Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.59

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The interface is clear, the features are perfectly suited to what we need."
  • icon"Clear structure and different Icons organize. Responsive design for mobile-use."
  • icon"The software was fairly easy to setup, maintain, and get end users on board with using. It has been an excellent tool for our editorial department."
  • icon"Connection of Desknet calendar to outlook unfortunately does not work."
  • icon"The short title is at least a little bit too short. I don't like the new box, in which you must confirm, which state of publication a theme gets."
  • icon"I don't think the interface is always as intuitive and modern as it could be. Other than that, we haven't had much in the way of negative experiences."

Have you used Desk-Net and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Desk-Net Reviews

1-22 of 22 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Andy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Desk-Net has been great for story planning and collaboration in one place

We used to have users using many different platforms or methods for planning stories, schedules, events and such. People would use Google Docs, email, calendars, Lotus Notes, and probably many other options for story planning. It made moving from one department to another challenging. It made cross department collaboration challenging. And it made supporting it as part of the IT team quite challenging. Desk-Net was easy to implement and adopt across all editorial departments to streamline story processes.

Pros

The software was fairly easy to setup, maintain, and get end users on board with using. It has been an excellent tool for our editorial department.

Cons

I don't think the interface is always as intuitive and modern as it could be. Other than that, we haven't had much in the way of negative experiences.

Reasons for switching to Desk-Net

We actually switched from several different platforms across multiple departments because of the issues mentioned above.

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Andy, Thanks a lot for your great review! We appreciate it and are happy that our tool has helped improve collaborations at Tax Analysts. We've got some good news! We're already working on the interface to ensure a better user experience, and you should see the improvements later this year. Best regards, The Desk-Net team

Replied February 2020

Melissa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Every author can easily take part on a daily newspaper planning

Our biggest benefit is networking with our partners. We deliver our newspaper articles to an related newspaper. Out daily planning is a huge help for those colleagues - for them it is able to see in real-time, which article we are going to publish. Otherwise, we are able to see the daily planning from another related newspaper-partner and can easliy benefit. Another benefit is the communication with our freelancers: authors can easily see, which article with how much signs we need at which time. Desknet sends automatically an E-Mail to those freelancers. In the past, we had to send E-Mails via Outlook with all those information. Now, they can see everything in Desknet - including attachments and comments. Another benefit, I think, is sharing information with all. Attachments, comments, using the "Notice"-function: Every person in this room and abroad can easily take part. Desknet facilitates our daily work in a local newspaper office.

Pros

Our biggest benefit is networking with our partners. We deliver our newspaper articles to an related newspaper. Out daily planning is a huge help for those colleagues - for them it is able to see in real-time, which article we are going to publish. Otherwise, we are able to see the daily planning from another related newspaper-partner and can easliy benefit. Another benefit is the communication with our freelancers: authors can easily see, which article with how much signs we need at which time. Desknet sends automatically an E-Mail to those freelancers. In the past, we had to send E-Mails via Outlook with all those information. Now, they can see everything in Desknet - including attachments and comments. Another benefit, I think, is sharing information with all. Attachments, comments, using the "Notice"-function: Every person in this room and abroad can easily take part. Desknet facilitates our daily work in a local newspaper office. Additionally, I like the "my planning"-function.

Cons

We must assign a photo to a name - otherwise, our newspaper photographer doesn`t get the information. The short title is at least a little bit too short. I don`t like the new box, in which you must confirm, which state of publication a theme gets. Two clicks more compared to the "old" Desknet. We dont need the separation - we only need "accepted". But this can distinguish between users. You see: the cons are void.

Lars

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Einfaches und simples Planungstool

Insgesamt ein solides Planungstool, für das ich mir aber weitere Integrationen wünschen würde, damit es in die Abläufe tiefer eingebunden werden kann.

Pros

Insgesamt merkt man, dass diese Software für die Anforderungen von Redaktionen entwickelt wurde: Themenplanung, aber auch die Veauftragung von Freien Mitarbeitern wurden gut umgesetzt.

Cons

Manchmal fehlt es an der Übersichtlichkeit und an Tools, um die Software noch besser mit den Redaktionsprozessen zu verbinden, etwa durch kollaboratives Arbeiten,

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Lars, Thanks for your review. We're happy you found our content planning tool easy to use. The good news is that we're already improving our user interface and expanding our integration options. You can read all about our plans here: https://bit.ly/3fvjLw7 You should see these improvements and expect a better user experience later in 2021 and 2022. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied May 2021

Andrea

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Ein gutes Tool, das noch Luft nach oben hat

Sehr gut insgesamt. Support habe ich nie genutzt. Preis-Leistung kann ich nicht beurteilen. Es war für unseren Bedarf das beste Tool, das wir finden konnten. Wie gesagt, es gibt Luft nach oben!

Pros

Wir arbeiten in einem dezentralen Redaktionsteam mit der Software. Toll ist, dass wir Nutzer zulassen können und damit unsere Inhalte steuern, Aufgaben zuweisen können. Es hilft uns den Überblick über unsere Projekte zu behalten und unsere Materialien zu sortieren.

Cons

Verbesserungsbedarf gibt es ja immer und man merkt ihn erst in der Anwendung. So wäre es toll, wenn man die Icons pro Aufgabenstellung automatisch einrichten könnte für jeden Text. So muss man die ganze lange Liste (Text, Fotos, Korrektorat, Veröffentlichung etc.) jedesmal neu anlegen. Zudem kann man z.B. bei den Inhalten die Bilder nicht nachträglich sortieren und muss somit die Bilder einzeln hochladen, wenn man eine bestimmte Reihenfolge braucht (braucht man meist, damit andere diese verstehen).

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Andrea, Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that our tool has helped with content planning at your organization. Regarding the user interface, some admin pages have already been redesigned, and more improvements are underway. You should see the improvements and expect a better user experience in 2021. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied November 2020

Rob

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

We rely on Desk-Net

Compared to what we were using before-- Google Spreadsheets-- Desk Net is 1000% better. I searched many solutions and DeskNet was the best value for the right features. It and the staff quickly adapted to each other and now we can't imagine life pre-Desk Net.

Pros

Desk-Net is a very easy to learn and adaptable system to keep a complicated editorial calendar organized across many employees and platforms. The interface is clear, the features are perfectly suited to what we need.

Cons

The interface coud always be better and more Mac-like. I would love to see better integration with: 1. payroll features, so payments could be added and integrated with office payroll software 2. awards features. So stories that should be awards-considered are easy to track through the year 3. Integration with newsletter makers like Iterable so stories can flow over with a click

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Rob, Thanks for the great review! We are in the process of completely re-designing the user-interface. A good solution for the awards features would be custom fields. There you can define and mark award-worthy stories. We've recently had a Partner & Integration Manager join us at Desk-Net. While we cannot promise an integration with Iterable, you can look forward to integrating more tools with Desk-Net. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied January 2022

Florian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Im Prinzip alles super

Läuft. Hat sich hier absolut etabliert und ist ein unerlässlicher Partner bei der Zusammenarbeit im Team.

Pros

Die Übersichtlichkeit und die individuellen Einstellungen. Dass man diese individuellen Einstellungen auch noch mit anderen, denen das individuelle Einstellen zu umständlich ist, teilen kann, macht es noch besser.

Cons

Beim hin- und herschieben von Themen wird nicht immer deutlich, welche verknüpften Positionierungen alle mitverändert werden.

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Florian, Thank you for your review and we appreciate it! We'll review how Desk-Net informs users how other publish dates will be, as a part of our UX relaunch in mid-2021. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied January 2021

Robert

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Optimal für Bedürfnisse einer Redaktion

Für die derzeitigen Planungsbedürfnisse einer Redaktion für print und online ein optimales Tool.

Pros

Die Vielfalt - inbesondere bei der Themenplanung sowie die Einbindung aller Mitarbeiter

Cons

Teilweise fehlende Übersichtlichkeit bei sehr vielen Rollenverteilungen und Mitarbeitern

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Robert, Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear that our tool has helped with topics planning and improving collaboration at your organization. The good news is that we're already working on the interface to ensure a better user experience, and you should see the improvements later this year. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied February 2021

Andrea

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Übersichtlich und einfach im Handling

Pros

Es ist ein übersichtliches Programm das die Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Abteilungen vereinfacht

Cons

gelegentlich kommt es zu Verzögerungen bzw. Ausfällen

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Andrea, Thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear that you found our software easy to use, and it helps improve collaboration within your company. The good news is that we're already working on improving load times and reducing system failures. You should see the improvements in 2021. If you're experiencing an issue with it still, we'd be happy to help! Just let us know. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Replied November 2020

Miriam

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

It is an excellent tool

Pros

We are very happy with Desk-Net. It is very easy to use as well as admin or user.

Cons

It takes some time to find out which functions and areas are useful for you. We actually only use the area under "Topics".

Reasons for choosing Desk-Net

It's one of the best editorial management systems.

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Miriam, Thanks a lot for your great review! We're delighted to hear that you found our software easy to use. The good news is that we're already improving the interface to ensure a better user experience. You should see the improvements, especially our Topics page in mid-2021. Best regards, The Desk-Net team

Replied February 2021

Andreas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Desk-Net in der Tageszeitungsplanung

Läuft sehr stabil und ist wegen seiner Transparenz bestens für ressortübergreifende Planung geeignet.

Pros

Es ist ein Planungstool, mit dem Themenplanung für Texter und Fotografen für eine ganze Redaktion gut organisierbar ist - selbst mit dem Smartphone. Wir nutzen es inzwischen mit einer Schnittstelle, die Texte und Fotos in unser Produktionssystem importiert.

Cons

Das sehe ich derzeit nichts, das wirklich fehlen würde.

Response from Desk-Net

Hi Andreas, Thanks a lot for your great review! We appreciate it and are delighted to hear that our tool has helped with topics planning for your entire editorial team. We'll continue improving the interface to ensure a better user experience. Stay tuned! More improvements are underway. Best regards, The Desk-Net team

Replied February 2021

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

Alles gut

Sie die Ausführungen zu Vor- und Nachteile. Heute ist Desk-Net aus meiner Arbeit nicht mehr wegzudenken

Pros

Das Zusammenspiel mit anderen Softwares funktioniert mittlerweile hervorragend, im Unternehmen Main-Post mit dem Autorenportal und Livingdocs.

Cons

Anfangs war Desk-Net für uns in der Redaktion nur ein besserer Terminkalender, der etwas umständlich zu bedienen war. Aber dank der Weiterentwicklung für unsere redaktionelle Praxis ist Desknet heute aus der täglichen Arbeit nicht wegzudenken. Fast alle Prozesse im Alltag sind dort angedockt. Die Nutzung mit dem Smartphone könnte noch verbessert werden, da vermisse ich manchmal die Übersichtlichkeit.

Marcel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Easy to use and very helpful

Look above at the Pros section. Desk-Net is the easiest way to get an overview.

Pros

Desk-Net is a very professional tool that allows our 150 Journalists to get an easy overview over the current planned stories and also for all the long-term based articels. We can add simply new formats, can mark and inform all persons involved into a story and everyone can see, whats going on. This is especially for 20 Minuten with 8 local offices around switzerland - even in the french- and italian speaking part - extremely important.

Cons

The only thing that I personally dont like that much, is the fact, that functions and layout are changend by Desk-Net.

Carolin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Functional and easy

The features makes it a functional software for using in the job every day.

Pros

You can sign in every date, share it with all colleagues or just single groups or you can even hide it. Furthermore you can write in and upload textes and photos.

Cons

Sometimes it is impossible to export the content in another system like alphamedia automatically, so you have to do this by hand.

Christoph

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Good software, if everyone takes care of it

Pros

- Easy to use - Clear structure and different Icons organize - Responsive design for mobile-use - Remind-Function - Just a few clicks to have a great overview

Cons

Everything fine. The old problem that the page did not update itself has been fixed.

Samuel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Recommendation

Pros

- Easy and incomplicated use - Overview for planing - no unnecessary tools - acutal noticed topcis are immediately refreshed

Cons

- too many ressorts avoid an overview (is actually a pro, because the user can choose the main ressorts)

Wiebke

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

very good

It took a little time to get used to the software completely. Meanwhile the planning of the topics with Desk-Net is simple and very clear. This also helps with creative work, because planned topics can be planned for different media channels at the same time.

Pros

- good clarity - very good structure - media-neutral planning - many useful functions

Cons

- connection of Desknet calendar to outlook unfortunately does not work

Nina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Täglicher Gebrauch von Desknet

Mein Gesamteindruck ist extrem gut. Ich benutze Desknet täglich und könnte mir meinen Arbeitsalltag ohne diese Programm nicht mehr vorstellen.

Pros

Das Produkt lässt sich auf den jeweiligen Benutzer einstellen und hat viele Funktionen, die den Wünschen der Redaktion oder der Benutzer angepasst werden können.

Cons

Ich habe momentan keine Verbesserungen und bin mit den derzeitigen Einstellungen zufrieden.

Response from Desk-Net

Vielen Dank fur Ihre positive Bewertung von Desk-Net. Mit unserem Relaunch in diesem Jahr wird die Software u. a. noch flexibler anpassbar.

Replied March 2022

Armando

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Easy to use

Pros

The software is easy to use and clear. Very suitable to work with in a team.

Cons

Indispensable for me for daily planning at work.

Markus

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE