User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(14)

14

4 stars

(22)

22

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(7)

7

1 stars

(9)

9

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.0 / 5

Customer Support

3.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Browse Allscripts Professional EHR Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 61 results

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Nathan from Advanced Family Eye Care

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Smooth and gets the job done

Gets the job done. Makes eprescribing easy.

Pros

Simplifies the documentation process and works well sending Rx

Cons

Not as user-friendly as other choices in the marketplace

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Heather from Carris Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Allscripts EHR

Allscripts was the first EHR I used, and it was definitely easy to learn how to use. The layout of each patients chart is easy to follow, as well as easy to sort through to find what you're looking for. I really like that you can follow tasks/messages for a specific patient, so you can keep on top of specific tasks that you're working on. You can also push tasks/messages out any length of time you would like, so it will reappear on your desktop when you specify, so you can follow up when needed.

Pros

Easy to follow tasks (messages) in each patient's chart I like the layout of the patient's chart, and that you can sort by document type, specialist, outside communication, etc.

Cons

Unable to see a patient's insurance card through the chart

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Good program but could use some updating

I truly do like this program and it is a significant part of our practices day-to-day functions. When it goes down clinic is highly negatively impacted. I would absolutely recommend this program and paired with Allscripts PM. Both are EXTREMELY ESSENTIAL is helping our practice run efficiently.

Pros

can view schedule and check in/discharge patients, holds all patients records and notes, i like the layout of individual patient's charts, the fact that you can scan in documents including insurance cards/ID's and designate where to drop them

Cons

freezes frequently, organization of general layout could be better, more breakdown of ways to search for a patient chart, crashes OFTEN, LARGE ISSUE WITH ALLSCRIPTS PM CROSSING OVER TO ALLSCRIPTS CLOUD EHR!!

January 2020

Noel from Preferred Pediatrics

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Look elsewhere for an EHR

When they talk about EHRs making life difficult for physicians they had Allscripts in mind. What should be simple tasks are made difficult. I'm sure there are other systems out there that are worse but it is hard to imagine.

Pros

I like the ability to customize the software myself but it is not always intuitive as to how to do this.

Cons

The cloud-based system is not very stable. Not only have they been the target of ransom-ware that shut down the system for 10 days but getting through a single day without getting kicked off is unusual. Updates to the system means at least a week of connectivity issues. A recent update required us to update to Windows 10 and then the next update made it not work well with windows 10. A recent update also made us unable to use tablet computers. Customer service is poor. Getting a password reset took 30 minutes on the phone as they wanted to mirror the computer first and getting that to work was a nightmare. Completing tasks for HEDIS, meaningful use and patient centered medical home are tedious. It takes an employee as hour a day to reconcile electronic visits that are sent to us due to the complex and counter-intuitive way they force us to do it.

October 2021

Nicole from Lead Pilates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Does the Job; Some Quirks to It

Useful for many purposes; Works great in an acute/outpatient medical setting.

Pros

Seems secure; Lots of functions and options from scheduling to charting in multiple sectors.

Cons

Cannot do multiple functions (scheduling and charting, mainly) in the same browser window. Need to open multiple windows in order to multi-task (i.e. scheduling client for follow up before finishing charting)

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Josh from The Independent Presbyterian Church of Savannah

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

You Got To Have One....

Great experience using this product and working with the Allscripts Staff.

Pros

We use this product in a Pediatric Medical Practice. It was a helpful product to have and Allscripts was wonderful to work with and continue to be a fully supported customer service program.

Cons

The forced paid upgrades always got me feeling like "why?"

September 2017

Ryan from St. Louis Children's Hospital

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Many Clicks Yield Low Results

Pros

This software makes inter-provider communication easy. The custom order feature provides increased efficiency. Pharmacy renewal requests are seamless.

Cons

Unfortunately, this software makes it difficult to track laboratory results across time which is less than optimal in the medical profession. Take notes is far from simple as the program requires multiple clicks in and out of text boxes to create notes. Finally, the custom patient and provider lists are cumbersome to create and manage.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Decent EMR if you set it up correctly

Pros

If you spend weeks/months setting this up correctly before use, it is a decent EMR for primary care and some specialties.

Cons

Requires administrator AND PHYSICIANS to spend days/weeks if not months setting up system tables, protocols, and templates before system can be used appropriately. Limited usability with poor workflows for certain specialties that rely on body-site specific coding in ICD-10.

February 2018

Shiv from Abbott

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

easy to use software

Pros

easy to implement, administer, use and the ability to send prescriptions with th click of a button using this software thereby saving productive time

Cons

at times, it takes multiple clicks to reach the end goal we are trying to accomplish and also at times historical notes really become hard to sarch

November 2019

Jocelyne from Lubbos Medical Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2019

DO NOT engage in business with this horrobvle company

where to start: just Horrible and just got worse over years since 2010. Just to know still on 11/26/19; we have to log in the system at least 10 times daily since 11/05/19 because they did a certain update; system kept freezing and impeding our workflow and nobody cares even with the senior analyst involvement. Cannot believe that we pay that much money for something that keeps failing us. Bills are not itemized and always contains abbreviated items costing thousands of dollars; kept charging for providers that left the practice due to 3 years contracts despite notices; apparently, they do not get any notice because their staff kept changing. Customer support representative only available when they want to sell something. Did not deliver what their promised despite the hefty bills we paid. Could not qualify even for 1st stage MUR because they did not set up the patient portal right. Had folders inside folders like smoking and tobacco use that do not capture data for reporting. I can spend days writing all the failures and mishappenings with Allscripts

Pros

I got used to just paste my own templates

Cons

Horrible customer support. They had an update on their system on 11/05/19 and system keep failing since then.

July 2021

Hossain from Palo Verde Hospital

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

Misleading & Snake oil sale-men

Terrible customer service with lip service only. Every time they come into the hospital and review your complaints and requests, they act like they are concerned and write up all your issues. Later, they won't respond for a while and then after months another person comes in asking the same questions and gets informed of same issues. Then they go and the cycle repeats itself. Minor changes are made but main issues are left alone for months and years until the "software update" is done when most of what they revised to your liking is again waved. It works very poorly with Dragon dictation. Warnings that comes up with medication orders are faulty and ridiculous and it took them 5 years to finally remove some. Zofran 4 mg iv Q6 PRN is considered over the limit dosing by Allscripts and gets a warning. DO NOT buy this program specially if you have to deal with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] in Southern California, a snake oil salesman.

Pros

Lowe price than epics and others at first, but you pay dearly later on!

Cons

NOT very flexible and modifiable as advertised before the sales.

December 2021

Dhruva from Ru

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Great EHR program!

Overall, I had a decent experience with Allscripts. I felt as if it was easy to use and implement in the work environment. It has the potential to turn into an excellent software for EHR with some updating.

Pros

Personally, I felt that Allscripts was easy to implement and administer to the staff. Writing orders and prescriptions were done with ease which saved a lot of time. It is a decent platform to use that is simple to learn due to well organization. It also has an incredibly large amount of storage capability which makes for a great system to implement in large hospitals.

Cons

The program does not allow more than 4 patient tabs to be open simultaneously which can be frustrating at times. The software also does tend to lag and it can take multiple clicks sometimes to open something. The program also does not allow for multi tasking, such as charting on one tab and looking at patient's info on another, without opening up a new window.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Handles most needs, but room for improvement

Generally, this is a pretty good platform to use. It is simple to learn, reasonably well organized, and no-nonsense. Additionally features could make this go from good software to something really excellent.

Pros

Allscripts has a tremendous capacity to store, and organize (reasonably well), a patient's various documents. For instance, there are tabs for notes, reports, hospital documents, etc. These tabs are very easy to use, and as long as the office staff is scanning things appropriately, it is pretty easy to find a patient's records and reports UNLESS the patient is complicated and there is simply a lot of documentation. In that case, it would be nice to have a quick way to change/adjust the titles of certain documents (i.e. instead of just including "MRI XX/XX/XXXX, letting someone write in PREOP MRI MM/DD/YYYY) so physicians and users could glance quickly into the chart and retrieve things easily. The notes feature is easy to use, and does not crash often, which is very helpful when you are busy seeing patients. The notes are also pretty clearly listed, which is helpful. The billing features are straightforward, and it is easy to generate a consult letter.

Cons

It would be helpful to be able to mark documents/results as important and to modify their titles. For instance, as a surgeon I would be thrilled if I could add PREOP MRI to a document name/title. For some reason, Allscripts outpatient does not always import lab results from its inpatient product, Sunrise (also made by Allscripts). Occasionally, it is much easier for me to view my patient's labs in Sunrise, necessitating having both programs open. Also, the layout for the lab results leaves something to be desired. It is time consuming and tedious to scroll through the documents, and there is no trend feature or easy dashboard to use. It would also be wonderful if I could easily import labs and results into my notes. Currently I have to go through everything manually.

Reasons for Switching to Allscripts Professional EHR

I changed companies.

September 2018

Julia from Gastroenterology Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Allscripts Review

Charting consistently on the system over years allows for continuity of care in our office. Overall the system is efficient and allows me to meet my objectives of charting on my patients.

Pros

It is helpful to make specific templates for each problem. This saves a lot of time which is helpful when you have a busy day of patients. Clicking on pertinent positives and negatives with the ability to add comments all build the note together nicely.

Cons

Usually the only issues we have with Allscripts is that it tends to freeze. Then we get kicked out of the system which is frustrating since it wastes a lot of time. It is not always clear if this problem comes from Allscripts itself or is in part due to our internet connection.

November 2017

Kelsey from Beacon Medical Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

I am a user of this software and it is easy to use once you are aware where things are located.

I was able to get referrals and orders sent to other facilities a lot quicker and easier.

Pros

The internal fax that was included in the software. It made it very easy and accessible to fax documents and records in Allscripts EHR. It wasted less paper by allowing us to fax things (ie; lab orders, diagnostic test orders, referrals) to other facilities rather than print it out and manually fax it from a fax/copy machine.

Cons

There was no shortcut to find documentation. I would have to search through documents by dates to find different messages or things that were scanned in. Once I was able to find what I was searching for then it was easy to locate the document again.

July 2019

Rachael from Margaret Stripling DO

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Allscripts is good software

It has been great. Easy to use and this company has been around a long time with cutting edge products. We started using them in 1992 and have never been sorry.

Pros

That you can simply change the date a charge was posted instead of deleting and reposting the charge.

Cons

We use the offline version so you only get 2 screens and when posting payments and answering phones and such it would be nice to have more screens so you don't have to exit posting.

July 2019

Marilyn from PT Home Services of San Antonio, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Personal Touch Review

Pros

It is user friendly and I have found different ways to locate the information I need, which is helpful.

Cons

It is not user friendly for the clinical staff but I personally do not have anything bad to say about it. When there is an issue, it does get resolved but sometimes it takes too long.

Reasons for Switching to Allscripts Professional EHR

Looking for a better product than what we had previously and with the electronic medical records option.

May 2019

Jennifer from Phc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

A little old fashioned

Pros

This is sufficient from an EHR standpoint. Overall it's quite easy to learn (helps to have some basic computer and previous EHR knowledge) and be somewhat proficient and efficient just within a few days.

Cons

-there is no way to have more than one chart open at a time -sometimes hard to navigate and though our EHR team is working to build a comprehensive flowsheet for health maintenance I find that the way it's set up in allscripts is not very helpful -not easy to refill groups of medications (as compared to other systems like EPIC, which I used previously) -lacks the functionality that EPIC has in a lot of regards and though I haven't used many other systems, have heard other providers feel similarly

March 2018

Shae Lynn from ABC Pediatrics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Allscripts has been a great EHR for our practice. It is very easy to use and easy to understand.

Pros

Allscript is easy to customize for each person. It is easy to use and easy to understand. Most things are very self explanatory. Overall the system is good.

Cons

The support sometimes takes a long time to respond to requests. Also when they respond to requests or open tickets sometimes it takes months to get thing actually completed. It seems that some people are quicker than other.

March 2018

Lori from Pegasus Psychiatric

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

I used this soft ware at two different practices, I think it is good software

I think this is a very good software compared to a lot that i have tried. I think the appointment scheduler is the best part of the program.

Pros

I really liked the scheduling system with Allscripts, very easy to learn just a lot of steps. I also like the EMR portion of this software, very user friendly.

Cons

my least favorite thing about this software is the amount of steps you have to make to complete a task.

August 2018

Stuart from Francisco Gil Professional Medical Co.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Some good features but not user friendlly

We have gotten used to it, however the only reason we continue to use it is because we have payed so much for it.

Pros

by the book (but not very user friendly because of it), MIPS portal is nice(though very buggy), FMH is helpful and there are new features we are looking forward to.

Cons

Crashes all the time. Expensive. Hard to use if you don't have an IT guy. Support is hit or miss.

November 2019

Amber from Hospital & Health Care

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2019

Needs to be more user friendly

I believe that there are better EHR formats out there and that Allscripts needs a major change to be more competitive with them and become more user friendly.

Pros

I like that there is places to view flowsheets in a grid type manner in order to compare data.

Cons

It is not user friendly. There are too many ways to chart something to view something which makes it confusing.

November 2019

Karla from Health and Wellness

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

East to use medical softeware

It solves the problem of paper charts, allows everything to be in one system for ease of use.

Pros

Able to keep a running chart for patients by breaking it down into categories of MD notes, authorizations, and even a running table on task/notes back & forth between provider/nurses.

Cons

Nothing as it's very user friendly and I have no complaints.

January 2018

Kory from Kitagawa Dermatology LLC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

It was an average EHR. Lack of customization was frustrating

Pros

It performed the basic functions well including orders, scripts, and basic documentation. Charting did not take excessively long

Cons

The most frustrating thing for me was the lack of customization. If there was a feature that made common sense to most docs, it would take forever for them to review the request and then it never got approved

April 2017

Warren from Pharmaceuticals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2017

Terrible software, terrible company and trapped due to 7 year contract!!

None....only a practice in debt......................................................................................................................

Pros

You can take breaks between patients while the EMR goes down quite frequently. The patients don't like it though when they start a riot in your waiting room. Because the software and cloud are terribly made and break down a lot you do get to talk to the folks in India a lot...that's where the IT is based from. Since they aren't able to help you and just say things like "this is a global problem we are aware. " That's really nifty but I have 15 patients waiting for me. This hasn't really turned out to be a PRO.... to be honest there really are no PROs.

Cons

high price to get out of contract. Shady company with a very bad product. This will be the worst business decision you ever make. You simply cannot get out of contract. In my opinion would never ever do business with this company.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great software but expensive

Sending electronic prescriptions is very easy. Overall this is a expensive program that lacks of a strong customer support.

Pros

Its features of e-prescription, immunization scheduling, easy to use and manage.

Cons

Transition times between screens. Speed is not what we expected. Customer care representatives are not as helpful as you would expect. Long-term contracts make difficult to look for another supplier.

August 2019

Mark from Blount Memorial Hospital

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Solid Hospital Based Software

Pros

Solid in its basic foundation and no bugs once the system is up and running

Cons

Not as easy to use as other systems offering the same options for daily workflow

July 2019

Marianne from Hospital & Health Care

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great emr

Pros

Ease of use in reviewing charts, reviewing labs and writing scripts

Cons

Notes can be lengthy depending on template your company uses

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Allscripts saves time

Pros

Allscripts has saved me tremendous time in my clinic and I no longer have to make phone calls or wait on faxes. It was very easy to learn and easy to use

Cons

I've been notified that the patient portal is tricky to use. Customer service has been great in supporting this issue.

January 2018

lauren from ft laud surgical

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2018

horrible product don't bother- the support is horrific and cant help with anything

we hoped for a better patient portal but it is not working the way it needs to.

Pros

when its off- they system has some great ideas but in practicality its horrible. once your trained on the product (they give you a 1000 plus page printout of useless stuff) you still have to call and ask how to use certain aspects. i am a software trainer and have issues with this product

Cons

everything is an addition charge- you will need to pay for each service by it self- so after your pay the massive amount, then you realize its not everything you need- you come to fidn out they charge you more for additional services. while i get this sounds normal- it would if your not paying 3000 plus a provider... yes thats per provider.. thats not the start up one time cost... FYI

November 2018

Mary from DVACO

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Everything I need

I utilize this program remotely for Case Management. It provides me with up to date info on my patients and I can provide the best care possible by ensuring the patient has a smooth transition to wherever he goes on discharge.

Pros

Everything is at my fingertips. I can easily find demographic information, doctor’s notes, nurses notes, studies, medications, etc.

Cons

It is busy to look at and I wish things were categorized a little better with bolder titles.

February 2019

danielle from Summit Medical Group

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Allscripts

Fast data entry and simple straightforward information interface but no bells and whistles

Pros

Compared to other EM’s it is very easy to navigate through different sections and a lot of data can be seen on the main screen

Cons

Not comprehensive for scheduling or billing

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Very self explanatory, easy to navigate

Pros

Easy to use, self explanatory, customer service is great, searching for patients is easy, ales representatives are very quick

Cons

system updates during work hours, server crash, bit more expansive than other EMR, everything is an additional charge

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Absolutely wonderful

Pros

This was a simple, cut and dry program that was beyond easy to navigate. Everything is so simple to find and the layout is great

Cons

There actually arent any cons that i can think of off the top of my head. This is a very well made program

January 2021

Karen from Dantzler Family Care

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

Unhappy customer

Not happy

Pros

Nothing it has been about 5 years since we use them I don't remember.

Cons

Nothing it has been 5 years since we used them so I don't remember.

Reasons for Switching to Allscripts Professional EHR

Unhappy with allscripts.

June 2017

Scott from Surgical Associates of North Texas

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2017

My experience could not be any worse.

Major headaches and a ton of ridiculous bills for no service.

Cons

Constant "upgrades" that didn't do anything to improve productivity, only made it more difficult to complete my daily work. Customer support was terrible. Biggest drawback, now in hindsight, is how incredibly expensive it is. We started with them early when there weren't many options. I'd keep hearing from other docs how much they were paying for their EMR's and be thinking "no way, they must not have what we've got". Turns out, I was the one being had. I now spend less than half of what Allscripts charged me, and get office management and billing support as well. I have trouble understanding how they are still in business with their model.

July 2019

Ellen from Neurology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Practice fusion has no support.

Pros

It can be customized. It is compressive.

Cons

Lack of support. Recurrent problems with prescribing controlled substances.

Reasons for Choosing Allscripts Professional EHR

Clearly, it was a mistake.

Reasons for Switching to Allscripts Professional EHR

Easier to use

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Versatile, Easy to Use Software

I use this when visiting offices and create integrations with this medical record system.

Pros

This software is so easy to use, even the greenest employee can handle it! It is also easy to integrate with other labs and systems for easy ordering and results!

Cons

This software doesnt have many negatives. The only thing that would make it better is if it were free.

February 2020

Amy from Advanced HealthCare Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Functional Yet Not the Most User Friendly

We use All Scripts to schedule, chart, and house records for our patients.

Pros

AllScripts allows providers to track and maintain records for so many purposes, it works well for all types of medical providers, and once you know where things are it is pretty easy to use.

Cons

AllScripts has changed their portal login four or five times over the last few years which is a hassle and always takes a day or two where you can't use the portal in the transition time. it also makes you log into the Cloud and the EHR separately which is inconvenient, and the first time a user logs in there is quite a bit of hassle to download the proper software and get it to accept the username and password.

April 2018

Miranda from Internal Medicine

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2018

We have lots of issues that are never fully resolved.

Pros

When it works correctly, it does just about everything we need it to.

Cons

It is hardly ever fully functioning. The referral and insurance verification has not worked since I got here in 2016. We have outages at least once a week. Our Allscripts PM and EHR do not always transmit information back and forth. Saving EKG function malfunctions constantly. IF it was fixed in a timely manner it would be A LITTLE different, but still ridiculous for the amount of money we spend on Allscripts. Our office would not recommend Allscripts to any office.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

Allscripts

Slows work production significantly. STAY AWAY....you will be very unhappy with this product.

Pros

Ability to access at home. Otherwise, these is nothing to like about this product.

Cons

Everything. It constantly kicks you off, freezes, creates error messages, bounces back prescriptions and in some cases, kicks you off without the ability to access any records. Terrible customer service. If I had a dollar for every tickets we have placed with them over the past 7 years....I would be a millionaire!

July 2021

steve from WRIM

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2021

Allscripts is a terrible product

Developers of this pro0duct should be ashamed that after 7+ years it is as dysfunctional and nonintuitive as ever. Absolutely horrible platform

Pros

There are no pros, this is an archaic platform that involves endless clicks, has bind pathways that produce non-mineable data, and endlessly breaks down

Cons

Costs a ton, customer support is horrible, they dont improve it in time and spce, drop down menus are missing all sorts of things

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Charity from YMCA of Greater Tulsa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

A great way to go paperless

Pros

The best thing about this product is that it allows doctors to send electronic scripts to pharmacies. This makes it easier for patients and for the medical offices.

Cons

The learning curve was hard. Older patients wanted traditional paper scripts.

September 2018

Elizabeth from Baylor Scott and White

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Allscripts Review

Pros

Easy to navigate with drop down menus, straight forward.

Cons

There are a lot of buttons, can be busy at times.

December 2017

Latrelle from Sandhills

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2017

Horrible

Ehr experience .

Pros

Allows us to meet the state requirements. Cost was reportedly very good. Inferior by far to other systems I have used but price meant you got in the game.

Cons

Version we use does not link cpt codes to results. It is like paper charting using a computer. Our version allows only one user at a time which is ridiculous.You have flaws like pap offered overriding an actual done pap when you are trying to trace your quality goals.

November 2018

Keri Ann from Doctors Pathology Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

This is a great product!

This was the best EHR and PM system I have worked with. Training was extensive and customer service courtesy and knowledge was like not other.

Pros

Ease of use, functionality was impeccable! From the training to using within the practice, Allscripts just made work life so much easier.

Cons

Sometimes information did not fully transfer but this was rare.

February 2020

Daniel from Summit Healthcare

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2020

Incredibly ineffecient EMR

Pros

Inpatient and outpatient platform that makes switching between easier.

Cons

Incredibly inefficient. A one step process in most EMR's takes 5 steps in allscripts. Basic everyday functions of medical care are not functional or require long work arounds and support is not helpful and slow to implement any changes. I have used dozens of EMRs and each has its pros and cons but I have yet to find one thing that is pro about allscripts over other EMRs. I would not recommend allscripts as a single platform EMR to anyone!

Reasons for Switching to Allscripts Professional EHR

Company switch

January 2020

lisa from AMC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Worst EMR ever - same as Amber W said

If you are a medical home, RUN away from this software. There are so many little buttons for this at that, many that do not cross over, it is nearly impossible to cover everything needed for a medical home - unless you can spend at least hour on every patient visit. If I were interviewing for a new position and knew that this was their software, after this current exposure, I would decline the interview. It is that bad. Good luck.

Pros

Nothing. Maybe good for COA approach? As a user, nothing.

Cons

Everything. I have been exposed to multiple EMR systems. So far Medent, while not perfect, has been the most user friendly. Allscripts literally feels punitive to use. You cannot even open 2 screens at a time and if you try to you will be kicked out of the original with no option to go back either. When as a healthcare provider have you ever been able to limit yourself to one thought from beginning to end at a time?!

July 2012

jeffrey from broadlands family practice

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

July 2012

helpful comments?

I think this is good product that is adaptable to vareity of ways providers think about patient care. I know it is a struggle to adapt to every different way that providers provide care. Need to focus on support and undertanding the issue and not tryin to run down a checklist, need to have better assistance with updates and new features on the product to make sure all clients are using the product to its fullest.

Pros

Easy to use and teach very adaptable to a user with respect to ros/PE/short lists

Cons

can be clunky to use and run reports out of sometime not intuitive on how to use (see labs set up and catalogs). Teaching, videos, ongoing help with understanding the product with new releases and when new services are offered

July 2021

emily from Headache Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2021

WORST EHR POSSIBLE!!

I have never in my life worked with such idiotic people or criminals. They bill you outrageously for things they don't even have yet.. for PROTOTYPES.. and then say they have no idea what you are talking about. This is the biggest scheme I have ever come across in my life. There is nothing easy or user friendly about this EHR. I would rather use MENDS than this..

Pros

There is not one thing about this software that I like.

Cons

EVERY feature of this software I dislike. It is an archaic system with too many clicks and logins to get anywhere. Not to mention the price you have to pay for little or no support or help bc you didn't purchase a support team or a certain package. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL JOKE. RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN FROM IT!!

Displaying 1 - 50 of 61 reviews