User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(56)

56

4 stars

(25)

25

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize."

  • "Easy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available"

  • "Easy to use, reliable and an overall well though product. I use it daily and it is my to go recommandation for AB testing"

  • Cons

  • "The price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for."

  • "Overall Optimizely has worked well, but the pricing is a bit high.. I suppose it's a case of you get what you pay for!"

  • "Some of the interface at the time was hard to understand. I had to read through a lot of online help to fully understand the product."

Browse Optimizely Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 87 results

June 2017

Crystal from Surety Solutions, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Optimizely is the tool taught in CRO classes

Pros

I took a CRO course this past year and Optimizely was the go-to A/B testing software. Here's why: #1: Super easy to use. You do not need to know how to code, anyone can set up a test and launch it same-day. #2: Super easy to understand data. Optimizely essentially analyzes your data for you. Obviously, you should know your stuff when it comes to statistical significance when to stop a test (hint: not just when you reach statistical significance), etc, but the graphs and data charts are crisp and clean. #3: Only what you need. I'm sure Optimizely has a TON of features, but I just used it for simple A/B testing. It worked well for this, and I wasn't bogged down with complex aspects that I didn't need. For someone who does want a more complex tool, I'm sure you can find that in Optimizely with more of the advanced features.

January 2020

Ciprian from 4Property

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The best A/B testing tool

Pros

The best A/B testing tool in my opinion. Light footprint, no screen flickering for variants, experiments easy to set up using the integrated editor and code IDE.

Cons

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this software.

June 2020

Steven from Playlister

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

MVT concepts and phase release features

We use Optimizely primarily for data and headline testing. We have also used Optimizely to release in a phased manner to allow control testing of new features on a smaller section of users.

Pros

Ability to segment users based on attributes (such as age, location, and platform) and evaulate interface concepts, data and headline changes, as well as phased deployment of completed features. Rich dashboard to monitor experiments and provide data snapshots during a campaign.

Cons

App integration is more challenging than the script used for web, though there are client libraries in Swift, Java, and other languages to make this easier.

June 2018

James from TheAdvisorCoach.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Okay A/B testing tool - there are better options

I got the ability to set up A/B tests on my website. Nothing too special, since there's a bunch of other software out there that will do the same thing.

Pros

I was attracted to Optimizely because it's a low-cost tool to run A/B tests on websites. Even though their prices have changed over the years, it's still one of the lowest-cost solutions out there. It's also easy to use, because the most time-consuming step is putting the code on your site. If you have a small website, you can get it done in a few minutes.

Cons

Preview mode is really buggy. I also wish there was a way to segment the results by audience. For example, if I'm running a different type of traffic to a page I want to be able to see a separate page of data specifically for that. The new goal setting flow is also buggy, but it is new. Hopefully they fix all the kinks as time goes on.

November 2019

Zuzana from Softchoice

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

An intuitive tool adapted to the needs of its customers.

It has been very useful at the time of performing the A / B testing, it adapts to the needs of the client, which is an ideal aspect and the reason why it has been implemented in the company, can be used on different platforms and devices without any Disadvantage providing mobility its use extends from a desktop PC to mobile devices without reducing its software potential.

Pros

It is a very simple tool that allows you to perform analytical tests on the web, its interface is complete, it is not necessary to apply a line of code which reduces some time in that aspect, has a good reputation and is also ideal for those beginners who work in web design since it does not require previous knowledge, from my point of view it is an ideal tool that should not be missing in any web development.

Cons

Its characteristics as well as functionalities are suitable both for different users and level of knowledge regarding web development, nothing to say about it.

April 2018

catherine from Marketing Surfers - Tu Agencia de Marketing en Internet

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Excellent AB testing tool!

Pros

With this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code. The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.

Cons

This software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful

January 2020

Alexandra from Joyn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Still requires some features

A product you can rely on. Good documentation and fact customer support

Pros

Easy to use, reliable and an overall well though product. I use it daily and it is my to go recommandation for AB testing

Cons

The fact that the metrics can't be filtered down by propertries and that you can't create your custom metrics based on existing metrics and properties in the Full Stack version

August 2018

Gianni from Ptrace Security GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Optimizely is a great experimentation platform

Pros

Optimizely makes it very easy to create the most appealing site for customers, because you can test several scenarios and determine the setup that has the highest conversion rate.

Cons

The problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.

November 2019

Sorin from Marketing And Advertising

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Gives Google Optimize a run for its money

I've used Optimizely for clients' websites. It generally felt snappy and proved very useful, especially using analytics to prove theories and success.

Pros

- Ease of use: Simple to get started experimenting and testing within the app. - Focused product: The key here is to have the experimentation and not feel left out by other features. - Fast: Neither the UI, nor the actual experiments felt slow. So I really appreciated that.

Cons

- The business model: It started of as a simple SaaS tool and balooned into B2B-ish enterprise land. Where you need to contact sales to even create a trial (if it's even available). - Not easy for beginners: Coming over from other a/b testing tools, it was using the same concepts I was used to. But I can understand why it might seem scary for some. - Not always user focused: The product seems more focused on its image and global standing than focusing on user needs.

Reasons for Choosing Optimizely

Its focus was on just the a/b testing and experimentation, nothing more.

October 2019

katherine from fyber

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

industry leader in ab testing software

ab testing landing page designs for conversion goals

Pros

offers ab testing, multivariate testing, and robust reporting and analytics as well as additional integrations

Cons

limited integrations with 3rd parties for visualization and data management platforms are not turnkey

August 2016

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Optimizely is the easiest yet powerful A/B testing tool

We have ran optimizely for more than 2 years and getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, We have made some great sucessful test and started changing (more likely, creating) the testing culture. Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes to your website without knowing to much about web development. Overall its a great tool

Pros

Ease of use Customer support Code edition allowed CSS changing allowed Complete traffic control Results with statistical significance

Cons

Not reporting incremental revenue per product (just total revenue) Editor loading can be hard to get with proxy activated

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Very powerful A/B Split Testing software

Optimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it. It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.

Pros

Their tech is flawless. They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data. Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.

Cons

It's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype

Pros

I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.

Cons

We had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Great testing tool

Optimizely is one heck of a tool that every marketer should use. Recommended.

Pros

As a marketer, I love Optimizely for several reasons. 1. It makes testing a piece of cake. 2. Optimizing a website or any landing page for conversions is one of the best things Optimizely offers you with. 3. It is extremely easy-to-use. 4. Real-time a/b testing lets you monitor any two landing pages for conversions, clicks, and more. 5. User-interface is amazingly intuitive.

Cons

1. It is expensive. Lowering the price a bit will make it affordable and a lot of startups and small businesses will then be able to use it. 2. It might hurt your site load time which will impact SERPs. So make sure what you prefer.

October 2016

Chad from American Medical Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Easiest A/B Testing Platform Out There

I have been using Optimizely for over 2 years now. In my previous role I used another testing and targeting tool that was much more complex to use. Optimizely's user interface is intuitive and the statistical algorithms give you confidence in selecting a winner. The best part about Optimizely is it's support. They have a support line and they will work tirelessly until your issue is resolved. I recommend Optimizely's platform to anyone looking to increase web conversions or provide more personal web experiences.

Pros

- Easy to use - Support - Great UI - Statistical modeling - Large optimization community

Cons

The price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Expensive, but does its job well

Pros

If you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.

Cons

Their test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).

January 2017

Tim from Property24

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Great product for mid to large sized web businesses

Optimizely is very easy to implement, and anyone can start experimenting with the product. To get the most value out of the product you will need to invest in managing a test backlog, test plans, and documenting the results of each experiment. It also helps to have someone with strong front-end development and JS skills to implement experiments as it opens up the capabilities of the product dramatically.

Pros

Easy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available

Cons

Hard to get to all the functionality without investing development resources

November 2018

Oleksandr from PVD Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A tool for website optimization

Pros

The greatest thing about Optimizely is its setup mode. It is very fast and functions greatly both for websites and mobile devices. Your task is to add their code to your website and you can start optimization. What is more, this software tests everything from button colors to all titles. All changes and errors are depicted on your dashboard. All reports are clear and simple, so you will see everything in front of your eyes.

Cons

It should be stated that Optimizely has a few distinctive drawbacks that should be improved. Firstly, a preview mode isn’t perfect. There are cases when it is buggy and it’s rather annoying. Secondly, a function of testing in general lacks of functionality. Often, it is hard to set up and manage tests. Moreover, redirect tests work very badly. The same thing is with Metrics because it isn’t developed enough.

April 2018

Laura from Hickety Pickety

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses

Pros

I've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.

Cons

I'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

User-friendly AB Testing Tool

Great AB Testing platform. Easy to integrate

Pros

We used the standard version of Optimizely for our website and campaign landing pages. It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing

Cons

The pricing model is too high as compared to other competitor products in the market. We did not renew our subscription after a year owing to this fact

February 2018

Justin from Diablo Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services.

The ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!

Pros

Allows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.

Cons

For an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.

August 2016

Zsolt from AppFolio Inc. \ MyCase

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Most advanced in its class

Optimizely is definitely the most advanced and widely referred to as "industry standard" conversion optimization tool currently on the market. It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.

Pros

Robust, trustworthy, flexible, huge user base, huge knowledge base

Cons

Expensive, but only if you're not using it to its full potential.

October 2016

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

General usage of Optimizely

We're using Optimizely to confirm our improvement hypothesises and our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.

Pros

- Test setup is fast and easy, without using lots of time and effort. - Customisable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance. - Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms. - Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.

Cons

- The previews often never load - this could just be our network. - Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining,

Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes. With this tool, can check which web page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time.

Pros

Is a robust and reliable application, easy to configure, easy to use, with good professional support services. I like the fact that you do not need to know how to code and allows us to concentrate on running multiple tests. Very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you can also access the raw code, which you can specify to those things that the editor may have done. I enjoy the Optimizely analyzes.

Cons

The URL does not have a bulk upload option for unrelated URL lists. It has matches of substrings and regular expressions that cover most other needs. The price is higher than some tools. It is difficult to reach all the functionalities without development resources.desarrollo.

May 2019

Josh from FamilySearch

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great tool for sample sizes and testing

Pros

It was fairly straight forward on how to use it to ensure that we were testing adequate sample sizes in order to get significance from our testing.

Cons

One thing I wish it had was more information about different testing strategies or ways to optimize current practices.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Introduced Our Team To World Of A/B Testing - Great Product

Pros

- Absolutely amazing dashboard for analysis, really saved our team time vs. individually getting our developers to change one element only to find out it performed worse.. This tool will save you from that - Customer support was great - SUPER easy to use given it's capabilities - Ton of features to utilize

Cons

- Incredibly expensive for what our team paid for BUT in terms of a cost/benefit analysis it's paid off (with the time we've saved going to our developers for A/B testing changes to the website, it'll pay itself off in a 1 year or so)

May 2018

Eric from SecurityMetrics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Optimizely Simplifies the A/B Testing Process

Optimizely is a great software solution to address A/B testing and to improve your website!

Pros

In a previous job, I used Optimizely a little bit to A/B test our content (especially on our website) and it provided great insight into how people were interacting with our website and was vital to make necessary web and text changes.

Cons

Since I didn't know as much about A/B testing when I used Optimizely, I didn't completely know how to best use Optimizely's full range of features and I felt overwhelmed (which wouldn't be the case now).

April 2018

Natasha from Nolo

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

A great way to test page layouts

Pros

This is a great program to AB test web pages. There are some functionalities that let you tweak designs without coding. The analysis is displayed nicely and in a great format to present to other stakeholders.

Cons

To get really different pages with certain functionalities you will need development to help create this.

July 2018

Kyle from Amazon

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Very cost effective A/B testing service

Pros

It is a great service for A/B testing and conversion improvement. Very easy to install and setup, just add a pice of code and you are done, no extra steps or requirements, we were able to test in about one hour after purchase. For analyzing your results and see how your userreact toyour design changes.

Cons

Sometimes if you use for small companies with small budgets it can have an impact on your other work. It's better to use with care

February 2019

Marissa from Greater Palm Springs CVB

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Best Experimentation Option

Pros

Optimizely is a great option for experimenting on your website, especially if you aren’t a designer. It lets you easily A/B test what works.

Cons

The price point is a little high, especially when you consider that Google offers a free software that is very similar.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Great product with great support

Pros

I really like the fact that you don't need to know how to code, you can just install it on your site and boom! You can use it

Cons

I don't really like the price point, but then again you get what you pay for, so it could be a frugality issue!

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Fairly easy to use but powerful

Pros

We have ran this software for quite a bit and overall is a great product, easy to use and rich from a feature standpoint.

Cons

We found a couple of minor things that were reported at the time and fixed in the following release.

July 2018

Josh from UDM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Great for Split Testing

Pros

Optimizely makes it super easy to split test your landing pages. The WYSIWYG editor makes it easy for non-technical users to run effective tests. I also like that you can setup conversion goals easily. For example, you can simply set a goal as clicking a button without any advanced event tracking code.

Cons

I've strayed away from optimizely recently just because Google Optimize is free and offers similar features.

June 2018

Jovan from ActiveCollab

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

My first choice when it comes to A/B testing tools

Pros

With Optimizely you can create multiple tests and you can expect right directions for landing page improvement. The software is not complex to use, all features are well described.

Cons

I have more successful tests than losers, and sometimes I cannot believe that is in 80% my improvement that what I really need. The new pricing model is very hard to understand, they can be improved.

December 2018

Alfredo from Independent Consultant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great for A/B testing!

Great experience overall, the support and the resources are great as well.

Pros

Optimizely is perhaps the best A/B testing software I've used compared to others. It's definitely the one with the most intuitive dashboard, and the reports are very complete.

Cons

Only thing I can think of is you'll need to work with programmers to get things set up, it's not as user-friendly on the configuration side of things.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Easy to use and Powerful

Pros

I use and teach this tool to Marketing students every week. It's great for setting up A/B testing, which is incredibly useful in our work. It allows you to do this with very little to no coding and delivers clear results.

Cons

Not too much to complain about here. I haven't found any competitor that would make me consider changing.

January 2018

Luke from Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Decent tool to optimize

Pros

I have used several ab testing software and this one is the easiest in use. Furthermore their support is very good. When I experienced an issue a solution was found very fast

Cons

Compared to other software I used this one is the most expensive and furthermore there also needs to be an investment in development resources

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great tool for tracking website optimizations and doing A/B testing in general!

Pros

I really like how interactive the test dashboards are in terms of viewing the data differently for control vs treatment.

Cons

I dislike the learning curve required for the product - while it's great to use, it takes a long time to get there. I think it could benefit from some better tutorials or tool tips.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

it is practical

Pros

What I can say is that it offers a number of features that other test services do not offer and helped run fast experiments on our websites

Cons

is very basic ... when major changes are required, it starts to fail and the price is too high compared to the rest of the market for the product they offer

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Easy-to-Use, Intuitive, Feature-Packed

Pros

Web experimentation has never been easier. With this product, I can easily test 2 (or more) versions of the same website and get reliable results quickly.

Cons

The software is a bit feature-heavy. I don't always use all of the options available. But, that's less of a con and more of a personal need issue.

November 2018

Kevin from SpringAhead

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Excellent A/B Testing and analytics

Pros

Optimizely makes it easy to setup different A/B testing scenarios, as well as tracking any kind of custom website events you can come up with. With the various tracking options and different tests you can run, it makes it easy to figure out what the best course of action should be.

Cons

Overall Optimizely has worked well, but the pricing is a bit high.. I suppose it's a case of you get what you pay for!

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

A/B testing made easy

Pros

Makes A/B testing a breeze. You can quickly set up various tests (like changing button text) without requiring any developer assistance.

Cons

Would love to see deeper integrations with 3rd parties. You can skew some of your Google Analytics data based on the fact you ran tests.

December 2017

Brendan from Boomerang

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Empowers marketers to test website changes without tasking developers

Pros

I like that there is WYSIWYG editing of content that allows non-technical folks to A/B test. I also like that they expose custom Javascript fields so technical folks can make further optimizations if needed.

Cons

Wish there was a non-grandfathered free tier, and also think that they should automatically log information based on which div classes and ids are clicked on a page without having the end user manually define which elements are of interest to them.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Super empowerment to marketers

Pros

Optimizely is so easy-to-use that even marketers with minimal coding expertise manage to carry out optimization on their own.

Cons

The pricing can be a bit steep for teams who don't have a lot of resources, I wish there would be more customized options available.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Does the job

Pros

It did the job. We were looking for an A/B testing solutions that had support for campaigns and Optimizely did the job and fit the bill.

Cons

The cost is on the expensive side but if you have the budget you get what you pay for. Otherwise there are cheaper alternatives that may fit your needs.

August 2016

Martijn from The Next Web

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

June 2017

Jake from Gunsight Labs

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Great AB testing platform with great results

Pros

We used Optimizely on some client projects and it seemed to work great. It was easy enough for a non-developer to understand how to use it, but also powerful enough that a front-end developer could inject custom JavaScript and CSS into your webpages in order to manipulate the DOM for testing (for example changing button colors, moving components around on the page, etc)

Cons

Not too many things to dislike. There were a few situations were the tests gave us false positives and after implementing the recommendations it actually lowered conversion, but those could have been flukes.

April 2019

Caitlin from Aztek: A Web Design, Development & Digital Marketing Agency

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Overall Good A/B Testing tool

Pros

Optimizely makes it really easy to test multiple scenarios and find the highest converting solution and then implement. Works for paid testing, organic testing, UX testing. You can test any scenario and see what works best for that specific acquisition channel. It's really useful.

Cons

Not incredibly easy to use. Can be time consuming setting up all the different scenarios you need.

March 2018

olga from HP

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Good website testing solution

Pros

If ou are looking for a simple set up website testing solution allowing AB Testing, split test or multiviraiant testing - AB Testing is a good option. Still not very expensive solution and wih easy set up you can learn your audience preferences.

Cons

Preview function can be buggy, especially for complex long web pages. Optimizely is expanding business so their pricing model might be changing

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Expensive But Worth it if Your Business Can Afford It

Pros

Split-testing is essential to any online marketing success. Optimizely is one of the best tools on the market, and with good reason. It's easy to setup, use, and implement changes to make sure you're getting the results you want.

Cons

The cost is highly prohibitive for many small businesses that are just getting started. That said, those who make the investment will see it provide a good return.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 87 reviews