My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders) software


32 reviews(4.0/5)
32 reviews(4.0/5)

My Vision Express is an integrated electronic health records (EHR) and practice management solution created specifically for optometrists and opticians. The solution helps to manage charting, practice organization, optical point of sale and overall patient care.

My Vision Express offers an interactive platform to design workflows that align with a variety of practices. The built-in scheduler allows staff and physicians to schedule appointments by location, doctor or slot availability. The solution also includes billing and inventory management capabilities as well as optical point of sale to track the sales process for contact lenses, eyewear and other non-prescription products.

My Vision Express’ patient management feature helps manage patient records, categorize information, maintain prescription history and more. Physicians can securely communicate with their patients and staff via text messages, emails and voice calls.

My Vision Express works for all sizes including single-doctor office, multi-location chain or integration with hospital medical systems.

Supported Operating System(s):
Mac OS , Web browser (OS agnostic) , Windows 8

32 Reviews of My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders)

Showing 1 - 20 of 32

Start your review of My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders)

Click to start
  • Bonnie from Hunter Vision

    Specialty: Ophthalmology

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    All in one spot

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Easily navigate through the electronic records at several sites. Support is great and always friendly. They are quick to respond.

    Cons

    There is so much information packed into one software. I am sure there is a lot that we are not utilizing due to the capacity of the program itself.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Melissa from St Croix Vision Center

    April 2018

    My Vision Express is a great software

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I only used this particular software at my old clinic and it was great. Very easy to use and a cost effective choice for our small business.

    Cons

    At the time of using My Vision Express I didn't really have any complaints, until I started at my new clinic and we were using another software. There were many features available with the new software that My Vision Express did not offer.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Olivia from LensCrafters

    March 2018

    All in one optometrist tool

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I like that basically everything you need - scheduling, chart notes, billing, etc. - is included in one program.

    Cons

    Since everything is all included - scheduling, chart notes, billing - if there was ever a problem with the program, or if we were waiting on an update, it felt like our hands were tied and we couldn't do much of anything.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Lesley from Regina J. Elkins, OD, LLC

    Specialty: Optometry

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    February 2018

    Manager

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    It will work most of the time as a practice management software. I say most of the time, because sometimes that does not work, and payments and social security numbers are lost.

    Cons

    This software is a terrible electronic healthcare software. Every year we have tried to attest to meaningful use (now MIPS) and the software does not work. For example, for 2017's reporting period, we were told at the beginning of 2017 we would be able to report clinical quality measures through a registry. Then, in the last quarter of 2017, we were told to use the MyVisionExpress' CQM report. We spent hours and hours trying to get our report to generate numbers. MVE staff tied up our server for hours trying to fix errors. Then in January 2018 we were told we have to submit CQM's via claims during 2017. This is the way it has been every year. We want to avoid a negative payment adjustment from Medicare, but MyVisionExpress is not capable of staying up-to-date on Medicare's requirements.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Olivia from LensCrafters

    January 2018

    Fills a specific need well

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Fills all our optometrist needs in one program

    Pros

    Since it's made for optometrists, obviously it fits those needs well. Scheduling appointments, exam notes, transferring prescriptions...it's all right there.

    Cons

    Getting customer support is always a pain. You have to plan a whole day for playing phone tag, and half a day for any updates.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Mary from Mary A. Grant, O.D.

    May 2017

    Great customer service. Great tech support. Great training. Great system. Value based.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The system does what I need it to do when I need it to do it. It's fast, efficient, precise, customizable and the tech support has been just as responsive. Unlike other EHR/EMR systems I researched, MVE worked with me on cost and let me add modules as I realized I needed them. The big companies have a set price for a set system (all or nothing out the door). I have now purchased almost every module that MVE offers and because I was allowed to experience each module separately I gained the skills and confidence to drive this system efficiently. I am just now beginning to appreciate the agility and resilience of the MVE programs. The onboarding team (your trainers) are the best in the business, as far as my staff and I are concerned. We call, they answer. I'm not giving up our trainer's name because he is the best of the best. He actually can work this system to its max and makes learning fun and simple. He remotes into our system and not only demonstrates the modules but makes us repeat the scenarios while he is logged in. He let's me show him all the damage I've done with the "customizer" button. And the best part - after hitting all the wrong buttons, deleting essential programs, and creating chaos in the name of "just because I can", the MVE team steps in and restores order and functionality; usually within a couple of hours depending on what time we call/email. MVE has the best video tutorials out there in addition to the live help.

    Cons

    "Gigo" garbage in - garbage out. If you don't take time and really learn how to manipulate MVE you will be dissatisfied. Thinking that you are going to buy this and it will magically read your mind will lead to big unhappiness. Like any AI (it will give back what you put in).

    Review Source: Capterra
  • Mary from Mary A. Grant, O.D.

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    May 2017

    Great customer service. Great tech support. Great training. Great system. Value based.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I am going paperless! Billing is easier, faster, more accurate. No more ledger cards, daysheets, hours of insurance reconciliation... No more hunting for patient charts just to verify a prescription. No more filing!!!!! Can send forms to patients through the portal and the system uploads the info automatically. That right there is worth it all. And, it's reasonably priced. I paid for what I need. Oh, and did I mention great customer service? Yes, that too.

    Pros

    The system does what I need it to do when I need it to do it. It's fast, efficient, precise, customizable and the tech support has been just as responsive. Unlike other EHR/EMR systems I researched, MVE worked with me on cost and let me add modules as I realized I needed them. The big companies have a set price for a set system (all or nothing out the door). I have now purchased almost every module that MVE offers and because I was allowed to experience each module separately I gained the skills and confidence to drive this system efficiently. I am just now beginning to appreciate the agility and resilience of the MVE programs. The onboarding team (your trainers) are the best in the business, as far as my staff and I are concerned. We call, they answer. I'm not giving up our trainer's name because he is the best of the best. He actually can work this system to its max and makes learning fun and simple. He remotes into our system and not only demonstrates the modules but makes us repeat the scenarios while he is logged in. He let's me show him all the damage I've done with the "customizer" button. And the best part - after hitting all the wrong buttons, deleting essential programs, and creating chaos in the name of "just because I can", the MVE team steps in and restores order and functionality; usually within a couple of hours depending on what time we call/email. MVE has the best video tutorials out there in addition to the live help.

    Cons

    "Gigo" garbage in - garbage out. If you don't take time and really learn how to manipulate MVE you will be dissatisfied. Thinking that you are going to buy this and it will magically read your mind will lead to big unhappiness. Like any AI (it will give back what you put in).

    Review Source: Capterra
  • Steven from Eye Care Center of Ocala

    Specialty: Optometry

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Best EMR for eye care

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I bought this software in 2009 and have never considered changing.

    Pros

    Easy to customize, they are always pro-active about updating the software, there's a lot of functionality and integration with equipment. Compared to other optometry EMRs this is by far the easiest to use.

    Cons

    It used to be hard to get a hold of technical support but it's a lot better now. I think they hired a lot of new support people. Also the support is local.

  • Jonathan from Abba Eye Care

    Specialty: Optometry

    Number of employees: 201-500 employees

    May 2017

    Great for Customization

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Even through the changes within their organization, My Vision Express and Insight Software have maintained a strong business relationship with us, an Enterprise account. As I'm the primary contact for our business relationship, I'm very grateful for our representatives and their knowledge in the software.

    Pros

    Very customizable, especially if you have an onsite staff member who is advanced in SQL troubleshooting. We use the local install, so we can typically troubleshoot most issues in-house. Whenever we come across a feature that's not available to be customized, we will contact our Enterprise rep to submit the enhancement request. Great working relationship between our organizations too.

    Cons

    Granted, MVE has many training resources available to our company before anyone here knew what MVE is. Once we started to mold our processes to reflect our internal policies, we got to work with our rep to make changes to our processes, but there are many items that cannot be hidden (in the customizer) from our end-users. This presents the need for a lot of in-depth training that takes time and money.

  • Amie from Pacific Eye Surgeons

    Specialty: Ophthalmology

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    May 2017

    Great Software for Optical!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Easy to use. Great Inventory management. Interfaces with Labs/ Insurance/ Marketing/ CLX are fantastic!

    Cons

    Reports features are not as strong as I would like but I am more picky and analytical than the average Optical Manager.

  • Alisha from Blink Eyewear

    Specialty: Optometry

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Easy to use with many great features

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Easy and clean program to work with. Easy for new staff to learn. They are always improving their features. Overall very good. I heavily researched all the programs available and this was bar far the best.

    Pros

    Orders module makes it easy to place orders.
    Exam module is quick to navigate and flows well through out an exam.
    Support is normally good at getting back to you. Easier if you use their Live Chat feature.
    Love the time clock feature for staff to clock in and out.
    Messages module works well to leave notes for other staff/doctors (but it isn't an instant messenger system)

    Cons

    Reporting Portal - loads slowly. Would like better metrics reporting such as gross revenue per patient etc (metrics from the Management & Business Academy report).

    Calendar takes a long time to load, but when loaded, it works fine. Calendar only shows 5 doctors at a time, have to use the drop down menu to show the other doctors each time you open the calendar. (We have up to 7 or 8 schedules that we need to see simultaneously).

  • Gerry from Doctors Eyecare

    Specialty: Optometry

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Great Full Set of Features, Powerful communication tools for patient contact (text, call, email) but less than ideal support.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Certain support people are really good, training videos very good, but some support needs to be improved badly. The thing is, read the reviews and most company's support is pretty awful.

    Pros

    Can run in the cloud or run on your own server. What we do is run our own cloud and use Remote Desktop to access the program on our own MS Server. This is tremendous and powerfully flexible option that few PMS systems allow. The inventory is great, the reports are fine. Overall more good than bad. Great integration with all pre-test instruments.

    Cons

    The time to open the scheduler is frustrating!!!!!! This is the weakest point. I also wish the product was written on the Postgre SQL or the MYSQL database. as the MS-SQL they use is only OK. Also the hidden cost of it (free till 10,000 records I think) and the speed of it leaves something to be desired.

  • Benjamin from Lifetime Vision and Eye Care, Inc

    Specialty: Optometry

    August 2016

    Average product.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The software is optometry specific and is complete for office management, optical management, as well as takes care of everything on the doctor side. As long as you don't need help from MVE directly, you can get by.

    Cons

    The technical support is terrible. The cloud connectivity is very unstable even with the fastest internet service from Comcast or ATT.

  • Raj from Doc Vision

    Specialty: Optometry

    April 2016

    Stay Away From My Vision Express

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    Selling Pitch & their Demo

    Cons

    There software works great on there demo mode but not in real time. It lag and keep on deleting info. If you get to there tech support they will blame you for everything.

  • Mayur from Mayur Desai Optometry PC

    Specialty: Optometry

    January 2016

    Not worth consideration for busy practices.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    The program updates regularly. It looks good and has an acceptable layout. It is customizable.

    Cons

    Poor customer service and response times. It can take up to a week to get resolution. The cloud-based software runs slow and is unreliable and goes down frequently, crippling our busy practice. My patient flow is much slower using this program, than with paper. Reports are not comprehensive. Billing in US$ vs CAD when doing business in Canada.

  • Tracy from Visionhealth Eye Center

    Specialty: Optometry

    July 2015

    Clinic Manager

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    I like all the functions the software provides. The product keeps up with the newest trends and changes in optometry. The vendor is great always helpful when issues arise.

    Cons

    We are server based and I am not sure if this has anything to do with it, but I wish the software would change screens quicker. It seems as if you are going between screens (example: calendar to exam) it takes a lot of time for it to load.I wish the vendor provide more notification when an update or a new patch is being dropped.

  • Alexis from Eye Surgeons and Consultants

    Specialty: Other specialty

    April 2015

    Very Easy and Powerful

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    My Vision Express is very easy to use. Right now I'm only using it for the practice management, mainly for inventory reasons. I can keep track of what comes in and leaves the practice very easily. Also, no more writing orders, which means no filing. (LOVE THAT)
    As for the vendor, the support has been excellent. Any issues I have run in to (very little by the way), have been resolved very quickly.

    Cons

    At the moment, the only thing I can think of is the allocation portion of the program while taking payments. Soma payments don't allocate accurately and they have to be fixed manually, but this is pretty easy to do also. I haven't tried it with the checkout turned on though, so we'll see if that helps. Other than that, I can't really think of any negatives.

  • Roy from Victor Family Eyecare

    Specialty: Optometry

    March 2015

    This system has all what you would need to run an optometric practice

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    It is simple to use and you could find self help at support.myvisionexpress or by calling the help desk to walk you through issues.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes more clicks to get to a different part of the patient chart than you would expect.

  • Alanis from pearle vision

    Specialty: Optometry

    March 2015

    Amazing Customer Service Reps at My Vision Express

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    I really am in great appreciation of our Customer Service Relations Analyst. She always is finding a way to help me with some program issues, which I haven't had that many. She refers me to the department needed if the issue is out of her hands. My issue is always handled the same day! She's so bright and awesome.

    Cons

    We can not do Eye Med insurance or Humana insurance through this program. I was told that this would be added soon.

  • Heidi from Kitsap Optical

    Specialty: Billing services

    February 2015

    MVE works with our office

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    The support! The people are very kind. They have an answer for everything, and if they don't, they will get it for you!

    Cons

    The insurance fee schedules are very confusing. I've been working on setting them up for almost a year now.

Do you use My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders) ?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 686-5616