All Kitomba Salon and Spa Software Reviews

1-25 of 73 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Carla

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Great All-round Salon/Spa Software

Great overall experience- they take all feedback and often release new features due to popular demand. Constantly upgrading and improving their software.

PROS

We love how extensive the system is- we can run reports on every thing we need, plus more! The customer service is great- they always answer our calls or emails very quickly.

CONS

The cost, however, we are totally happy paying the cost as we receive so many benefits.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Much more features and benefits

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Kitomba offers better service, more options, and lets us really break down our sales and clientele to get the information we need.

Laurie

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

It's okay

I like kitomba - it makes sense, it just seems out dated. We were using timely before and made the change due to certain kitomba features - however didn't realise how many timely features we were going to miss. I have much more feedback than what is above so if anyone is interested I'm happy to be contacted. At this stage I'll definitely be looking at moving back to timely when our contact is up as they're constantly innovating

PROS

being able to split services over multiple staff through the online booking pin for logging in/out restricted access for certain staff being able to see which login made an appointment/change (although super annoying that kitomba one is shown as 'online appointment' rather than the staff members name) Targets visible from kitomba 1 (annoying that staff seem to be able to see each others targets, and would be great to be able to set an hourly target for staff who frequently change hour or an alternating one for those who alternate hours over a fortnight or month) tiered pricing/timing

CONS

It being installed on the desktop means there are so many chances for issues - we had an issue with our power supply and ended up with kitomba being corrupted multiple times (while this is a user issue it is very annoying that it's able to happen at all - a cloud based option like timely wouldn't do it) The online booking only has the ability to set 'packages' not specifically titled sections - having multiple drop down menus would be better - eg Colour and Cut, Colour and Blowdry, Promotions It would be great if it could at least try to add all services in a package to be with the same staff member when they choose (anyone) from the online booking so that it's not spread over multiple people when one person could have done all of the services It would be great if the cautions/alerts were visible earlier in the booking process, as you currently don't see it - or aren't able to read it easily until the appointment has already been created (in a situation where you have a note such as - 'DON'T BOOK THIS PERSON IN' it would be great to see straight away The reports are really clunky to use and don't have clear names that explain what they do - why is there not an easy to use report for retail sold on kitomba one? Kitomba one could do with better reports in general - maybe gather feedback as to what people think is missing? K1 should have the ability to bring up pricing for services and put sales through In general seeing pricing should be easier than setting up a quote

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

The customer support was awesome and other team members have used it before. PS. I chose fine art as an industry as it seems like an oversight to not include a beauty/hairdressing option in your list when sending a survey to kitomba users - feel free to change it to whatever it should be for a hair and nail salon

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

mainly to have services be able to be split over multiple stylists during online booking, the login/out function and being able to set multiple timing/pricing tiers for different staff

Danielle

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2019

Good for small business, but far too basic for big business.

Our account person is super helpful and friendly, we get great deal of support, it's just unfortunate that some of the functionality is lacking.

PROS

I like that the salons have so much great reporting available to them, unfortunately most sites aren't using this to its full potential and there is no way to look at some of these reports from Head Office or at a national level.

CONS

Kitomba lacks a lot of functionality that a big, multi-site business requires, and is not set up to deliver standard retail functions in terms of promotions. For example Buy 2 get 1 Free promotions. Leaving offers to be manual entered, and actioned leaves the business open to errors and misuse. There is key gaps in the reporting available, and anything comparable requires running two reports and manually working out the variance which is something I would consider basic. Imagine if you could produce a report on points earned on a specific brand, during a specified time period... and charge the vendor for those points... you could create some clever promotions if the reporting and keying allowed. Had I been part of the decision process I would not have chosen Kitomba. It's basic, and geared largely towards single, or smaller businesses. The lure of having a points/rewards system is off set by the inability to easy look at the data at a nationwide level. There isn't even the ability to bulk up load quantities for sites across the group, for instance in a GWP promotion where I know and created the quantities per site, I have to leave it to the sites to enter the quantity (which they never do).

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Before my time.

Mark

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Kitomba Reviee

We have had ups and downs over the years. At one point we did consider changing to another company. But we have had some help with some issues that needed staff prepared go the extra mile rep has been really helpful. Rep has bent over backwards to help us and he has More than made sure we are looked after.

PROS

The developments over the years. We purchased the product when it was being launched For our spa. We branched into a different area and over time, Kitomba has enveloped this business. The current technical/forensic techs are much more helpful and make things more user friendly than used to be the case.

CONS

For several years, we asked for a concessions section. This was developed, but most of the work still had to have a largely manual input. Things like an expiry after 22 months have only recently been added as a feature. Prior to this, we had to keep a log independent of the programme and expire them by hand. Although very few do expire, it was a lot of work to do it manually.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

We already used millennium in Tauranga. We were on the verge of opening the tanning studios and carrying on with millennium, but we'd changed the spa to Kitomba, so decided to get the same programme for the other two.

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Not sure of the date. It was when Tom owned the business and was looking for businesses to try Kitomba out. That was when we had our spa in Tauranga. We have since sold that business and used Kitomba from day one at our tanning studios.

David

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Best product available!!!

Phenomenal is how we would describe our experience with Kitomba. Easy set up, innovative features added regularly, clear reporting and excellent support.

PROS

The ability to monitor not just appointments but key critical business information in stock control, staff hours and KPI’s make this Kitomba number 1. If you couple this with the advanced marketing and integrations and the return on investment disappears. Support is next level, personal and quick.

CONS

I would love to be able to track lead development better, but this does not detract from the overall experience.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

The features and ease of use were superior and their support won us over.

Laura

Consumer Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Salon review

Wonderful

PROS

Reporting is most important in my job. Any reports that our salons require are easily accessible and understandable with this operating system. Also, the systems support we are provided by our account manager Rica is fantastic. She is super delightful and happy to help and answer any questions I have, happy to provide additional training whenever required, she is just wonderful.

CONS

negative stock holdings do not show on reports. difficult to clean up.

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Change of company - have used those two operating systems elsewhere.

Leigh

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Fantastic Customer support

PROS

I can always call Kitomba support to help guide me thru whatever it is I’m trying to do or searching for. The customer marketing tools are very good

CONS

Kitomba does not have the ability to create re-occurring bookings

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Kitomba has a cloud based platform as well as a program installed into the main computer in salon so there is no waiting times to flick from page to page

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Our internet wasn’t fast enough for a cloud based system and it was very slow at times to move from page to page eg. appointment book to POS

Aisling

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Aesthetic Industry

PROS

Online bookings Reporting Automation of marketing

CONS

Clients unable to leave a review Cost of text messages is too high

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Functionality

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Timely had no ability at time for marketing

Julie

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Salon

Kitomba is great & im there there are many functions we are not using as we don’t don’t how

PROS

Rebooking , all reports are there to view at the click of a button

CONS

Lack of training , and support with a whole reload of increasing demands of things. We Seen to tackle one thing at a time. They are always very helpful on the end of the phone with support though

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Use before

Kelly

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Kelly Kitomba

KPIs Client retention

PROS

Love the new Kitomba 1 frequent rebook button. Kitomba 1 access for team viewing Online bookings

CONS

Not being in the cloud. Their are many functions I can’t use when working from home like cash rec.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Price match Familiarity

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

I hated backing up and lack of reports

Junia

Alternative Medicine, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

We have a much better reminder and re-booking system as well as detailed statistics etc - fabulous

auto reminders, texting clients as no one listens to voicemail any more, many features such as reports which are comprehensive and allow me to track my business and how it is going, financial records, so many things.

PROS

I like that it does so much and makes everyone do everything correctly as well. It picks up mistakes, and also allows us some freedom regarding reminders and also rostering staff is easy - there are great charting features and I am sure there are things Kitomba can do that I don't even know!

CONS

The only thing I don't like is that it will not stop a staff member from making a sale without committing it properly, you can commit a sale but not put in the method of payment which overrides the actual sale and doesn't record it, which makes it complicated if staff have forgotton to go back and complete a sale. Settlement is then a nightmare !

Vendor Response

Hi Junia, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It¿s really nice to hear how you use Kitomba and how it helps you. We can assist with your issue of sales being committed without payment, so someone from our support team will be in touch to help make this area work better for you. Kind regards, Anna

Replied May 2018

Dorien

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Great business tool

I’ve found it a great tool to use, it’s easy to use and constantly being improved and updated. Thanks Kitomba I will miss seeing my business summaries now that I am no longer a client of yours.

PROS

Access to business information quickly and efficiently for bookings, targets and KPIs wherever you are at anytime. Great support staff and continual improvements being made to stream line the experience for the user. Easy to use and data is easy to read and understand.

CONS

Fairly Expensive for a small business, charges for txts and emails is not really worth the price considering most businesses Using this software will be messaging many clients regarding appointments. This means some businesses would be less likely to use the marketing tools available in the software as the messaging charges would Defeat the purpose of using the marketing tools and resources available to use in the software.

Anita

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Keeps the salon on track.

PROS

Kitomba has been great for my salon it helps keep everything on track and I am able to see what is going on at work even when I'm not there. The new time sheet feature has been amazing it keeps my staff honest and saves a lot of time chasing them up to put in their hours.

CONS

It does not integrate the hours from to.e sheet to zero.

Stephanie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

Some of the reports are a little confusing and sometimes lack specific targeting.

PROS

Easy, comprehensive, great support. Always updating and keeping up with things. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

CONS

Not sure if it adds product back if you delete or credit. I do find the everyday marketing a little hard to get sometimes and it is hard to target specifics (maybe I don't know how to use it) I often don't have time to to watch videos about the utilization of the system. Maybe if a planned rep visit to go over the finer things would be good. Now that we are with Mailchimp it would be good to maybe have the accepts promo box ticked as default and that way when mailchimp deletes it we know for sure it's not just an oversite. My docket printouts are also confusing because of where the separation line is. I would like to be able to also print out the clients treatment note history.

Alicia

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2020

Be aware before signing

Not that user friendly.

PROS

. Okay online booking but very limited to compare to other.

CONS

I have been a customer for over 3 years, I decided to switch to another software which is more user friendly and less expensive for a solo operator. I have never re signed for another 3 years , I had all the rights behind me to prove that I never resigned. At this stage they knew that legal action would be the only resolution. Being a small business it would cost way more than paying their early termination fee which I shouldn't have to pay since I never resigned. The most disgusting way to treat small businesses. What a RIP off.

Reasons for switching to Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Kitomba is way over price and not the simplest software to use.

Diana

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Kitomba review

The reporting is excellent and easy to use. It helps me measure my business KPI's on a daily basis. It also helps set my weekly, monthly targets and allows my team to access them easily through Kitomba one. We receive about 10 online bookings per day which has really allowed us to grow our business.

PROS

I love the reporting. The magic marketing is excellent and the customer service awesome. Prompt and informative. I love Kitomba One and the Target facility. Also the Benchmarking is great. The online booking service works well.

CONS

We recently changed to a Mac and the software is not really compatible. It would be great if not was cloud based or just worked a bit better on the appointment interface.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

Kitomba has better reports and marketing options.

Dan

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Kitimba review

Generally great, can’t complain about the software or the tech support . I really like the system

PROS

It’s a great system , easy to use and the customer support is great .

CONS

It’s very expensive compared to every other similar software on the market for hairdressers. Even though it’s a great set up, it still feels like a bit of a rip off . Also the accounts lady is a bit abrupt and not that friendly to deal with.

Reason for choosing Kitomba Salon and Spa Software

It was already in the shop when I purchased the business and already contained the database. I didn’t want to spend the time transferring over the database . And I also already knew how to use kitomba from previous workplaces

Christine

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source