All Marketo Engage Reviews

1-25 of 642 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ramin

Industrial Automation, 5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed May 2021

Marketo Marketing Automation Review

User Profile

Cameron

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Can't go wrong with the best MAP - but you need to spend time getting it how you like it

I've been using Marketo for over 2 years and have managed multiple instances, including implementing a new one. It's been great to learn and use. I came from HubSpot and although I loved HubSpot, it was limited in it's capabilities because things are locked down to look "pretty" and work more out-of-the-box. What I say is Marketo is for the "big kids"/enterprise/B2B market and HubSpot is more for the SMB market. Marketo also does well integrating with Salesforce, whereas HubSpot's API integration is very locked down and limited.

PROS

What can't Marketo do? Not much! It's the be-all-do-all tool. Tons of features and customization, integrations and functionality.

CONS

If you are looking for a "pretty" software, don't look here. The interface is dated and harder to navigate if you don't know what you are doing. I always tell people that "Marketo is UGLY, but it's POWERFUL." What it trades for looks, it makes up for in functionality and customizations.

Reasons for switching to Marketo Engage

Act-On is NOT a very good platform and is very limited. We knew we wanted more functionality and the ability to really do good marketing. Act-On is even worse than HubSpot and is so limited with it's functionality and the way it works with Salesforce, etc. We just knew we needed to get out of Act-On and I'm happy to say as of this month we are finally free of Act-On's limited forms, landing pages, emails, etc.

Imad

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Great for all businesses

Can't live a day without the software. Sometimes I can't understand somethings, but they have loads of tutorials on their website and YouTube.

PROS

Whatever you can think of in terms of marketing automation, lead management and email marketing, chances are Marketo can do it.

CONS

You can just subscribe and start using it without a little training. And the functionalities are so many, that you really need to know what you are looking for to find it.

Reasons for switching to Marketo Engage

The old software was just too basic compared to Marketo

Winnie

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

The best marketing solution-Marketo Engage

PROS

I I like the flexibility that comes with the tool which helps us to scale our marketing activities

CONS

The tool works perfectly and we have not encountered any technicalities

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

If you can imagine it Marketo can do it!

PROS

Marketo is the most robust platform I have used. You can literally accomplish anything you can think of. I like the engagement programs and streams. Cloning programs and emails are pretty straight forward. I love the database side of Marketo. It's very easy to locate and update user profiles. Listing imports are very fast and easy.

CONS

Although it can do anything, it's a steep learning curve to set anything up. They found the most complicated way of doing easy tasks. 1. No visual flow charts for automation 2. Have fun setting up the email preference and opt-out options. It's a nightmare. 3 The email builder is a complete joke. We ended up signing up with another email designer. 4. The Marketo training videos and tutorials are very high level. You'll find more helpful support in the forums. 5. Customer service is terrible. Have fun talking to someone on the other side of the world that knows less about the product than you. I can't count how many times they tell me something isn't possible only to figure it out later. Oh, and you have to pay for phone support.

Smita

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Great email marketing tool with best in class functionalities and analytics

Overall its a great tool with powerful AI and analytics features.

PROS

Market engage makes is very easy to send personalized emails targeting precision groups and with a specific time using AI. It has a variety of analytics tools available to generate meaningful reports and dashboards.

CONS

Non technical people will find it difficult to setup and manage the system as it's a little complex for people with no IT background. The cost is a little bit on the higher side as well.

User Profile

Gianni

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great segmentation but very slow loading time

Overall, not very satisfied with Marketo. Although it gets the job done, I believe there is a lot of room for growth in this space of account-based marketing.

PROS

Data management and campaign nurturing. The smart list and flow builders our team uses to for segmentation is a tremendous help. Without the automation of these key features, I don't believe our marketing efforts would be very valuable to the company.

CONS

Slow loading times. Our company has many campaign/programs built on a daily bases. We also have our Marketo Database integrated with our CRM. Although the massive amount of data is causing the back-logs, it's not to say this can't be improved.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Basic Use Cases are Great. Integrations with other systems, - less so

Basic use case has been great. Integrating with other systems - less so.

PROS

Basic email marketing and marketing automation tasks can be accomplished with minimal assistance from the technical team.

CONS

Pricing is by record in the DB, so you have to either pay for records that you are not doing anything with, or build a mechanism to move them in and out.Integrations with other systems are troublesome and rarely work as expected. For example, Microsoft Dynamics has a connector, but it only works if the record doesn't already exist in Marketo. Defining an audience in Dynamics for use in Marketo then has to be a hand-coded affair. Very annoying.

Allan

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Great Lead Generation Tool

PROS

It is a great tool for lead generation from our website

CONS

It is a little pricey and we couldn't exclude some modules we don't use

Robert

Newspapers, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Marketing on another level.

PROS

Benn using this marketing tool for a while now and i know it would be a real hussle without it.

CONS

It is a little pricy but if you can afford it is worth.

Billie

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Great software, confusing to set up

It’s a great software once you learn how to set it up however that will likely be difficult.

PROS

It’s a great software, lots of features

CONS

It was extremely confusing to set up and learn

Ed

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Marketo is the Gold Standard of Marketing CRMs in the marketplace!!

My experience with Marketo has been amazing from the sales rep, our implementation specialist, support department and our CSM went over and beyond to make sure we were getting the most value out of the platform.

PROS

I love the deep native integration with Salesforce that allows us to sync data and both company and contact records to communicate through marketing and sync up with our account based marketing campaigns and enabling sales to follow up at the exact right time based on lead scoring and actions take by prospect when consuming our content we deliver in the form of email opens, email clicks and % video views with the amazing integration with Wistia. The Strategies you can deploy are only limited by your creativity as a marketer and sales architect and revenue officer at your company and I absolutely love Marketo!!

CONS

The platform is very robust and takes learning and using it and clearly understand best practices through executional experience running campaigns and this takes an investment of time and it's absolutely worth it and the return on that time investment is the most important revenue driver in our company when combining the power of your sales reps and your sales enablement tool in your tech stack!!

Reason for choosing Marketo Engage

Marketo offers an agency level account allowing us to connect our clients Salesforce with a license of Marketo under our single Agency level account with Marketo Engage which allows us to provide marketing services along with our sales services, aligning both and providing maximum return on our clients investment working with us and a win/win for everyone. Also, Marketo doesn't try and be everything to everybody, they set the standard for marketing CRMs and have an excellent, deep integration with Salesforce and other platforms just didn't match up in comparison.

Reasons for switching to Marketo Engage

We had to connect Infusionsoft with a 3rd party integration platform that had built a custom integration and it was a significant monthly investment and Infustionsoft is an inferior platform compared to Marketo Engage. It was a no brainer to make the switch.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

OMG! Best Software for Email Automation

My overall experience on Adobe Marketo was wonderful. I'm still using this software for email automation and social media marketing.

PROS

One of my company employee suggest me this Adobe Marketo software for email automation and social media marketing. After using it, i found that this software is very helpful for email automation, email marketing, social media marketing, B2B marketing etc. It creates very engaging and responsive emails. Overall, i personally suggest that it's a brilliant software for email automation and social media marketing emails.

CONS

Adobe Marketo is not available for desktop Mac, desktop linex, and desktop chrome book. It has no free trail and free version before purchasing it. I personally felt that, there should be a atleast three days free trail for beginners.

Reason for choosing Marketo Engage

My employee told me that Adobe Marketo is a best software for email automation and for many more. That's why i prefer it on dotdigital.

Reasons for switching to Marketo Engage

I was facing many issues while using dotdigital for email marketing, social media campaign, and email handling. That's why i switch to Adobe Marketo

Austin

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Best-in-class Marketing Automation Solution

PROS

Marketo is the "Porsche with a manual transmission" of marketing automation platforms. It's full of cool features and is incredibly powerful. The strengths: 1) Workflow flexibility that is unmatched by other platforms. Building complex data management, lead scoring, and organizational processes (such as lead routing) is very achievable in Marketo. They basically give you every function they can possibly code and let their customers piece them together as they like (more on this in #7). 2) The engagement programs, primarily meant for lead nurturing, are truly best-in-class. It's a little bit of an adjustment at first, but it really simplifies complex nurturing tracks and saves marketers from putting prospects into multiple tracks at once (which happens more than most admit) 3) The vision is impressive. Marketo has a clear, long-term vision that they continually deliver on. Examples being advances in personalization, ABM, ect. I'd bet on them to lead the way (or buy the way via Vista ) to whatever is next in marketing automation, such as AI or machine learning.

CONS

I love Marketo. But, there are some things I don't love. 1) The landing page builder has made improvements but still, leaves some to be desired. Unless a template available for import matches what you'd like to do, you pretty much have to hire a developer to build your templates. 2) The reporting is somewhat overhyped. They REALLY sell revenue cycle analytics, but in reality, it's tough to implement and even tougher to accurately maintain. Since data is essentially timestamped and not stored in an external record (i.e. like Salesforce has for a campaign member), if you mess it up, you're SOL. Marketo's advice to me was "don't mess up."

User Profile

Jared

Verified reviewer

Machinery, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Marketing strategies with great impact on our sales.

Marketo Engage has allowed us to automate the different advertising campaigns focusing on the different needs of our clients, we have improved the acquisition of new clients and increased sales, we have been using it for 3 years and we have intensified the positive results with great automation in marketing campaigns.

PROS

Marketo Engage is easy to understand software, I really like being able to devise different marketing strategies by segmentation, marketing campaigns are automated, which generates productivity and a greater increase in sales and customers. The collection of customer data is very effective, since based on that we can devise better advertising campaigns and adapt to the needs of customers, it is a highly customizable software.

CONS

The price is a drawback for small businesses, but it is the best software to improve marketing strategies in the short term. For large companies, price is not an issue. Marketo Engage capabilities positively increase sales and customers.

Marek

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Marketo Engage Review

Overall, my experience with Marketo Engage was good. The platform provided a comprehensive suite of marketing automation tools that helped me streamline and optimize my marketing efforts. The ability to create personalized and targeted campaigns, coupled with in-depth analytics, allowed me to drive meaningful engagement with my audience. While there was a learning curve and the pricing could be a potential hurdle for some businesses, my overall experience with Marketo Engage was successful. It proved to be a valuable asset in enhancing my marketing strategies and achieving measurable results.

PROS

One of the things I liked most about Marketo Engage was its comprehensive set of marketing automation features. It offered robust tools for creating and managing marketing campaigns, including email marketing, lead nurturing, and customer segmentation. The ability to automate workflows and personalize content based on customer behavior was highly beneficial. The platform also provided detailed analytics and reporting, allowing me to measure the effectiveness of my campaigns and make data-driven decisions. Overall, Marketo Engage empowered me to deliver targeted and engaging marketing experiences to my audience.

CONS

While Marketo Engage had many strengths, one aspect I liked least was the learning curve associated with the platform. As a powerful marketing automation tool, it required some time and effort to fully understand and utilize its capabilities. The initial setup and configuration process could be complex, especially for users with limited technical expertise. Additionally, the pricing structure of Marketo Engage could be quite high, which might be a drawback for small businesses with limited marketing budgets.

Emanuela

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

My experience with Marketo

We are using Marketo across the whole organization to improve and automate our marketing activities. We are using it at corporate level as well as in each operation (US, UK, DACH, France, Italy, APAC, etc). We improved ability to attract new leads and the engagement of visitors on our website.

PROS

- Workflow: the logic behind the workflows allows to automate manual activities - Lead gen: we improved the engagement of the visitors on our website and we manage the entire lead generation process on Marketo integrated with our CRM. - Programs: it is easy to create and manage emailing and nurture programs with the ability to set rules when the email should be sent. - Forms: we are using Marketo forms and we embedded them on our website.

CONS

- Integration with Dynamics: after 3 years we still have some issues on the integration with MS Dynamics... the 2 systems are not well integrated. - Support: sometimes we had some issues with getting quick replies from support. - Landing pages: it is missing a validation workflow on the thank you pages (to be sure that those who will access the thank you page have successfully filled-out the form included in the landing page).

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Marketo - great marketing automation for larger marketing teams.

When going through the demos & getting pricing from the Sales team make sure to fully understand their pricing. They've changed their pricing model in the past 18 months to be more a la carte so some features you may really like are additional costs. Depending on the size of your database this can start to really add up. Marketo is not suitable for small marketing teams as it requires a ton of set up time & ongoing work to fully leverage its capabilities.

PROS

Easy to track different engagement programs at every stage across multiple steps. Robust criteria for building lead nurturing. Like their lead scoring feature - great way to segment leads based on how they interact with you. Their real-time personalization feature is impressive. Great feature once it's configured correctly.

CONS

The email builder is pretty basic. Leveraging the full capabilities requires a full-time internal resource. Steep learning curve. We needed to invest in a Marketo specialist to help with integration. Marketo is super expensive & that's before taking the extra cost of hiring a Marketo Specialist to help with implementation.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE