What are GrowSurf users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using GrowSurf software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.67

27 Reviews

5
20
4
5
3
2
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

Jump to:

Browse all GrowSurf Reviews

  • Have you used GrowSurf and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 27 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 27 reviews

User Profile

Max

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Affordable, turnkey, feature-rich referral software

Growsurf made it incredibly easy to launch a referral program for our new and existing users and website visitors. We considered a wide array of options and Growsurf was by far the best value for money.

Pros

We appreciate the flexibility offered by Growsurf, combining the best of an "out-of-the-box" solution with a large number of settings and customizations that give us control over the referral experience from start to finish. We ran into a technical challenge during setup, and the team was very quick to respond and help out.

Cons

Some of the UI/UX could be improved, but we were able to customize the stylings on our website to our liking.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

Growsurf offered the same or better functionality at a much lower price point.

Alex

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

After a lot of research, GrowSurf was the perfect fit

We don't regret choosing GrowSurf. Their team is super responsive. Even though we're a tiny company and barely make them any money, they did a complete audit of our campaign, offered very helpful and thoughtful suggestions for improving things, and generally they seem to really care about all of their their users/clients no matter how small.

Pros

GrowSurf manages everything to do with the referral program, so we didn't have to bring in our tech team except for 5 minutes to paste a small piece of code into our site. The savings from that alone make our choice to go with a 3rd party well worth it. The widgets they have to embed on our own landing pages, and the ability to customize and style these to match our brand 100% were especially useful.

Cons

The help documents could be slightly more explicit, but really just slightly...

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

Pricing was a big factor — GrowSurf is great value.

Uros

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Certain issues and wasn't a good fit for us

We tried the software for a long time but were just not able to make it work like it should for us. Technically there were often issues and when it worked it just wasn't effective enough in our case.

Pros

The way the software works is pretty straight forward. Setup is easy, fairly easy to keep track of stats as well.

Cons

We had technical issues with the tangocard integration and also the pricing model (the way it tracked users) just wasn't a good fit for a refer a friend program with lower engagement.

Response from GrowSurf

Hey Uros, I'm sorry that it wasn't a good experience for you, but I appreciate your feedback. We worked with Tango Card's team to confirm the issue was that your account needed funding. We followed up with you, but didn't hear back. (Your GrowSurf Tango Card account is separate from any existing Tango Card accounts you have) It also looks like we were able to resolve the bugs you reported as well, but please let me know if that wasn't the case. Thanks again for your feedback -- we'll work extra hard to address the issues you brought up. -Kevin

Replied March 2021

User Profile

Gabriella

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Great software to help us start our first referral program

Pros

I love how easy it is to configure your program, the setup goes through easy to understand steps with helpful hints -- the entire setup of the program took me about a day and I needed minimal help from a developer (just adding some code to a few pages) which was great. Also, the support is incredible! Support reps are super responsive, have great answers and every problem I've had has been resolved. Finally, since we were just piloting a program and weren't too sure on the success I really like having the ability to be billed monthly, and GrowSurf was the cheapest option without having to give up functionality features we wanted.

Cons

The functionality is a bit limited (however I am at the starter plan), it would be nice to be able to customize the emails sent to participants and referrals within the Growsurf application. Currently you need Zapier for a few things, which is fine, but would be nice to be able to do it all through one platform!

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

Because we were just launching our referral program, we wanted a tool that let us start small with the ability to grow and be billed monthly. All the other softwares were clearly for establishing programs and the price point was far too high for our needs. GrowSurf was perfect for building out of our program and being able to make changes quickly.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Rewards of All Types Under One Single Platform

My overall experience with the software and the support team has been great. The software is responsive and the team is always accessible​ to answer questions and receptive to feedback from their users.

Pros

Motivating people to refer you more clients is not an easy task because different people value some rewards more than others. What I like the most about Growsurf is that I can create single-sided, double-sided, leaderboard and milestone type rewards. The second thing I like the most is that it detects fraudulent entries which help​ you capture real referrals and reward only those that deserve it.

Cons

The onboarding guide can be better and it could have more templates to setup campaigns​ faster.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

At the moment, GrowSurf seems like a better fit plus it offers more value for the money.

Reasons for switching to GrowSurf

This software makes more sense for small businesses. Viral Loops is great but it is not as practical for my specific use at the moment.

Peter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Clever, powerful, easy-to-use and with great people supporting it.

The needs of our current project were rather prickly, and required a few programs to play nice together. GrowSurf works beautifully with our toolset (ConvertKit, CouponCarrier and Zapier). I had a few bespoke issues that the guys in support addressed quickly, politely and effectively. Their support levels are exceptional.

Pros

The UI is intuitive, logical, and offers excellent feature descriptions as you build. Everything works as advertised, which is a rare delight.

Cons

Struggling to find any cons. It's really very good for building a double-sided rewards/referral program.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

Their support documentation is clear, concise, and it answered all my pre-sale questions. The pricing tiers are very reasonable, integrations are comprehensive, and the options available for importing, managing and reporting on campaign participants is thorough, yet still easy to grasp.

Federico

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Great software

So far soooo good. I was able to implement a referral program for demoing internally the product in almost no time.

Pros

A great piece of software. Well crafted and user friendly from the ground up. I like how easy it is to set up campaigns and customize every single aspect of it.

Cons

Not having "teams" to have more than a user per account could be a con but that I can overcome easily.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

Has the features I need while pricing is fair.

Reasons for switching to GrowSurf

ReferralHere was not so flexible as I needed.

Chino

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

No need to compare other referral marketing solutions. I've compared them all, and we went with them

Pros

Their quick-campaign creation and super fast customer support are amazing. Value for price is also unmatched. PRICE: Starting - Viral Loops: $49 - Growsurf: $89 - Branch: Free - Friendbuy: $749 - Extole: $3,000 (lol) - Referral Rock: $200 - Wish pond: $99

Cons

The webhooks had some failures for us, but support quickly cleared it up.

Reasons for switching to GrowSurf

- VL templates' aesthetics don't fit our brand - Campaign creation took too too long - VL integrations did not work, and are not robust

Henry

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Clipsal Solar Review

Really good so far, we are very eager to launch!

Pros

- Well documented / robust API - Multiple Reward Types - Clean UI - Great support and onboarding - Zapier Integration - HTML Rich Email Templates with variables

Cons

- Waiting to get reward contact details in the API (i.e. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] -> There are no details about who the referral was) - The dashboard had a few limitations, would be great to be able to filter on more parameters - No AUS Giftcards

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

1) Needed to have an API and integration with Hubspot (Found Referral Rock, Referral Candy and Growsurf) 2) We to the Capterra Reviews 3) Looked at Cost / Capterra review and chose growsurf!

Josh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Easy to use and essential for our business

The customer support was great – [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] always answers my (various) questions within the day and is willing to help with anything. Highly appreciated his help through the whole way.

Pros

The optionality and out of the box integration growsurf has with zapier, tangocard, and their API. We use growsurf everywhere, from our landing page, to dashboard, to onboarding, and it even silently powers our marketing and partnership arms. Have no bad things to say about it.

Cons

nothing, genuinely a great software and have no complaints.

User Profile

Tracy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

So far, so good!

Willful has gotten to where it is today thanks to the ongoing word-of-mouth support from our customers to their loved ones. Before GrowSurf, tracking and rewarding through our internal program was time-consuming, manual, and gave us 0 analytics insight. GrowSurf brought us from being lucky to have 1 referral in a week to earning 5 new customers from referrals just last weekend! The platform has totally unlocked our ability to scale and optimize referral rewards as we grow. While a lot of other non-enterprise B2C referral platforms make it easy to integrate on eCommerce platforms like Shopify, integration support for custom web apps is limited. GrowSurf worked with our engineering team to integrate on our custom web app via their API. What's great is that I can make quick copy changes on the email and social share functionalities without dev support, and I needed minimal support syncing GrowSurf with our email marketing platform.

Pros

Low, scalable price. Highly-customizable. Integration on custom apps via API. Mailchimp integration. Ability to review rewards before fulfillment. Fast response times from Customer Support team.

Cons

The dashboard can be a bit buggy at times (participant activity feed not updating with referral activity) but I understand this is a result of a recent massive update.

Terry

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Great product and well developed

Pros

Growsurf is well thought and super simple to use. Basically I have used everything and this is one of the top ones with ease. There are unique features which makes it great. For instance on the bottom right or in any place you like, you can add a notification for people to make them join in your contest. The detail on this is that you can edit what the notification says for people who are already signed up. Great stuff...

Cons

I don't think the UI needs a tweak. It's one the most well thought UI's I've ever seen. There can be more templates and obviously more integrations even though there are webhooks and zapier.

User Profile

Jared

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Exactly what we needed and more

Their customer service has been incredible. The product is easy to use and pretty straightforward to setup, but as I needed small tweaks to design (labels removed, integration help), they were super-responsive.

Pros

What I liked the most was that I could implement this through my marketing team without having to get my developers involved and taken off task for the product they were building (that this whole referral tool was needed to promote).

Cons

The order of the waitlist heavily favors referrals, so it's not necessarily the true order of signups (ie - people with zero referrals are randomly placed on the list as opposed to by timestamp).

User Profile

Lu Wee

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Exactly what I was looking for in a referral software for my website

Pretty good experience so far. I'm on the way to launching my first campaign soon so hopefully, I'll be able to get some cool results from there.

Pros

I've been shopping around for a referral marketing software that offered a "Give $10, Get $10" as well as a sort of "refer friends and get swag" sort of setup, so stumbling upon GrowSurf was like striking gold. Love the Zapier integration which allows me to hook up with all my favorite Zapier tools. The UI is really nice, clean and modern - which is something I really value in any software.

Cons

It does take a bit of learning to understand how everything works. For me, the most challenging part was automating the rewards (you can do this manually too, but I would love to automate it). It's my first time setting up this type of system, so this is to be expected.

STEPHANE

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Great tool, Great Support

Growsurf is an amazing tool that help generate an additional source of revenue for my company all while rewarding my customers.

Pros

It's easy to implement, has great tracking capabilities and support is highly responsive when needed.

Cons

Can be glitchy at times but nothing that cannot be fixed.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

After reviewing several referral program softwares, growsurf was the best tool for us based on features offered and pricing options.

User Profile

Chi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

You can kickstart your referral program within a day!

Really love the product and team. The referral program software that really stood out in our search.

Pros

- Super intuitive and user-friendly - Easy to set up - Amazing support team - Good price point - Great visual and design you don't need to change much (e.g. the default landing page)

Cons

It's a relatively yong company so the product has some glitches here and there. But nothing that will impact your program.

David

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

The Ultimate Referral Tool

Pros

- the UI is clean and easy to navigate - different type of rewards to choose from - straight forward workflow with various options for further customization. - different level control of fraud prevention

Cons

- the only ESP with native integration is Mailchimp - the tool is still quite new, I hope to see them deliver the Landing Page soon.

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Good solution for referral programs

Pros

It’s very easy and fast to integrate Customizable Lots of options and programs

Cons

I have to figure out how to use it on a multi lingual site and app

Johnathon

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

This is the real deal

It'll allow me to spread the word a lot quicker and get youtube influencers on board.

Pros

Very easy to setup a campaign and add it to my website

Cons

For my use case, I was experiencing difficulty getting the triggers to work, but that isn't a grow surf issue, it's just the way my site is setup.

Robert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

GrowSurf Go-To Software for Streamlined Referral Program

It has been on the up and up. After we worked through the hurdles when first implementing the software it has been extremely easy to use. Although we have no found the secret sauce for our Referral Program, I know GrowSurf will be easy to get the program kicked off.

Pros

When looking for a referral software it was extremely important that our current users had an easy experience passing along the VP of our product all while eliminating manual tasks by our User Success to keep the program running. GrowSurf's unique customer code allows our users to forward along the referral email for easy tracking of who participated.

Cons

The free and premium versions can get a bit confusing especially when not providing the same level of support for free subscribers.

Reasons for choosing GrowSurf

It was the easiest to implement into our CRM and provided the unique customer ID that our participants could share with friends/colleagues.

Fernanda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Solid referral tool

Pros

This software accomplishes the goal it set out to accomplish. It makes it easy to set up a referral program. Period. It takes just a few minutes to set up and the customization options are limited but all the essential ones are covered. I love that they have many types of reward options.

Cons

I wish it was a little simpler to integrate the tool into our website and to preview what it would look like before integrating.

User Profile

Thiago

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Growsurf is great for a referral program

Growsurf is helping us at Deer Designer to reward customers that refer us to their audience.

Pros

Growsurf is easy to navigate and works really well as a referral system.

Cons

The UI could do with a bit of design love, but it's easy to navigate.

Reasons for switching to GrowSurf

Trying new options

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Part of our growth toolbox

Pros

We wanted to add something like this to our toolbox. Who doesn't like to get give something and get something? Both sides are happy. It helps us help our clients grow their lists.

Cons

There are a few bells and whistles on the roadmap that we want to see implemented but overall what we already have works to our satisfaction.

Martin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

A simple referral marketing software

Pros

The templates are all setup for common scenarios. You just have to select the template for the referral program you wish to use, fill in the details, and launch the campaign. It's about as easy as it gets in terms of setting up a referral program.

Cons

No Stripe support. Stripe integration is key to making this software tops against the competition. I am not able to use this software fully at the moment until there is integration for Stripe so I'm just patiently waiting for it before switching over completely.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

This is an amazing software that will blow your mind

Pros

You can run basically any type of referal campaign you can think of: A classic referral campaign, an affiliate campaign, a partnership campaign... The best is the widjet they add on your website that allows everyone know about your campaigns.

Cons

I would like that it would be real multilanguage based on the browser of the visitor instead of having to duplicate campaigns before translating it (you need one "different" duplicated campaing for every different language)

Showing 1 - 25 of 27 reviews
GrowSurf

GrowSurf

4.67/5 out of 27 reviews
PriceDemo