into digital transformation.

Gregory

Semiconductors, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

BP Logix Process Director working well for our use case

Overall, it was as expected to ramp up on learning the software, developing the application fro our use case, and making enhancements to the application over time. We were able to achieve the desired results for managing our workflow and crating the various reports needed to manage the biz process and drive continuous improvements.

PROS

Process timeline framework. Technical support. Controlling user access to the level needed. Regular software updates and free training on new features.

CONS

Troubleshooting issues - sometimes finding root cause is difficult. Bug fixes not clearly communicated as to how they were addressed in the next software release.

Reason for choosing Process Director

The price and capabilities best aligned to our business case need.

Reasons for switching to Process Director

Needed much more capability than SharePoint offered to manage the workflow.

Anonymous

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2018

I found this to be on par with other canned workflow tools. That is, not so great overall.

PROS

If you don't already have a team of coders, but have talented and technically-inclined individuals itching for a new challenge, this may be a good way to enable them to produce simple throwaway forms and workflows. Also found BP Logix tech support to be above average, though product development support is not included in the basic software license.

CONS

Don't believe the marketing hype. No, your staff won't be cranking out complex forms and processes within days, weeks, or probably even months. You will require a substantial training investment and years of experience for workers to become truly productive with this. It is like learning a programming language, except instead of writing code you are mousing everywhere. And, unlike code, which represents the utmost in flexibility, you are working within the limited confines of one tool that does not support such common development tasks as renaming fields, adding more than x number of records to a drop-down, or diffing files to find out what has changed. When your knowledge workers become frustrated trying to accomplish a task for which the tool was not intended--and this will happen for all but the simplest project requirements--you will be tempted to recruit your coding team to assist. This is a good way to alienate your coders, who probably won't want to invest the time learning a tool that is inherently inferior to what they already have and know.

Scott

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

The ultimate sandbox sounds great if you're trying to build a sandcastle.

PROS

The tools are VERY easy to use to get working products and processes, once you get past the learning curve (which, depending on how involved you want to be and where you start, can vary from steep to near vertical). It's largely fun to work with (again, once you know your way around). Seeing your workshopping immediately payoff with a working prototype / final product is very rewarding. The form builder gives you exactly what you need to setup most form types. It too is as simple or complex as you want to make it.

CONS

As I said previously, the versatility in Process Director is both its greatest asset and it's largest downfall. You can make SO many things work, but because of that, the learning curve can be VERY steep unless you have someone holding your hand. Just like you wouldn't write an instruction manual for how to play in a sandbox, it's understandably difficult to codify all the different ways you can work with PD. There is a robust set of documentation, but the largest part of cracking through and finding something USEFUL is knowing WHAT to search for. It's been a while since I was a new user, so it's possible they've improved their onboarding experience with some sort of tailored training, but when I was going through there were a couple of examples, but unless you were looking to build something VERY similar or exactly like the samples, they only helped marginally. Looking back at my journey with the software there are a number of things I would have done differently to better ease myself into the product. Maybe adding a list of things to avoid during your first couple of builds? Things like arrays (having multiple of a section of fields, like multiple vendors for a PO), filling drop downs from other sources, and most custom tasks should probably be avoided. The first couple of processes should be very simple with simple forms (either very few fields or nothing too complicated).

Reason for choosing Process Director

Level of customization; reporting tools; sandbox type approach to design. Several of the other products we looked at did not have as free flowing of a form editor, which imo is the basis for everything else.

Ricky

Mining & Metals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

A simple and easy to use software package that packs a big punch to solves unique business processes

- Process Director helps us provide solutions to niche processes that fall outside of the company's enterprise processes. - Moving from hard copy forms to an electronic format gives us visibility into our processes and eliminates the need to ask "Where are we on this process". - Automating our processes improves efficiency and eliminates a majority of phone calls and emails back and forth. - We have been able to develop simple processes for quick hits to improve a process as well as solve and improve complex processes.

PROS

- Easy for a non-developer to develop a process from start to finish, yet has the tools a developer needs to develop complex scenarios. - Scripting capability with the SDK allows the software to be extended to meet your process when the out of box functionality doesn't fit your use case. - Great customer support that goes above and beyond to help solve issues - Direct Assistance is available if you need one on one help to solve unique issues - When we were evaluating BPM solutions, Process Director was the only demo that actually presented a complete solution for our use case in the RFQ where other industry identified "leaders" in BPM were not flexible enough to provide a solution. - Process Director is a perfect fit to solve niche processes in our company that fall outside of our enterprise applications - Very easy upgrade process. The actual upgrade process has been less than 10 mins for us even between major version releases.

CONS

I don't have a con that I can list since I have yet to find a scenario that Process Director doesn't have a mechanism to solve.

Shaun

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Process Director drives our digital transformation

Our implementation focus has been driven by public safety, compliance issues, and return-on-investment. We are resource constrained and by re-engineering processes with Process Director we are often able to speed up processes, reduce or eliminate manual intervention, improve data accuracy and compliance while freeing up people to address higher value add tasks.

PROS

The ease of use and extensibility of Process Director has been a game changer for us. We have been able to leverage data across the enterprise to re-engineer processes to achieve much greater efficiencies, compliance, data accuracy and cost savings. The flexibility that Process Director offers through their SDK has allowed us to easily extend the functionality of the product to address virtually all challenges that we have come across. We have literally changed our project discovery process to focus on what the business needs to make their processes more efficient and not around the limitations of a platform or tool.

CONS

I have no cons. When a limitation to their software exists BP Logix support staff often suggest an approach that you may not have thought of. We have been able to address limitations that are a result of a unique requirement through the use of the SDK.

Renu

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Great tool to build, run, monitor and improve your business process

Process Director has allowed us to streamline our processes tremendously. It works well and ensures a great workflow between different departments.

PROS

Process Director was easy to install and not many additional infrastructure capacity was needed. It's also easy to maintain. Deploying the processes to different environments is made easy by export & import features. The upgrades are straightforward and not time consuming. The process timeline model over the traditional and complex flow chart model is innovative and easy to use. Complex business processes can be implemented with wide variety of custom tasks. Very convenient and low/no code solution. Process Director gives the ability to see trends over time. It allows you to build, run, monitor and do continuous improvement easily. The support staff and our Account Manager are very prompt and responsive.

CONS

I would like to be able to produce reports from templates to suit my users needs. The reporting tool requires prior knowledge and experience with some reporting tools. The Knowledge Views are helpful in querying some basic information but it can get tricky with arrays and it's slow in rendering data.

Karthikeyan

Staffing and Recruiting, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2017

Using BP Logix implementing Electronic Employment Application Process

It is very developer friendly and we were able to use this product for all developers with little bit of learning from BP Logix perspective. Also this product helps to develop the flow as engine and it nicely integrates with our company proprietary software.

PROS

Developer Friendly : Lot of components are really reusable that helps the developers to save considerable amount of time Timeline : One of the best object I have come across. Very user friendly and it is really very easy to extend for complicated decision making flows. PDF Creation : Creating PDF in multiple documents get accomplished in very simple steps. Business Rules & Business Values : Both are very user friendly and able to connect to our back end database very easily.

CONS

PDF Sizing : One of the biggest concern in BP Logix now is, PDFs are not creating with the size optimized and over the period of time, this will be big concern for us. "Processing Please wait....." GUI : Message that displays when moves from one form to another form cannot be customized. Lack of support Edit Mask : For the field that has special data type like phone, email, hourly rate dollar amount, BP Logix doesn't offer a easy way to edit mask a field.

Alan

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2011

Flexible and powerful, endless possibilities before you need to write even a single line of code!

It is hard to imagine an organisation that couldnt implement and benefit from Process Director within a matter of weeks. Naturally there is a fair investment required, not only in the product but in training and process design, which needs to be factored in before the ROI can be established. However, Process Directors unique attributes make the ROI clear and far more persuasive than with lesser solutions; simple unlimited user licensing options, Microsoft based technologies for easy implementation, strong product support and training partners, familiar tools such as Word for eForm building, workflow and processes, business intelligence, accessible web interface for administrators and users, unrivalled flexibility of features and out-the-box deployment ability.

PROS

The Microsoft Word eForm builder makes creation of simple forms and processes incredibly accessible to any level of user. Some things take a little thinking about to decide the best way of achieving a goal but, without exception, we always find a neat solution to every requirement within the features offered. Powerful database integration via SQL queries, SOAP web service calls (in both directions) and even REST calls make integration more possible than with similar products. The three tier licensing makes sizing and implementing a system a straightforward business without having to count users and constantly be under pressure to adjust the system use to remain within restrictive user count license restrictions.

CONS

The power on offer takes a little time to fully understand. Due to the modular nature of the system and that many of the modules are built within the same framework as your own processes, it can make navigating the options a little overwhelming at first. When building processes for the real world, the devil is in the detail; a lookup of an address might sound simple at first but in reality the address may be in a different table to the main account information, the postcode may or may not have a space separator and the search may return multiple matches rather than just one. Process Director has the ability to deal with all these scenarios but knowing which options to use and when, or having access to a good support partner who does, is essential.

Dan

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Nice product overall - documentation needs a revamp

PROS

I can automate the workflow and perform tasks based on actions, etc.

CONS

It's very difficult to find the right "something" in the documentation. Often the definition of a word uses the same word to describe itself. Which ultimately doesn't define the word at all. Often there is more emphasis placed on "outlier" options for a feature than actual explanation of the feature. The search tool doesn't return pertinent results. It may, only I have to wade thru pages and pages of results to find the right item. In my opinion, the documentation is not very useful as-is (it's an internal joke to send someone to the documentation to get an answer). I am a former ASP.NET web developer. I want more control over how my forms look. For instance, multi-line input boxes. Give me a way to auto-grow the box on the page as I type (not just a cursor grab spot to make the box bigger). Also, give me a way to make the box 100% width within the containing table cell/div. I also want the ability to create a sub-form that I can pop-up and capture more information and to place the action buttons. For example, when I click an action button that requires a comment, I want to have a pop-up that prompts for the comment vs. forcing the user to enter one on the form prior to clicking the action button. Its a much cleaner look and flow that way. The dev env needs help. Overall, it's easy to use only it forgets where its at often and I have to traverse the partition tree again. What I find also frustrating is that I can't get at the form control properties from the design view.

Reasons for switching to Process Director

Needed something more flexible.

Bill

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2011

Process Director fits the need.

All in all this application fits the need; Whether you have 100 processes that all need to link to each other, or one simple process that you just want to increase accountability for. The ease of use, scalability, and low cost made me an instant fan.

PROS

The GUI allows for a simplistic look a some very complex coding. This makes gathering requirements and creating workflows extremely visual, which in an advertising agency is essential to getting understanding and sign-off for each program implementation. The Microsoft integration makes creating forms and linking to external data sources a breeze. The customizations that are possible in the forms and workflows via basic C# scripts allow developers to create dynamic controls that may otherwise be sacrificed due to time or resource deficiency. The customer support has been nothing less than superb since day one. There has never been and issue or question raised that wasn't addressed in a timely manner.

CONS

Limitations surrounding permissions to view forms and workflows could be improved. Adding a feature such as the ability to enter a user picker field on a form that dictates who can see that form/workflow (which is not viewable to the general user base). Currently you have to limit permission to the Process Users which doesn't include everyone that needs access. This then requires an Admin to manually give users view rights to each form, which is extremely time consuming. The other area to improve would be reporting. The KVs are very limited in scope which is where the new BI reporting comes in...but in my review of it the dollars did not match up with the results. Also, I'm not a fan of the new condition builder format where you have to click an elipses to select options or type a string. Creating conditions moved much more quickly when you could get directly to the dropdowns and type your string directly rather than clicking an elipses then starting that process from there.

Tim

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Flexible and complete solution

PROS

Rich features and well thought out development environment makes this a very powerful low code business process solution. Great support team and documentation / demonstrations are continually improved.

CONS

Arrays and databases are not very integrate-able in some instances. Automatically generating csv exports is a bit of a pain. Processing automated workflow steps requires additional manual setup.

Glen

Farming, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Outstanding platform and support!

We have implemented the platform to support all global complaints, global special competitive situations involving pricing and programs, in addition to special programs uses. It is a valuable Audit compliance tool for documentation of internal processes, and automated approval trees based on multiple approval designations. Really outstanding support & design by [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN].

PROS

This software was customized to meet a number of operational needs and was able to be manipulated as our business needs grew. Outstanding programming and very rapid support response. Absolutely A++

CONS

So far there has been no downside since the support programming has been outstanding and there were no issues that were too difficult. Very perceptive programming support that was able to understand complex programming structure and customize for our needs.

Reason for choosing Process Director

Comprehensive understanding of our global business needs and timely, personalized service. Absolutely A++

Steve

Marketing and Advertising, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

BPM software that is easy to configure and deploy.

Very happy with the tool. We've used it for over a decade and consistently get great value and ROI.

PROS

Process Director is really easy to configure to meet our needs. Whether it's a simple form and process, or one that is more complex, we can always find an deploy a solution relatively quickly. I will say, it helps immensely to have a tech lead who really knows his stuff, but even when we first started out and we were first learning about the tool and it's capabilities, the support from BP Logix was always there to help us get going.

CONS

We made some critical design choices that have proven to be less than ideal, based on ease of downstream configuration. If we knew then what we know now, we obviously would have set things up more efficiently. It's been tough to untangle some of those decisions, but I suspect that is not specific to this software.

Colin

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed September 2011

BP Logix Process Director Highly Recommended

I have implemented over 20 internal solutions using this product and we have effectively built our own ERP and CRM system using it. I have also implemented many solutions for clients, and have trained many clients who have benefitted enormously from this software. If you want an excellent BPM product without having to write code and are willing to invest in some training to get the best from it then I highly recommend Process Director.

PROS

BPLogix have been developing BPM solutions for many years now. Their expertise is apparent not just from all of the headline features you expect from a BPM solution, but also from the many little features that give the user a more complete capability without the need for custom coding. With Process Director, external integrations to other products, databases, file systems, and web services really are achievable without custom coding. Using Word to design the forms is quick and easy to understand. Everything else including the workflow design and administration is done through the browser therefore eliminating the need for any client installation and simplifying admin. Building prototypes is really quick with Process Director, typically less than 1 day for a simple process. I have worked with many different vendor s products across many different areas and the BPLogix support is outstanding.

CONS

The new reporting module is not the most intuitive, but it is fully featured and powerful once you learn it. The interface can get a bit confusing at times and slow to navigate with lots of popups. You can usually do everything you need to do in Process Director, but it can sometimes be difficult to figure out the first time. E.g. Enabling the user s own control of the out of office delegation feature as another reviewer mentioned, is actually possible but not obvious. Training is definitely recommended to get the most from this product

Lisa

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2013

User Review of BP Logix Process Director/Cloud Edition, Implementation and Services

Process Director was quick to deploy and easy to use, update and maintain. The selection of Process Director enables us to integrate with other third party applications including financial management software. We continue to look at other business processes that can take advantage of Process Director's workflow and business process logic. As a result of the deployment we are able to locate records quickly and respond to finanical audits and other requests for historical information. Users across departments can very quickly review current and historical data. This is important as we use Process Director to view the same information which cuts down on phone and email traffic and provides for operational improvements. Process Director has facilitated collaboration between many business units at MultiPlan.

PROS

MultiPlan selected BP Logix Process Director/Cloud Edition to centralize its capital expenditure (CapEx), Major Expenditure Request (MER), and Software Project Autorization (SPA) processes late 2011. The autorization and routing workflows were developed and implemented quickly and the system was deployed and operational January 2012. Process Director replaced a legacy application and the users were immediately comfortable with using Process Director as the look and feel replicated the previous legacy application. Training needs were minimal as Process Director is very intuitive. Updates including user and workflow changes are accomplished quickly by MultiPlan staff with support from BP Logix's technical team. After several months of using Process Director two additional processes were developed including PO/invoice matching and asset disposal/transfer tracking. Reporting is very easy with Excel exports, and the system supports our audit activities as reports are easy to assemble.

CONS

Wish we could deploy Process Director for more processes and will continue to look for opportunities to do so.

Maimoona

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Process Director Review

With introduction of Process Director we have improved our end user experiences by reducing the overall processing time. Easily trackable requests/forms. Critical workflows were optimized with implicit parallelism. Improved accountability of each request/process owned by various entities. Helped in enhancing and improving organizational processes continuously.

PROS

Its a code free tool which made our lives easier to automate the processes in lesser time. It was even easier to learn about deployment, development and administration. Within span of 9-12 months we were able to automate about 45-50 process and all of them are working perfectly fine. A Lot of re-work reduced.

CONS

So far applications/forms in our University hasn't faced any critical issue . The team was supportive enough to spend hours with us in making this electronic application forms going LIVE.

Reason for choosing Process Director

It was suggested by one of our leadership team , as this software was already used in the organizations he worked with.

Stephen

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Best Business Management tool for either rookie or pro

We have been using Process director for more than 7 years. It saved us dozens of paper, we highly transfer from our paper-based model to an electronic-based model. We use PD from student service to administration service, from all programs to all departments. It's easy to use whether the user is in the institution or outside.

PROS

Once you design the form, you may start from the word document(for any 32-bit version), or you may just get started from a web based. There is no installation required if you want to create a form. From the web-based portal, there are a lot of modules you may select from. After the template is done, you may use workflow or timeline to trigger the form.

CONS

For the array features, it's highly recommended that the nested array could be implemented.

Reason for choosing Process Director

Variety modules, mature products.

William

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT