ION Software Reviews

ION Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2022

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.04

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"Great UI, intuitive design, responsive team consistently rolling out new features, first in class integration platform."
  • icon"This product is very easy to use. I believe when we roll this out to more of our team, it will be straightforward."
  • icon"Extremely intuitive software that's helps our company keep track and manage workflows."
  • icon"My current struggle with the software is something I know the First Resonance team is working on already - the import parts feature."
  • icon"I was extremely disappointed in the customer service from the team. After receiving our trial, we tried to create new procedures but did not have the proper roles assigned to us to do so."
  • icon"Making tables and formatting is pain staking, image editing is lacking, weird bugs."

Browse all ION Reviews

  • Have you used ION and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 28 reviews

Wade

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

Clean, intuitive, feature rich, and constantly improving!

The team is very supportive, blazing fast response time, and it has greatly improved our shop floor activity tracking.

Pros

Easy to deploy and get acquainted with. Integrates well with our developing company process. Feature implementation, changes and fixes are extremely fast.

Cons

Some functions are not super intuitive, but are still maturing. Not a major con but a function of a developing software platform.

Reasons for choosing ION

Team Support, Cost, Functionality, paradigm change compared to historical and monolithic MES systems.

Reasons for switching to ION

Software was very limited in functionality, did not include many of the functions required for our MVP, and the team was not willing to customize.

Charlie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

Ion is a powerful manufacturing workflow tool with a very bright future.

Even where Ion has rough edges, it is far superior in usability and feature richness to the competition. In the months we have been using Ion the robust feature roadmap has been borne out. Every update increases usability and functionality, though sometimes comes with some workflow changes. I can unreservedly recommend this software. It is good now with the potential to be great. I have had a very good experience with the First Resonance team and believe they are an excellent team to work with.

Pros

The traceability, work instruction, and issue ticket modules work together well and provide the needed functionality. The Ion team is highly responsive and actively adding features. They provide real time support on both bugs and usability concerns. The technician facing interface is highly functional. Setting up and scaling the software instance is easy. The First Resonance team makes export control compliance easy.

Cons

The GUI can be very clunky on older modules. Minor program errors are not uncommon while working in the tool. Data entry from our PDM system is very manual and time consuming. The lack of strong mobile support is a significant opportunity for the software, but a frustrating omission at the moment.

Ian

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2020

Ion User Review

Ion has done a really good job at providing us what we need when we need it. Very responsive and amazing customer support. Ion has also helped us create a tool that can aid in data capture far better then we were doing before.

Pros

Ion has great features for developing work instructions fast. It is very easy and intuitive to use. I like the data field collection option that Ion gives you which helps better track the data inputs that need to be captured when executing processes. I also think the nested step functionality is great and helps organize the work instruction a lot better in addition to the dependencies functionality.

Cons

I feel that some of the data field validations are not fully developed. Min/Max values can be mistakenly entered and in result the operators using the work instruction may not be able to capture process data correctly. There are often bugs when new tools are released and although these are usually corrected pretty quickly it slows down the operators when performing work. Editing functionality when creating work instructions could use a lot of improvement.

Reasons for choosing ION

Easier to set up. Ability to customize our work instruction development and MES system with the First Resonance team.

Ben

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

A good product with a lot of room to grow

Pros

The interface is simple and the software is generally pretty easy to navigate. Creating items and procedures is smooth and I can generate work orders with no problem. The First Resonance team is responsive and updates are dropped frequently, so issues that I might have one week may get resolved the next. Always nice to wake up to new functionalities and have an evolving UI.

Cons

The filtering is not great. Creating items or work orders is easy enough, but going back and finding work that was done previously is not an easy task. At the moment, this generally consists of scrolling through long lists. The search bar also is a little inflexible and queries have to be precisely defined, otherwise, it's back to scrolling through a long, long list. It's also not apparent what's going on in the backend of Ion and it's easy to mess up links among different items that are linked (i.e. it is pretty fragile).

Sohil

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Easiest way to set up a production workflow

ION has brought great value to our company. It's very easy to use and set up. The customer service is amazing! The team really listens to your feedback in order to improve the product. If ION can't do something you need right now, it will likely get added or there is a sufficient work around. Highly recommend using ION!

Pros

ION is super easy to set up! You can get running with it within a few days and immediately make an impact on your production workflow. Having your work instructions directly in the software and not in some other system is a huge benefit. The ability to track the as-built BOM and collect data during the execution of runs is extremely valuable.

Cons

There are some edge cases and bugs that still need to be sorted out. There are some features that are lacking like in app reports, but there are good workarounds until they get a chance to implement it. Consumption of material for 3D printing applications needs to be improved.

Tim

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

The future of manufacturing is bright

We were decently early adopters with Ion and have seen the software grow into a more and more powerful toolbox.

Pros

Ion is going to revolutionize the field of work instructions and inventory management. The support team is knowledgeable, helpful, and easy to work with. While working with the team, it feels like they're part of your internal team when finding solutions within Ion.

Cons

The price seems to be a little aggressive for the software when compared with alternatives. The per user price keeps the software from being fully adopted by the company to find solutions of their own.

Reasons for choosing ION

ProdSmart didn't have a US Engineering support team.

Jasmine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

The MES That Evolves With Your Manufacturing Needs

Pros

I really appreciate the attention to detail the First Resonance Team devotes to customizing our Ion interface. The clean interface, seamless procedure integration, and run/issue capabilities are only a few if the features that make my team work fast and efficiently. It did not take much time for the team to integrate Ion into our day-to-day start-up life, and more importantly, grows with us as we scale-up production.

Cons

My current struggle with the software is something I know the First Resonance team is working on already - the import parts feature. If we could possibly have a verification tab or import history implemented to the software, it could possibly help minimize the confusion relating to whether or not a item line was imported correctly. I will relay an addition to this customer request to the Ion support.

Zack

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Up and coming MES solution

Ion has been a real partner for us and is very responsive to our feedback.

Pros

I love that this is a simple, cloud-based solution for manufacturing execution, that DOESN'T have too much bloat!

Cons

A lot of the core functionality is there, but I'm wishing for some usability features like better organization and filtering of runs, better tracking for different workcenters, and some "quirk-reduction" as there are a lot of little things you just need to know how to do or how to massage the system.

Lars

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Ion fills gaps that I have been struggling with my whole career

I have found that documenting my processes has generally slowed me down, we need to figure out a better way to use Ion in the prototyping and R&D stage.

Pros

Ion is a unique tool that solves a lot of problems that have been bothering me my whole career, writing procedures, releasing them, revision control, and tracking data related to the as-built product. I love that First Resonance is highly responsive to user requests and help, and has the vision to help companies just like ours make manufacturing process control easy.

Cons

I wish FR did a bit more testing on new features before pushing them to beta groups. I may as well have access to FR's Jira if we are going to be writing bug descriptions that often. A good mobile experience will dramatically increase the effectiveness of the software, as well as more/improved hooks to import BOMs from a design.

Joshua

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Ion review

Pros

Extremely intuitive software that's helps our company keep track and manage workflows

Cons

Ion has a hard time rendering images and would benefit from an API that could allow users to automate specific tasks.

Christopher

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

In Work, but looking good so far!

Simple enough to use for wide applications of work instructions.

Pros

Simple, easy to use. The options for QA checks are very feature rich and very useful.

Cons

Some strange UI things, but nothing serious. They will be worked out in time.

Reasons for choosing ION

Custom features and 1:1 support.

Prashanth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

Good product with potential to grow

Pros

Home UI is easy to understand. Easy place to keep track of completed and in-progress work.

Cons

Lack of ability to link different runs which could help move from one run to another without the use of going back to the run table.

Shane

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

This Software Has Great Potential

Pros

I like how easy it is to create new runs and procedures, as well as the usefulness of the runs. I also appreciate the how receptive to feedback the team is and how quickly they implement changes to make the software better.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that there is no way to view the history of a part. We often make an assembly, use it, then strip it down to use the parts elsewhere. When we try to go back to see where that part had been used in the past, there's no way to find out.

Acacia

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

ION as a new user

Pros

This product is very easy to use. I believe when we roll this out to more of our team, it will be straightforward. Questions to the ION team are also answered promptly and all requests seem possibly to enact.

Cons

As a newer user, there is not too much I have found to be unlikable at this time. The only thing that poses a challenge is the need to refresh a purchase order after placing it, instead of it updating real time as I edit.

Chris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Great quality for such a young company

Pros

The software simplifies, and improves the quality of our procedures with simple click-based movement through the procedure when your hands are busy

Cons

There are still some minor bugs that could be worked out that are expected with a new software.

Nick

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

The future of manufacturing systems

Great software and support, will be rolling it out across the organization over the next year.

Pros

Great UI, intuitive design, responsive team consistently rolling out new features, first in class integration platform.

Cons

Some robust features found in similar enterprise systems are not yet available.

Mia

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2021

It's an okay start

Pros

Very clean look. First Resonance has also been extremely receptive to feedback, even for new features that can take a while to implement. It's clear that this software is in it's early stages, but getting feedback and responding to it is a great wat to improve.

Cons

There are soooo many improvements need to make this software productions ready. The instruction editor is still pretty annoying to use when incorporating images, ordered list, and any non-basic formatting needs. I wish there was an option to create a field that can take multiple inputs. I have never tried to used the part tracking and traceability in ION, but from what I have seen it does not look ready to go. I wish the devs did more controlled roll outs of improvements/changes. Sometimes, I feel that things are rolled out really quickly and result in a lot of glitches upon implementation.

Nahush

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

First Resonance ION review

Pros

I love that First Resonance takes our feedback and continuously updates their software to match our needs. it is also intuitive for the most part which is a bonus.

Cons

The software can be quite buggy sometimes which is understable as it is still indevelopment. Would be great if the changes suggested get implemented into the datagrid structure soon. The datagrid will quite likely be the most used feature across the company and it needs to be solid.

Eli

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY