All Fusion 360 Reviews

1-25 of 236 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brock

Retail, 51 - 200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Fusion 360 quickly became our #1 Design software

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Quality 3-D modeling software that is inexpensive and user friendly

Fusion is an entry level product from Autodesk. It is not as "fancy" as Autodesk inventor or SolidWorks, but I promise you that it can do 95% of the most common modeling tasks that most people will need. The price point is perfect for company users so that nobody will complain about expensive software. The software lacks good simulation capabilities, but that is to be expected for the price point.I have convinced management at my company to cancel 3 license keys for a more expensive modeling tool and simultaneously get 5 other user licenses for Fusion 360 at a fraction of the cost. We haven't missed a beat, and now I have more people available to create the needed drawings for execution tasks and 3D models for FEA and CFD.

PROS

Fusion 360 is inexpensive and handles 99% of the modeling needs that I have. The user interface is simple and intuitive. It strikes a good balance between having what you really need easily available with minimal hunting as opposed to having a congested user interface with thousands of options that are all one click away if you can manage to find the right "button".

CONS

One previous con with Fusion 360 was not directly related with the software but rather with the updating experience. During the first update, my IT team struggled to the point I almost decided to cancel the subscription and switch to OnShape which is cloud based and doesn't require my IT team to do anything. To be fair to AutoDesk, I have never had problems updating the hobbyist version of 360 on my personal laptop. The last couple of updates were more easily managed by my IT team, so there might have been a learning curve for them. So this doesn't seem to be an issue anymore thankfully.Another previous con was related to software capabilities. At first, I really despised the lack of ability to incorporate weld symbols into the drawings. However, Fusion 360 added that capability and now I can provide detailed drawings with weld symbols without having to copy-paste pictures of weld symbols into the drawing. This too has been resolved and so it is no longer an issue either.The only remaining con I have with Fusion 360 is the simulation capabilities. I had moderate hopes that the FEA tool would be useful, but it seems to be linked to a limited amount of credits and limited types of simulation such as liner-FEA. It really seems like AutoDesk is just trying to "check the box" to say that Fusion 360 can perform FEA. Don't waste your time with the Simulation tools in Fusion 360. Find another tool for that such as SimScale, Abaqus, Ansys, etc.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

Cost.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Cost

User Profile

Godwin

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Fusion 360, the always improving youngster in CAD/CAM/CAE!

3D modeling in Fusion 360 is a wonderful experience as I have designed products ranging from medical equipment to automotive technology to household tools and even industrial machine parts with ease.

PROS

First of all, you can never lose any file on Fusion 360. Even if you fail to save and your device shuts down, you can always get a recovered version on restarting Fusion on that device. Secondly, Fusion 360 is so light as compared to its other competitions as it really doesn't consume much of your OSD/ROM. Finally and obviously, you can easily get access to your design files from anywhere and at anytime you want it as Fusion saves them on the cloud.

CONS

Of course, Fusion 360 is cloud based and may consume internet data while it is running in "working online" mode. And in offline mode, user experience might not be smooth.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

It wasn't really a switch but more of a new preference as it is easier to design a complete project assembly in a single file on Fusion 360.

Ilgaz

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Overpriced and doesn't properly work

It's bad, i wouldnt recommend. I've started to use it because it was free to makers and small companies, then it got hella expensive and i wouldn't suggest to even touch it.

PROS

Ease of use and UI is elegant to look at.

CONS

Software isnt yet to be finished. Coding itself is bad and people with coding background including myself thinks that this one software is built upon 2 different programming languages that contradict each other. It's clunky and tries to bring you errors instead of trying to understand what you're trying to do and forums are full of self-boasting fans and dwellers which only to bring you that it has a "workaround" and you should be ashamed of yourself to bring the problem on the table. Everything is cloud. What i mean by everything i mean EVERYTHING. You dont have any privacy or any probability to work offline. Render costs you money. Even if youre a paid user. Little things come together and forms you this one big mess ball. Tl:Dr : i wouldnt touch this program ever again after this project ends.

User Profile

Shubham

Verified reviewer

Design, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Top-rated features for kinematics and simulation

We're an Robotics based Ed-tech startup with the help of which we're creating robotics and other technical solutions for our customers. Therefore, a lot of R&D we do, we create each and every single part or component of a robot in the software. We're rendering the models, creating scenarios and simulating in real time in order to get the right design values and material selection for our product

PROS

1. I've been using this software to create the kinematic links and simultaneously creating the mechanism joints resulting in getting the desired motion, I want to show in a simulation 2. With the help of it's feature recognition tool, it's easy to design each and every single part and can align them in a single tree 3. Easy to access shortcuts helps an advanced user to design components more quickly

CONS

As this software a cloud-based, it requires high-speed internet to stay logged in while designing and rendering the whole model. Constant updating is one thing that I'm concerned cause it popped out in the middle of your work

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Solidworks is quite costly and the features that we were looking for were not present in it

John

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Fusion 360, the software for all!

Overall, my experience with Fusion 360 has been lovely, loved drawing on it, loved simulating on it as well as the other typical CAD features you would expect!

PROS

Where to begin! Fusion 360 is an immersive experience when drawing, it is easy to draw the part with multiple commands that help make your drawing easier to come to life. You can also take your drawing directly to do a simulation, which is pretty accurate and easy to use as well, and it could be done on a cloud! Thus, you don't need much computing power to run your simulation!

CONS

Hard to say what this software lacked. For my time-to-time simple usage of the product, I found it very fulfilling from the aspects that you need as a mechanical engineer, I was able to share my drawing with my team in a simple manner, and I was able to save and go back to previous work without any issue.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Because I wanted a better simulation software.

Freddy

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

A (Surprisingly) Nice Alternative for CAD/CAM

As I said previously the team had the idea that we were going to need additional software to design and produce all our prototypes (considering the special needs of our CNC machines), but we ended up adopting Fusion completely for the whole design process.

PROS

It's the most affordable CAD/CAM alternative for our team (and I know I'm not alone on that). Fusion has actually surprised us for good with its capabilities, since at first glance we thought we were going to need additional software to design and mechanize prototypes, but we ended up adopting Fusion completely even for using it directly with our dated CNC machines.

CONS

Learning the software from zero it's a bit hard, specially coming from other "traditional" softwares like Pro-Engineer and Solidworks, but it totally pays off in the end. But I would totally like to see more customizable keyboard shortcuts and interface parts.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

By recommendation of other fellow designers. We were using multiple CAD/CAM software among the team members, but we needed something that was affordable for the entire team, without having to spend a whole lot of fundings.

Marius

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

The permissive hobbyist license allows you to quickly design 3d printable things

Compared to freecad it's super easy too use and intuitive, and does not have any quirks.

PROS

The availability of the fusion 360 for hobbyists to have it for free is stunning. as one gets access to powerfull and intuitive cad tools.

CONS

In recent updates they removed some functionality for hobbyists. Also it's cloud based.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

There is more tutorials available for fusion 360 compared to freecad, also faster to design my designs.

Shoeb

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

An amazing tool developed by AutoDesk

PROS

The project management capabilities alongside its robust and easy to use UI makes it a dream for any designer to use.

CONS

The cost of getting the software on an yearly subscription is very high.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

It had an amazing interface.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Aged interface and complex tool finding in the software.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Best Prototypes making software

Very useful if you are creating prototypes specially when doing research and development.

PROS

The way you can integrate this CAD software with Additive manufacturing and creating the perfect prototype before going on mass production, easy to manipulate and Cloud drive becomes very useful when going between workshops.

CONS

It is very limited on creating features on CAD if you compare it with top design CAD software.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Fusion is better for creating prototypes , also pricing is way better.

James

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Easy to learn, but impossible to master. Everything I need for 3D modeling.

I have used Fusion 360 to create some 3D models of my own, as well as modifying some models provided by others in the huge community of 3D modeling. I'm sure it will take years to master, if I ever come even close, but so far, I have been very impressed.

PROS

This software, although a little daunting at first for a newcomer, was surprisingly easy to learn. Watch some youtube videos to learn the basics, and off you go.

CONS

As mentioned, at first glance, from a beginner perspective, the software is a little overwhelming. But with a little guidance, the basics will be taken care of, and I feel it was easy sailing after jumping in there and trying a few things out.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

I switched from Tinkercad because I needed more robust tools, and the ability to be more precise.

Karim

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

If you're a 3d designer or have 3d printers, Fusion 360 is a great option.

Fusion 360 is a fantastic project management application that caters to 3D printing customers online. It's an excellent modeling tool that's required for a successful 3D printable design. Fusion 360 offers a unique module for 3d printing in addition to its solid features. It connects to Autodesk's MeshMixer, which is another 3D printing program. The extension *.stl is required for 3D printable files. Fusion 360, on the other hand, handles this file extension with ease. A 3D printable file with specific qualities is urgently required. If there are any flaws in the design, they must be fixed before 3d printing. This is done through MeshMixer, which can be found inside Fusion 360.

PROS

- Fusion 360 is an excellent choice for technical design projects. You can work on the same file with your teammate or customer because it can function on the cloud with numerous users. - Fusion 360's assembly features are another fantastic feature. Fusion 360 allowed you to quickly and easily create assembly pieces. - And, maybe most importantly, it has a parametric design. This provides a designer a lot of power. After you've completed your project, you can adjust some design parameters. As a result, after discussing the final design with your customer, making last-minute modifications on Fusion 360 is a breeze. - Fusion 360 is available for free and includes all functionality. It's an excellent software option for a startup with a limited budget.

CONS

- Fusion 360, despite having excellent cloud software, becomes extremely sluggish when using slow internet connections. - Fusion 360 consumes a significant amount of RAM on your smartphone. On your device, it's best to set the RAM setting as high as possible. - Fusion 360's sculpting and retopology capabilities lag behind those of competitor products.

Jason

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Best CAD software for the price

Fusion 360 has made it really easy to prototype designs, as it is much easier to pick up than a lot of other CAD software, like Inventor and Solidworks, and significantly cheaper.

PROS

First of all, it's really easy to use, and it can run on lower-specced machines that can't run other CAD solutions. I also love how it's cross-platform. I switched from Windows to macOS about a year ago, and still have to use Windows for certain software, but I can start a project on my Mac and easily open the same project on a Windows device. And everything is saved to the cloud so it's super easy to keep track of your files and switch between devices. Fusion also has a version history, so you can very easily rollback to older versions of a file, or even just rollback certain modifications to a file. Another benefit of the cloud storage is that I can just send an email with a link to my colleagues and they also have access to the same file that I'm working on, so no more worrying if other people have the correct or most up-to-date version of the file.

CONS

Sometimes Fusion takes a while to launch. Another issue I have is with the pricing of cloud renderings. If you are a student you have unlimited 'cloud credits', but for a hobbyist or business, you have to buy a pack of at least 100 credits for $100, and every time a cloud rendering or simulation is done, you have to pay one of those credits. It doesn't seem like much, but it does add up, and I would personally refrain from using the cloud rendering and simulation services.

Alex

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Very useful software, free for personal/non commercial use

It's a great piece of software for people who want to work on projects that require CAD rendering. It's fairly intuitive to work with and with tutorials someone can easily learn the fundamentals and be working on their project in a few hours.

PROS

Free for non-commercial use. Powerful, intuitive tools. Great for hobbyists, 3d printing, non-commercial projects. Huge body of information and tutorials. cloud based storage

CONS

Has a learning curve, like any 3D rendering or engineering software. Can run into performance hitches occasionally. File management on cloud is occasionally confusing.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Needed more robust software suite

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

My first real CAD and CAM experience

I'm using this software with a non-profit license (free) and despite the recent announcement about the functionality cutout (from first October 2020) to 10 active projects, I think it will remain to be my option. The main advantage versus his main competitor (Sketchup) are the fabrication functions. For a maker with an interest in CNC and/or 3D printing, it can be the perfect software.

PROS

Extensive functionality for the makers (CAM, simulation, generative design,...). Possibility to work locally with a good cloud-integrated repository. Good plugin marketplace with free options. Extensive learning materials on Autodesk website (updated) and third-party authors. Flexible payment options with a usable free version.

CONS

You will need an additional GCode sender program if you are doing CNC milling. Some learning curve. Not as good cloud assets library as SketchUp.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

CAM funcionality

Martino

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Good work Autodesk!!

My overall experience with fusion is very much positive! I use it for every project i need to make and i'm very happy

PROS

With these software Autodesk tried to unify a lot of their softwares and i think they've created something really powerful and accessible. Fusion 360 is very powerful and free for hobbies or small companies. This is incredible!

CONS

Sometimes Fusion can behave strangely but Autodesk launches updates basically every week to fix problem or to add new features.

User Profile

Raitis

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

The most comprehensive software you can get for free

I have been using it in at least 3 different startups I worked at and it never disappointed. Yes, there are some quirks or it's lacking if you expect to find something specialized, but then again - it's a work in progress. Fusion 360 has one of the best and most responsive teams of developers and product designers who actually listen to what people report and ask for on forums and implement those features constantly. As in you don't have to wait for the release sometime next year and hope for the best.

PROS

It has all the features to satisfy you as a beginning or reasonably skilled maker - someone in mechanical engineering or digital manufacturing.

CONS

It's now gotten more difficult to apply for a startup licence to be able to use the software for free for commercial purposes, but I still think it's worth it.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

I switched from the now discontinued Autodesk 123D suite which is incompatible in the feature set it provides. Mainly switched as my skills and requirements grew.

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Design, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Best choice for Makers

I was able to teach myself 3D CAD, and solve all my basic needs around 3D printing projects, like little accessories, cases or replacement parts for any broken item around the house.

PROS

Fusion 360 is an excellent piece of software for hobbyists and makers, especially considering that it's completely free, even for small businesses. The learning curve is very steep and if you are willing you can create complex designs all by yourself in very short time.

CONS

You need a basic understanding of the working principles of a 3D CAD software and you must be willing to try and learn. It's not as easy as working with primitives like in Tinkercad, but it's of course aimed at another group of people. What should also be noted, is that Fusion 360 is cloud based, so all your designs are stored there, which is convenient, when you access them from different locations but can also be a disadvantage if Autodesk will one day decide to pull the plug on the servers. If you are using an older Mac, be aware that they will soon drop support for macOS below version 10.13.

Christopher

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: