User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(63)

63

4 stars

(70)

70

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It's a great tool to keep track of test cases, who created them, who modified. Great for keeping track what step passed and what failed. Making sure everything is recorded for future reference."

  • "It plays very well with Atlassian Software Jira."

  • "It is easy to use and user friendly. Also I can create the report easily"

  • Cons

  • "Can be a little tricky to get the project set up and configured at first but soon becomes intuitive"

  • "I have used test link and switched to testrail.There is nothing much to say about it, it is a great tool to manage tests. Filtering was bit hard for me initially when started to use the tool."

  • "Bulk closing of test runs would be great, and the reporting could be a little better."

Browse TestRail Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 110 results

January 2018

Bheesam from Ciena

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

It is a web based tool that can be used for test-case management,track and organizing purpose.

Pros

i have using this tool for my every day test execution before this i was using our own company proprietary tool and then we switched to TestRail as we switched to agile methodology. i have found this quite useful in agile environment. it is scalabe and can be customised accordingly to suite the customer/test requirement. it is now integrated to our companies other tools like JIRA(bug tracker tool),github,automated test suites, bitbucket etc and many others and is working flawlessly. Reports generation and tracking the various result is quite simple and have real time insights for these with this tool. We can easily link our test cases, requirements, use cases and stores using this. Really its a great tool with so many functionalities and i love it. it increase the team collaboration in a great way

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Bheesam for taking the time to complete this review.

January 2019

Matthew from Johnson Health Tech. Co., Ltd.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

TestRail: Great for companies willing to pay for it!

Working on a Global team, TestRail enabled everyone to have a seat at the Test Case management/creation table. Editing existing test cases was very easy to do, and the GUI makes it easy to find any existing Test Case you are looking for.

Pros

First of all, TestRail is an extremely smarter way to track and maintain test cases than using Excel. I like how easy it is to create new projects, create custom fields, create test runs, and generate good looking reports to submit to your managers. The GUI takes a little bit to get used to, but once you get a hand of all of the key-shortcuts moving around the application is easy!

Cons

My least favorite part about this software is the JIRA plug in. In order to see the linked test cases from TestRail in JIRA, you need to have a TestRail account. In my company only the testing team had TestRail accounts, while the rest of R&D didn't. While it was helpful for me as a tester to see the linked test cases on a JIRA bug, when we started off with TestRail we had assumed everyone in the R&D department would be able to see this information so we could be more transparent in our testing. My company was not willing to pay for 100 TestRail accounts, so this was a bummer. If yours is then TestRail might be right for you!

January 2020

Luke from VetsAmerica Business Consulting, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Good quality test management

In itself it is a tool of high utility so that in relation to the quality control of the products and services of the organization the process can be carried out in a more fluid way, keep everything in a specific order and visualize each important data to take the Correct decisions regarding the final quality, also that it is not limited to a single project but that several follow-ups can be maintained simultaneously.

Pros

An interface that undoubtedly facilitates each of the processes in the realization of the tests in an optimal way, in addition to creating the follow-ups of each of the tests that we have, in addition to offering good reports as well as the aspects and functionalities are customizable in relation to the projects you are working with.

Cons

It should be more specific in terms of the explanation of the functions that exist, since some are but are not taken advantage of since the details are not given in the benefits of their use of the rest meets the needs.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best tool for Testcase management and Testcase Tracking

User Friendly environment. Easy to understand. I loved the tool very much.

Pros

I am using this product from last 6 months, I loved it so much as it provides various features for testcase management. We can Add testcase and after creating testcases we can easily create a test run using those testcases . It also provides the features for the status of testcases inside the testrun. We can mark our status as "Passed", "Failed", "Blocked", "Untested" from which we can easliy track the result of the test run. The good thing is that we can even integrate TestRailwith the JIRA tool which makes life easy of QA so that you can easily track the status of every testcase in JIRA ticket.

Cons

It gets logout so many it our tab is inactive for long time. I don't find any cons because TestRail made life easier of every QA.

January 2019

tony from gigamon

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

TestRail good for somethings, but not for others

We believe that testrail is basic like any other test case management system, features are fairly generic, workflows are fairly dated. However UI is good, probably due to the app being basic. We use it because teams have already comfortable with it, but by no means is this a tool that can solve new development methodologies such as continuous integration test management. If you understand the tools limitations, then may work for you, but we find it to be lacking and at this stage have stopped integrating our CI test runs into the tool.

Pros

TestRail's simple UI and functionality is straight forward. Easy for people to jump in and use the tool, assuming that the tool fits Dev/QA's team workflow and method of usage. For the administrator, access is easily manageable, and provides multiple categories for restricting access and defining user roles within the organization.

Cons

TestRail is no different than other test management systems, beside the front end and UI benefits. TestRail is good for teams who initiate test planning, test case creation, and management specific to older QA management styles. When introducing continuous integration testing into a development/QA' teams methodology, this is where TestRail needs improvement . TestRail does not do a good job logging individual test runs for historic tracking, DB backend cannot handle the data that is pushed to the system, and we often have to delete DB records to help with performance and lookup. Usually without these backend hacks, the system performs very poorly and is slow. TestRail may be good for teams that have not adopted advanced development and QA practices, but if teams want to integrate CI testing with test cases and suites within TestRail this is where we find it to fail.

December 2018

Neil from Namely

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

If you are executing manual test cases on a large scale then Test Rail is for you

Having using various test management suites TestRail does excel in that it was built to run manual test cases and display results in an easy glance for the whole team. Linking to defects is simple, generating a report when the test run is complete. I feel like reusing regression suites could be improved, it does what it is meant to however you have to repeat several steps each time you want to generate a regression suite. Some areas for improvement would be a test case type for API tests, I am sure everyone needs this but struggles to find a way to record this data.

Pros

I think report generation is the strong suit of Test rail, the percentage pie chart of passed, failed blocked cases at a glance make daily reporting for scrum stand up meetings ideal. Integration with Jira is excellent, although some room for improvement.

Cons

Trying to do something simple like import test case steps from a .csv is not so easy. You can import a suite but that is not ideal. Trying to duplicate cases can be tedious, let's say you have a lot of cases, trying to copy paste them in to various projects is a lot of hassle, it is surprising they have not addressed issues like this after so many years.

June 2019

Sato from Coca-Cola Japan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Intuitive Tool that boosted QA tester productivity!

We have had very good success with TestRail managing multiple products/features within the same instance. We have tight delivery deadlines and TestRail has allowed us to increase the speed we complete our tests by about 20%. I would highly recommend it!

Pros

- Very easy to use, the team was using it full time within 1 week - Great price vs some of competition - Reporting is very helpful for management - Easy integration with automated testing tools - Custom fields allows us to customize for our needs

Cons

- It would be nice if TestRail included bug tracking functionality, but it just integrates with other tools - I wish you could add "read-only" users for free like some tools

January 2019

Ashi from TriPlay

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Perfect QA platform for teams spread across the globe

Pros

- Web based - doesn't require a localized server installation (unless you want to) and can be accessed by anyone with credentials, no matter where they are located without any effort - Very easy to use and gives you a very neat category division when it comes to test cases, test runs and milestones

Cons

Can't search and replace words in multiple test cases at the same time which makes it harder to re-use existing test cases with only small changes

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

TestRail Review

To be able to integrate well with both our automation and JIRA stories to show coverage

Pros

Versatile allows you to start projects in multiple styles of SDLC agile to waterfall Customizations are plenty - if you can code you can extend it

Cons

the fact that you have to code to extend - the reporting tools out of the box are lacking

January 2019

Matthew from RouteThis

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Inexpensive, basic test management tool you should implement from day 1

Saves us a ton of time/money in testing, helps our process stay consistent, and makes it faster to bring up new employees.

Pros

Easy and simple way to build a QA process, plus it's web-based, easy to admin, and has a simple UX that even our QA co-ops can follow for manual test. Has scaled well with our team.

Cons

Not much to not like. Works as advertised but doesn't seem to tie easily into automated testing, maybe that could be an add on in future.

September 2018

vladimir from Action-MCFR

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

OUR choice the introduction of Test Rail

Total: our choice the introduction of Test Rail.

Pros

- This is the receipt of real-time test results (creating reports on completely different criteria: Defect Summary, Comparison for Cases, test results for projects / components, etc.) - This is an easy organization and convenient tracking of the load of the testing department (the ability to fully customize the "working dashboard" of the QA department) - Easy installation, deployment and support - "Communication" with the Jira (this is very convenient for regression and autotests) - easy to receive reports on the launch of test suites - beautiful and understandable reports and diagrams- This is an effective management of test cases, plans and test cycles (creating / storing / editing test scenarios, managing test plans, launching test cycles, entering test results) - User-friendly interface (clear, simple, customizable) - Effective management of the following scenario: "technical requirements -> test cases -> overview -> test suite -> test cycle -> results" - convenient storage of test scenarios - This is a significant improvement in the quality of testing (a clear description of test scenarios, their reviews, correlation with requirements, division into areas - all this makes it possible to evaluate both the completeness of coverage by functional tests, and is necessary material for the entire project team)

Cons

As one of the drawbacks - until recently, Test Report system was poorly implemented reporting system: scant results on test-wounds, lack of customization of reports, etc.

January 2019

Eduardo from VinSuite

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Organize and Prioritize

Coming from a Quality Assurance team which had zero test cases and no system TestRail has become a huge asset. It allows for our team which has members working in a different time zone to continually work independently while still having the entire team engaged.

Pros

Right off the bat the software is very easy to use The software allow us to manage our time effectively focussing on running regression tests on any particular task. It has been a useful tool for our Quality Assurance team to prioritize and organize test cases. The fact that we can implement the use of Jira is also a huge plus since this is a tool we also use within our organization.

Cons

Not many cons, the only two minor aspects that come to mind are one if you have no knowledge of how to use it does take some time to learn it. However if you have even the basic background on a tool like this the learning time does shorten. The other is the fact that results can only be shared with the registered users, so we are having to take screen shots of results to share with the rest of our company teams.

January 2019

Michael from Creative Mobile Technologies

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Qualit Assurance Manager

I test software builds for a system which is installed into Taxis around the US. Each city has it's own configuration, rules and templates for printing & displaying info. There are several hardware configurations any taxi might have. By creating Projects based on functionality, I can copy/paste each required Project into a master Project then as a Test Run is created, check on/off individual Sections as needed and then test each build accordingly. Having a report for each test Run allows management to go back & view each build's tes Run results when any "issue" is complained about by fleets/drivers to verify whether it was working or not in that build - as drivers are sometimes worse lairs than Lawyers or Politicians

Pros

1- versatility to create Projects which allow base line Test Cases to be used in a variety of different test runs for different products. 2- ease of being able to import test cases from existing methods

Cons

The main issue I have is the Projects are listed as a flat-file. We have several different groups which have created Projects and even though they might be testing a given entity from different sides, they have to name their Projects differently. We prefix each project with a Group Name so the Projects can be "grouped" and easily referenced from the main dashboard. Another less important issue is there isn't really an easy way to make a backup of our entire Dashboard. We can Export each Project but I don't see any way to make backups of anything else outside of offloading each individual entity which really isn't all that hard.

January 2019

Tom from Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

An easy, customizable tool that could be improved.

Pros

Compared to other test case management systems TestRail is relatively easy to set up and configure and maintain. The online documentation is readily available, concise and thorough with useful links to further information. The UI is familiar enough to users of other commonly used test management systems that they don't take long to feel comfortable with TestRail, making implementation and adoption easier. The vendor support is quick and helpful.

Cons

It would be helpful to have more examples of how to realize the effectiveness of Milestones versus Test Runs and creating Test Case Templates. All of these are configurable within the UI however it takes a lot of trial and error to find how to make use of these features to best effect. Fields can be customized but some of the choices for required fields seems unnecessary, such as "Estimate" for test case. Adding the option to enter a "Description" or "How to Use This Field" for custom fields would be a useful addition as well.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Powerful test case management system with friendly support

First of all we easily implemented integration with test automation framework that saved manual team work. Second thing is reports that our managers could use for proper decision making based on product quility understanding.

Pros

The best thing about TestRail is their REST API. Thanks to it we were able to easily implement its integration with our test automation framework. In particular we were able to map test exucution statuses to TestRail test case statuses and allow updating them easily for test reruns. Second good thing is reports they allow to generate. That's what our managers wanted.

Cons

Sometimes UI is not intuitive. For instance, it took a while to figure out how to change test cases status in bulk.

August 2018

Chandler from Lucid Softward

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

TestRail: An Effective QA Suite

TestRail has been useful in my QA position for tracking the progress of test cases in our weekly regression runs. The framework it gives you for test case management is flexible enough to be used in a variety of ways for our company, whether for bug testing or tracking what tests have been automated over time.

Pros

- The system of test suites (a master list of all your test cases) and test runs (individual lists of specific test cases) is well-built and allows you to manage your test cases easily. - Product is consistently stable. - Test cases in different parts of the product have synced states, which makes it easy to make changes to a test case when necessary. - Tools for sorting test cases in a run/suite are powerful.

Cons

- There isn't a good tutorial for the product (or at the very least I never saw anything like a tutorial). As a result, it took me a while to notice some of the more unintuitive features. - Collaboration can be a bit clunky sometimes (multiple users editing a single test case, notifications at email level only).

July 2018

Ilya from Action-MCFR

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Good enough, but can be better

Test management became easier.

Pros

Valuable reports (that's the main purpose of testing) Easy to onboard Supports is repsonsive and helps with your case Good API and integration with JIRA

Cons

There is no integration with confluence (to get bubbles like for JIRA defects/tasks) You can't push an attachment in the jira (only can show an attachment in jira's plugin) API needs some extra methods to work with plans and runs with configuration (you allow to manipulate with it, but only in strict cases) Sometimes it takes too muck time to get a reply from staff on the forum.

Response from Gurock Software

Replied July 2018

Ilya, Thanks so much for taking the time to do this. Much appreciated.. TestRail Team

December 2018

Prasuk from Calsoft

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Best test-case management tool.

TestRail can be a helping hand to the QA engineers. It can now be integrated to JIRA for easier project management and testcase management, User need not to keep track of both of them seperately.

Pros

-TestRail provides easy management of test-suites, test-cases, test-runs. Easy management for maintaining agile methodology in the project. -Feature to export/import files for test-cases from xml, csv and xls files. -The provision to define milestones can be useful for maintaining release-wise goals. -The User can define the expected duration and priority for a test-case. - The representation and reporting are the best part of this software, the user can see the progress of the test-run in various formats as pie-chart.

Cons

- Test results should be editable as required in some cases.

January 2019

Ladislav from Wandera

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Title of my review

Overall the solution is one of the best I used in the past 10 years. Powerful test case management capabilities and API for automation so we can aggregate manual testing results as well as results from automation. But missing some collaboration features we are used to from google suite.

Pros

- managed in cloud - powerfull customization options - easy to use - option of templates for TC

Cons

- some reports are complicated to get, as who worked on what in the past quarter - to customize some stuff is sometimes quirky - hard to use for exploratory testing - collaboration on preparing test plan is a pain, it does not allow two testers add stuff to test plan simultaneously

September 2017

Manoj from Ciena

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

I have been using TestRail for more than a year. It is a good tool for test case management. Overall

Good tool for test case Management

Pros

1. It is simple to login in. It takes your windows login/pwd 2. Test cases copying from the previous release is easy. 3 The pie chart display of TC run is precise and informative. 4. Its filtering and selection option is superb. And I like this feature very much.

Cons

1. I have administrative right to deleted folder, cases etc. But I feel delete option could have a bigger icon. Many times I have to search the tiny red button. 2. Artifact/screenshots addition option is good but after the run, you cannot add any artifact. You have to rerun test cases in testrail for future reference 3. Loading of GUIs takes little time [ but not often]

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Manoj for taking the time to complete this review.

January 2019

Srikanth from CH

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

A good test management tool that gets the work done

We are a start up and as we grow, our test cases and test executions are growing. We could successfully manage our tests and executions very well. With a little work on integrating Test rail into our build process, we could get make it part of our build process.

Pros

Good way to organize test plans, cases and runs Report is good at test planning level Configuring runs for multiple devices/browsers in run configurations instead of creating new runs APIs are good, Can be integrated into our build process well.

Cons

nothing much. may you can support hippa complaint could offering?

January 2019

Anand from Experion Technologies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Test Case Management tool with good customer support

We are able to clearly track the health of a build. With creating testplan we are able to track release readiness through milestones. Management can view report on mail or printout

Pros

Appreciate easy integration with JIRA, this allows us to map test cases to JIRA task & defects. Test plan is another feature which we appreciate. It allows us to track our progress on milestones. Adding additional attributes to test cases also helped us to resolve some requirements like multi level reviews. Configuration is another option which we have used extensively.

Cons

A direct integration with Confluence could be appreciated. We have always felt that tester needs to navigate to JIRA and to confluence to review any requirement change. As confluence is a widely used documentation tool and direct integration with the same would be widely appreciated.

January 2019

Daniel from Automotive Division

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Must have tool

We are using TestRail to manage automated tests on a variety of projects, from API tests to application acceptance tests. We've integrated TestRail into various CI platforms with ease.

Pros

TestRail is powerful yet easy to learn and use. It is extremely flexible and we have not encountered any application of it that was not a perfect fit. It has been widely adopted by our QA and Dev teams.

Cons

There are some admin features that could be easier such as managing users and grouping them for team access and policy rights.

January 2019

Mark from Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Solid test case management tool

Overall, we love the tool and have directed more teams to use it with the caveat that they do not have a lot of reporting needs.

Pros

Super easy to use and organize test cases. It works great and allows multiple structures depending on how your team manages test cases

Cons

The reporting capabilities are extremely limited. There are some canned reports that you can tweak. We struggle to find what we need without a custom report. You cannot download them as PDF. You need to download them as HTML which is not ideal in most work place scenarios. We can get most of the info we need from the dashboard, but it would be nice to download as a pdf to excel/csv.

July 2017

Sergio from Belatrix

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Nice UI but there are a few features missing that would help track individual work

It's faster than free product, better interface and easy to use API

Pros

The Test Cases Organization and flexibility to create tests. The possibility to add custom fields and that after, you can filter by those fields

Cons

The way the Test plans are managed, there is no easy way to delete tests from a given configuration in a test plan and the reporting is very basic, not allowing Leads or managers to see progress for individuals

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Sergio for taking the time to complete this review.

June 2017

Juan from FIS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Easily modified to work with your testing methodology

We were able to import our large set of tests in just a few short days and be up and running with a more robust tool that offered us an agile transformation.

Pros

*customized for any project * easy to get reports from * web based * can import from variety of other tools * good forums for help and ideas

Cons

* can easily make it complex for others depending on how you setup * a few known issues that can cause data loss

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Juan for taking the time to complete this review.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Revolutionizes test case management.

Strong test case management, meaning more organized testing, meaning higher quality product.

Pros

- Intuitive UI system that allows you yo easily organize test suites, test runs, and projects. - Sync logged bugs to the test cases you're testing for transparency. - Reporting and the ability to estimate testing allows for you to gather more information easily.

Cons

- It can be quite expensive for small teams, but it's well worth it. - Creating test cases in TestRail is pretty tedious (which is why I typically just import them). - Reporting system is a little complicated to understand and utilize effectively.

January 2019

Sapana from Honey(joinhoney.com)

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Easy to use and very useful for metrics

My team is using this tool to add testcases for all the projects and we uses testplan for the releases.

Pros

This tools helps us to organize the testcases and testplan. Adds lot of visibility to the entire team and its reporting is very useful

Cons

We cant add testcases in the testplan across different project. Each platform has its own project so when we want to combine the common cases in one testplan, it doesnt provides us the way.

January 2019

Jami from TouchNet Information Systems

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

TestRail helped us get organized

Pros

Our employees enjoyed the user interface, and the ease to organize test cases and move them around. We have seen value in the ability to link up to Jira for tracking bugs that have been found and also linking to requirements that are also tracked in Jira.

Cons

The ability to have reporting at a higher level across all projects within TestRail. Need to have a better manager level view of everything.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Test Rail high level review

Pros

It is very intuitive. If one used other such tools for test documentation and tracking, it really very use to start with Test Rail.

Cons

1) Configuration of the tool is a bit too rigid. I would make it more streamlined and have some admin features for configuration made available for regular users 2) Errors. Rather errors explanations. If possible to expand on what the exact issue is when we get an error.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Great test case management tool

I used it in two companies already for 5 years now. In general i like the flexibility and that even non QA's can use the tool.

Pros

- easy to use - you can create a lot of testcases but you still keep the overview - you can connect it with jira - after some time the UI is easy to use and you can give the test case to tester

Cons

- design is outdated and could be a bit more intuitiv

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Excellent Test Management Software

Excellent manual test management with the ability to integrate with our automated test software. Overall, we have a feature-rich and fully functional tool for our test management needs.

Pros

The ease of use for this software has allowed our company to transfer from paper test sheets to logins for our end users. This test software had an answer and feature for every question we had.

Cons

There's very little to dislike about this software. The report extract is a bit clunky. When a report is emailed to an email address, it's sent as a zip file with an html file. The extra steps required to view a report eliminate the usefulness of this feature.

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team for taking the time to complete this review.

January 2019

Dan from Information Technology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great tool for the price

TestRail has been great for us, we are able to have all of our projects in TestRail and we are able to link all of our automated tests to our manual test and our CI/CD system. So when a build kicks off, it will create a test run and flip all the tests we have automated test to either pass or fail. Then we can go in and see the gaps of our automated tests, and also run those manual tests for our releases.

Pros

Ability to use the API to link our automated test our manual test cases.

Cons

Bulk closing of test runs would be great, and the reporting could be a little better.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good management very robust tool that can match most sdlc

Long time user and adapter

Pros

- clean interface - a few ways to equip/start projects - a lot of integrations - available API

Cons

- so as much as it is adaptable by doing so it also makes it not the strongest tool since it needs to support many different styles - reporting engine to do customizations is a learning curve

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Test Case Manager we have found

Pros

We use it TestRails as a host for our Manual regression suite and report our selenium tests results too using the testrails API. Works very nice.

Cons

Out company uses TFS and integration with TFS is not very good. The best we can do is link a failed test to a TFS dev task, and it only goes 1 way.

March 2019

Carolina from Yapo.cl

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Excelent management tool

We are using testrail to manage all of our core tests in the platforms and the experience is excelent.

Pros

Easy to configure and use projects, testsuites and testcases. Can manage all projects independent. Integrations are easy for automatize testruns executions .

Cons

I miss some integrations with others tools.

July 2017

Piyush from Fanatics

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Great for test case management for large teams

Unlimited support High-performance systems tuned for TestRail Elastic licensing

Pros

It's a great tool to keep track of test cases, who created them, who modified. Great for keeping track what step passed and what failed. Making sure everything is recorded for future reference.

Cons

The one thing that I would like to see in TestRail is a standard report that will list each test case, with steps for a specific project, or milestone. This type of report would make it much easier to provide user acceptance tests to clients and responses to any auditing queries.

Response from Gurock Software

Replied January 2018

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Piyush for taking the time to complete this review.

January 2019

Chris from Circuscode

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Easy to use and maintain and amazing customer support

Really easy to use day to day and any issues are dealt with personally and quickly by their team.

Pros

Building and maintaining test suites is easy and intuitive.

Cons

There are certain features that the community have asked for that Gurock either aren't planning to do or are taking a long time to implement.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Great tool

Has enough good functionality to use it daily for our business. It simplified our everyday life.

Pros

All the test cases at one place. Easy to create and execute runs. Simple reports are easy to add and use as test evidence. Ability to use runs for multiple releases at the same time

Cons

Pre-built reports. Can not customize much . No multi-select for the test cases ( cannot use shift select). Unable to update test definition from the test runs

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best in class Test Case Managemenr

Pros

Easy to see status of projects on dashboard, test runs are quick and easy to set up. DB is backed up, but also the availability to make local backups as well.

Cons

Can be a little tricky to get the project set up and configured at first but soon becomes intuitive

January 2019

Arpit from Appcino Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

End to End QA lifecycle Management Tool

It was really good Made my life as a QA manager very simple

Pros

This tool helped me in keeping a track of each and every QA activity. The best part is the Reporting feature that how much time was spent on which feature or test case Also the extended support using API helped in integrating with the automation framework

Cons

The price is too high. I am planning to buy some more licenses but the price is very high

January 2019

Gayatri from Motif Investing

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best Test management software out in the market

Very pleased with the tool. The team loves it for daily test case and execution management

Pros

Easier test cases and execution management integration with Jira A lot good reporting options

Cons

a reviewer type user would be good, the one that wouldn't need license.

January 2019

James from Microdea Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Essential piece of our Test Framework

Pros

TestRail allows us to manage our test cases with great Jira integration.

Cons

Some of the admin was a bit cumbersome when we first started such that there wasn't a good split between the person that administers the accounts and who pays for it.

July 2018

Dale from TechnoRaptor

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great why to manage test cycles.

Pros

We got this to manage to major application sets. The import tool allow us to create hundreds or test cases for a massive migration. I was able to connect in our interaction test results from representative.

Cons

To be toothful I do not have any major complaint with the product. Small annoyances my be cleanup after test runs.

Response from Gurock Software

Replied July 2018

Dale Thanks so much for taking the time to do this, much appreciated. TestRail Team

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Test Rail for SOE

Pros

Ease of use is pretty good. Able to recreate Test Plans pretty easily.

Cons

Search function should have been a bit more inclusive. Not able to search in multiple projects. Defects management is something else that Test Rail could do better.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

TestRail Review:

Pros

It's easy to use and you can get moving on your test library pretty much right after sign up. There's not much of a learning curve.

Cons

The only complaint I have is that when writing a test case by steps, adding a next step is a little cumbersome. It would be nice it there was an alternate command like shift + arrow down to add another step rather than selecting the tiny "add step" link.

January 2019

Vasyl from IT

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The best tool on the market!

In my mind TestRail is the best test management system you could get on the market! During running education initiative I've always used it with the students for learning purposes and this was quite helpful!

Pros

After several years in QA and using TestLink and other tools finally I was able to convince management to use TestRail. That was a game changer - easy to use for manual testing, integration with our automation flow and integration with JIRA saved us a lot of work days.

Cons

Sometimes I've experienced issue with JIRA integration (we were using Microsoft Active Directory and password to JIRA was changing each month)

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Test Management Ease

Managing multiple releases is easy going. Folder Tree Structure is well organized.

Pros

User Friendly, Simple UI. Report creation is easy.

Cons

Searching ability can be expanded to include more parameters. Sometimes cannot find a test case.

January 2019

Konnor from Salesforce

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Test Case Manager out there

Pros

Easy to use, simple and straightforward api's to plug into with good documentation. Love this system to use with both manual and automation.

Cons

Running test runs are sometimes a pain but you can still manage.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

TestRail and JIRA

Works well for our enterprise!

Pros

The software's very integrated with JIRA

Cons

They could improve testing matrixes, reporting like KPIs, Test Coverage, and really need a link between requirements/stories and code coverage.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 110 reviews