All Buffer Reviews

1-25 of 1,440 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Elizabeth

Hospital & Health Care, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Easy to use and essential for my business

User Profile

Amber

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Stay Ahead on Social Media Easily with Buffer

Buffer helps our clients manage their social media profiles and schedule out their social media messages according to our strategy ahead of time. This tool makes it easy to work ahead and streamline your scheduling process. The free plan is quite nice as well, as you can connect 3 accounts and schedule out 10 messages ahead of time. This is nice for clients that are just starting to utilize social media management tools! While the pricing structure seems a bit odd, the frustrations I have with Instagram and social media scheduling apps will exist no matter which app you use!

PROS

Buffer makes it easy to schedule out your social media posts ahead of time and you can also manage multiple different accounts from one place. At our marketing company, it's also easy for clients to understand and use on their own time whether they're on their phone or computer.

CONS

Using Instagram with any social media scheduling app can be a pain and Buffer is no exception to this rule. Some IG posts have to be scheduled manually which defeats the purpose if you're just using Buffer to control IG accounts. Their pricing structure is also confusing with different prices for publishing, analyzing and replying. It can make it difficult for potential clients to understand exactly what they're paying for.

Reason for choosing Buffer

We typically recommend either Buffer or Hootsuite to our clients that need help with social media scheduling! Most of our smaller clients normally choose the Buffer Pro Publish package, simply based on price, since 100 messages scheduled ahead of time is more than enough!

Thierry

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

A powerful tool for a very low price !

Very good experience in overall, and amazing list of options available already with a free, or lowest plan account.

PROS

I am really amazed about the amount of feature that are already enable in the lowest plan that Buffer is offering. It is probably the best option for someone who want to start to work with such features, with a low budget

CONS

I rarely had cases were a post was not posting automatically as it was planned. But the only couple of times that this happened in about 2 years, I had a message immediately to inform me about it, and I could post it manually in no time...

Reason for choosing Buffer

The huge increase of the price from Later (250% increase), from one day to another, and after a few years of being their customer was a bit too much for me. When I looked into Buffer, I could have way more options for a much lower price ! I think that buffer is probably the best tool for users that are starting with small accounts, without sacrifying the options and possibilities.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

Later dramatically raised their price and oblige me to change my plan. I was using Later for years, with a plan of 18 dollars for 3 accounts max (I was using 2 accounts at this time). From one day to another, they told me that my plan was no longer available, and I had to change to a new plan. The new plan was (and still is) 25 Dollars per account, and with less features than my previous plan (Like 3 months of data instead of 1 year, no hashtag suggestions anymore, etc...). So an increase of 250% of the price with less features was not an option for me anymore. This is maybe fine for big accounts with big revenues, but not for small users like me...

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

User-friendly but sometimes a bit clumsy

Overall Buffer fits quite alright with the small businesses, but is definitely not a good choice for bigger companies.

PROS

Buffer offers an intuitive and user-friendly interface, making it accessible even for beginners. I also liked the fact the platform provides content suggestions and ideas to help you create engaging social media posts. There is even a free plan option that is efficient for very small businesses and individuals.

CONS

The free plan has limited features and restrictions, so I went for the paid plan. It's still a bit clumsy sometimes, with recurrent bugs and tech issues. For example, it's very hard to post on LinkedIn (no tagging available). It's also not possible to post on Instagram.

Reason for choosing Buffer

The pricing was more interesting at the time

Arienne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Buffer Review

PROS

I love buffer! It's really easy to use and connect with your different social media platforms to manage and schedule. I love that you can connect LinkedIn to make it easy. We use it regularly because it's awesome

CONS

The only cons are mainly just budget pieces. We can't afford to pay for it, so we can only connect a few platforms instead of all of them. We can only schedule so many as well. But that's lacking of budget really.

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Social Media Built for Busy People

Overall experience is really great I found myself using more of a batching method and help retrain my mind and how to use social media for my business I found myself wanting to have more and so trying different software and making it so I can save time for the day is what I wanted to do and the software really helped.

PROS

As a business owner, I find myself wanting to use social media to promote my content. But having the time to do so is very time consuming. So here comes this software with an easy and alternative way to post on social media without having to take so much time and being able to what I like to call batch posting. This is the ability to post when you want and schedule those posts but you can drop all these posts beforehand and schedule them out instead of having to do them at the time you wanted to post. This is a huge game changer and makes it really easy to post on social media and still be active.

CONS

I find myself hitting a barrier once again with these types of software. A lot like hootsuite there's a limitation on what you can do for the free account. I'm finding myself also wanting to post on Instagram for carousels and it doesn't quite work right and it makes it more inconvenient than just posting on my own. And at that point I find myself wanting just to use the original method.

Reason for choosing Buffer

I wanted to try buffer, because it offered a different type of software limit compared to Hootsuite.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

The software is more specific for posting and scheduling whereas I could schedule what I wanted to post but not actually post it in air table.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Perfect for Big Teams

Over it has been great. I really appreciate the customer service

PROS

That we can incporate our whole team without being overcharged for each team member! I also appreciate how easy it is to use and that they have an app. This is great for onboarding new users.

CONS

I wish it notified admins faster when a post is drafted for approval and alternatively I wish it notified the person who submitted the post for approval when there post is approved and what time it is approved for.

Reason for choosing Buffer

They were better for teams and made things easy.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

They were too expensive. Bad customer service and they didn’t listen. There system was too complicated and still didn’t offer the features we needed.

Virginia

Hospitality, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Great product

I enjoy Buffer's simplicity and user friendly website and app. It makes schedule ahead a breeze and the amount of times I can schedule a post is great for the free version.

PROS

I enjoy that Buffer's interface is simple and user friendly. I didn't need a guide to go through setting up and scheduling my social media. The app works really great as well and is required if you want to post your Instagram posts because it doesn't do it automatically for you. The app will remind you it's time to post for Instagram and have the post ready for you, you just have to submit.

CONS

I'd prefer to not have to manually submit my Instagram posts, but not sure if that's only a feature required for the free plan. Never the less it's not the biggest con for me, just minor inconvenience if I'm busy living life.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

The interface was smoother and I could post more on Buffer's free plan.

User Profile

Luke

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Great Product in a Crowded Market

PROS

The price and different tiers allow you to pay a lower cost if you are looking for more basic needs. If you only manage a few accounts, this can be a great low-cost solution.

CONS

The amount of accounts you can have on low cost options is not many, and I wish it had integration with Google Business.

Reason for choosing Buffer

Cost-effectiveness.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

Lower cost, but there is less functionality with Buffer. We liked Zoho Social better, but decided to save on cost for the time being.

User Profile

Damien

Verified reviewer

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Buffer is amazing for managing 3 accounts

PROS

I love how easy it is to setup your posts and just launch them with very little hassle.

CONS

The 10 post cap on the free plan. Also, when posting to multiple accounts, it can get a bit confusing if you're not watching what you're doing.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

Hootsuite removed their free plan and that put a spoke in my wheel.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Save time from Linkedin and Twitter scheduling

Overall is good. I use it every week and not so much. but it saves me the hassle of having to write and edit content directly on the social media channel.

PROS

I could easily connect the channels I use for the brand. I like it supports Twitter threads and also lets me tag other companies in Linkedin post

CONS

I can't tag friends or contacts from LinkedIn. Only companies. I don't like the scroll down of time selecting when scheduling

Reason for choosing Buffer

They supported twitter threads and also I could get both Linkedin and Twitter together.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Makes Social Media Easier

After we decided to find an alternative for Later I've tried a lot of softwares for planning content for social media that would include everything we need but still would be affordable. Buffer was basically the only one that fit both of these categories. We use it for 2 years now and we are very satysfied even though there are some things that need improvement. The product is still improving and adding more feature (for example quite recently they added integration with Canva) which makes me happy to see. I had to communicate with the support a few times and they were always very nice and helpfull.

PROS

- User friendly - Reliable auto publishing - Works with Facebook Groups as well as Pages - You can create campaigns to track all posts with some specific topic - Drafts - Includes analytics for published posts - Regular updates, improvements and new functions

CONS

- It is not possible to set campaign in drafts so you have to remember to add it after adding in queue - Does not reccomend best time to post based on the data from published content - Can't trasnfer drafts between profiles - Missing build-in tool for cropping picture - Tagging other Facebook Sites could use some improvements, sometimes it is hard to find the right page since there are not profile pictures

Reasons for switching to Buffer

Later was missing some very important features for us such as tagging Facebook Pages and sharing posts with link preview instead od picture.

Alexa

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Simple solution for keeping social active

It's great for clients just starting out with social or who need an idiot-proof solution to schedule content across a bunch of social sites without much effort. I've suggested it to a ton of my clients when I was doing social media management, it makes it easy to keep the feeds full without too much of a headache. It's still got it's downsides, but so do most of the other ones out there.

PROS

I often recommend Buffer to clients as a simple way to keep social accounts active. I like the queue, and the chrome extension is a convenient way to easily add new articles and shares to your social feed without having to do much extra work. The feature where it adds hashtags on insta to a comment is really slick too. The free version gets a lot done and even the paid is a pretty good value for just posting to social.

CONS

I get a bit annoyed when it unpairs from my social accounts. I try to avoid notifications so this means my accounts can go dark for a few days until I notice that it hasn't been posting content to that site. The chrome extension can also be glitchy, where you have to reload the page to use it. It's also a bit lame that for any additional features it's a new paid thing, like analytics etc. It adds up fast for truly agile functionality.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

I used Sprout at a company with a bigger budget. It was a nice product, but too spendy for most of my smaller clients.

Luis

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

The best there is

It's a great website to use for managing a lot of social media. Totally worth it.

PROS

Buffer lets you schedule posts across multiple social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter. There is a free version but you can get more features the more you pay. I think the basic paid plan is the best value, but it depends on what you need. One of the best things is the way it posts pictures and videos natively to Twitter, rather than posting links.

CONS

You can't seem to add subtitles to Facebook when scheduling, which is a problem. You have to wait for it to post, go in and edit it on Facebook, and add subtitles.

Reasons for switching to Buffer

Hootsuite was not posting pictures and videos natively to Twitter, but as links.

User Profile

Charity

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Free plan isn't anything special

Overall, I'm unimpressed with the free. While the "suggested media" feature is helpful and I enjoy the uncomplicated user interface, the lack of analytics and random default posting schedule doesn't differentiate it from other social media management software. I'm unwilling to spend money to upgrade to the next level because I already have access to limited analytics and I can use IFTTT and Google Calendar to schedule my Pinterest posts for free.

PROS

I think that Buffer's "suggested media" feature is incredibly intuitive. Rather than having to upload an image for a social media post, Buffer pulls images from the post and prompts me to attach one of the images. Buffer's user interface is uncomplicated and easy to navigate, and I've never had a problem with Instagram posts that I've scheduled not being posted because my Buffer account disconnected from my Instagram account.

CONS

The default posting schedule that Buffer comes up with is random, even for premium users, it has nothing to do with engagement or views of past social media posts. With the free version, there aren't any analytics. To counter that, I ended up using other analytics software and a different link shortener.

Reason for choosing Buffer

I didn't choose Buffer over Hootsuite. I used Buffer in conjunction with Hootsuite to determine which software was better. In the end, I chose Hootsuite because its default posting schedule and analytics were better than what Buffer had to offer.

User Profile

Nathaniel

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Buffer-Social Media Management and Automation

The best thing about Buffer is the number of accounts and posts that can be added. Next up the ability to see the overall potential of posts in the analytics gives a good insight as to who your fans are, who they're fans are and what they like sharing. Overall, Buffer is a must have for Social Media users who can't spend every waking hour posting.

PROS

I have been using Buffer for around two years and still think it is a must-have for any social media users who are needing to automate their posts. Top pros for this software are: Relatively low cost. Run multiple profiles. Ability to schedule damn near unlimited posts. Scheduling options and queue are presented well and easy to use. The way the analytics are presented. The content feed is also a brilliant feature, although it can also do with some significant improvements. This is by far one of the best low cost/free software's for Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn posting.

CONS

As above, the content feed needs some improvement, as it does not always pull the most recent links. Addition of a filter for the content feed would be an A* feature. Sometimes hashtag lists do not display correctly and errors can be shown when tagging someone's profile. Need to be able to create a permanent, possibly arranged list of regularly used hashtags. Instagram posts need to be monitored as direct posting is not available, instead, you are notified to 'ok' the post first. This wouldn't be a problem IF the notifications actually were pushed on time, plus it does kind of defeat the purpose of the automation.

Vendor Response

Hi, Nathaniel, thank you so much for the kind feedback and suggestions. Your suggestions are really helpful in helping us improve the product. I personally really like the idea of filtering the content feed. I'm glad to share that you can now schedule and automatically publish your Instagram posts to your Instagram Business profiles without needing the notifications. Here's more information: https://buffer.com/instagram. -Alfred

Replied January 2019

User Profile

Nguessan Valery

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2023

Manage your social networks with an easy-to-use tool

I used Buffer to manage my Facebook page and Linkedin, for my real estate product posts. I would have appreciated it even more if it offered a larger number of social networks to connect. But overall, the management of the connected profiles was quite simple and efficient. Moreover, the statistical data are easy to understand, which helped me to better manage my publications. A tool that I invite everyone to test

PROS

I liked Buffer. It's a pretty user-friendly tool and easy to use. It's quite easy to connect your social networks to it for managing pages and profiles. It has a pretty simple and easy-to-understand user interface, which makes it easy to learn. It takes into account popular social networks, which is already a good thing. Posts and post schedules are also quite easy to do with Buffer. The real strength of Buffer lies in the statistical data. We get detailed and comprehensive data on the reach of our publications. It is good to note that Buffer allows team collaboration, very useful to have your profiles and pages managed by an agency. Buffer is a nice tool to use

CONS

- Not support all social networks- Not take into account personal Facebook profiles- Limitation on the number of posts that can be scheduled in advance for some social networks

Priya

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

It is a basic but essential tool for social network programming

We utilize Buffer to coordinate our company's presence across numerous social media platforms. We can upload all of our content by using it to schedule the publication calendar. Content is reviewed and approved by the user's permission level. Using Buffer, we can see at a glance whether or not we have scheduled too much or too little material across all of our social media channels. I have used Buffer for about three years, and it has helped me a lot in my work; also, its cost could be a lot higher, and being a very intuitive tool, it represents a good investment. It is very suitable for anyone, whether a professional or a beginner; it works very well for small, medium, or large companies; it is ideal for people who want to edit an image for a publication on social networks.

PROS

It's a fantastic platform for social media management with many helpful features (including adding text to images before posting them on social media) and helpful customer service (including the possibility to schedule posts in advance across multiple channels). It has a straightforward design that makes it easy to get up and running. And let's remember its review system, enabling us to check articles for coherence well before publication.

CONS

Fixing the problems you have when you try to contact users and when users try to respond would be a big step in the right direction.

User Profile

Gregory

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

If you post to social media for your business, you need to be using this service.

I'm not a social media professional, and have no interest in spending time each day on multiple pages of multiple sites to share information for business marketing. Buffer let's me do exactly that work with a few clicks, and schedule posts out for days at a time.

PROS

Buffer takes so much effort out of frequent social media posting. It allows with a click and a few words of caption to post to one site or many, one page or many, on a pre-set or "next up" schedule so that you never have to stop what you're doing to share a web site to your profiles. It takes care of the post times, the queue, the placement, even the analyitics of how your posts perform across all of your social sites. Their blog alone is worth subscribing to - jammed with useful and entertaining tips for maximizing your results, and the free version can be very helpful for startup pages or social enthusiasts. But when you're serious about posting for your business, the paid plans make the transition to "professional social media marketer" very seamless.

CONS

Recently, Facebook and Buffer aren't as tightly integrated as they used to be. That's a change with FB, and Buffer is very up front about why things are different. It's a small step backward, and not the developer's fault at all. It's still the very best value in managed social media posting, and a sanity saver for anyone who posts to multiple sites/profiles/pages on a regular basis.

Roddy

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: