About SpyFu

Spyfu is a cloud-based marketing tool designed for businesses of all sizes. Key features include SEO performance analysis, API access, keyword rank tracking, SERP analysis and more.

Spyfu helps SEO and PPC professionals analyze competitors, increase website traffic, monitor their websites' rankings on search engines and generate quality sales leads. The solution’s AdWords advisor provides campaign-specific keyword recommendations, tracks competitors' AdWords billing history and recommends keywords that are being used by competitors.

Additionally, marketers can use Spyfu to build a relationship with social media influencers, create customizable reports, estimate advertising spending and find quality backlinks to drive traffic. Spyfu also comes wi...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

109 Reviews of SpyFu

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.42 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(57)

57

4 stars

(41)

41

3 stars

(11)

11

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 109 results

April 2019

Melanie from Content by Melanie

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

One of the Better Keyword Tools I Make Regular Use Of

In terms of helping to give SEO clients an edge it's a great tool, and its lead gen capabilities are excellent as well. It's a 'stay in the toolbox' software when I have trialed and tried out many more that have long since been retired.

Pros

The volume of information that can gathered. Not only can you track competitor keywords but it's an excellent prospecting tool for lead gen, which is a lesser known aspect of the software. The relative ease of use is another bonus, the reports and dashboards are a lot clearer and easier to use than many of the other SEO tools I use/have used.

Cons

It's a bit pricey, but it has proved itself in terms of ROI from both improved SERPS positioning and lead generation. Customer service could be a little better too.

Response from SpyFu

Replied April 2019

Thanks for taking time to share a review, Melanie! I hope we can wow you in the future should you need any customer support. We're available via live chat on our site and email, with Facebook messages, and Twitter giving an assist. We love to hear that you're getting a lot out of the tool. Right on!

November 2020

Fernando Adrian from Fernando Orendain

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2020

Good tool but needs a little more

It's a good tool, but for my specific needs I couldn't replace SEMRush

Pros

It is a good tool, it has what you need to do a good research on competencies and search for keywords. and it is much cheaper than most tools.

Cons

The reports in the basic version are quite limited.

Reasons for Switching to SpyFu

I have not changed from SemRush, I tried, but for very specific needs it was not functional for me.

Response from SpyFu

Replied December 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Fernando! Glad to hear that we have become part of your keyword research toolset.

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2020

Lots of broken features

I have had a negative experience and will not be using SpyFu in the future.

Pros

More affordable than its competitors, Spyfu is the poor man's SEMrush. I think they use the SEMrush API--so its literally the same thing.

Cons

Lots of features that were promised in the demo video were outright lies. Link importing doesn't work, finding contacts doesn't work or hasn't worked yet for me.

Response from SpyFu

Replied July 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I'm sorry that your experience was below par. I noticed that you had used the free version of the tool. We do not have a free trial like what you come to expect from other tools. Instead we offer unending free access with limits on the results. Anyone can use it for as long as they'd like. I wonder if that limited version kept you from accessing the premium features that you wanted to see?

April 2019

Michael from Prism Theory

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

SpyFu - Great for SEO's Slightly Less Great for PPC's.

Generally speaking, SpyFu has been great, it's a powerful tool, and often you'll run into clients who require this level of analysis both organically, and paid. I've come back time and time again over the last 10 years or so.

Pros

The UI is easy to navigate, and lots of ways to continue your search via finding more competitors, and looking at their competitors and so on. On the SEO side, this software is fairly indespensible, though it has competitors which do similar things at different price points. SpyFu however has been my go-to for many years, and having tested many of the competing products, especially during darker times for SEO many years ago, SpyFu did a quick job of staying current, which is one of the most important things for software like this. When there's changes to algorithms, or how we gather data, who's the most reliable source to get you that info? SpyFu has been that for me.

Cons

Generally the cost is prohibitive. More PPC level insights would be useful, but really they're working off whatever data they can get access to, and do a fairly good job of it. The only downside is many of the old Landing pages are not cached or visualized so when you click on the link to view the competitor's page, it doesnt exist more often than not. This feels like a huge waste of time.

October 2018

Giorgi from Philip Morris International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Tobacco

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Full of actionable information for SEO!

Overall, this is a very good first-to-go-to tool when you start a project to see how the existing competitors are doing and then accordingly create the strategy. Though, not only for the starting project, but can also be used for existing project analysis. It helped with analyse to see the loopholes that were harming rankings lots of time.

Pros

This is the best SEO analysis tool out there when it comes to watching what's the SEO market's current situation to understand how to start optimizing your website for the best possible start. Before launching any website or project, SpyFu is one of the first tools I go to to analyze the competitors, where they spend money, how are their currenty rankings, what keywords they use or rank for, etc. I sometimes even use its backlinks checker of the competitors with Ahrefs and while cross checking it always gives the reliable data. What's more, the reporting section or the reports itself are very good. They are intuitive and very easy to understand, which makes it easy to present to third-party who doesn't understand much of SEO. Makes life easier!

Cons

A bit more flexibility on the data aggregation in reports would be good. Also, it would be awesome if the developers focused on the local research slightly more.