User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(87)

87

4 stars

(49)

49

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "This software is really good on its work speed. It's faster than others I ever tried. Like its user interface is really simple, any PC can run it. "

  • "It is user friendly and very useful tool to perform modeling. Features are so good."

  • "I really like it's set of different tools for different operations. The work space of catia v6 is great. It's server based system is really helpful. "

  • Cons

  • "Perfect design tool but command base and developing automation tool is a little bit complex"

  • "It is not super user-friendly program as Solidworks but it works anyway. Sometimes, when i'm working on the big products, update can take lots of time."

  • "Not that much easy to learn all functions in detail. But need to spend some time to learn. "

Browse CATIA Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 142 results

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Mert from Ford

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best friend of a design engineer

In summary, Catia is the best software in CAD world for me. It allows user to design a part from basic level to upper advanced. That's why it's preferred in industry.

Pros

There a lot of things to emphasize. However to be more precise, I'm using for metal and plastic part design and it serves great. Generative sheet metal tool is very helpful and tools under this tab half the time while designing a metal part. In addition user stamping is a great way to design brackets amd evaluate producing process.

Cons

There are lots of tools I didn't feel so comfortable in the beginning about ease of use. But got used to it.

Reasons for Switching to CATIA

I was using solidworks but my current company uses Catia.

November 2019

Omkar from NCSU

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Perfect for Designing

It is a great software and very easy to use and teach interns on

Pros

The User interface is very easy and has many customization options. Can be used easily by new people.

Cons

It is a little expensive and given too many toolbars even if you dont need it

Reasons for Choosing CATIA

It is easier to use and has good connectivity between plants

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Best software for CAD/CAM/CAE.

I used this software for two to three years and it best for advanced machining, easily provide modeling simulation and develops it's NC codes in just some seconds.

Pros

Catia is an excellent and very powerful software for designing a model and for displaying it's 2D drawing and isometric views easily. It is also best to see machining simulation, provide all the details about it like manufacturing time and all process details. Product tree is also very useful as it gives different options in a simple way.

Cons

Catia is best software for CAD,CAM and CAE but it takes alot of time to become a pro in this. It is not user friendly like solidworks. If you are new user of it you will face some troubles in finding out different options.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Catia Enovia V6 review

I create large motor boats with large assemblies and i use Catia and NX on a daily basis. I have no problem managing the boat and the parts but when it comes to modelling in Catia i find incredibly tedious and very time consuming. Some days are very frustrating using this software as it is still very buggy. And when i contact helpdesk, they just reply 'oh yes, we know about that. This will be fixed in the next version!*

Pros

Managing large assemblies is particularly good with Enovia V6. I frequently open large assys containing up to 3-4000 parts (some of these individual parts are even 500MB each) and i have no problem with rotating the model with too much lag. The perspective view and general rendering of the parts is very good and quite impressive compared to other top CAD engineering packages.

Cons

Catia is not an easy package to learn. The UX is very over complicated and you really have to be shown by another user how to grasp the endless mouse clicking menus as they are not straight forward. After using Siemens NX for 10 years and then having to learn Catia was a nightmare. Catia takes far longer to model compared to other CAD packages. After 1 year with NX i didnt have a problem with creating anything, it was very reliable and I knew i could have a solution within a certain period of time. With Catia i never know how long something will take. It is far more unstable and it crashes very frequently.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

CATIA

Pros

pros: Professionals "It makes new clients pulled in to it and there are a lot of instructional exercises accessible to learn. Its ability over a wide range of portfolios makes it an extraordinary item." "The parametrization ability is one of the significant experts. Since you can undoubtedly control it to make plans by streamlining programming projects like ModeFrontier." "I have been utilizing this product for right around 2 years and I preferred it. In any case, they should improved and rework the toolbars to locate the required instrument for the circumstance." "In spite of the fact that it actually has a few cons, Catia is best particularly in Aviation and Automotive businesses due to having complex parts and congregations. It is consistently a bit of leeway to realize how to function with Catia."

Cons

Cons : "Particular franticness, they charge you for everything." "CATIA has helped my organization push ahead. We were stuck in the stone age with AutoCAD however now we produce 3D models and related drawings better/quicker/less expensive than previously." "In this way primary screen causes you to feel smidgen awkward. More than this, I think Catia has doesn't have cons to specify." "2D age module is truly poor; hence we generally utilize different apparatuses to make 2D's. Permit charge can be an issue for individual or little organization uses."

February 2021

DEVARAPALLI from Aditya Engineering College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Easy to learn

Excellent application developed by Dassault Systemes. It is very easy to learn. The main advantage in this software is we can switch between modules to have better design features.

Pros

We can design any type of product using this software with high rendering effects and colors. We can easily edit the designed part in this software.

Cons

The least i like in this software is that while designing any BAJA Vehicles, it will be very difficult to design them due to the weldment design between the pipe joints. It takes more time to design when compared to solidworks software.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Manideep from Tower automotive (AGG)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Features and ease of use

We do chassis components design with CATIA we made more design concepts with few steps.

Pros

Easy to understand the tools and achieve more things on design concepts.Part design assembly design concepts are good to learn to achieve complete design

Cons

Starting up the software is very slow.please try to improve ASAP. Parametric modeling should be improved

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Create Cad Model Professionally

I am very pleased using this program. Because we generally use complex models.

Pros

Using only mouse to rotate, pan, zoom. Creating parametric model very easily. Complex models are not trouble.

Cons

Sometimes, small models can be crashed while saving.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Issac from Toyota Tsusho India Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

An easy to use 3D modelling software

A beautiful software that can fulfill all your modelling requirement in one package

Pros

High speed 3 d modelling application with rendering support. Supports wide variety of file types Easy to convert 2d to 3 d easily Supports access through the internet

Cons

Should introduce a higher cloud storage option Should implement radx support in 3 d rendi as it shows improved details while creating an animation

January 2021

Mert from GRUP OTOMASYON

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Real Quality

Pros

Being recognized by the industry, the right solution.

Cons

catia v5 interface looks too old, I'm waiting for an update

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Özgür from Ford Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Probably the best software for product design and surface modelling

If you're in automotive industry and not have your own design tool; then Catia is your must to use design software. It is the most complex and capable design tool and perfect for surface modelling. Yes it is not much user friendly and hard to become an expert user; but these doesn't enough to drop Catia V5 from number one seat...

Pros

I'm working with Catia V5 for a long time. I've used other programs such as Solidworks as well; but Catia is the best by far due to it's features. Catia is the most complex tool for part design and assembly management. For instance creating complex large surfaces with Catia (which is a must for automotive industry) is really easy thing to do. Variety of manipulating tools (turn, pan, rotate, etc.) makes you to easily view or manage the designed part. There are several modules which you can add many features to your part when managing the design. There are several material libraries to use for your product. Product tree is detailed and let you to manage the design steps e.g. to make parametric design. Catia is very powerful and fast; but sure you do need a good hardware as well. Creating 2D drawing is a bit complicated; but can be managed easier when you got used to it.

Cons

Probably biggest drawback for Catia is that you really need to spend years to become an expert user (not designer). It's a bit complicated compared to some other design tools. Mouse function is a bit hard to control - for example you need multiple buttons to rotate. Also interface is a bit old fashioned. V5 had many upgrades so far; but I assume it's time for V6 now for a better outlook. 2D generation module is really poor; therefore we mostly use other tools to create 2D's. License fee can be an issue for personal or small company usages.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

CATIA a most for automotive design.

For a new user, this software can be frustrating at the beginning however once you understand the basics it is pretty easy. I've been using this software every day and I keep learning new options.

Pros

This software has everything an engineer could dream of. Analysis and Design tool.

Cons

The software is hard to master. It has too many options which means you need to learn a lot of options.

Reasons for Choosing CATIA

Flexibility and Options

July 2019

User Profile Picture

EMEL from Ford Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Comprehensive software for CAD modelling

If you want to deal with complex designs, extended surfaces; e.g automobile body structures, this is the software to use. However for less complex part or tool/mold designs you may prefer Solidworks due to its cost advantages.

Pros

The best thing for Catia V5 is for sure the high capability for surface modelling. Complex surfaces can be designed easily with the extensive library and the functions Catia provide. That's why this is the #1 software used in Automotive for creating the designs. There are lots of features to shape your design product. Creating assemblies and defining movement for the assembly structures also possible and can be managed easily after some experience. If you know parametric design principles, Catia can work wery well with this principle. There is also a broad material library available for your selection, you can even add new material or properties.

Cons

Probably the first and the only thing to mention about Catia V5 is the interface. Although I like to use Catia due to its extensive features; I do not like the somehow retro interface, ribbon and menu designs. Therefore main screen makes you feel little bit uncomfortable. More than this, I think Catia has does not have cons to mention.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Catia, you feel free to make design everything.

I am Design Engineer at Ford Motor Company. I am using Catia everyday. If I making design, if I need to update my 3D model I need this software for using. Because, our Automotive Industry using it commonly. I can manage my product tree without any forces in catia. I can create updateable design and share my collleagues.

Pros

If you create a new product in Aviation or Automobile Industry you should start with Catia. Because that, it is most common software in these industries and it makes you using same language while designing something together your partner. Catia has more capabilities to update your models if required. It is stronger software to use product assemblies into assembly.

Cons

First time if you learn Catia, you can be forced into doing something, than you to continue doing something. thus, you will understand strategy of Catia.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

NOT EASY TO USE BUT EFFICIENT

Designing power transmission system.

Pros

1. Common usage 2. Easy to find engineer / technical specialist who has experience on it 3. Price 4. Effcient 2D feature

Cons

1. Always Crash like as 'click ok to terminate' 2. Not easy to use' UI is not friendly. 3. Disconnected links 4. Lack of "3D tolerance stack up" feature

July 2018

User Profile Picture

James from Xerox

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

CATIA software has provided me best ways for development and it is easy to model complex designs.

Pros

CATIA is an excellent software that has make our job work too easier. CATIA software offers large number of functionalities that is linked with other CAD softwares.With best manufacturing tool opportunity,it enables us to design complex parts. CATIA provides the fantastic space for user.It has unique fuctions for designing products. Moreover one can simulate the production.

Cons

Learning curve of CATIA software is quite higher and it is indeed most intuitive software.In the beginning it's layout seems to be quite difficult but when we have good command on basic functions then CATIA becomes easier for us within a few days and it can be done quite efficiently. Sometimes CATIA software takes a lot of time in downloading files but it is a minor issue.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Stéfano from Electrolux

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Awesome solution fitted for your part and assembly design needs

CATIA works well for modeling complex designs and dealing with assemblies, and also helping with analysis for production line assembly and manufacturing through stamping, molding, injection, and others. CATIA also integrates very well with Teamcenter, the PLM software which we use in our company, making it easy to upload files and dealing with approval processes for new designs - although the time it takes for loading parts and saving could be reduced to improve productivity.

Pros

Easy modeling with production steps in mind; Surface modeling is pretty intuitive and makes possible to design complex geometries faster; Model edit is practical, making possible to edit a geometry parameter and rerun the program to have the new parameters ready; CATIA works very well for assemblies too, it makes possible to easily attach parts and bind specific parameters, also to hide parts that are not desirable for the analysis.

Cons

The software is pretty heavy, even with computers designed for heavy-duty loads, resulting in long wait times to load files and make changes, reducing productivity; User Interface is not that friendly, too many features which can get confusing.

November 2020

Thomas from IUT Nantes

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Best designing softwear in my opinion

I had the chance to learn how to use Catia during my training in Mechanical and Production Engineering in Nantes, France. First on the v5 version then on the v6 (3D experience). I had the opportunity to test different modules for CAD, CAM, etc... I had the opportunity to work in depth on a digital twins project that I think could be a very important technique in the future and it works well with Catia v6.

Pros

One of the points that I find most interesting about Catia is the variety of these modules (Part design, Assembly design, etc.). Indeed, Catia’s strong point, in my opinion, is the link that can be made between modules; we will be able to create parts, assemblies, test them in a virtual model, do computer-assisted manufacturing, etc. Moreover, he was able to test the new 3D Experience software which works thanks to a database and thus allows collaborative work. The future of CAD software in my opinion, all simply.

Cons

The handling is a bit complex at the beginning, especially compared to what is done in the competition, however this can be relativized by the fact that the modules offered are very consistent between them.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

The best ever Designing Software used by most of the Mechanical engineers

Being a Mechanical engineer and a Design engineer at a Company we use Catia daily to provide solutions to the client by providing Designs and also drawings. I have been using catia from more than 2 years and now I can work in all the catia workbenches. Mostly Harness has become a boom now a days

Pros

Catia provides different work benches where we can work on different activities like 2D modelling, 3D creation, Drafting, Sheet Metal, Surface Modeling, Assembling and lot more.

