User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(71)

71

4 stars

(29)

29

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Elegant interface and data structure, Siman brought to its best."

  • "I like having the ability to rapidly model quick systems, but also having the ability to add in any level of complexity."

  • "Ease of use and the software includes almost anything we need"

  • Cons

  • "Simulation is written in a graphical programming language which is great for small, quick designs, but gets cumbersome to navigate in very large and complex simulations."

  • "Nothing really. It has become part and parcel with me over time. I would be nice if it had more pre-built healthcare models (anything to make my job easier)"

  • "On bigger models it can run a little slow, but this is probably mainly a hardware issue or a lack of modeling efficiency on my end."

Browse Simio Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 102 results

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Samridh from TSI Incorporated

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Makes Simulation fun and easy

Simio is an extremely powerful tool and it really makes one's life so much easier for simulations. Simio also does have a workbook that has lot of exercises that one can go through and learn a lot about the software. Once one has their head grasped around the concept, this software can save time, money, effort and provide accuracy.

Pros

I absolutely love using Simio. It is such a powerful tool and it makes sense why the premium paid version is so expensive. However the biggest pro I see is that there is a free version that can be used which can help one understand the world of simulation. Simio has everything one needs to perform the complicated simulation process that otherwise would require us to write 100s of lines of code and make debugging difficult and daunting. I have been using Simio to do various distribution simulations such as uniform, exponential, triangular and so on and I don;t have to think how to do random number generation. Simio has so much more tool such as I love the reliability function where i can define what are likelihood of a machine failing and how much it would affect my throughput and productivity due to the varying repair times. The best part of Simio is that you can see the live simulation of your system in real time. Create a simulation for a M/M/1 queuing system to replicate a ice-cream store and watch how your customers arrival and service times affects your business. Fun part of simio is one can actually assing model entities with actual people and replace boxes with actual images which makes the presentation part of your system more engaging with the team. if you are a simulation guy/girl/business this software has everything one needs to validate, verify the architecture and answer questions that is not possible to be solved analytically.

Cons

It is lot of work to learn this software and there are not much resources online readily available. Most resources are integrated to Simio and so looking at videos provided by Simio and reading the help section is the way to go. The free software however cannot simulate really huge simulation system and at that point one needs to purchase the paid version. getting around the software is daunting and there are lot of aspects one needs to know to figure out how to create their system.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

User friendly and great support

I learned on Arena in school but have been using Simio for 4-5 years now in a professional setting and it has been great.

Pros

Simio has been easy to learn and allows great flexibility and power for modeling different scenarios. Additionally, the company has been great to work with and the staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and accessible. You can tell they have a great company culture.

Cons

On bigger models it can run a little slow, but this is probably mainly a hardware issue or a lack of modeling efficiency on my end.

March 2017

khumbulani from TUT

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Simio a world of possibilities

the software provides a wide range of possibilities to simulate and test known and unknown systems for better preparedness in their implementation.

Pros

ease of use availability of student version and research version

Cons

none

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Ashley from CSC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Excellent software for handling complex simulations.

Pros

Simio software consists of standardized library. In order to focus on the visuals and to forget the analysis, this software is really easy for creating simulation models. It is no doubt the superb choice for business. It is quite easy to learn while other simulation software are quite difficult to learn comparatively. Its functionalities are really awesome with less time consuming. No doubt best ever simulation software. Matchless software with fantastic 3D animations.

Cons

There are not any specific cons about this software. Simulation is mostly written in graphical programming language which is no doubt easy for small and quick designs but as we move further this software is failed to navigate while discussing large and complex simulations. Above discuss is the only con I can hardly think of.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Maciek from Loyola University Chicago

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Taught simulation in an analytics class using Simio

Pros

The support tools available for Simio are incredible. There are tutorial videos for every level of user and it's very easy to pick up quickly. The software itself is fairly intuitive and you can have simulations created from scratch in a matter of minutes.

Cons

I don't really have any cons that I can think of, maybe navigating from one area of Simio to another can be confusing every now and then.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Very Powerful Simulation Software

Pros

This software has been the full package for me, providing the functions, details, and support required to build advanced simulations.

Cons

If anything I woudl say that the biggest issue is that the program is so robust that I required an extensive in-service to learn my way through it, difficult to self-start.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Luís from Trivalor SGPS, SA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Simio: the simplest, most complete way to run your systems simulation and analysis

I used SIMIO as part os my Masters course in Industrial Engineering in order to develop a fictional environment and search for better configurations, on an iteractive process. The software easily allowed me to manipulate the system in order to achieve my objectives, it is well designed and is customizable to great extent.

Pros

Easy of use and very intuitive when you get introduced with the basic. It allows for easy creation, editing and analysis of complex systems simulation.

Cons

Advanced functions might get hard to use if you don't have an experienced user helping you. Error messages could be more explicit and create a reference to where the configurational conflict lies.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Danial from Atlantis Foundries (Pty) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Simio is not exactly what we expected but gives more than anticipated

Simio certainly delivey more realistic results than the simple spread-sheet based calculations we used previously, however you really need to invest a vast amount of effort in the model to be able to get an accurate and believable result.

Pros

The program gives an incredible amount of information and is far more accurate than the spread-sheet based caclulations we used in the past.

Cons

Setup of a true working model is very complicated and terribly time consuming. This is not a simple "drop in a box or two to make a production line and there it works" type of program, you need to invest the time using accurate input information in order to be able develop a true working model. Thereafter you need to keep updating your models in order to keep them relevant.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Great software

Pros

Can be applied to many different scenarios and is easy to toggle between 3D and 2D modelling.

Cons

Available libraries is limited so support is required or training

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Versatile and easy to learn simulation tool in market

Able to simulate and assess "what-if" scenarios for complex airline operations for understanding investment benefits, operational bottlenecks, and potential benefits of process improvements.

Pros

Enterprise team version allows us to have multiple users with limited amount of license; Easy to integrate with Excel for data input and output

Cons

Marginally on the higher side of memory intensive application; does not have/limited option/APIs to use the simulation engine outside of the SIMIO application.

November 2016

Colin from Loxcius Ltd

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Simulating with the Analyst in Mind

It is very easy when building simulation models to focus on the visuals and forget the analysis. After all, we need to convince the stakeholders that the solution we propose will deliver what it says on the tin and what better way than to mesmerise them with animation. Actually, there is another way, demonstrate that all scenarios have been considered and with an inflated chest lay down the challenge, "tell me where I have gone wrong and I'll tell you what data I need to determine whether its fact or fiction". Simio like most major simulation engines allows 3D visualisation and what is nice is a simple press of the '2' and '3' keys smoothly transitions you from 2D to 3D respectively. Add Google Warehouse and importing 3DSMax files and decent visuals can be shown. Developers please add STP or IGES file format. This simulation engine seems to have been developed with not only the ability to quickly model with little to no code writing experience, but also empowers one to devise and quickly run scenarios that can answer the real questions and find those sensitive areas/ optimal solutions. The start of any simulation project should start with the agreed conceptual model. This boils down to possible resources and a general set of inputs that trigger delays and produce outputs. Simio supports this basic concept in its standard library of objects. The object orientated approach means that these basic objects can be modified by adding more detailed lower level processes or modifying original logic. Of course the model is an object that can be imported into another model. Gaining model acceptance is generally easier with collaboration, so showing the team their input has been incorporated in a way that resembles the conceptual model goes a long way. The power of discrete event simulation is its ability to handle random events. Simio has the standard list of distributions which using a form of intellitype is easy to define. Note to developers, it would be great if intellitype is available in all fields. Of course with distributions come replications, which using the Experiments function allow the analyst to create and execute scenarios using different user defined input parameters and compare results based on user defined KPIs. But Simio has another trick up its sleeve, using the Input Parameters tab and defining the distributions with the sample size, provides a neat way to analyse the impact the distribution has on specific result parameters.

Pros

Standard Library - Object Orientated approach to modelling means models can become objects in other models. Copy and Paste - Processes data, functions etc can be copied between models. Key Felds Data can be created like a database i.e. enter once use multiple times. External Data - Supports links with external data files such as CSV or excel. Easy Scenario Creation - Experiment function allows easy creation of multiple experiments and comparison of results.

September 2015

Matthew from SIMGINEERS LLC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

Simio Software and Risk-based Planning and Scheduling (RSP)

Deciding which type of simulation software for a business to purchase can be an extremely difficult decision. Being faced with this decision we began to investigate and compare simulation software packages available on the market. After comparison, Simio was the clear choice for our business. Although most simulation software packages are extremely difficult and confusing to learn, Simio's many resources make learning and mastering the software easy. Most noteworthy is the video tutorials provided which made the transition to Simio painless. Ultimately the decision to choose Simio was made based on the functionality of the software and the ability to accurately and quickly model real world systems for the purposes of finding solutions. Simio's 3D modeling abilities are unmatched by any other software packages available. Simio is quick and easy in the 3D department and compared to others is much less time consuming for similar 3D animations. With that said, the 3D modeling is generally a non-value added task and we were more focused on the software's modeling abilities. Simio's add-in packages operate flawlessly with OptQuest being the one we utilize the most. The customer support at Simio is outstanding too. I reached out to Simio when modeling a complex transit system this past year and they were able to identify my error and provided a fix the same day. We recently decided to expand our abilities with the usage of Simio's Risk-based Planning and Scheduling. After watching roughly 11 videos about 10 minutes each, Simio's RPS was easily incorporated into a previous manufacturing process project. Adapting the previous project slightly was straightforward and surprisingly resulted in the RPS being setup almost automatically. The ability to incorporate the complexities of variation into the RPS is what makes this such an advantageous tool and also what separates it from others. Simio also offers an add-in package for the RPS, Wonderware MES which provides the real-time production data. Generating plans, evaluating risk, performing comparisons, and many other functions are available through Simio's RPS and we look forward to providing this to our clients. We give Simio our highest recommendation.

July 2017

Neal from Shell Exploration and Production

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Employing Simio to size offshore vessel fleet (e.g. forecast charters) and to schedule shipments

Company spends hundreds of millions of dollars each year moving equipment and supplies to offshore drilling units and producing assets. We use Simio to determine optimal vessel fleet size and develop 10 days shipment schedules daily. Tool works well and has enabled us to reduce our fleet size considerably.

Pros

Handles highly complex simulations--we model 25+ slips, 30 vessels, 25 offshore locations, and more than 30 different types of demand product types such as barite, cement, casing, and baskets. Scheduler optimizes schedule based on lowest tangible and intangible costs and considers weather forecast, crew change schedules, and tank cleaning.

Cons

Simulation is written in a graphical programming language which is great for small, quick designs, but gets cumbersome to navigate in very large and complex simulations.

March 2017

Jeff from NC State University

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

SIMIO is Amazing

SIMIO is an amazing simulation software program. The ability to model moving resources, tasks precedence and data modeling set it apart from many other languages.

Pros

The ability to use data modeling to add intelligence to the entities is amazing. The task precedence ability is another feature where SIMIO stands apart. Finally the ability to model dynamic moving resources is another great feature.

Cons

The feature creep of these objects has grown to out of control. The bloating of the objects has made it difficult to teach and modify them. So many properties and features. Their conveyor modeling is a little primitive. The ability to not set the controls in an experiment from a excel table with the all the optimization parameters for each control is a pain.

June 2018

Mauricio Sven from ESEN

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best simulation software

Pros

The user interface is one of the best in the market. It´s always improving and they have an amazing team for support. They have helped me several times with questions that I had. Most of the time they answer the same day. What I like the most is their policy towards education, particularly higher education. They provide all kind of help: documentation, demos, videos, books, blog, etc. The "3D Warehouse" that connects automatically is free and very complete for improving your existing model. The Simbits are the best tool for learning the software and for fast reference about doing something particular. I recommend any user to check anytime those Simbits.

Cons

I recently started to use Dashboards. However, there is not much info about how to use it and develop it. Anyway, this is a minor detail.

March 2017

Laura from Array Advisors

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great Product & Team

Simio provides a user friendly interface that allows me to do my work quickly and effectively. It was very easy to get up to speed with Simio after initially learning the simulation language Arena in college. Simio makes it simple to model complex processes while incorporating 3D animation, helping our clients quickly understand how the model is working. I would highly recommend Simio to anyone who is looking for a powerful simulation software that can span across industries and applications. Simio uses sprints to constantly improve their product, taking direct feedback from the people who are using the software daily. They have a great team of developers and engineers who understand the software deeply and are willing to go the extra mile to help answer questions. I gave four stars for features & overall quality because Simio has improved greatly since I began using it several years ago, and I know that it will become even better in the future!

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use, responsive development team

Cons

Nothing immediately comes to mind!

May 2019

Bonnie from Clearpath

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Simio review

We use Simio to help customers design solutions for using our autonomous material transport robots. Looking at problems such as fleet sizing, traffic congestion, routing, batch size, cart quantity etc

Pros

Can build a simple model that quickly demonstrates value to organization and then has power to scale up to much more complex as needed

Cons

It’s a VERY mouse intensive software. and many basic features are missing for making model professional looking.

March 2017

Joaquin from Avantsim

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Summarizing my Simio experience for $10

Simio has resulted to be much more complex to use than I imagined at first. I feel it's a brilliant piece of software, but still unfinished. Fits better to academic than industrial users. Sales strategy can only be described as "counter-arena-wise".

Pros

Elegant interface and data structure, Siman brought to its best.

Cons

Lack of support for big models. Limitations in graphical display. Many expressions too deeply embedded. Too much clicks required. Lack of quick programming shorcuts.

March 2017

Petr from LOGIO

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Excelent customer support and frequent updates

This along with full feature pack and ability to extend with C# modules makes SIMIO excelent software. I was suprised many times to find requested feature in the next sprint in less than a month.

Pros

User support is quick and helps with solving problems Great community of users with usefull forum Great 3D visualization Object, entity, process oriented simulation software Easy to use

Cons

didn't find any

March 2017

Pascal from Vantage Airport Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

A Great Multi Purpose Simulation Package

I have been using SIMIO to optimize airport operations for six years and have been very happy with its ease of use, versatility, built-in features, and capability to customize processes. Technical support from SIMIO has always been good. People are pleased with the quality of the visual output and now that we can use the Occulus Rift to provide an immersive experience, there is even more to be pleased about SIMIO.

Pros

Ability to embed metrics in the simulation.

Cons

Management of interaction between entities during movement in free space to simulate for instance pedestrian movements on a sidewalk. They sometimes seem to get stuck against each other instead of walking around each others.

June 2018

Mark from Master Scheduling Solutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

There is on other product on the market today that comes close to Simio.

Pros

It is at least 10 years ahead of flexsim, arena, Anylogic, or any other products. It's agent based modelling at it finest and the planning board is unrivalled.

Cons

Nothing. It is extremely comprehensive with ground breaking advances which are optimally positioned for industry 4.0

July 2017

Chad from Envision

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Simio has allowed me to easily model different emergency department operational models for clients.

I can model whatever I want to model in healthcare systems rapidly. It is a create communication tool and makes important decision easier.

Pros

Ease of ease. Smooth interface. I also like that I can "get under the hood" and customize it to my hearts desire. Again, I can create models quickly and model any scenario that comes up in an emergency department. We are know expanding its use to include inpatient services and other service lines. Great product!

Cons

Nothing really. It has become part and parcel with me over time. I would be nice if it had more pre-built healthcare models (anything to make my job easier)

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Dalton's Simio Review

Pros

I like having the ability to rapidly model quick systems, but also having the ability to add in any level of complexity.

Cons

i least like the inability to view logs over multiple simulations to track information like buffer queues over time.

June 2018

Sarah from Binghamton University

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Ease of use, nice 3D animation

Pros

The software is very easy to use. It allows the students to put together a simple working model very quickly. Its experimentation mode allows for comparison of different scenarios, and the charting features and statistical results are easy to follow. Students love the 3D animation.

Cons

Honestly, I can't think of any. The workbook for Simio provides a step-by-step illustration and truly allows the users to grasp a new modeling concept within a fairly short amount of time. Granted, it takes practice to be able to remember the features and steps, but that is true of any simulation software packages.

March 2017

cesar from Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Great tool

I am a teacher at Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala and I have been watching the improvement in my students over the years.

Pros

Ease of use and the software includes almost anything we need

Cons

You don't have a version for Mac OS

March 2017

Pedro from DICTUC SA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Best simulation software i ever tried

I was using Arena for 5 years until we got to know SImio. It was a breakthrough. We started using it and never stopped after that, in the university and in our consulting firm.

Pros

Ease of use

March 2017

Mohammed from Jordan University of Science and Technology

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Industrial Engineering Professor

SIMIO is amazing simulation Software Tool. It helps student performing their projects easily and proficiently

March 2017

Luis from University of Central Florida

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

The best Discrete Event Simulator

As a Professor, I have been using SIMIO. Simio is object oriented and easy to use in complex projects. The user interface and the capabilities to build sophisticated libraries are a big plus. In addition, the utilization by industry makes it a good Industrial Standard and a good line in any CV to look for a job in simulation. The capabilities to make your own libraries are very important to do research. The SIMIO team includes the recent advances in the theory of simulation in this tools and that makes it even more powerful.

Pros

Object Oriented Easy to Use Use by Industry

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

A pleasure to use this instinctive yet comprehensive approach to simulation of complex systems.

We replaced previous simulation software that was used for research and teaching. The overall performance is wonderful.

Pros

The ease of use and of parametrization of elements. In honest comparison with other software of similar capability, the elements parameter are incredibly easy to access and to modify. The simulations themselves seem to have been otpimized in comparison to similar software on the market, as the computing time for similar task is quite reduced.

Cons

The documentation of the software might need improvement, as it tends to be sometimes complicated to obtain specific information on specific matter. The recommended books and written tutorials are not always sufficient for the variety of simulaiton work that one may encounter

June 2018

Francois from Analista Modelling Systems

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

We have used Simio in many industries and it always delivered! Simio is a great simulation tool!

Pros

Ease of use and smooth integration between various libraries. To make your animation looks great is a breeze. We have tried quite complex expressions and Simio was always up to it. It is very quick to test a concept due to objects and easy to use processes.

Cons

The fact that in the "State Variable Name" field you don't have access to the normal Expression Builder. This is true for all Assign functions.

March 2017

Suresh from University of Houston

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

University of Houston

I find Simio very powerful simulation language with lots of features. I taught ARENA and SIMAN prior to learning Simio three years ago. However, my students find it hard to learn how to model using Simio, especially advanced features (concept of Model vs Model Entity State Variables, tables and matrices). I have not mastered Scheduling part of Simio yet which I would like to teach in a Scheduling Theory course, one of these days.

Pros

Functionality and modeling flexibility.

Cons

Not easy to teach to my students, not easy to learn advanced features.

June 2018

Stephen from North Carolina State University

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Probably best in class simulation software

Pros

Relatively easy to learn and to use. Has great flexibility for almost any simulation application. Integrates well with data bases and can be readily extended for specific applications.

Cons

Sometimes its hard to keep up with the latest development, due to frequent updates and development. The development version cycle is about six weeks, so updates and new features come out frequently.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great value and support

Simulation of workflow processes.

Pros

Users have been very satisfied with the ease of use and setup process. After a downturn we needed to get users back on and the sales team made it very simple to onboard our users.

Cons

At the moment we are ramping back up from a downturn. Since this is a niche product, finding other applications for current licenses has been a challenge.

March 2017

Mike from SYSTEMA GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Solid software for standard simulation purposes with some nice features

Simio offers all standard and basic functionality for the most simulation purposes. It has nice featrues when loading data from foreign systems into the internal table structure. Sometimes, it would be good to have something like a script language to provide user specific actions in a simple way rather than using the graphical process view, which gets sometimes very complicated.

Pros

Nice internal table structure and connection to the model entities Fast start and use in standard simulation problems

Cons

Graphical "programming" of user code sometimes get very complicated, a scripüt language support would be very helpful

March 2017

Roger from YumChina

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

SimBit is good

We purchased 2 licenses. The SimBit is really good, an excellent tool for quick start. The introduction is really good. The concept of token need to be more emphasized in the guid

Pros

No coding characteristic

Cons

Price

June 2018

Janik from Air Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Easy to use, very visual

Ability to visually show to management how bad the queuing can be and the effect of adding resources.

Pros

Very easy to use even for someone that has no experience in modelization or operational research.

Cons

We can't write in a single CSV file the results of multiple replications. Need to use a VBA code to merge the CSV file of each replication

June 2018

ahmad hilmy from Universiti Sains Malaysia

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

a fantastic simulation software

Pros

The software provides a lot of functionality that can be applied by the user. The huge coverage of subject areas allows people from different background to use simulation in their work

Cons

While there is a library of simbits to use, it does take a bit of thinking to link the simbits to a specific problem. This is especially difficult for newbies.

September 2018

Robert from Chemical

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Simio for Manufacturing

Overall, Simio is a fantastic software package that can we used to optimize current processes and model future state scenarios. I would recommend any manufacturing company to use this software.

Pros

I enjoyed the out of the box drag and drop functionality that allows for a new user to learn how to configure models quickly. I also like the ability to create logic using the same drag and drop functionality to model some of the more unique processes that happen in a production environment.

Cons

We used a third party to provide support and custom programming in our model. Once we had a complex model, it became very difficult to make changes without requiring the third party's involvement.

June 2018

amarnath from Texas A&M University

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Simio has a number of great features for advanced modeling. Support is exceptional

Pros

Advanced modeling constructs. Exceptional support. Regularly adds new features. Great user support group.

Cons

Need a Mac and Linux version. Would be great to have programming interface with R and python. Simio when deployed in a virtual environment is very sluggish (at least the set up in our university).

March 2017

Adrian from University of Sunderland

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Simio provides a great simulation tool

I came to Simio whilst looking to re-engage with simulation. As a previous user of other simulation software packages I have found Simio very easy to work with although there is a bit more "programming" and other nuances to master when compared to some other packages. Despite this I have found it easy to create some quite complex scenarios and obtain some very useful data that I would not have otherwise been able to get. The support team are great and very friendly and over all I find the package excellent. I would certainly recommend this to others.

Pros

Intuitive, good graphics, simple to use once you have understood some of the quirks regarding work centre programming.

Cons

The reports have too much information (pivot tables) and I have yet to work out how to isolate specific work centres at specific times. Thus it is difficult to pin down where WIP is gathering sometimes. This is probably due to my relative inexperience with the software.

March 2017

Miguel from National university of Colombia

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Learning simio simulation

My learn about simio simulation software, begin in the university in my class of plant design, is a software very versatile and is very easy the integration with other software like sketchup for 3D model's and visualization

Pros

Easy learning, integration and visualization with another software

Cons

Summary statics is very complex, will be more explicit

March 2017

Pierre from Coexpair

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Utility for aircraft part development

I use Simio for some years now and it is always very fruitful. We simulated shops for aircraft composite parts, not only for us but also for customers. It is very easy to understand how Simio works and how to program it even for big shops to simulate. When we got experience with the software, we even started to link it with Excel to allow to manage shops in real time. Feel free to watch the video of Simio we placed on Youtube. Pierre Severin, engineering team leader at Coexpair

Pros

The visualisation of the machines and of the shop in general. The link with Excel for daily use in real life.

Cons

Sometime, a bit hard to to understand how to program very specific operations; the tric is to think like a software programmer

March 2017

Alberto from Universidad Anahuac Queretaro

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Industrial engnieer coordinador

SIMIO help me a lot as Teacher for industrial engineer tópics like simulation, optmization and DOE.

Pros

the graphics diagrams and option to validate results

Cons

Some gaps between the examples and the explanations to define the characteristics.

June 2018

Gokhan from University of New Haven

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I have been developing an online simulation course

Pros

easy to learn and very modular, which means you can do most things without hassling with the menus,etc. process logic is also a huge plus, which prevents you from coding but simply building process steps to model things that you cant do with default menus.

Cons

The software support is great but the search menu could be advanced to find what you need exactly...

July 2017

Chad from US Air Force

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

This is the best simulation software I have ever worked with as an operations research analyst

Pros

I love the flexibility of the software the most. Out of the box the software can do almost anything you need either standard library objects. But for those rare instances where a standard object just isn't quite what you need the software allows you to customize an existing object or build your. It's awesome!

Cons

Honestly the only thing I can think of that might be considered a con is that when you start to import custom graphics objects the file size can get pretty large and the model starts to slow down.

October 2018

Agostino from BAE Systems

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Military

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

SIMIO and Manufacturing

SIMIO's ease of use allows it to schedule and define production areas, programs and operations.

Pros

Easy of Use, complex ability in a user friendly configuration.

Cons

Large programs can slow down the system. Recovery is immediate afterwards.

June 2018

Jessye from Morgan State University

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great product

Pros

The ease of use for students to get the basic fundamentals of discrete event simulation. I also like the book and workbook associated with the software.

Cons

More tutorials on how to use certain aspects of the software for students. I also sometimes the way to get clipart sometimes gets stuck.

March 2017

Jan from College of Polytechnics Jihlava, CZ

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

SIMIO in higher education

I use SIMIO for support of my teaching for more than five years. My classes are for business and IT students, so my evaluation is based on both users' and administrators' aspects of this software.

September 2019

Satie from Federal University of Santa Catarina

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Good

Pros

The software has good functionality and is easy to apply and model.

Cons

The preview interface is not very dynamic and user friendly.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Distribution Centres in Clothing Retail Industry

We've been able to compare projects and their impacts on our distribution centres.

Pros

It's very visual and this makes it much easier to convince stakeholders of solutions shown with Simio. The software also helps us with decision making.

Cons

It's not always obvious how the software works, so training and good online resources are definitely necessary. Luckily Simio does provide these, you just need to take the time to sit and play around with the software.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 102 reviews