User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Having every type of email under the same roof is a definite plus. We used to have subscriptions to several services to accomplish what we were doing in Vero."

  • "Ease of use, right features for our business needs (fusion is great) and great valie for money!"

  • "Great automation choice if you need to save money from the overpriced giants."

  • Cons

  • "Like all tools, has occasional slowness / degraded services.. But at least it has been improving!"

  • "Only downside is that it doesn't integrate with Facebook, Twilio and other similar channels. "

  • "their own CDN has bad delivery rates and you need to integrate your own realistically bad UX not easy for novice user to navigate vs other platforms such as mailchimp or sendgrid "

Browse Vero Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -27 of 23 results

June 2018

Nathan from Drawboard

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The perfect system to send the right message, at the right time, to the right person.

The ability to have granular control on when a customer is sent email communication. It's not based on lists, it's based on their behavior.

Pros

- Ability to send web, mobile and cloud events to Vero, in order to segment and send emails at a granular level dependant on customer behaviour in our products. Campaign Monitor and Mailchimp do not have this ability. - Integration with Segment and Zapier - Incredible customer support - Built for the technical marketer - Ability to debug in multiple projects - Nominate a static IP provider like SendGrid to maintain IP and domain repuatation

Cons

- Interface can take time to navigate around, list views provide limited information (it's an email system, not a CRM) - Because the system is built around 'what a customer did', segmentation based on 'who the customer is' is more limited (triggers for changes in tags, changes in field properties, when they first started existing etc). - Pre-made email templating is limited, but if you know what you're doing with HTML templates, it is of no impact.

August 2019

Stephen from TPA Stream

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Great event based architecture!

Amazing product, but we struggled to "hand it off" to less technical users

Pros

My favorite part about Vero is how flexible it is for developers. You simply send up events, and Vero basically takes care of the rest!

Cons

We wanted to "hand off" managing Vero to some folks who were not developers, but that effort unfortunately did not succeed. We want to allow our clients to customize our templates too, but there isn't any sane way to let our customers do that without us having to do it for them.

Reasons for Choosing Vero

There were no close seconds. It's either Vero, or build it in-house. We chose Vero, although we may end up having to bring it in house in the future, sadly. Reasons are threefold, (1) need the ability to let our customers (we're a multi-tenant SaaS company not unlike Vero) customize their email templates, (2) We want more sophisticated "actions" than simply sending an email; for example we'd like to trigger a webhook, and (3) we are beginning to find that we need far more from an API & reporting standpoint than Vero has to offer

February 2018

James from Applause

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2018

Compare your automation needs with Vero's capabilities to see if it is a match for you

Pros

Compared against competing marketing automation tools, you will likely find Vero to be among the most affordable which often raises the question... why? Vero is a simple interface in which it is clear that UI is not at the top of the to-do list. That is not intended as an insult because you can easily navigate and find what you need, but it is not intended to visually wow. Vero works great for simple MA campaigns that do not require branching logic as you proceed through the campaign. If mid-campaign segmentation and targeting is in your campaign goals, Vero may not be the solution you are seeking.

Cons

The platform's design leave something to be desired visually but it does not affect Vero's functionality. Campaign segmentation especially mid-campaign is lackluster and does not empower you to build complex or detailed campaigns. Your developer will need to connect and integrate many items prior to your marketing automation team being able to really get in and explore Vero so it requires a time investment prior to really knowing how well the solution might work for your needs.

August 2019

Piotr from Docplanner

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Great balance

Pros

- ease of use - simple features, but right for our needs: event based campaign triggers, localisation, segments - good customer support

Cons

- slow and sometime unintuitive interface - although it is constantly improving

Reasons for Choosing Vero

Vero has exactly the features we need, so we don't miss anything and we don't overpay for stuff we don't need

January 2020

Anna from When I Work

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Data Driven Marketing Automation Platform

I cannot praise Vero’s customer support enough. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] are fantastic to work with and have great solutions for my team very quickly. I like the flexibility of Vero where we can do data focused marketing. It is challenging working with a platform with minimal users so you cannot collaborate or find resources, but Vero’s customer-centric approach makes for quick answers.

Pros

This is by far the best customer success team I’ve worked with in email marketing. Not only do they respond within the hour, but they have a solution to my problem within the day. The software allows for great customization by letting more complex data flow from our data warehouse into the MAP. The API is an integral part of their product offering and the emphasis on event-driven email workflows means that ignoring it is missing a lot of the value. Because of this, leads will be able to receive the respective emails that are more focused on where they are in the buying funnel based on actions that they take. The workflows and behavior generated automatic emails have a great UI, making it very easy to see which emails contacts could be sent. I also really love having different environments to do email testing/building without “dirtying up” my actual sending environment. This is the only MAP I’ve seen that does this and it makes implementation and building out campaigns so much nicer.

Cons

The software itself is more technical than others where it might not be user friendly to the general marketer. Unless your team has experience working with code and data management, you may need to partner with a technical person at your company (if you do, that is a pro given the technical freedom you have). The way staging and production environments are setup could be better. It works pretty well, but data mapping between the different environments is a bit tricky. For example, you aren’t able to delete properties and properties don’t auto-create across and environments or data doesn’t sync between the different properties to the respective contact.

Reasons for Choosing Vero

The asynchronous design provides a major benefit in terms of throughput; the rate-limits on Vero’s end were an order of magnitude higher than any other system we saw. In the other direction, Vero provides webhooks for all the actions we are interested in. They have been straightforward to configure and ingest into our data apparatus. Vero offers flexibility that enables us to integrate Vero into our product, customer ops systems, and other vendors more easily.

April 2018

Sebastian from Magine

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Most powerful tool for data-driven marketers ever!

Dynamic and behavioral-based email marketing, which is easy to use even for marketers.

Pros

Vero enabled us to accelerate our business growth. Thanks to them our email marketing now makes 15% of our total revenue. There are many tools, that promise being able to do everything across all channels, but lack in just being good at one thing. Vero is a very strong tool in its space as ESP, priceworthy and I very recommend it for any data-driven business that works with newsletters or behavioral-based messaging. It is by far the only tool on the market that allows you in a very convienent way to pull in dynamic content to you emails with your very own API using the feature Fusion. There are no developers any longer required keeping your marketing teams independed and on a fast track. It is as powerful as any other enterprise platform, but 1000 times easier to use and you dont need any technical consultants to just make a small fix. As we intgrated also with Segment we had all user activities in real time in vero allowing us to follow any user journey and improving our CRM marketing big times. Most of all we enjoy ther support teams who are with you at any time with rocket-fast response times.

Cons

As your business and your userbase is growing Vero needs some more minutes to evaluate people part of triggers and segments. They rebuilt their backend to cover up and took our suggestens very serious. Maybe we got to spoilt ;-)

January 2019

Marnix from Helloprint

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Continually improving product and very good Customer Support

We deliver millions of transactional, behavioural and newsletter e-mails a year via Vero. Even though the product is still developing it does work properly. When something happens or help is needed the Vero crew is always prepared to help out. Their staff and founder are very customer centric.

Pros

Vero offers very good possibilities to operate at scale. It also offers an interface that makes it quite easy to get started with setting up campaigns. The way that Vero is set up helps us to deliver large amounts of multi lingual AND multi brand e-mails through the same system and production environment. Another positive thing is that Vero releases value adding updates on a frequent base, indicating that the product is developing in the right direction.

Cons

Some functionalities are not 100% (mature) yet. For example if you have a large number of campaings there should be easier ways to group and keep track of hem. Also there's no solution yet for making changes to a large number of campaings that use the same template. This can cost a marketeer manual work if there are many campaings that need to be manipulated individually.

August 2019

Max from Vast LLC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Vast’s Vero Review

I love Vero and will continue to use and recommend your service.

Pros

Customer support is essential. Both the CEO and our account manager has been EXTREMELY helpful.

Cons

I think some of the UI elements could be streamlined, such as the e-mail preview/editing page. You should be able to schedule and edit emails in the same page.

Reasons for Choosing Vero

Customer support.

January 2019

Will from Ausmed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The Future of Event Driven Communication

Exceptional. The Vero team provide the most real time customer service you've ever experienced.

Pros

This is the most versatile event-based marketing solution out there. Vero can quickly scale its data ingestion to process large volumes of data to trigger email or push notifications to customers.

Cons

Only downside is that it doesn't integrate with Facebook, Twilio and other similar channels.

August 2019

Thomas from TIDAL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Powerful system for transactional/behavioral and ad hoc emails

Pros

Vero is very powerful and has a solid support for liquid templating language and connecting to external API sources, which is a major plus for us.

Cons

The editor for building newsletters could be better.

January 2019

Frank from SixPlus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great for startups getting started with email marketing and transaction emails

Unlike other services, Vero handles transactional emails in addition to triggered and marketing emails. This allow you to have everything under the same roof. The UI is fairly easy to navigate and the team has been adding new features regularly. The customer service is also really responsive and helpful with the founder helping us on a few occasions.

Pros

Having every type of email under the same roof is a definite plus. We used to have subscriptions to several services to accomplish what we were doing in Vero.

Cons

The email templates could use more love. They really need a wysiwyg interface, so that non-technical colleagues can easily design and send emails. They only currently have support for importing HTML and modifying copy.

January 2019

Georgia from Ausmed Education

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best customer support - an amazing team

We love Vero! Incredible email marketing software that has had a great impact on our online sales

Pros

- The focus on data-driven email marketing and prioritisation of HTML email as opposed to drag and drop builders - The dedication of the incredible Vero team to providing 24/7 customer support through Slack

Cons

- Some features missing, particularly in regards to flexible segmentation

September 2018

Alejandro from Troostwijk Auctions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Great value

Pros

Ease of use, right features for our business needs (fusion is great) and great valie for money!

Cons

Like all tools, has occasional slowness / degraded services.. But at least it has been improving!

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

An easy to use email tool

Pros

Vero is a fast and easy to use newlsetter and communications provider. Since day one I was able to set up my first campaign and related segments with no hassle and need to reach for support. You can also dig into your userbase and get a history of all communications + actions made from the single user. I usually look up for potential clients on Vero before cold calling them.

Cons

Sometime the segment evaluation and creation is not immediate and this could shift the sending time of the campaign.

August 2019

Beau from Pipedrive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great tool with amazing customer support

Pros

Vero is a very powerful tool with the option to really fit your businesses needs. Super powerful and dependable

Cons

Learning curve can be a bit steep when first using and is not super intuitive, but this is solved fairly quickly by Vero's excellent customer support. In some ways feel like we are not using the full options of what's available.

June 2017

Melanie from UCBL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Import and Export

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Really powerful platform

We use this for all our automated campaigns, it has helped us for marketing and sales.

Pros

When it comes down to it Vero is a really powerful platform for transactional or behavioral campaigns. While it may have a higher learning curve at the end of the day it's a key part of our business.

Cons

Sometimes they have to turn the search cluster off or a little bug is found. Because it's a smaller company that is a price you pay. But it's okay and usually just a small delay. Well worth it.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great bang for your buck

Pros

Has a lot of features and a clear UI. They are being transparent about what updates they will be rolling out, and are constantly trying to improve their platform.

Cons

They don't support webhooks or mutiple criteria triggers

November 2016

Doug from Independent Consultant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Make sure your developer likes it

If you trial Vero as a marketer, you can do almost nothing on your own. Several developers have said the API is pretty friendly but still has some limitations. First item of importance is to know Vero is not in any way a CRM nor does it claim to be. You will 100% need to connect a CRM via API. A good developer can do a lot with Vero but the interface itself is still fairly basic for your marketer. There is also limited tracking compared to some of the big marketing automation providers.

Pros

Great automation choice if you need to save money from the overpriced giants.

Cons

Limited tracking and marketing data collection. Very dependent on what your development team can do with Vero and its API.

January 2019

Nathan from Vessul Creative

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Real systems for emails

Vero finally let us use a piece of email software that we can share with multiple teams without worrying about breaking any of the moving pieces. It doesn't feel fragile yet it remains very powerful.

Pros

Instead of focusing on a few flashy features, Vero nails it with a system of tasks you can do with email marketing.

Cons

The interface is simple but sometimes too simple, it feels like the wrong tab is opened a lot.

January 2019

Brian from Paxful, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Vero- Good but dont expect wonderful UX

I like it but I would say you need to be an experienced email marketer to get the most from it

Pros

functional and most tasks can be done quite efficiently once you learn the software and navigation value for money

Cons

their own CDN has bad delivery rates and you need to integrate your own realistically bad UX not easy for novice user to navigate vs other platforms such as mailchimp or sendgrid

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Comprehensive Customer Messaging Tool

Vero is rich in its features, a single platform designed to offer push notification, workflow management and other cool things for better customer messaging experience.

Pros

The workflow is very clean and easy to setup. You can leverage multiple options to push your messaging.

Cons

Nothing so far, but price may not fit for small companies. It should offer a free version for companies with limited use.

February 2019

Corey from Veterans Advantage

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Military

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Steep learning curve, limited templating, robust testing features

It's taken over a year to configure Vero correctly, to work with our data back-end and send correctly. We still have issues but when it works, it's good for testing segments. It's been a headache most of the time.

Pros

The A/B testing options are robust and pretty easy to use. The UI is clean. The software is fast, I never experienced any lag.

Cons

Difficult to learn the software. Data compilation can be very complicated and difficult to configure. The templates options are limited, it would be nice to have more out-of-the-box templates. It's difficult to configure and track journey marketing emails.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Poor UI design and performance

It's okay, would only use if I had no alternatives.

Pros

Its basic functionality does work, so in the sense that it is within the lower costing solutions on the market mean that it does what it needs to.

Cons

- Poor UI throughout, compared to other tools of this nature (MailChimp for example) nothing works in a manner that feels aligned with modern UI design or user expectations. - Poor performance - when you look at other modern marketing tools, having to wait for data dumps, for segments to load and be calculated (especially when they are only a few thousand in size) is crazy.