All Expandable ERP Reviews

1-23 of 23 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Pam

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

I've used Expandable at the last 3 startup companies I was involved in.

PROS

Expandable is very straight forward to implement from the ground up. It's a very intuitive software and easy to train new users. I like the flexibility it has in handling custom parts and multiple product iterations. The part and BOM uploading utilities make adding high numbers of parts to the system quick and reduces the incidence of errors from manually adding them. The vast array of Inquiries search tables makes getting information easy and able to download into excel for further analysis. The Technical Support team answers questions quickly and provides good instructions to resolve issues or help you through something new. I have also transitioned a company from Expandable to two other ERP systems post-acquisition when the parent company decided to integrate the ERP systems. Transitioning Expandable to the other systems was more straightforward than I could have imagined.

CONS

I'd have to dig deep to find something that I didn't like about Expandable. Perhaps one thing would be a report or two that I use could have a little better layout with the way the header ID fields align with the lines of the report details. But honestly there are so many great Inquiries that this is hardly an issue.

Rick

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Implemented as a startup and serves us well 13 years later

We run the business using Expandable.

PROS

Easy to use and can be really easy to implement. Ideal for a new company without a lot of onsite IT. Expandable was implemented kind of "on the fly" and was able to support the financials needs and operational requirements of the company. Built on MS Sqlserver, it is very easy to add custom data and even stored procedures to without difficulty. Features added a few years ago allow the user to customize their page layouts to arrange fields so as to optimize efficiency for their specific job function. Partnered with very effective tools for reporting (Crystal Reports) and report scheduling (Vineyardsoft).

CONS

Adding support for customers with multiple addresses, such as a Bill To and a Ship To was very late in coming. We had to build in some workarounds to prevent treating the two addresses as two separate customers. Second, no effective way to allow customizations to be accessed through the UI. We had to build utility user tools accessed through the "Attachments" menu.

User Profile

Laura

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Expandable has been a great asset, for our company over the years.

The main benefit for our company is the lot tracking for our inventory and consignment inventory.

PROS

The most valuable part of Expandable for us is the use of Lot tracking along with consignment inventory. In our line of business, we must know where all of our products are at all times. We also like the feature that it works great with Microsoft Excel.

CONS

For the most part, Expandable has worked great over the years. However, I would say that what we would like the least about the software is that it is sometimes difficult to produce a report that could save time without having to customize it.

Bill

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Very quick implementation, great customer service, organized data structure, intuitive GUI.

For a very reasonable investment, Expandable allows you to bring order, consistency and sanity to your business. If you are a discrete manufacturer of complex products, Expandable represents the best of both worlds in terms of handling your complex data management challenges but in a package that is easy to manage and control. The ROI on the product is almost immeidate.

PROS

We were able to implement Expandable very quickly. The company has the implementation process down to a science. Bill of Material and Part Master options were perfect for our discrete manufacturing setting. MRP processes are well defined and allowed for meaningful long term planning. GL and all subledger functions are well integrated and allow for meaningful analysis and control.

CONS

The lack of an internal financial statement generator means that you are reliant on a third party plug in, which we found to be cumbersome and confusing at times.

User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

We've experienced only success with Expandable. It has met all of our needs...and we're picky.

It supported the rapid and significant growth of our business without incident. It simply worked day in and day out when we needed it.

PROS

We love the ability to access the SQL database, the abundance of user fields, the ability to customize and the way Expandable has organized the data. Also, the amount of modules and features is great. Every time something new comes up in our business, Expandable has a way to handle it. Also, it only took us a few weeks to implement it.

CONS

Of course, we all have minor, personal dislikes. He thinks that button should be there, she wonders why they can't show this in that editor, etc. However, we honestly haven't found anything of significance to dislike in Expandable. Also, the customer support is very receptive to suggested changes.

Jerry

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Excellent product and value for a small business. It's "expandable" as your business grows.

We've been using Expandable since 2009. This was the first ERP system that we implemented in our company. It allowed us to transition from Quickbooks and a group of stand alone applications to an integrated ERP system that was perfect for a small growing business. SQL server based, it's fast and reliable. No data has ever been lost.

PROS

We outgrew Quickbooks and needed a more comprehensive ERP system. Expandable met all of our needs. Easy to use. Robust. No data has ever been lost. Customer support is excellent.

CONS

Expandable doesn't have a good PLM module. We use Arena Solutions for PLM. There is a good transfer function that brings data from PLM into Expandable. Also we use an outside standalone software system for RMA and CAPA

Zack

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Expandable was quick to implement, immensely powerful, and affordable for the small company!

This software has allowed us to link up our manufacturing, inventory control, purchasing, and invoicing into a single platform. We have great trace-ability through the whole process.

PROS

Expandable offers a remote desktop installation, allowing any user to access the application with an internet connection. Anyone on my team can login and transact. Expandable offers very quick and efficient launches, with data migration and on-site training. Expandable seeks to learn your processes and process flows and then teach you how Expandable can fit into the system. Expandable offers endless extra functionality that you can choose to implement down the road. Customer service response times and quality of response are top notch. And they are much more affordable than their competitors, while offering a gold-standard product.

CONS

There is a steep learning curve, but luckily, Expandable does offer great training resources (online tutorials, guides, support hotline, on-site training).

DAN

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

We have implemented Expandable software since late 2013.

Expandable is very suitable for small to mid-size company. It does not need much IT administration. If users are familiar with SQL, they can add lots of useful reports.

PROS

Expandable is a SQL based MRP/ERP system, the system structure is simple and very easy to deploy. The software is strong in Manufacturing module, rich in features and easy to be customized. Users can also add customized reports using Crystal developer tool. We validated Expandable as the ERP system to pass ISO 13485 certification.

CONS

Expandable is not a big brand in the market, and sometimes lack of existing 3rd party tools to interact with other enterprise systems (e.g. CRM or Quality system).

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

They have been great to work with and take feedback from customers to improve the product

The ability to track consignment inventory, Control inventory and have costing available. Lot tracking and history. Dave

PROS

It is very easy to use. Exporting data and developing pivot tables is a very easy process so you can create custom reports within excel. The consignment inventory module works very well. The updated sales order entry is easy and streamlined. The ability to Query data easily. Very good inventory/lot control..

CONS

The tools for production and work center scheduling and capacity planning and lead time generation are not as powerful as they could be.

Tony

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Expandable is incredibly stable and so much functionality! It grows with the company.

Quick period closing; excellent reporting; good visibility into company processes.

PROS

It is reliable. All operational and financial processes for small and medium companies are accommodated - easily and with common sense. Use the modules you want.

CONS

Hmmm. I can't think of anything. It never crashes; it is easy to train others to use it; its reports and inquiries are informative. Its a true scalable enterprise software.

Gisli

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Very favorable for ~10 years that I have been using it

An affordable tier 3 ERP that does the job very well.

PROS

Ease of use, the ability to download directly to Excel, and their great customer support, it always ties, and it is consistent with Dr and Cr signs for balance sheet accounts (if an amount is a credit it has a "-" sign regardless of the account you are looking at (asset or a liability)

CONS

I am very happy with Expandable, if I have to select what I least like, it is the fact that it does not have a Fixed Asset module and it would be great if the system automatically booked the current year retained earnings to prior year rte at year end, versus needing to book a manual journal voucher.

Susie

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Expandable is great when it comes to manufacturing!

It helps our business run

PROS

Manufacturing aspect. Although, I still do not fully understand all the features this software offers.

CONS

Still lacks financial reporting aspect and you still have to close month end each month. Other softwares are real time and you don't have to go through that tedious process. Cannot easily make changes to existing data. Must keep a log as what was done wrong and put in a new log to correct it. Can be confusing if you don't know what you are doing

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Both Expandable the company and the software have made our jobs much easier to do!

PROS

Software is user friendly, customer support is very helpful whenever we call, and the documentation on the Expandable website is very thorough and easy to reference when necessary

CONS

No "import from bank" functionality on bank reconciliation utility, most reports are quite useful, however they are not user friendly once exported to excel

debi

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Expandable met our needs in pretty much every way, from the functionality to the support.

They took us off quick books and moved us to a real ERP system!

PROS

I used Expandable at a previous company. We looked extensively at their competitors and Expandable was the only vendor that met our requirements list. The software is designed to grow with your company, and it does. We didn't believe in customization, but the base product met our needs just fine. If we wanted a new feature the team listened and often it would be in the next release. The Expandable team is very accessible from the president downwards.

CONS

The only thing was you need to gauge the level of support to install carefully. Expandable will help you do this, but if you don't buy enough hours you can end up putting too much of a burden on your implementation team .

Rachelle

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great customer support

PROS

Expandable is a user friendly software. They provide knowledge and skills to enable you to use the software to the best fit within your company. They also have many great resources at your fingertips to enhance your experience.

CONS

Expandable offers many add on's which can become quite expensive. It also requires additional software to run reports.

Cherie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great customer service!

PROS

Clean user interface. Easy to follow User Documentation. Wide variety of built-in reports which can easily be modified to fit individual needs using Crystal Reports.

CONS

From a manufacturing standpoint, some modules like Quality and Mobile Bar Coding should be included. Add-on modules tend to be a little pricey but are very robust.

Brian

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

The overall software is user-friendly.

PROS

Since the software is user-friendly it was really quick to learn how to navigate throughout the software. There are a lot of neat features which reduces time and cost.

CONS

The cell formatting of a exported reports to excel isn't can be hard to sort out information. Needs automated AP invoice vouchering feature.

Erin

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: