All MDaemon Email Server Reviews

1-25 of 29 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Keith

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

In-House Hosting Is Still Valuable

PROS

MDaemon allows for economical, reliable, and customized control of vital email communications. Moving email hosting to cloud has its benefits, but relinquishing control is a big negative. With MDaemon, I control spam filtering, antivirus, and routing rules. As long as MDaemon is affordable and reliable, I will keep email in house.

CONS

Setup is not difficult but there are many steps to get fully implemented.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Cost, features, and scale

Iulius

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Reliable mailing solution at a 1:10th of O365 cost

Positive experience, you can put MDaemon on a pen drive and never stops from running. Very stable and lightweight on RAM and CPU, but from the user's perspective the performance is dictated by a well implemented SSD storage for it's mailbox folder. Technical support was good, they reply to even those without subscribed assistance within two days from opening the ticket. The features & performance / cost factor when compared to O365 was also a very strong point. You pay once and are not obliged to commit after support ending, and have total freedom and control over your mail storage and server configuration.

PROS

- Stability; - Scalability - you can upgrade to larger storage with ease, the mailbox content is only limited by how much Outlook pst files can handle; - Very easy to perform hardware migrations from one machine to another; - Very light on memory and processing resources; - Piece of mind when doing version upgrades (all settings are preserved, no nasty surprises); - It works very well with "previous versions" feature on restoring permanently deleted emails by the user; - Independence and freedom of implementation according to your business needs: you have total control over it's features and settings. SPF implementation was of a great help in protecting our company from Phishing. - Very easy to troubleshoot. Being inhouse we had full access to log files and hardware. Downtimes were rare (one two per year) and when they were occurred were in the order of minutes. - Cost: 500$ per one year support. When it ends, your server keeps running you can still use your server and access data on it. Even so, we opted to continue with support renewal.

CONS

Outlook Connector never lived up to it's name. It didn't performed well with thousands of emails in each folder. I had to return to the Outlook's IMAP profile settings and .pst files to overcome this issue. Outlook Connector didn't worked well with roaming profiles, since it stored some of it's data in AppData Roaming folder instead of Local and when sync issues existed it led to the deletion of Connector's mail account settings.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Was nearly a Microsoft Exchange clone (the user experience on webmail was almost identical) at a fraction of the cost.

Reasons for switching to MDaemon Email Server

It was a ISP mail hosting provider. Sadly since it was public institution it had a poor protection against spam, virus and phishing attacks and when incidences occurred we were left by ourselves to stare at the clouds for several hours.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

My Review

PROS

simple and easy to manage, using form last some years

CONS

easy to use and administrator, easy to manage, Need improvements

Vendor Response

Good morning! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about MDaemon Email. You mentioned that it is easy to use and manage, which is fantastic. You also said that it "needs improvements" - can you tell me more about what we need to do better? Thanks!

Replied January 2020

Ajay

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Peace Of Mind..Easy to Use

You won't go wrong or look back! Mdameon has solved alot of issues. Too many to mention. Most importantly though, solved deliverabilty issues, PST file size / crashing solved with OC. Made user and account management so much easier. General maintenance and management is a breeze. We moved the client from Scalix to Mdaemon and we have never looked back. Thank you AltN team.

PROS

I love the structure of the GUI and the way the various features are grouped, making administration that much more easier. The mail flow logging through each check is also very helpfull in tracing deliverability. The best part of Mdaemon I feel is the simplicity and ease when either moving the installation to another physical machine or upgrading the exisiting installation, no other mail solution comes even close. Mdaemons Webmail is also the most advance and best I have used in the 18 years that i have been in the ISP sector, its your entire mail solution online, accessible from anywhere. Webadmin is also great for remote administration for support staff, without having to access the actual app on the server. The spam assassin intergration also works very well if managed correctly with very few false positives.

CONS

The Outlook connector DB stability and performance is a bit annoying at times and requires constant maintenance once the file size grows. The Live Log viewing and flow via the APP GUI needs to be more manageable, currently you can only print / search the live log, there either needs to be a filter option where your can eitehr filter logs via sender / reciepient / failure etc. or even a terminal option like linux has where you can grep the live log for specific entries.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Mdaemon was more affordable and the transition was much simplier.

Reasons for switching to MDaemon Email Server

Too many issues with Scalix to mention here.

Parrish

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Exceptional alternative to Microsoft Exchange!

We prefer to have our own in-house email server and the same for our clients (when practical). Mdaemon is the perfect solution for rock solid in-house email hosting. It is far less complicated and massively simpler and more straightforward to manage than Exchange.

PROS

We are a very long time user of Mdaemon email server (going back to the late 90's). I especially enjoy the very easy and straightforward server management it provides. We have also used Microsoft Exchange and, without any hesitation, will always choose Mdaemon over Exchange. There is really no comparison when it comes to ease of management and disaster recovery. I also love the fact I can watch, in real time, email flow and server handshakes. This makes it extremely easy to troubleshoot mail flow issues between servers. The logging is also extremely thorough. Also, the fact that all messages are stored as standard text based .msg files means it is extremely simple to backup and restore mailboxes and perform disaster recovery (if ever needed). Lastly, there is the price advantage. Mdaemon pricing simply blows all other comparable options out of the water.

CONS

Honestly, there is nothing I dislike about Mdaemon. It performs exactly as needed and is extremely powerful.

Reasons for switching to MDaemon Email Server

Exchange is more difficult to manage and much more difficult to recover from in the event of server corruption. Mdaemon makes everything much simpler and more reliable.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your comments! We find that, like you, many of our users made the switch from Exchange for the very same reasons.

Replied February 2021

Robert

Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

A decade and more with Mdaemon

We started to use Mdaemon to be able to bring our mail server into or office for complete control of what what happens with our email. We are in the technology field an we need to be able to correct issues without a back and forth with a service provider. Mdaemon fits this bill nicely.

PROS

Mdaemon has many features that very handy in our organization. One of the most useful to me is the logging. Mdaemon can logs its transactions on a day by day basis. This allows me to find (usually myself) the issue to an email delivery or acceptance issue. This is invalueable to me as the admin. Since not every organization uses the correct settings for there email server, the logging allows me to see the problem and bypass it for that specific organization. If I can't find the issue, their tech support has always been able to find my issue and advise on how to fix it.

CONS

The only issue that I have with Mdaemon is really a plus. This is the sheer number of option it contains. This can lead to a little confusion on where to find a setting that you might with to change. Fortunately Mdaemons helps files usually lead me to the correct place. This is usually only an issue with some abnormal issue and it's just part of the learning curve of the software. Once set up and running it just works

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Cost was certainly a issue for us as we are a small company. Also I considered what others have told me about exchange nightmares.

David

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Real time experiences using MDaemon

We are very happy with MDaemon and would gladly recommend to any business wanting to know that they can run a private email server in a configuration that is entirely geared towards their business.

PROS

MDaemon is an exceptionally broad featured application that can accommodate a very wide range of real-time business scenarios. We setup and run email services for several companies who depend on reliability and the ability to customise their requirements. We run the services in the cloud using AWS which sits well with this product for security and 24/7 usage.

CONS

End users don't need to know some of the complexities of how certain features work, so we do build into our contracts a service element where we do all that for them. Not really a 'con' but any business needing to deploy MDaemon is probably going to leverage the best from the product with a suitable level of support from their IT provider.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

For our business as a technology consultancy and service provider, MDaemon provides us with the flexibility to work behind-the-scenes to fully customise the product for the end user.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback David, we are very happy that MDaemon Email works so well for you.

Replied March 2021

David

Packaging and Containers, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

20 years later and we're still happy!

PROS

Ease of implementation. Realistically, it doesn't take much to get MDaemon up and running.

CONS

I wish there was better explanation of some of the features - sometimes the amount of options available becomes overwhelming for someone that administers a mail server 5 minutes a week and does not remain up to date on the latest internet mail features and RFCs.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

MDaemon was far less costly to implement then Exchange. Additionally, when we implemented in the late '90s, MDaemon was one of the few programs that worked well with modems and dialup connections. Back then our facility did not have a dedicated internet connection. Every 30 minutes MDaemon would dial up our provider, download messages from the server, distribute them to our internal users, send mail, and disconnect. It wasn't possible to get Exchange to run that way. We've stuck with MDaemon over the years because it's a professional level server that is not a resource hog and does not require a hundred hours of training to get running.

Ted

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

MDaemon Apps

Overall very pleased with using MDaemon and its related apps.

PROS

Transparent Troubleshooting and Tracing of messages and other errors.

CONS

Trying to find answers in the help section

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

I have been running MDaemon since the 90s, have used many others, but have always preferred MDaemon for its simplistic and transparent functionality.

Vendor Response

Hi Ted, thank you for your feedback! I want to address your comment in the Cons section - I'm not sure if you're referring to the Knowledge Base or the Support Files platform, but you are correct either way! That's why we are in the process of completely overhauling our Knowledge Base and will release it with our new website this year, and we are also working on updating the Support Files platform, though we do not have a release date for that yet unfortunately. Thank you again for your comments, we're glad you're pleased with MDaemon!

Replied April 2021

Muhammad

Textiles, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

MDaemon Experience

We were previously used Webhosting, MS Exchange, Zimbra and few other email applications and facing severe issues like multipop emails, backup of end users emails, filters and spam issue. Then we decide to test MDaemon v14.5 and it was amazingly help us to fix our all the above issues and also minimize our day to day issue.

PROS

We were previously used Webhosting, MS Exchange, Zimbra and few other email applications and facing severe issues like multipop emails, backup of end users emails, filters and spam issue. Then we decide to test MDaemon v14.5 and it was amazingly help us to fix our all the above issues and also minimize our day to day issue.

CONS

It must have some more filtering options, we are feel that v19.5 is slow processing due to some issues even we are using x64 application.

Francesca

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Server mail locale, intuitivo, veloce e affidabile!

Esperienza nel complesso molto positiva. E' un software che consgilio alle PMI.

PROS

Prodotto semplice da installare e da amministrare nel tempo. Molto comodo anche lato end user in quanto gli utenti possono essere indipendenti nel poter creare le loro regole; cambi password; firme; inoltri e risposte automatiche. Il software inoltre è compatibile con tanti altri software di terze parti.

CONS

Non mi piace l'interfaccia utente e il software base non supporta alcune funzionalità come contatti e caldendari condivisi.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Per la semplicità di gestione e l'affidabilità del prodotto.

Jatin

Food & Beverages, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Best low cost Mailserver with all the essential features

Excellent experience, it has all the features (except encryption) which is required for good mail server.

PROS

- Low cost solution - Stability - Performance - Reliability - Support for resolving issues

CONS

- Email encryption should be present. - Engineering/Developers take long time to introduce few features.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

- Cost - Easy deployment

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback Jatin! We are so pleased that MDaemon Email is working well for you. Please note however, that MDaemon has both email and attachmenet encryption using OpenPGP for increased security. Also, we release updated version of our email software twice a year, with Version 20 coming out this spring! Thank you again!

Replied February 2020

Don

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

14 years and going strong!

As an admin, it enables me to keep an eye on what comes in and goes out. The log files give all the information I need to track any issues that arise. The IM conversations are all logged so any company usage violation can be documented for departmental manager use.

PROS

We have been with MDaemon for 14 years. It has proven to be a stable and reliable platform. The content filters are very flexible. After 14 years of tweaking, I now have an email server that stops most junk and malicious emails from reaching my users. The Instant messaging client is an integral part of our internal communications. It has Calendering, Tasks, Notes, all configurable. It's a very affordable alternative to more expensive systems.

CONS

I don't have any dislikes of the system. It just works. Support is phenomenal. The staff can help with any issues.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Cost and Features

Tony

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

MDaemon Mail Server, easy to use

After being years with the product, software has improved alot and the latest versions are really easier to use/manage.

PROS

Migration, Upgrade, Deployment, all these admin tasks work easily. User, domain management as well.

CONS

Since we are based in Australia and not on the same timezone, we struggle to get support quickly. I know that there is a paid version that gets you covered 24/7, but we can cope with the overnight answers, that are really helpful BTW.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Had its own Webmail and interface for end users was better than others.

Reasons for switching to MDaemon Email Server

In our case, Exchange was too slow and need of high resources.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback Tony! I'm happy to hear our support team serves you well, despite the time zone difference.

Replied July 2021

Mark

Broadcast Media, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent Email Server Software

Email services for remote employees across numerous devices. Mailing lists are important to our group. MDaemon gives us everything we need and more.

PROS

I have been running MDaemon Email Server Software 24/7 since 2001 and v5.x and have watched the development over the years. The folks at AltN are constantly fine tuning features, adding new ones as technology changes and fixing issues when they are reported or discovered. The SPAM handling options are superb and mailing lists are easy for others to manage without my intervention. Webmail is solid.

CONS

There is very little to dislike about this software. AltN has implemented features over time that are important to me.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Price vs performance and features.

Narendra

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Low Cost and High Result-MDaemon Email Server

now days all are knows regarding spam and junk, recently i face this problem for my organisation , everyday i am getting per day 50 to 100 mails , i call to support team they immediate attend my call after that i resolve the issue. I make it spam level 2.5/ now all the spams going to separate folder.

PROS

I am using this software from 2013 , when i am new user at that time i am not able to understand this software after that i started to learn , i am very happy and easy to use , now latest version came 19.5 very nice and useful features. Security Setting DMARC Settings Screen Location SPM Filter

CONS

its is very light and flexible simple user creating...

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Simple, reliable and flexible..

Eric

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Mdaemon...Better then Exchange

Overall, I have never encountered a notable issue.

PROS

I like how easy it is to use, that it cost a tenth of what any other comparable software (Exchange/O365). I have used it for years, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to host their own email server, Archive etc...

CONS

WE live in a world where Outlook is king as far as clients for email are concerned, I don't like that the option to work 100% with Outlook cost extra...but, if I could get the Board to spend the money, I would.

Reason for choosing MDaemon Email Server

Price, local administration, archive costs.

Ranju

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE