All PhotoShelter for Brands Reviews

1-25 of 252 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great product, does what it says on the tin

exceptional

PROS

Really easy to use and very comprehensive, everything is where it should be, in a format that I recognise.

CONS

Never used the customer support so may be missing out on features. The download button seems to move sometimes.

Jay

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Libris is a very effective tool to manage thousands of digital files and share easily with others.

Incredibly effective and efficient file management that's so easy to share with others. It is the solution that emerged from hours and hours of research into digital asset management systems. I simply cannot function well without it.

PROS

As a cloud solution, this system is easily accessible to all users. The administrative side of things is well thought and well designed and packed full of the right features to effectively manage countless files. It integrates easily and well with Lightroom and the optional Adobe connector makes managing assets during the production process even easier. This software has saved me countless hours of work and has helped me and my operations to be far more efficient. Administrators and editors have to thoroughly learn the nuances of this system, but after a week... it's automatic. Processing files take only a few minutes from start to finish, complete with keywording either while importing the images into Libris or by adding them to images after they're imported. Too, the sharing mechanism works great with easy to design templates to ensure clients always get the right info to access their files. In short, I cannot imagine doing my work well without Libris. Oh, and their support team is FANTASTIC... responsive and thorough.

CONS

I would like to see a little more flexibility with back-end privileges. You can have taggers, contributors and editors, but the hierarchy is not progressive in that contributors can also be taggers. Too, the Lightbox is a great option, but it's not designed to share all images within a Lightbox to a user for batch download. I would like to see a couple enhancements: 1.) better notification options when adding personnel so that email addresses you share to can be automatically incorporated into the notification. For example, if I share to Betty_smith@blahblah.com but she uses the alias Betty.smith@blahblah.com this causes confusion. So, as an editor and administrator, you MUST make sure you share the exact email address with the user when they first access the system. It seems this could be automated. 2.) notification to an editor and/or administrator when new files are uploaded for approval and placement. The are minor issues.

Amber

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2019

Disappointed

Not pleasant. I was hoping this software would be more useful and be more intuitive.

PROS

It holds my digital assets in one place.

CONS

This software is not friendly for video. I'm unable to bulk-change assets if any videos are selected, and singling them out is not easy to do. I also don't like that you have to create an image to be the placeholder photo for a folder, even if the only assets you need/want to have in that folder are videos. It is difficult to filter through our assets. My team and I spent hours adding custom meta data to our assets just to realize that we don't have a way to filter through them. It is also not convenient that video takes a long time to upload and you can't exit out to another page to work on other tasks. If you can help with any of the above issues please let me know.

Reason for choosing PhotoShelter for Brands

It seemed like it would fit our needs.

Reasons for switching to PhotoShelter for Brands

My team was overwhelmed with the mess that our Dropbox had become.

Susan

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Libris has made digital asset management so functional and user friendly for my department

It's an easier access storage solution for our library of images. It's a great system for sharing and collaborating. It has given me the ability to hunt down images fast and deliver them to the client easily. I also love that you can organize it in the way that works best for you.

PROS

I love that the Libris platform is so intuitive, clean and user friendly. The multiple ways to search give flexibility to the user and the sharing controls really allow you to be specific with who can access your images. Invited users can create light boxes within the system to allow for collaboration which is such a handy feature. I love that the images show up large on the screen making image selection easier and I also love that users can select their desired size of download. You don't always need the full size, full resolution version! Downloads are always fast and without error. The customer support is fantastic and fast. I also appreciate all the tutorials, blogs and webinars offered as part of your membership. They do a great job of keeping photographers up to date on equipment, trends and general news in the field of photography. As a member, you feel like a part of a community that's cheering you on and there to help you succeed.

CONS

My only complaint about the system is the lightbox feature feels a bit outdated and cumbersome. You can't "select all" for downloading or even to set permissions for downloading. You have to do it one by one, which is very tedious. I hope they update this soon. I've found it's easier to copy selected images into a new gallery instead and share the gallery link as a way to collaborate, but it's just a half workaround because only the admin can create galleries, whereas invited users can only create light boxes.

Aaron

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Libris and the LR plugin have become an important part of our daily workflow, with a few caveats.

Ease of use and user-friendly access for our Art Teams.

PROS

Extreme ease of use, excellent tagging options, relatively responsive website and LR plugin. Reasonably quick upload speeds. I am a staff photographer at a regional publisher with 6+ magazines in production. I use Libris daily to file 3-4 assignments a day, 5 days a week.

CONS

A few minor issues - Libris' plugin occasionally throws a Javascript framework error (I am running the latest version of Adobe LR CC as of 8'14'17) during uploads. Oddly it happens with only one or two files in random sets of photos, and will function perfectly for everything else. The LR plugin also does not quickly or reliably download and display Gallery/Collection links in the LR plugin while being used in the Export dialog in Lightroom. A customizable "home page" or a way to default Admin accounts to redirect automatically to a collection or gallery would be nice when logging into Libris on the web - I would rather login and start at the top of the root folder of our Library vs the default splash page that I get now, as most of the time I login to Libris to fix a tag or confirm I've uploaded files correctly from LR. I access this page several times a day and any time savings here would pay dividends in the long run given how much I access Libris. Overall, it's a great product that could use a little UI and interface streamlining to minimize the number of clicks that power users need to perform an action. Right click functionality (a la dropbox) would also be better/faster than the current "Actions" dropdown tab. If possible, upload setting "profiles" (image quality, image sizing, watermarking, etc) in the Libris LR plugin would also save people like me some time. Thanks!

Emily

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Photo Archiving/Organizing Must Have!

We use Libris for city government photo organizing/archiving. My department had over 5,000 photos to organize and Libris helped a daunting task become manageable and achievable. Having a place to organize photos properly makes our department function more efficiently and smoothly; we get many requests for photos on a daily basis. Libris makes photos searchable and easily findable with metadata tagging and keywords, which we love. Libris employees were there for us every step of the way during the initial set-up process and are still there for us currently with any questions we have.

PROS

We most like Libris' functionality regarding photo organizing and sharing. Libris equips its users with a variety of ways to quickly upload photos and create a library structure that makes sense to your organization. We love the ability to tag photos in batch and personally add metadata to photos. This way, our photos are searchable, but also browsable through Libris' collections and galleries structure. Sharing photos is easy and super customizable as well. With the option to add passwords to galleries and set expiration dates for links we send to outside shareholders, we have more control over privacy and access to our photos. Through working with Libris, the customer service has been great. Questions are answered in a timely manner and the Libris staff is readily available through email or phone each day. We enjoyed our multiple training sessions and demos. The staff at Libris is willing to help in whatever way possible.

CONS

At times the software can run slow and I accidentally deleted 2,000 photos one time due to a display glitch on the backend site. After deleting the photos, I looked in the trash bin to find them but I could not, since there is no structure of collections or galleries in the trash bin. Instead, the photos were in the trash can in order according to date, which is not helpful when you already have other photos in the trash bin as well. I had no other choice but to re-upload the photos.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Great content library and media storage platform with search functionality and meta tag features

For an enterprise level product based business with over 100,000 unique SKUs, we were in desperate need of a cloud storage solution for thousands of photos, videos, and text deliverables. PhotoShelter is a professional solution at a price point that will meet most agencies or mid-sized companies.

PROS

PhotoShelter does an amazing job of storing thousands of high resolution content files. Activity tracking and workflows aid in project management. The cloud storage solution is fast with efficient search and preview tools.

CONS

PhotoShelter does include some brand management tools but isn't robust enough to be considered a replacement for a true Product Information Manager. Naming conventions and solid standard operating procedures are important to properly upload, label, and tag files. Batch editing or searches without meticulous up front effort is near impossible.

Reasons for switching to PhotoShelter for Brands

Our previous platform was only a cloud storage solution, lacking essential library functions such as search, tags, and previews.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

May not be the best solution for your money

PROS

This software allows you to catalog large quantities of photography and for and additional fee video. The ability for others to view and request photography is great.

CONS

Unless you are selling your photography, and even if you are, there are likely much more economically solutions to your needs. We continue to use it due to an agreement we have, but likely would not choose this again if we needed a new solution.

Ric

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Great media organization tool

One of the key benefits to Libris is offsite storage and backup of files. This was a huge selling point for our IT staff. The user interface is easy to use and powerful. Once we have everything loaded and sorted and tagged, accordingly, finding and sharing our photo assets will be easy.

PROS

Libris makes uploading, organizing, tagging and sharing photos a breeze. It is simple and straightforward.

CONS

It doesn't do it on it's own. Depending on the size of your asset library, you must dedicate time to creating a standard for categorizing and managing your files and then do it.

Brooke

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

I've had no problems with Libris. It's easy to use and I love having all the photos in one spot.

Ease of access and organization to photos.

PROS

The organization is amazing. I'm very OCD about having things altogether and this allows us to keep everything in an orderly manor. I love the sharing function as well. I've had to put together many albums for people and it's nice to share the link with them and they have access to that specific folder instead of all our pictures.

CONS

The only problems I've had were with the users of the software not the software itself. I have no other cons.

Angela

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Libris spans number sub-departments and varying needs

We are just over a year into using the software, and it has served our needs incredibly well. Libris offers many options for collaboration and the Wrike editing tool has been a huge support to our workflow. I very much appreciate the efforts Wrike makes to listen to their customers and improve their product through constant updates and add-on features. We've been very satisfied with the software, overall.

PROS

The software offers many options for customization and it integrates well will Google. The Wrike editing tool has had the greatest, positive impact on easing our workflow and process. There are many great options available in Libris that we, unfortunately, have not had time to explore.

CONS

There was a lot of internal work needed for deployment; the build-out of the application to our department's needs was not very intuitive; and for some, there has been a significant learning curve. The customer service we've received hasn't been impeccable. The response-time has been great, but the knowledgeability from our company rep (in our experience so far) has not been very good.

Courtney

Photography, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

No Regrets

The customer service is phenomenal. They tend to take feedback seriously and implement changes, although I haven't seen any changes made to Lightboxes in the last few years. Two thumbs up all around.

PROS

It saves our team and clients a massive amount of time in the photo search and delivery. It also serves as a portfolio for our photography services.

CONS

The Lightboxes are nearly useless and need to be updated to improve viewing, uploading, batch downloading and other options. I'd like to have a few options to customize the preview look. There should be an option to increase the viewing size on previews as clients have a difficult time checking expressions and making selections quickly from a large gallery when the previews are so small.

Ashley

Sports, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Easy to use, navigate, and collaborate

PROS

Photoshelter has a great navigation structure that enables you to easily sort, navigate, and find the exact assets you're looking for. We can customize how we archive our photos, which is a huge help. The search function has numerous options that allow you to be as broad or specific as you desire. Additionally, the capabilities to limit who can see which photo sets and to track who downloads what provides brand security.

CONS

Preview images can take a while to load, although I'm not sure if that originates on with our IT infrastructure of Photoshelter's. Additionally, unless you are using an iMac, the metadata and gallery panels take up a substantial portion of your screen, limiting how many photos you can view at a time.

Heather

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Libris Review from a marketing standpoint

I love that our product images are finally stored all in one place, and that we have the option to choose to make them available through Libris to our customers. It really helps manage and organize our huge amount of images that we need for various projects on a daily basis.

PROS

I love the ease of use. I myself am not very tech-intuitive, and this site allows me to search quickly and easily for images/videos and find what I need almost immediately. I like that the set-up of the site is very user friendly, and it's easy to find my way around. I like the organization of it as a whole.

CONS

There seem to be a couple of extra steps I have to take each time I want to select or download an image, like double-clicking instead of a single click, or always having to check a box for downloading metadata. But those are really minor issues, more having to do with my own impatience than anything else.

Julie

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Senior graphic designer at a big 10 university for approximately 10 years.

PROS

it's web-based and centralized, so our department of 50+ can access photos anytime, anywhere. I like having a Lightbox to quickly sort through my favorite photos as well. It's streamlined our production process and has made it easier for us designers to be more self-sufficient.

CONS

I was not involved in the set-up or back-end of Libris, but it seems like our department is always having issues with our search results despite what I've heard have been several meetings with Libirs per our key-wording and adding descriptions. Most recently I was using the 'enter' key to submit a keyword search (instead of hitting the submit button), which created issues, bringing up non-keywords/non-global results. In my personal opinion, I'm not in love with the user design interface of the site. Per my rating of customer support, I have had no interactions, therefore have given a 'neutral' score.

Kelly

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2019

I recommend Libris even though it needs just a bit more polish

Libris allows my team to access photos from where ever we might be working. And it provides an easy way for contributing photographers to upload photos to our site.

PROS

•Storage capacity •Ability to categorize collections and galleries •Ability to upload remotely

CONS

•Lack of ability to make the preview galleries larger so I can see more detail •Lack of easier way to clearly understand the permissions for each collection and gallery

Sara

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Photoshelter has made searching and pulling photos for our company so much easier and faster.

PROS

I like that we can control who has permission in our company to see and download specific photos. It's also very helpful giving those permissions to people in other departments, because now they are able to download the photos they want themselves. We no longer have to stop working on time sensitive projects and do it for them, it saves us valuable time that we need as designers to do our job efficiently.

CONS

For some reason the app doesn't work on my phone, thats really the only thing that I would say I dislike the least.

Matt

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT