All Express Scribe Reviews

1-25 of 52 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Zaiba

Verified reviewer

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Accurate Transcription Software

It is simple to deliver great transcribing assignments when you use Express Scribe. If you're looking for an easy-to-use transcription tool, Express scribe is the way to go. It is reasonably priced, professionally grade, and performs everything it is supposed to do.

PROS

The fact that it's a one-time purchase rather than a subscription appeals to me the most. The software also comes with a fair trial period, which is helpful for getting a feel for it before purchasing. It's a simple and easy-to-use program. This site can make your transcription journey smoother and accurate. It contains a lot of features that make transcription faster and easier. The foot pedal feature is appealing to most transcriptionists, which the site has tried to make seamless and hassle-free.

CONS

I wish there was an auto-correct tool in the editor, this eliminates the need for me to copy and paste my work into another application for editing and proofreading. Navigating the various options available can be difficult at times. It is not compatible with various operating systems, such as Linux, and as a result, it can be difficult to access if you use one.

Reasons for switching to Express Scribe

Because the application that I was using had a very little free trial period so it was impossible for me to judge if its a good transcription software.

User Profile

Caroline

Verified reviewer

Translation and Localization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Best Software for Transcribing

Generally, I think express scribe is the best software for transcribing. No tool can much up to the functionality that comes with it. I would advice an upcoming transcriber to give it a shot.

PROS

My most favorite thing about Express Scribe is that it has many features that help you work faster. Some of this features include shortcuts for starting/stopping the audio, rewinding, forwarding, playing fast speed, playing slow speed. I think my favorite feature is the setting that allows you to 'auto backstep on stop.' This allows you to automatically rewind a word or two from where you left off. I have always loved this feature because it allows you to have a smooth continuity as you are transcribing. making you work faster. Another thing I like about Express Scribe is that it easy to use. The software is less than 1 MB and the process of installing it is very starting forward and first. Once you have it installed, it is just a matter of dragging and dropping an audio file into the, and you can begin transcribing immediately. Since Express scribe is a desktop application, you do not need an internet connection to use the software. As a transcriber, this can significantly reduce your data costs.

CONS

The challenge I have always had with Express Scribe is that some of its shortcuts interfere with the application's shortcuts on your machine. For example, in Microsoft Powerpoint, the key F5 is for switching to slide mode but it doesn't work if Express Scribe is on since the same key is a shortcut to do something else in Express Scribe. Another challenge with Express Scribe is that the writing interface doesn't have auto correct options like those of word. This forces you to copy paste your work to another application for editing and proofreading.

Deborah

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Customer support is unacceptable!

I'm frustrated that my problem wasn't solved and that the company stopped communicating with me. Seems if a product doesn't perform then the least they could do is offer the money back.

PROS

I've been using Express Scribe for ten years and until this upgrade I thought I'd be using it until I retire.

CONS

I could not get the reverse F7 button to reverse, nor could I get the button on my foot pedal to reverse. I had to buy the program again (fourth time in ten years) because I bought a new computer. I had several email exchanges with several different tech support people and followed all their instructions. When I requested a link to an older version 9.11 as opposed to 10.05, they stopped replying to my emails completely. When you purchase a product it should work, no matter what the price. I am now using FTW Transcription.

Reason for choosing Express Scribe

It was a great program until this last upgrade. You've lost a customer forever.

Vendor Response

Hi Deborah, we're sorry you had a negative experience. Your feedback is very important to us and will forward this onto the relevant department. If you do want to try out a previous version of the software, you can download the file from http://www.oldversiondownload.com/

Replied March 2021

User Profile

Frederick

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

The Ultimate Tool for Transcriptionists

Generally, I think Express Scribe is the best tool for transcription. I have not come across a software that beats Express scribe regarding transcription functionality.

PROS

I think Express Scribe is the ultimate tool for transcribers because of its numerous and powerful features. I like Express scribe because it has so many settings which help you make the process of transcribing easy. Examples of such settings include the sub-tab for 'playback' where you can specify settings for either playing 'increasing speed' or 'constant speed,' 'default slow playback speed,' 'default fast playback speed,' 'autobackstep on stop,' among other settings. Another cool thing about Express Scribe is the numerous shortcuts which help you work faster. F9 is for playing, F4 for stopping, F7 for rewinding, F8 For fast forwarding, among other shortcuts. These shortcuts are really awesome. I don't know what I would do without the shortcuts. Another advantage of Express scribe is that it is easy to integrate it with other software for more functionality. For example, you can connect Express Scribe with software that converts audio to text. Your work will be easier since the only thing you need to do is edit the transcript that has been done with the software.

CONS

The disadvantage of Express Scribe is that the interface offered by the software for typing is not the best since it doesn't help in proofreading. Like it doesn't show you misspelled words and other corrections like Microsoft Word does. I actually don't use the interface anymore. I use Express Scribe for everything else but when it comes to typing out my transcripts, I use Microsoft Word. In short, I use Express Scribe and Microsoft Word simultaneously. Another challenge with Express scribe is that it is not free. They only offer a trial period for the software. After the trial period, you have to pay for the software.

User Profile

Diana

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Express Scribe is great. It NEVER crashes. It is very easy to install and use. I love it!

The ease of install and use. It worked immediately with my peda. I recommend this for sure!

PROS

How easy it is to use, and it never crashes. It also has features where you can add notes to your files, which helps immensely. I have loaded 70+ files at once and it has never failed on me!

CONS

I switched computers, and was had to re-buy the program. I had my original receipt, but for some reason, I had to buy it again, which was a repeat of 1 year's time.

Vendor Response

Hi Diana, Thank you for contacting us. Our Registration Support Team will be happy to re-send your registration code and installation file to the software you previously purchased without having to to purchase a different license. We are sorry for any frustrations this may have caused. You can contact our Registration Support Team here: http://www.nch.com.au/support/regcontact.html -NCH Software Team

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Renee

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Use this program every day!

I use Express Scribe every day at work. It is very user friendly, and I love how easy it is to customize. I love that you can personalize hot keys to make my job much quicker.

PROS

This software is very easy to customize and navigate and very user friendly!

CONS

Has not had many updates, which can be both good and bad.

Vendor Response

Hi Renee, thank you for contacting us. You can download the latest version of Scribe here: https://www.nch.com.au/scribe/index.html If you have any questions or concerns with our software, our Support Team will be more than happy to help you here: https://www.nch.com.au/support/supportcontact.html?software=Scribe -NCH Software Team

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Irfanudeenj

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Transcription at ease with Express Scribe

Overall it was a good experience for me with Express Scribe. I use Express Scribe mostly as a text-to-speech convertor, so It is really helpful in intaking the textual contexts in an audio format, with modified speed like slow play and fast play.

PROS

Express Scribe is very quick in its functioning, an easy to deploy and ready to use application. It is very simple to use, no need of technical knowledge or training. I used Express Scribe to hear the audio notes, sales pitch, call notes, conduction pitches. It act as my secondary transcription based audio player in my routine then.

CONS

I use trial version initially, but I face lot of technical glitches while using the application. The application went auto-stop for no reasons, after the premium subscription the issue reduces. The support team need to reduce the response time for a query.

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

A must have tool for all transcribers!

The software benefits me by allowing me to adjust audio and playback speed, and allowing me to keep my hands on the keyboard while transcribing with the use of shortcut keys.

PROS

Express Scribe brings ease to transcription by improving workflow with shortcut keys or with the use of a pedal. The use of shortcut keys allows you to never have to take your hands off the keyboard while transcribing. Without this software, my work days would be so much longer then they need to be. This software is easy to install and use!

CONS

If I could change one thing about the software, I would probably give it a more updated look, it has an older feel to it, but that's not really a huge concern!

User Profile

Karen

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Does the job!

I am very happy with this product and have not yet looked for any other options as I have everything I need with this one. The foot pedal is a must

PROS

Easy installation and I would recommend buying the version that comes with the foot pedal and all of the installation files. Works great with my medical transcription

CONS

When installing the software it was simple to do but almost seemed like malware initially.

Vendor Response

Hello Karen, We run checks on our files daily and we assure you this file is safe: https://www.nch.com.au/software/safety-guarantee.html If you continue to encounter issues, our support team would be happy to assist you, they can be reached here: https://www.nch.com.au/support/supportcontact.html?software=Scribe -NCH Software Team

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Gabriela

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

It is a great tool for transcriptions

It has helped me to do the transcription jobs and it has made my life easier. I bought it and it worked really well

PROS

It allows you to do a transcription very fast with all the features it offers. It even has a little notepad for you to make notes or write down the transcription. I haven't discovered all the features yet but if you are doing a transcription job, this is your tool to go!

CONS

The price isn't that affordable and it's not super easy to use. Besides that, you will need a pedal to go through the transcription, otherwise it will be tedious. So, when getting the software make you sure to get the pedal as well

Vendor Response

Hi Gabriella, Thank you for contacting us. You can check out our tutorial on how to get started using our Express Scribe software here: https://www.nch.com.au/scribe/tutorial/index.html If you have any further questions or concerns, our Support Team will be more than happy to help you here: https://www.nch.com.au/support/supportcontact.html?software=Scribe -NCH Software Team

Replied December 2019

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2019

Simple to use, makes transcribing files a simple task.

Excellent. Has been a time saver and simple to use.

PROS

I really liked the ability to utilize the hotkeys and use of the program while it runs in the background. It makes transcribing tasks a lot easier, being able to assign the hotkeys to your preference and you can easily skip back, forward, speed up or slow down the audio, even while the software runs in the background. Saves a lot of time without the hassle of pause/play, back and forth between applications. Also, your finished work can easily be exported to a word processing application of your choice.

CONS

Personally, I have had no issues or negative opinion when using this software. One thing I have noticed, which could pose an issue to others, is that not all file formats are supported. Even then, it does offer a free trial to a separate application, in which you can easily convert any type of file into the formats used in Express Scribe.

Delores

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Loved everything except two things

I've used Express Scribe daily for the past 11 years, and never had any long-standing issues. It is my DAILY workhorse for transcription -- at least for all my first-pass-to-audio drafts, but for challenging audios most times I will switch to another brand second-audio-pass, i.e. for proofreading.

PROS

The ability to generate automated timestamps. The feature allowing audio tweaks; volume boost, etc. Feature of being able to queue a number of projects all at once, to line up work in order of priority. I've used Express Scribe Pro DAILY for 11 years, and never had a single malfunction issue, except for a few freezes here and there, but restarting the program immediately fixed each freeze. Also loved that it plays both audio and video recordings.

CONS

I have two: (1) The timestamping feature could be improved, wherein after one has typed a lengthy document (say 150-page long Word doc); and one with countless timestamped inaudibles littered throughout, if there were a new feature embedded in the timestamped section that would say "NEXT" when the mouse is hovered over the timestamp, meaning clicking "NEXT" would jump/leap forward to the next timestamped section in the document, this would save a bunch of time, instead of having to use the "find" feature in Word to locate each one. This helps a transcriptionist when they reach the stage of wanting to zoom in just to each inaudible-timestamped section, one after the other, to make a last-ditch effort to clear up inaudible words prior to submitting. (2) There are other transcription software where the sound quality is a tad, wee-bit sharper, and when it comes to transcribing challenging audio qualities, I usually have to move to another software during proofing to ensure I catch every word when audio quality is bad. For example, FTW appears to have a tad crisper hearing quality in detecting some words during bad-quality recordings.

Vendor Response

Hi Delores, Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you found our scribing software useful. Thank you for your feedback as well, we've passed this onto the development team.

Replied October 2020

Dori

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Long-time user

Express Scribe was the first program I downloaded 11 years ago when I started transcribing and I still use it today. It's reliable, customizable, and has a ton of features and options, although I only use a fraction of them. The customer support has been very good, although hardly needed, and the website offers help and tutorials. My overall experience with it has been excellent.

PROS

Express Scribe is loaded with features and options, more than I have ever needed to use in my work, but the ones I use the most are the following. It accepts a wide variety of file formats. It loads multiple files at once, so that I can work efficiently through a list, which is especially useful when I have a lot of shorter audio files. It comes with built-in tools for adjusting the audio quality under the Playback tab, where I particularly use the Clarity Low Frequency Cut-Off tool to improve speakers' voices. I have also found that setting Volume Auto-Adjust (range compression) to None gives me the clearest sound with the least static. Another useful feature is the ability to bookmark speakers in the audio file. Setting up a foot pedal connection was easy, although I like Express Scribe's ability to control the audio with function keys if the foot pedal develops problems. And, finally, I find the interface is easy for me to navigate.

CONS

I would like the ability to place time stamps with a function key. I have tried to follow the time stamp shortcut instructions provided by NCH, but have not been able to use it well, so I usually insert time stamps during the proofing stage using another transcription software program that does have that feature. Another issue for a long time was that audio played in Express Scribe seemed to have higher levels of background static than the same audio played in other transcription programs. I was finally able to resolve this issue by setting the Volume Auto-Adjust (range compression) to None, as I mentioned above. I had been relying on the default setting (which I believe was Strong) and didn't realize what a difference it would make to the clarity -- at least to my ears.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Well designed transcription software that can handle audio and video

I relied on Express Scribe for at least 6 years to transcribe hundreds of pages of documents. From about 2009-2011, I ran Express Scribe in WINE in a Linux host operating system for at least 2 years and did encounter a number of compatibility problems. Things may have improved dramatically since then owing to great improvements in WINE. It seems fairly priced for a professional software too. Overall, Express Scribe is an outstanding tool for transcription

PROS

During my graduate work, I relied on Express Scribe to help transcribe hundreds of hours of audio and video interviews. Especially useful are the program's hotkey controls that enable the user to back up the recording by increments that the user can select. This is extremely useful for reviewing recorded segments that are difficult to understand. Express Scribe supports all but the most obscure audio formats - a fact that is exceedingly helpful when dealing with student assignments that have been recorded on a wide range of mobile phones and mp3 devices. Users can use a hot-key to automatically insert time stamps throughout the transcript, or manually insert timestamps at key points though the document. The use of timestamps allows users to correlate the audio track with the exact position on the written transcript. Though I have never used a control pedal with Express Scribe, many times I wished that I had one. Use of a control pedal would free up the user's hands to focus more on typing transcripts.

CONS

Express Scribe is not available in a native version for Linux. However, Express Scribe can run in Linux using the WINE Emulator. Keep your original receipt for the software and installation codes. If you reinstall your operating system, you may encounter problems reactivating Express Scribe.

Monica

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Mostly I love it, rarely disappoints

Affordable software for playing back my audio files to get my transcription work done effectively.

PROS

What I like most is the variety of file options that Express Scribe plays without having to worry about converting the audio or having to use alternate methods of playback.

CONS

What I like least about this software is the fact that if you have to reinstall it on your computer you have to pay full price again each time. I personally have had to do this twice. Frankly, I would prefer to pay more for it one time and get unlimited updates and downloads than have to pay a smaller amount any times I have to reload onto a computer for whatever reason.

Vendor Response

Hi Monica, Thank you for contacting us. Our Registration Support Team will be happy to re-send your registration code and installation file to the software you previously purchased, without having to purchase a different license. You can contact our Registration Support Team here: http://www.nch.com.au/support/regcontact.html _NCH Software Team

Replied December 2019

Jn

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Escribe great for individual licensing for business is questionable

PROS

Escribe does what it should and is reasonable straight forward to install. I have supplier it to my customers and all the users are happy with the features and performance. If you are an individual user the product is great. For business see below.

CONS

The License is tied to a single USER!! on one device. I am would OK with a license for a single PC license. However we have job sharing on our business PCs and a second user on the same PC requires another license. If you change users more than a very limited number of times the registration code gets blocked. I dont move from PC to PC only alternate users. Out of my 6 licenses 2 possible 3 are now blocked and it is a real pain. I give up on this product and will be purchasing a product that has a Device license.

Deloris

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Express Scribe Makes Transcription Less Stressful

PROS

I can find and load my audio onto Express Scribe easily. I can listen to the audio and apply background reduction or increase the volume. You can use hot keys or a foot pedal with this software. Express Scribe allows you to use videos to transcribe. This is helpful when you are unsure of who is talking when you are transcribing.

CONS

There is no free version of this software. You have to pay a one-time fee. The background reduction feature can help or hurt the audio. It has been times when the reduction feature made the audio worse for me. Also, I never learned how to timestamp using this software.

Reasons for switching to Express Scribe

It only played for 15 minutes, unless you paid for it monthly.

Ignacio Araujo

Translation and Localization, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Excellent tool for those working with transcriptions.

If you work with transcription services, this simple program is a must-have tool in your "utility belt"! At first, it may seem too simple and even a bit old-fashioned. But you will realize that less is more in this case, and its clean layout is perfect to make your job easier. Also, they have lots of shortcuts (all customizable) and it is totally compatible with a USB pedal (that professional transcribers use to make their job even faster and easier). Give it a try it and you will ask yourself how you could ever transcribe without it!

PROS

A simple, yet powerful tool. It has lots of shortcuts to make your job easier (rewind, forward, pause, slow-down or speed-up video, etc), plus full compatibility with an USB pedal, if you feel like using one to support your job. Once you get used to their shortcuts, you will work faster than ever and won't see other option to transcribe any text!

CONS

As for the tool itself, almost no cons. After years of usage, I had one or another problem to open some kinds of videos, but I could easily convert it to a more popular format and it worked fine.

Julie

Legal Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT