BestNotes Software

3.90 / 5 (24)

About BestNotes


BestNotes is an HIPAA compliant customer relationship management (CRM) and electronic health record (EHR) database system designed for the behavioral health and substance abuse industry. The software merges CRM and EHR tools into a highly effective and functional product that improves client interactions.

BestNotes is offered as a fully integrated suite that includes scheduling, patient portal, practice management, documentation, medication administration, outcome tracking, e prescribing, lab tracking, and reporting features. Documentation is designed with the behavioral health specialist in mind by helping eliminate double data entry, enabling point and click documentation and allowing users to quickly create group notes and treatment plans. 

BestNotes CRM tracks sales activity, follow-ups, referrals, and ongoing customer interactions. The software covers the full spectrum of client interactions from sales to alumni relations. The patient calendar automatically includes notes and billing codes for each appointment.

BestNotes requires no upfront fees and offers users a month-to-month contract and training/support for a fee.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

24 Reviews of BestNotes

Average User Ratings

Overall

3.90 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(6)

4 stars

(11)

3 stars

(5)

2 stars

(2)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

June 2019

Michelle from InnerSourced Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

You Get What You Pay For

I really wanted to love BestNotes but I regretted my decision straight away. Having the trial was useless because the system is cumbersome but I thought it was just me. Thus stuck with in site of my concern, hoping things would get easier/better but that never happened. Lesson learned for selecting them based on a non-clinician referral who clearly didn't know any better. BestNotes reps acknowledge that little has changed with the platform in the past 15 years (since its inception) and it shows. They insist a new product is underway although they have no information on when it will be released. Think this said to merely pacify customers. I assume they gain and keep some customers due to the low price but using the software is like stepping into a time warp. I'd rather pay more money for a modern, user friendly system that can be used across device and is truly web based rather than a low price for a grossly outdated system. This EHR needs a complete overall!

Pros

The price for this EHR is phenomenal and BestNotes has the potential to be great. I like that you can add your own customized forms. The scripted treatment plan goals are better than most as they are measurable (but BestNotes did take some short cuts by simply repeating the same goals over and over).

Cons

As many users have been indicating since 2016, BestNotes is looks like something from the 1900's. Thus the systems uses a lot of odd symbols from the 1990's (such as a floppy disk).There seems to be no consistency with font size across pages. Some of the templates have typos. Minor clients that require parental signature consent forms is ridiculously complicated. They systems uses a lot of their own made up acronyms that are confusing. Many of the videos/self help guides are outdated or otherwise irrelevant. It is clunky, grossly outdated, has an ugly interface, and is not intuitive. This system is not web based, you have to download the software application on your computer, the client portal is practically useless since clients cant self schedule or pay a bill there, and have to contract with a third party for billing thereby increasing your costs. Sadly, the staff are nice enough but can be a bit condescending if you cant quickly make sense out of the madness that is BestNotes that they have normalized.

Response from BestNotes of

Replied June 2019

Thanks for your feedback Michelle. I'm sorry you had such a painful experience. Respectfully, there are a few points that I would like to clarify. First, you mentioned that documentation can be confusing and clunky. It's true that BestNotes is customizable to a fault and we've taken some significant steps to make things easier. We hired a clinical director and after 3 years of Research/Development, we've released an entire set of behavioral health and addiction treatment focused documentation (from Admission to Discharge) that considers Joint Commission, CARF, Payer and common State/County regulations. The best part is that we keep this documentation updated for you. As regulations change, so does your documentation one less thing to worry about! Unfortunately, Capterra only have gives us 1000 characters to reply to your feedback. Quickly, BestNotes is entirely web-based, includes a lot of internal billing tools and we haven't stopped developing our current version.

July 2018

Jessica from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Seems to be an older software.

I believe Best Notes could be more utilized if they would advance the technologies of the program to easily use and make edits.

Pros

When a patient is selected, all documents uploaded are listed on the right, but I am still able to create and select a folder on the left to see a list of the documents in that category.

Cons

The software doesn't seem to be upgrading with the advances in technology. I still find it hard to navigate and make edits to a document without it making an error in the formatting.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

BestNotes

Pros

I enjoy that you can upload documents and have everything in one place. The individual and group case notes are simple and user-friendly. It makes documenting sessions easy.

Cons

It is not always so intuitive. I have had to train a few individuals on how to use and the same questions come up with the treatment plan and not always knowing if you push save and continue or next. It sounds simple but it is not always easy to go back and fix.

May 2018

Katie from Quality Youth Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

BestNotes is worked wonderfully as an all inclusive EHR and Billing system when paired with Claim.MD

Pros

I like that the software captures all claim data information and builds electronic HCFA 1500 claim forms with information input to BestNotes. This makes billing a seamless and streamlined process.

Cons

The software is susceptible to internet interruptions and can be slow loading from page to page. Certain client files and registers that are very large sometimes produce an error code when loading .

July 2018

Robert from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Perfect for what we use it for

I still currently use this daily.

Pros

Great way to organize patient files. It's easy to use and understand. Can be organized and separated by facilities (we bill for multiple facilities).

Cons

My biggest complaint is that the "quick list" only goes up to 7 and there isn't any customization to add lists. We use that to separate our facilities patients however we bill for more than 7 facilities.

September 2018

Jose Gregorio from CRP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

BestNotes to organize your mind !!

So far I have had to install this system to more than 30 people and none have expressed unwanted comments about the operation and operation of the system. They are very satisfied customers because of the way they organize medical information and how they access it.

Pros

BestNotes is a cloud based health or medical records system. Conceptualized for small and medium clinics.

BestNotes offers applications for mobile devices on Android and iOS.

Cons

BestNotes has managed to satisfy the need to solve the complex task of managing patient documents. It is a software that covers all the administrative aspects to handle medical documents.
It has a practical, simple and fast search systems. Its interface has the information well ordered so that the medical authority can make a diagnosis. The more medical history a patient has, the order of visualization of the data is decisive for a diagnosis and this system does it very well.

April 2018

Charley from Madrona Recovery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Not for those who love a paper chart

Pros

The integrating process was difficult but their trainers were always available and very helpful. They can customize a lot, but if you have clinician who love a paper chart and who prefer free flow documentation this is a difficult program to get them on board with.

Cons

If you are trying to use without something like a DoctorFirst, it is really problem prone. They have just rolled out some new features though, which I hope will resolve ongoing med errors and lots of front end work.

March 2015

Amy from Engage

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2015

BestNotes- Great Program. Great Partnership.

Engage first purchased BestNotes in late 2013. Kristen Francom has been our Implementation Specialist since then. She worked with us to set up BestNotes for our Intensive Outpatient Programs. Our company has experience tremendous growth within the past two years and Kristen at BestNotes has been right there helping get the most out of BestNotes. We appreciate that if there is a functionality of BestNotes that we need but is not in place she talks with the developer on our behalf to see if those needs can be met. BestNotes has helped us keep better track of our clients as well as get a better picture of how our community outreach is directly impacting our census. Ideally we would like Bestnotes to have the functionality to house both our private practice and program clients WITHOUT crossover but have been informed that there is not a way to do that at this time. It did take our staff a while to get use to how to use Bestnotes. Since BestNotes is a program that is used differently between companies there is not one standardized training that BestNotes can offer. They do have a help desk site that does answer many questions a user may have. However, we have created our own training documents that are specific to how our office uses the program. Overall we are very happy that with BestNotes we not only purchased a very useful and helpful program but also that we have experienced a partnership with Kristen Francom in making BestNotes work for us.

June 2018

Dominic from Q2i

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great product!

Pros

Best product on the market! Too many other ehrs are way too expensive for what they feature! Love bestnotes!

Cons

I cant think of anything negative to say, i widh we wouldve went with bestnotes from the beginning! Thanks BN!

March 2019

Chari from CleanWorks Building Maintenance

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

It does what it needs to

Pros

They give you a lot of features you need for scheduling and client management in a secure place.

Cons

It is definitely not pretty. You would think that something that has been around for a while would have a better user interface. There is also a huge learning curve for all of our Therapist and other users.

October 2018

Ari from Evexia Cousnseling $ Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support