About BestNotes

BestNotes is an HIPAA compliant customer relationship management (CRM) and electronic health record (EHR) database system designed for the behavioral health and substance abuse industry. The software merges CRM and EHR tools into a highly effective and functional product that improves client interactions.

BestNotes is offered as a fully integrated suite that includes scheduling, patient portal, practice management, documentation, medication administration, outcome tracking, e prescribing, lab tracking, and reporting features. Documentation is designed with the behavioral health specialist in mind by helping eliminate double data entry, enabling point and click documentation and allowing users to quickly create group notes and treatment plans.


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

60 Reviews of BestNotes

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.21 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(21)

21

4 stars

(26)

26

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 60 results

November 2019

sheri from The Clearview Center, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best Customer Service and Easy to Use

The calendar feature for all of our therapists to coordinate has been extremely helpful. The group notes are automatically placed in the client file and has saved countless hours.

Pros

After trying several EHR free trial offers, BestNotes provided the best price for my smaller business and was the most responsive in following-up in a timely and professional manner. An important feature is how customizable and flexible the software is, any form that we use is able to be incorporated into the system. The most impressive feature is the customer service. I felt overwhelmed and anxious about switching systems but [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] were extremely patient and explained every aspect that I needed, I never feel rushed or minimized. The software has features that organize our client files more throughly and efficiently.

Cons

I appreciate that BestNotes creates billing and invoices I wish I could submit claims through BestNotes.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Customer Service was above and beyond the others. The price was affordable for a small business. The knowledge of mental health and substance abuse rules and regulations, along with updates at no additional charge was a plus. I really felt BestNotes understood the issues and concerns of my business and would work along side me to solve any questions or trouble, which they have.

September 2019

James from BRC Recovery

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Excellent CRM

Overall our experience with BestNotes has been great. Their support staff is really on top of things. We are very much looking forward to what BestNotes Fresh has to bring.

Pros

I think the CRM functions of this software are fantastic. We run a multi-facility drug and alcohol treatment center and BestNotes certainly meets the needs for the varying levels of complexity that each client's chart needs based on their level of care. The note templates are highly customizable and the reporting functions have been a massive asset as tool for our chart audits.

Cons

Honestly, our biggest problems with BestNotes come from its integration with other software and the eMAR. As a CRM BestNotes functions well, but we use an integration with DrFirst for ePrescribe that disrupts some functionality within BestNotes. We also use a lab integration through HalfPenny that has been left wanting. The eMAR is nice to have, but the ability to audit and track medication changes is fairly limited at this point.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Cost was a big factor in our decision. We have also had experience with BestNotes before.

June 2021

david from ACET

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER

Best tool I have used. If there is a preset that does not fit well, they will design it to fit your needs. Customer service is everything. They never make you feel stupid, they help you right away.

Pros

The software is pretty encompassing, which means it takes time to become very familiar. But the onboarding is done through Zoom with very accomodating and professional staff that take time to cover their set agenda and any questions you may have...even if you have asked the question previously. If you call customer service, you get through and get connected and problem solved immediately.

Cons

The software is pretty encompassing. It takes time to learn.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Cost

Reasons for Switching to BestNotes

ZERO! Customer service. Not even a phone number to call. Everything by email and get back to you within 48 hours. That does not work in y field.

June 2019

Michelle from InnerSourced Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

You Get What You Pay For

I really wanted to love BestNotes but I regretted my decision straight away. Having the trial was useless because the system is cumbersome but I thought it was just me. Thus stuck with in site of my concern, hoping things would get easier/better but that never happened. Lesson learned for selecting them based on a non-clinician referral who clearly didn't know any better. BestNotes reps acknowledge that little has changed with the platform in the past 15 years (since its inception) and it shows. They insist a new product is underway although they have no information on when it will be released. Think this said to merely pacify customers. I assume they gain and keep some customers due to the low price but using the software is like stepping into a time warp. I'd rather pay more money for a modern, user friendly system that can be used across device and is truly web based rather than a low price for a grossly outdated system. This EHR needs a complete overall!

Pros

The price for this EHR is phenomenal and BestNotes has the potential to be great. I like that you can add your own customized forms. The scripted treatment plan goals are better than most as they are measurable (but BestNotes did take some short cuts by simply repeating the same goals over and over).

Cons

As many users have been indicating since 2016, BestNotes is looks like something from the 1900's. Thus the systems uses a lot of odd symbols from the 1990's (such as a floppy disk).There seems to be no consistency with font size across pages. Some of the templates have typos. Minor clients that require parental signature consent forms is ridiculously complicated. They systems uses a lot of their own made up acronyms that are confusing. Many of the videos/self help guides are outdated or otherwise irrelevant. It is clunky, grossly outdated, has an ugly interface, and is not intuitive. This system is not web based, you have to download the software application on your computer, the client portal is practically useless since clients cant self schedule or pay a bill there, and have to contract with a third party for billing thereby increasing your costs. Sadly, the staff are nice enough but can be a bit condescending if you cant quickly make sense out of the madness that is BestNotes that they have normalized.

Response from BestNotes

Replied June 2019

Thanks for your feedback Michelle. I'm sorry you had such a painful experience. Respectfully, there are a few points that I would like to clarify. First, you mentioned that documentation can be confusing and clunky. It's true that BestNotes is customizable to a fault and we've taken some significant steps to make things easier. We hired a clinical director and after 3 years of Research/Development, we've released an entire set of behavioral health and addiction treatment focused documentation (from Admission to Discharge) that considers Joint Commission, CARF, Payer and common State/County regulations. The best part is that we keep this documentation updated for you. As regulations change, so does your documentation one less thing to worry about! Unfortunately, Capterra only have gives us 1000 characters to reply to your feedback. Quickly, BestNotes is entirely web-based, includes a lot of internal billing tools and we haven't stopped developing our current version.

June 2021

Yosune from Bright Beginnings Counseling

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Yosune Review

BestNotes has been great overall. It allows for easy use for us and our clients.

Pros

I like that it is easy to use, you can customize the settings to make it more personable, and it allows for information to be easily stored and accessible.

Cons

Learning the coding and billing side of things has been the most challenging.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

It was a familiar area that we were comfortable with.