Cons

For new user the Catia is not user friendly and they require some trainings to understand the tool quickly and also to get some hands on experience.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

I love CATIA

I love CATIA. I have worked with it for several years.

Pros

Sketching and drawings are amazing I have used CATIA for almost ten years. Its functionality is really great. You can model any 2D or 3D part using CATIA. Drawings are among the most important features of a company. Using CATIA, high-quality drawings can be modeled.

Cons

At the beginning of working with CATIA, it seems that it is really hard to work with. Information about some of the features is lacking in the CATIA website. So whenever we want to know how to model a specific 3D part, we should search a lot and talk to many people to understand.

May 2019

HARUN from Ford Motor Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best for Engineering and Design

Pros

I've heard of the program before, but when I first started work I started to use it. I was using Solidworks and AutoCAD. At first, I noticed that mouse clicks are more ergonomic over time, though they are reversed by these programs. In addition, a very advanced level with parametric design can be easily intervened design. 3D to 2D image transfer feature is great.

Cons

I had no negative experience with the program. Although I started with other programs, I started to adapt to catia program very quickly and started to use it actively.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Common Software for Automotive Industry

Pros

I generally use Catia for Step & STL data exporting for creating CAE models and 3D data viewing. Catia has a user friendly GUI. Measurement tools are quiet easy to use. Product tree management is so effective. I like so much the visuality of the welcome screen. It has many special modules for automotive and aerospace industry. 3D Surface modelling and skecthing capabilities are awesome and industry leader.

Cons

Sometimes it could work slower. Your computer need much more RAM. CAE software implementation is open to development.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Serkan from Ford Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Fundamantal CAD program for designers

It's a functional design tool, but users are not happy for the interface.

Pros

You can work on any design on Catia. It has several modules which you can customize for your needs, such as mechanical, electrical, manufacturing tools. You can also work with parametric for any dimentions that can be connected with a formula and variables. It is well integrated with PLMs.

Cons

User interface has not been changed for years which feels it's old. You should be trained well to use all functions. It may take some time to open/import data from different types.

September 2020

Can from Automotive

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Designer

I have designed many sheet metal parts. Plastic and casting parts for vehicle design..

Pros

Part Design, Assy module, Generate Shape design and Generate sheet metal User friend modules. Abacus for catia, Icemsurf program supporting under the catia. Catia machining tool is very usefull.

Cons

Some commands emmeded into the Tools. Generate Sheet metal module could be improve. Specific macros can be added into the design module, For example part number, logo ext standard title Block revision title Block could be add into the part design module.

August 2018

Rodrigo from University of Edinburgh

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The industry standard CAD/CAM software used for complex products

At first I didn't want to migrate from Pro/Engineer to CATIA, but now I will never go back.

Pros

After years of using competing software (Autodesk Mechanical Desktop, ProEngineer and SolidEdge) I started working in the car design and manufacturing industry (500,000 cars per year) which designed most of the parts or received designs from its suppliers. I think that CATIA is fast, responsible, simple and very well structured for handling from simple to complex parts. The finite element analysis is very good and making dynamic assemblies works like a charm. I honestly believe that stands out from his competitors by being fast responsive and relatively simple to use. Disclaimer: I no longer work in Volkswagen, because I moved to research.

Cons

The graphic design of the software (at least v5) looks outdated (menus and toolbars) which is a minor issue when compared to the speed of the software.

July 2017

Pierre from Coexpair

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

I use Catia to design aeronautic parts for customers as Airbus & other major companies

It helped me and my colleagues to design very complex parts and the tools to manufacture them, for more than 10 years now.

Pros

I really enjoy the very large choice of functionnalities offered by Catia regarding with other CAD softwares. In addition, the graphism is really fluid and pleasant. I understand why it is one of the most used softwares for 3D design.

Cons

It takes sometimes a long time for me to find the most appropriate functionnality among the large choice when I don't know yet it. Hopefully, the provided help is well documented. With experience, it is always easier.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

An advanced surfacing tool

Overall I've had no problems with CATIA.

Pros

Used Part/Surface/Kinematics feature Surface generation capabilities of Catia is really powerful. There are a lot of options and modification within each tool that can be used for desired output. The interface may seem a little hard to grasp but after getting used to it and studying tools capabilities lets you take full advantage.

Cons

The interface needs a little getting used to. Part design or solid design may seem a little harder or less intuitive compared to Solidworks or Unigraphics. Kinematics animation setup is a little difficult compared to Solidworks but isn't that bad.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Catia is extremely powerful design software, but not the easiest to learn

Catia is an extremely powerful design software and it is great to use once you are fully trained.

Pros

Catia can do basically anything you want from a graphical design standpoint. My company designs very complicated 2D and 3D models of tires and Catia can do it with ease.

Cons

Learning to use the software is very time-consuming. Because of the thousands of functions and tools at your disposal, the learning curve is steep. However once you're a pro, it's great.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Catia - An User Friendly Cad tool.

i have been using CATIA since 4+ years, its the best CAD tool with ultimate UI and easy to customize the options. For sheet metal or Generative shape design, no tool can beat this software. I am very much satisfied and willing to learn more within this software by exploring more options and concepts in it.

Pros

User Interface will be so easily and well sorted icons. we can easily learn and perform the design/drafting activities

Cons

Aesthetic look need to improve for UI and modeling/drafting platform.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Most professional 3D tool I've ever use

It is the best package program I've ever used. You can do anything what you need and more with CATIA. But you need more experience than similars and I strongly suggest to get serious training or work with tutorials before try to do some work with it.

Pros

CATIA has lots of module inside and you can use these to create 3D model, 2D drawing, optimize your design for manufacturing (ex: sheet metal option) etc. You can add your design parameters and define your constants easily so i gives you a really good advantage when you need tou update your data. you can save your work with different types and also you can open&modify different type of documents too. ALso CATIA can help you to organize your work like assemblies and it will help you a lot when you are working with complex things.

Cons

It is not that easy to use and you must learn all the modules and capabilities to complete your work and it takes time. It is the natural consequence of all that features in one package but I think it can be updated to better user interface. Sometimes it can be hard to work with shell data (surfaces without parameters or details) which is commonly used in lots of industry.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Good design software but not best

Catia is good in automotive area but not best.

Pros

Catia has different modules like for surface generative shape design, for sheet metal generative sheet metal design. This are ease to use and fast modules for designers.

Cons

I have used 4 different design software. Catia should be user friendly. If you know what to do but don't know you can do with what button, Catia is useless. Others has search button to search funtion shortcuts.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Natalia from SAIC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It really solves our all design problems and it is also more different than other software. loved it

Pros

It is very easy to do anything we want to do via this software from drawing and solid body to surface modeling... The space of CATIA is fantastic for user.it will be more if i say this is the best Solid Modeling Program in the whole market everywhere we look for such soft wares...

Cons

Sometimes CATIA takes a little long while downloading our files and this makes the whole work a little boring for doer. And i also know that it is not a big issue for a software it usually happens while using other ones as well.So this is the great for me .

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Global Engineering CAD Tool

We are using this tool to create new products as a leader of automotive sector. The most important feature in automotive companies.

Pros

You can do it what do you want. Most companies use this program and you need to add this program to your abilities as a mechanical engineer.

Cons

It is the most powerful 3D modeling program in the world and you need to deeply investigate every tools.

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Caner from Ford Otosan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Very good designing program for mechanical products.

By working with CATIA V5, i can design and analysis my mechanical parts at the same time.

Pros

Being able to work on product tree is crucial. Parametric design tools and analysis tools are working together and it is awesome.

Cons

It is not super user-friendly program as Solidworks but it works anyway. Sometimes, when i'm working on the big products, update can take lots of time.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Alfred from Warren Industries Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Review from IT

Pros

very solid software and stable. nice to manage license access from server per user. excellent support send you CDs

Cons

hard for user to lease license from server when traveling. other CAD software would allow you to take license with you out of office for laptop keeping the main license on server for desktop very expensive and high yearly maintenance fees

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Good product for 3D design

We're working on automotive company.This product is benefit to prepare and see the design with 3D and check the package. It helps to decrease the prototype investment.

Pros

You can easily create 3D design and choose the suitable material from Catia library and calculate the mass, inertia, volume.

Cons

It's not easy to use. It has many different feature . You need to get training .

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great modeling tool for complex assemblies

Generating 3D models, 2D sketches, part & assembly designs are the main things that I perform with CATIA.

Pros

It has a lot of function that you can create 3D & 2D models, perform simple analysis including DVA. Surface modeling is the best in the industry.

Cons

Not that much easy to learn all functions in detail. But need to spend some time to learn.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Arlex from EYEMAR EXPRESS

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Catia is the fifth essence of Product design

With the we have simulated elements related to the design of the product and also its production

Pros

CATIA was born from the need for a design tool for the aeronautical industry, years of Dassault experience have refined a platform designed for the life cycle of a product, since it is born in thought until it becomes obsolete in some way, it has unique functionalities for the design of products, fijence I say products and not merely design, that is the philosophy of CATIA, you can simulate the production, the processes, the supply chains, without a doubt the Fifth Essence of this market.

Cons

I think the only disadvantage that it has is its price and the modest network of partners for support.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

First program I run every morning

The best design I have ever used for 10 years and it can be integrated with analysis tools

Pros

I am design supervisor and my team use Catia V5 for all design activities. There is so much tool to create any design in my mind.

Cons

Perfect design tool but command base and developing automation tool is a little bit complex

July 2018

Marcelo from Oregon design.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Best software to buy in mechanical engineering.

Pros

I've been using it for more than 3 years, and in my experience has been great. It's really completed and the best option to make projects in design and engineering.

Cons

It's a software with so many features and functions that you are not able to use them all properly, and also, they have some tools more developed than others.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

It is for Pros

It is great. But not for everyone

Pros

You have a lot of options and tools you can use in catia. For example you can design your products in sheet metal, and configure anything according to your production capabilities

Cons

It is very hard to learn. Especially moving with mouse is hard to learn

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The best engineering tool for any CAD work

Pros

CATIA is easy to learn and user friendly CAD program. Moreover I can say that you can do whatever you imagine with this tool.

Cons

Sometimes, connectivity problems, but it can be due to network not due to program. Rather than that I could not find a negative thing.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Felix from Alldata

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Versatile Design software

Overall a good tool to perform various CAD and CAM activities for designers especially in the mechanical, automotive field

Pros

Best for various types of design and modelling software like solid surface and sheet modeling. This is a very capable software for modeling. It has good export options when you want to do analysis in different software

Cons

You need high end machine to work on Catia. Especially if you want to do analysis using Catia. Catia analysis is not very easy as other softwares like Ansys

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Catia review

Pros

I love the generative shape design workbench. The complex surfaces you can create has greatly enhanced my work quality

Cons

It’s hard to be familiar with quickly and the user interface seems outdated. It could also enhance its composite workbench

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Laura from Oracle

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

CATIA is a good for expert designers and also powerful program.

Pros

This software gives you the liberty to rearrange tool pallets and it makes the software more easier to use. This software can also be used to architecture, as it offers wall tools to help create building plan very efficiently.

Cons

In the beginning, it's difficult to grasp the interface quickly and tools are not very intuitive as compared to other software. It needs a planning to know all the options in short time. But In my experience with this software is splendid. And it won't be wrong to say that this software is my number one choice when it comes to perfect designing.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

FURKAN from ford motor company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

best for automotive use!

great!

Pros

I use this software for designing various automotive components and altogether visualization of vehicle environment

Cons

It sometimes takes a lot of time if you decide to load too many components at a time

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Aravind from CYIENT LTD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Catia a designers tool for creating 3d and 2d models

I work mostly on 2D drawing creation in my organization. Catia provides more flexibility in usage of different sorts of tools.

Pros

The software contains powerful tools for CAD modeling. The interface is very good and is divided into different workbenches based upon the designer's requirements.

Cons

The features tools won't create a 3D model unless the sketch a closed profile.

January 2019

Tushar from Automotive

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Very Good Tool for modeling

It is fabulous tool.

Pros

It is user friendly and very useful tool to perform modeling. Features are so good.

Cons

It has so much complexity about the features, If team makes features more user-friendly then it will helpful.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

You get what you pay for

Pros

Great CAD software. Has a lot of functionality that can takes a long time to learn, but can do amazing things.

Cons

Very expensive software when there are others that have the same features for less.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Catia review

Normally I use it weekly for designing some mechanical pieces because of my job and my feelings are very good with Catia. You can create pieces really fast and export them in any file format to send them to any client.

Pros

This software is really good on its work speed. It's faster than others I ever tried. Like its user interface is really simple, any PC can run it.

Cons

Something implicit in its work speed, is the user interface like I say before. For working faster than others design softwares, it's needed to relieve quality to the drawing. That's why it could be simple at the first sight.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 142 reviews