What are Bronto Marketing Platform users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Bronto Marketing Platform software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.04

68 Reviews

5
23
4
33
3
7
2
2
1
3
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I like the report functionality that is available. Account managers are also very responsive to your needs and training team is fantastic."
  • icon"The tools that are built in to help with drilling down audience members and personalizing email creative assets, email designs and templates really has allowed us to get the most out of the program."
  • icon"Segmentation is fast and easy even with databases containing over 2mm subs. Deployment time improved greatly over the last 5 years."
  • icon"Sometimes I find it to be annoying when I'm forced to log back in when I navigate from one account to another."
  • icon"Also, difficult to add new contacts and to edit customer lists."
  • icon"Sometimes it is hard to find exactly what you are looking for."

Jump to:

Browse all Bronto Marketing Platform Reviews

  • Have you used Bronto Marketing Platform and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 68 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 68 reviews

User Profile

Suzanne

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Endless customization + excellent support

Pros

Bronto offers a sophisticated email marketing platform that allows very complex segmentation, A/B testing capabilities and workflow triggers to automate campaigns. Templates provide quick-start opportunities, while there is also the option to get fancy with dynamic content. The live chat support team and account managers are very knowledgable, highly available and provide excellent guidance.

Cons

The message design interface can be a little restrictive for message styling, unless you are working in CSS. Opening a more intensive support case can take a week or longer to resolve. The pop-up manager is a bare bones app.

Egan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Evolving platform with strong customer support and accessible features

My experience with Bronto was always positive. 6 years ago, when I began using it at a company acquired by Fandango, it was the best platform at creating sophisticated customer segments and personalized automated campaigns. Fast forward 5 years when I came back to it at a new role at DIFF Eyewear, I saw how it evolved and improved. Revenue tracking, site integration, deployment speed and the ui all improved significantly within the platform.

Pros

- Customer care team is top notch - Segmentation is fast and easy even with databases containing over 2mm subs - Deployment time improved greatly over the last 5 years - Easy-to-use journey builder with drag and drop tools - Exporting stats and reports is also fast and easy compared to many other ESPs - Owned by Oracle and strongly supported by mother organization - Competitively prices - Integrates natively with many other 3rd party platforms, e-commerce shops and content management systems

Cons

- Like most platforms, there is a learning curve to understand all if its features, but they offer online learning, documentation and hand-held tutorials.

Reasons for choosing Bronto Marketing Platform

Pricing, features and ease of use seemed more favorable with Bronto

Reasons for switching to Bronto Marketing Platform

Bronto was able to accomplish the same with much less effort and work. Bronto’s drag and drop automation ui made it possible to easily build user journeys and conduct automated A/B testing within a few minutes.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Economical option for enterprise or mid-sized business email marketing

While the necessities for email marketing are present, a more advanced marketing team will want for a more complete digital marketing platform via more features or better native integration to other apps in the tech stack. Custom APIs and working with Bronto development team does not provide turn key solutions. Companies will need a developer. Designers may want a better WYSIWYG email editor.

Pros

Bronto is easy to navigate and provides all the essential functions and features for email marketing. List management across multiple brands and subscriptions using customizable templates, segmentation, and contact data management are strong points of Bronto.

Cons

Bronto misses out when it comes to more powerful automation, integration, and design tools.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Very expensive platform with poor support and missing features

Poor. Bronto is very expensive with very poor support and service. Their business model appears to revolve around how they can get the most amount of money possible out of the customer with add ons, missing features, support, integration etc. We were forced to do a finance agreement, instead of monthly payments for the year. I understand now, why they did this, as I would have disputed and stopped paying when their service stopped working. However, now we have no choice.

Pros

Not much. The email design interface is basic at best. The user interface is clunky. Most of the advanced features never worked for us or worked for a very brief period of time, like until we upgraded our shopping cart, then they wanted more money for implementation and support again.

Cons

Expensive with lots of nickel and diming. The sales rep promised the world, however when it came time to implement these, it never happened. We ended up using Bronto as a really (REALLY) expensive version of Mailchimp. We make very clear exactly what we needed and were given a crash course in the software and implementation with an Indian support team. We made a change to our shopping cart and lost the connection and were charged for the entire implementation again. Features like cart recovery worked for a very brief period, then stopped and we were not able to get the support to get it to work again. Other advanced features like B2B marketing and trickle campaigns just never happened. Things like coupon codes, were part of our discussions all along but somehow left out fo the contract and we were hit with more fees and were never able to get it set up. They also don't tell you that you need an extra license (at your cost) in NetSuite to use Bronto. Initially they only included 1m emails, even though we never discussed a limit. They changed this to 4m, which was used up in 6 months. Now they want more money to continue to use it.

Response from Oracle Bronto

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review Bronto and sharing your concerns with us. We are truly sorry you have not had a positive experience using Bronto thus far as our goal is always to provide our customers with an excellent and supportive user experience. We want to help you in any way that we can, so please email us directly at customers@bronto.com so that we can ensure you get the support you deserve.

Replied April 2019

User Profile

Sheryl

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

One of the best EMS for large scale deployments

I highly recommend using Bronto over other email marketing solutions if you plan to send large scale deployments

Pros

Bronto can send emails to thousands to leads and customers within minutes. You can also use merge tags to personalize emails.

Cons

The interface looks very dated and needs an overhaul. It would be great if there was a heatmap of email showing user interactions

Reasons for choosing Bronto Marketing Platform

Cost and speed of email delivery

Reasons for switching to Bronto Marketing Platform

Cost and speed of email delivery

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Fantastic platform with big capabilities.

Pros

We started using the Bronto Marketing Platform about a year ago for all of our in-house email marketing efforts. Compared to our previous platform, it was easy to tell that Bronto was a more robust platform from the get-go. It's easy to work with, extremely smart and offers powerful strategies to get the most out of email marketing. This includes automated responders which are helpful for our e-Newsletter welcome email, campaign signups and more. Bronto also allows us to target subscribers based on what content they have clicked on in previous emails. We love the ability to optimize sends by time of day or day of the week and how easily we can segment our lists. Even the reporting within the Bronto platform itself is top notch and provides the detail we need. We've had it for a year, but there is still much more capabilities that we have yet to explore.

Cons

It would be nice if Bronto had an easier way to identify hard vs. soft bounces each email send. You either have to run a segmented report or pull from all contacts in Bronto and sort based on list. It would be great if this was a Legacy Report option. We also track list growth each month in the Legacy Reports, but it would also be great to track segment growth. Right now I jump in at the beginning of each month to compare growth from the previous month for all segments.

User Profile

Steve

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Miss working with Bronto

Overall, Bronto was the best ESP I have used for small-medium sized B2C businesses (~400 employees worldwide). If you are tiny, it's probably overkill. If you're larger, it won't have flexibility of some of the enterprise-level ESPs. Their employees are all about practical, quick solutions to real problems faced by email marketers.

Pros

Bronto is logically organized, something which unfortunately can't be said of all ESPs. It offers programs like abandoned cart, email signup modals (layers) with fairly easy implementation. Easy to add variables to subscriber profiles. But the BEST element is the live chat support. These folks truly unlock the potential of the platform.

Cons

It could hold sales data, but doesn't allow you any easy way to see that data in tables. And you can't add tables for ancillary data like "store locations" that would make dynamic content easier. As with any software, sometimes you run into road blocks: they have a site where you can post ideas for the platform and other users can vote on them, but even then these take time.

User Profile

Muneeb

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Best in class

Bronto has most of the key features you would expect from a high-end email platform. The learning curve is very short and navigation is very easy to get used to. Support is very helpful.

Pros

Simple contact management and ease of setting up emails. It's really easy to carry out tasks once you get used to the process.

Cons

It's not easy to set-up drip campaigns and automate tasks. UI is very basic and old school. Sometimes list exporting can take very long.

Reasons for choosing Bronto Marketing Platform

Price, reliability and ability to scale.

User Profile

Olivia

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Once I got used to using the software, I have found that it is extremely powerful and functional.

Very custom designed emails, learned more about segmenting and analytics of emails, learned more about coding for email

Pros

The flexibility in design- lots of powerful tools (e.g. the content tags). I use MailChimp for some other clients and I find it to be very frustrating and limiting in comparison. The ability to segment and create lists that are extremely nuanced is nice. I also have had great experience with customer service.

Cons

I think that it isn't the MOST user friendly platform -- it took me a while to get used to using it. Sometimes it is hard to find exactly what you are looking for.

Kristina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Advanced and Expensive

Overall experience was good but due to the cost and limited resources, we had to switch to a less expensive option.

Pros

With Bronto, the things you can do when it comes to email marketing and marketing, in general, are limitless. We started using the software and everyone was very excited but the efforts and work that were required did not match with the overall performance.

Cons

The biggest negative is cost. In order to make the investment in Bronto work for you, you have to have a dedicated team to work daily with the software.

Richard

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Mostly Good.

Pros

In a word, Segmentation. Bronto is one of the best in the industry at segmentation and I can't find much of anything I can't build a segment for. The workflow tools are also pretty nice.

Cons

Bronto is still years behind other platforms when it comes to the data they provide about opens on specific devices. Mobile or desktop are generally grouped and same for the rendering engine of the mail client. This is better than it was but still poor. I would also like to be able to pull proper data from the dashboard instead of being given some arbitrary presets that are never accurate for the timeframe I need them to be. This would help evaluate yearly results and even compare with the same month of the previous year. Bronto only holds 3 months of data by default whereas I have reviewed other platforms that hold 18 months (by default) in order to allow these types of comparisons.

Marie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Mixed Thoughts

Pros

I like the time release of emails, and the resend option for emails that weren't open. I also really like the list cleaning options.

Cons

It isn't very easy to use on mobile I have to use the desktop version on my phone. I wish there were more ways to learn how to use all of its features. I also think the site can be slow at times.

Response from Oracle + Bronto

Hi Marie! Thanks for taking the time to review Bronto. Feedback like yours helps us continually improve the Bronto experience on mobile and desktop. For help learning more about our features, we recommend utilizing the Bronto Help tab in the BMP. The Help tab contains links to the content that is relevant to the Bronto page you are on. The content includes links to help topics, videos, page tours, and guided walk-throughs. To access the Help Tab, click the Help icon in the top banner, and the Help Tab will slide open. For personalized help, you can reach out to your Account Manager about specific features and they will be happy to assist.

Replied February 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Bronto has helped in growing our email results across our 2 unique storefronts.

Bronto was instrumental at the start in helping us manage our lists better, and through A/B testing refined what our customers enjoy seeing from our email marketing. Cost - for our usage there are others who are now providing the capabilities for our needs as Bronto at cost savings. Bronto still continues to offer innovations to help in customer engagement, but these are all offered as an additional monthly charge and not part of their standard package.

Pros

Bronto's WYSIWYG user interface to design emails is extremely user-friendly and a knowledge of HTML is not required to design fantastic emails. A code view is available if preferred, and is sometimes needed to add in elements like animated gifs. A/B Testing, delayed sends, and Netsuite integration for more personalized send have all contributed as our email revenue has grown in our time with Bronto.

Suzanne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

We transitioned from HubSpot to Bronto and have been thrilled with the improved environment.

Great marketing automation.

Pros

HubSpot was a real pain to use and was more B2C focused. We kept getting banned by various email providers and it may take me a week to get it fixed. And the "workflows" were horrific, both in creation and monitoring. And most of all, customer support was non-existent!! I love that Bronto is so much easier to use. Creating newsletters in Bronto is a breeze. Creating workflows in Bronto is a breeze. Having at my disposal a marketing strategist makes life so much easier. I still am not fully utilizing all of the Bronto capabilities but that is my goal for 2019.

Cons

The connector to Magento 2 has been an issue since we navigated to M2 in November. There have been a few issues, most we've worked out fairly quickly but getting my review request to trigger has been an ongoing issue now for quite some time. I do now have someone in support that is getting it working for us.

Kelly

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

Great for larger companies

It provides a good solid foundation for all of our email marketing requirements.

Pros

Bronto works with a lot of large, successful business and therefore has a good amount of experience in dealing with corporate clients and larger tasks. There are a lot of valuable features in Bronto and (most of) their strategists are pretty good.

Cons

Bronto is definitely not for the small business as the cost and features may be more than the start up desires. In addition, their tech support never seems to know what is going on when there is a technical issue. You can ask and ask again and they basically tell you, "It's being looked into." Problems do get solved eventually but they don't give you much insight as to why the things that are going wrong, are going wrong.

john

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Bronto only for BIG business

Amazing! Everyone at Bronto and oracle were super professional and supportive.

Pros

Bronto is robust! It has all the bells and whistles you could want for an email platform.

Cons

The cost! We realized our email campaigns needed a better platform to grow so we decided to give Bronto a try. They were able to do a lot more than our last platform (Mailchimp) but we quickly learned that the cost versus features was not helping us grow. This is not me saying don't buy Bronto because it's expensive, the opposite. I would say smaller businesses should look into smaller options. The features are nice but the price tag makes it hard to justify at that level. But if your revenue from the emails can support Bronto, then totally go with it!

Reasons for switching to Bronto Marketing Platform

We needed a more robust platform

Orly

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Gets the job done well and easy

Customer service is great. Our dedicated account person also got the answer we were looking for. Their online support chat is also a huge help if you have a quick question. They have helped me out quite a bit.

Pros

Workflows are easy to maintain and create. Webforms that we put on our website is a great help to get new contacts. The email Message Editor is pretty easy to use if you don't know code and you can still put in your own css if wanted to.

Cons

RSS Feed emails was something we were looking into for our blog. Wasn't fully functioning at 1st but think we are going to get something from the new Tool Box

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Bronto has proven to be a great email service provider.

The software allows us to deploy all sorts of emails to our audience and customers. They allow for transactional emails, triggered email, full send emails, and any other type of emails we want to send.

Pros

The UI is very easy to understand and use. The deliverability is high for email marketing. They offer many add-ons to their standard platform. Their support is very responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons

Many of their add on services are standard at other ESPs. Their pricing is high, and cryptic. You can get a good deal if you negotiate like crazy. Their reporting is limited.

Sarah

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Feature Laden Email Client

Over all I have had positive experience with Bronto and would recommend them for other medium sized businesses, particularly if you wish to build out automated email workflows such as cart abandonment, nurturing series based on user actions, etc.

Pros

In my role for managing data and building workflows I have appreciated these Bronto aspects the most: 1. Multiple sources to add contacts including embedded webforms, APIs, FTPs, or uploading a CSV 2. Ability to add many data fields and have automated updates of those data fields 3. Ability to create dynamic user segments based on data fields you add, user behavior, etc 4. Ability to create multi-step work flows based on dynamic segments 5. Responsive technical support and training. Great help documentation.

Cons

Some of the reporting tools don't allow the granularity or groupings I would prefer but over all it's a great platform.

Dustin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Bronto User for 3 Years

Pros

The software for the most part performed the tasks we needed. Most of the setup and use was easy to navigate. The features out of the box were adequate but we did have to add some Apps to make it the way we wanted it.

Cons

Some of the things we wanted were not out of the box features. That added additional cost. We had really good account managers for most of our time with them but after the Oracle buyout things were not as good toward the end of our contract with our Account Manager.

Rachel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Very easy product to use

We are using Bronto for our marketing email messages - product, content, retargeting, and cart recovery.

Pros

I'm finding this software very easy to use, especially for someone that is new to email. There are options to create emails within Bronto with a drag-and-drop feature, or you can upload and edit HTML emails. Customer service has been great.

Cons

It would be great to have more customized reporting tools to help manage email lists.

Simon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Lots of features, ease of use, premium price

Bronto has been a great email marketing tool. We didn't run an e-commerce business when we first started using them, but we were still able to take advantage of all of their great features.

Pros

There are a lot of features within Bronto for tracking, analytics, customers, automation, workflows, welcome series, cart abandonment, etc... Great Customer service whenever you need it!

Cons

Comparing to other similar services, you pay a premium price.

Bethany

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Highly Recommend

We have thoroughly enjoyed using Bronto and would recommend them. We are able to give feedback easily and using live chat helps us in the midst of a problem, rather than having to wait.

Pros

I like the ease of use and simplicity of the functions. I can do a lot with the tool, even if what I'm trying to do is complex.

Cons

There are some inconsistencies with some features within the tool, and the reporting is not as robust as we'd like.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Bronto's platform has been a great tool for understanding consumer interest.

The ability to customize deliveries to segments that I want to target. The ability to send dynamic subject lines AND send A/B tests all at the same time.

Pros

The ability to create workflows is one of my favorite things about Bronto. They have really made personalization and segmentation possible for us and I love it! I also like their cart recovery platform and the templates that they provide in order for us to be successful in our marketing messages.

Cons

Their customer support is terrible, and they do not understand their software nearly as much as I do, which I believe is not how it should be. When it comes to the software, I wish they were able to report more accurate revenue, (translate international dollars).

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Good platform that has worked well overall.

email list send with high-end features

Pros

We switched to another platform for a few months, but had difficulties with them. They were able to easily have us return because they hadn't permanently deleted.

Cons

We have never been able to get the functionality that is related to ROI to work properly. They, essentially, switched to REST from SOAP without telling us.

Showing 1 - 25 of 68 reviews
Bronto Marketing Platform

Bronto Marketing Platform

4.04/5 out of 68 reviews
PriceWatch Demo