User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "It's real easy to do billing here. Everything is well organized and I love how it connects to EHR. It makes it easy to look up patients information and uploads without having to switch over to EHR."

  • "Does all your billing and scheduling. Very rarely have issues with denied claims. Catches mistakes we make before being sent out. Low cost. Does phone, text, and email reminders."

  • "I love that we can color code our schedules to differentiate b/w OT/ST "

  • Cons

  • "Sometimes I still get lost here. A better layout for all the tabs and functions could be implemented, but the way it is right now isn't too bad."

  • "A little hard to read rejected or processed claims. There needs to be some sort of portal.I'd like to see a list of all the claims."

  • "Billing portion is not so great. And prescribing medication is not an option. I had many problems with checking eligibility as well."

Browse Practice Mate Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

May 2018

Phil from Utah Valley Health & Wellness Magazine

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Fantastic Calendaring and connection to Office Ally for insurance processing

Pros

I have used this service for nearly 8 years and have loved it for the calendar and insurance processing for insurance claims for my patients and clients.

Cons

They recently changed to charge for certain insurance companies an extra fee which has made the service more expensive than it was for the original 7 years. I am considering moving all this over to TherapyNotes to submit my insurance claims because I am a small practice.

January 2019

Carol from Evans Family Chiropractic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good Value

If you are a smaller practice, this should work good for you especially with the low price.

Pros

Does all your billing and scheduling. Very rarely have issues with denied claims. Catches mistakes we make before being sent out. Low cost. Does phone, text, and email reminders.

Cons

Can't manually send out text reminders. Can't link reminder system to a phone number, uses a random phone number. A little bit of a learning curve and sometimes slow loading pages. System can't hold large files. Only will show 100 patients, have to deactivate patients to see the full list. The program needs work, but they have been updating it.

May 2020

Carri from Vital Profits LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Nice little program

It a decent experience. I need more time on it. But for the price, it certainly gets the job done. The support is really good. It just doesn't have all the bells and whistles but they are adding more. i would take a look at it with questions if you know what you are looking for. You might be pleasantly surprised.

Pros

I love that it is almost free. We pay $35 for the clearing house and the PM. Its another $29.95 per doc for the EHR.

Cons

It is somewhat confusing. I feel like I go in circles. But I may not have used it enough. It does work though to get claims out and organize payments and rports'

Reasons for Choosing Practice Mate

The price for sure.

November 2018

Elizabeth from Dr. Elizabeth Shon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Most serious thing to consider when starting with Office Ally/Practice Mate as a Mental Health Professional

Pros

I've used Office Ally for over 10 years, and in the early years it has worked very well for me, however, if I knew what I know about Office Ally now, I would not have started using it.

Cons

In the last several years, there have been more mistakes made by practice mate, claims that appear to have been submitted that were not. Fortunately, the Office Ally Tech support is usually very helpful when I call them, although in this case of some claims not going through, that issue has still not been resolved. The biggest issue however, that I would urge users of Practice Mate to consider, is if you use this program to write notes, at some point in time, if you ever want to stop using Practice Mate, you will not have easy access to these notes. I was told that there is no easy way of downloading or printing these notes. You have to go into each session, and cut and paste each note onto another document. If you don't want to go through this trouble, and for me it would be thousands of notes I would have to cut and paste, it effectively locks you into using Practice Mate, and almost impossible to shift over to another billing software program. You can export patient demographic information to other programs, but notes cannot be exported. If I had known this when I started with Office Ally, I would not have started. Hopefully Office Ally will fix this problem which could easily dissuade users from wanting to sign on.

February 2020

Rusty from Excel Rehabilitation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

simple fixes could make a world of difference

Our experience with other softwares have been AWFUL so this one has been a blessing. I feel that there are seemingly minor adjustments that could be addressed that would make this DREAMY. If only I could get someone to hear me!!!

Pros

I love that we can color code our schedules to differentiate b/w OT/ST

Cons

Needed fixes: Make daily schedule show only therapists working that day visible; Allow schedule to drag L/R for view of all treating therapists that entire day at once

Reasons for Choosing Practice Mate

the scheduling features

July 2017

Jessica from Colner Family Chiropractic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Super ease and fast do to our billing.

Will continue billing though Practice Mate, we love it for our office...gets claims our fast and payment to us fast

Pros

How everything can be saved for billing and makes it go so much smoother, easy to add patients and easy to submit claims. Claims are processed very quickly!

Cons

Sometimes the billing shows a claim went successfully through, but then the insurance claim will say they never received a claim for a particular date of service. Has happened a lot.

June 2017

Michelle from True North Health Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2017

Constant Server Issues

Office Ally really needs to add and upgrade servers to meet the demands of its customers.

Pros

Low cost and intuitive system with features including interfaces with labs and imaging. Easy to use scheduling and EMR.

Cons

Consistently slow, and often completely unresponsive for long periods of time throughout the day. At peak times, the system experiences even more of a slow down.

July 2019

Heather from Health, Wellness and Fitness

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Office ally LOVE !

Pros

very easy to use - if not support is right around the corner ! - Very detailed

Cons

I have had times logging in that were tough when working remotely - but could be a ME problem !

August 2016

Diana from Baron Denniston MD

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

2.5

August 2016

Nice but limited!

Pros

Price.They provide a clearinghouse.A one stop for everything needed.Training readily available.

Cons

Functionality/ Limitations. Customization's for superbil and more.. Accounting for payments.. Flowing from one section to another. Eligibility checks .Patient data profile.

May 2017

Dalite from Red Lotus Wellness

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2017

Has not worked as a whole system up to our expectations

Pros

The system has billing capabilities, that's all.

Cons

Not user friendly with scheduling when there is more than one provider Will frequently get kicked out of the system and notes are not saved Poor follow up with customer service Terrible experience with Reminder Mate

February 2019

Ted from PSC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Medisoft scheduling review

Overall a solid product. Recommended.

Pros

I like that it's easy to customize your patient schedule with several views (daily, weekly, monthly) and you can add multiple columns per day to clarify patient visits among several providers.

Cons

I have had a several issues where the program freezes and crashes my computer, but I'm not sure if that's a hardware or software issue.

September 2018

Jesus from Nonsurgical Medical Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Amazing billing set up

Pros

It's real easy to do billing here. Everything is well organized and I love how it connects to EHR. It makes it easy to look up patients information and uploads without having to switch over to EHR.

Cons

Sometimes I still get lost here. A better layout for all the tabs and functions could be implemented, but the way it is right now isn't too bad.

April 2017

Rebecca from Wellspring Renewal Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Great deal in therapy software

Pros

I like the ease of filing insurance, keeping up with client information and the reminder service. It was been a huge help that didn't hurt our bottom line.

Cons

Getting charged for an excess of Claims for a particular insurance provider. The software isn't always smooth to operate. It seems a little dated.

March 2017

Melissa from Frost Mental Healthcare

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Great Program!

Pros

Access To help and software is very intuitive. Overall it's a great program with many great features.

Cons

Billing portion is not so great. And prescribing medication is not an option. I had many problems with checking eligibility as well.

March 2017

Kolby from ChiroTrendz Family Chiropractic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great Software for starting out

We have been using this for the past 2 years. It is extremely user friendly and great for a start up practice that is trying to save time and money.

August 2018

Christine from Long Grove Psych Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Good software for a small medical office

Pros

I like that this is a one stop shop for my small practice. It is great to be able to schedule, bill, take payments, make appointments and keep charts in one spot!

Cons

I don't like that there are a limit amount of notes. It was also a bit of a learning curve to get up and running.

October 2019

Holly from Stone Ridge Billing LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Very functional

This is a quality product.

Pros

It will do anything I need to do - and the tech support is awesome.

Cons

Its not pretty and slightly difficult to learn.

Reasons for Choosing Practice Mate

Inexpensive yet functional

April 2017

Mark from Franciscan Community Counseling

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Not Designed For Mental Health

I found it somewhat awkward in design.

Pros

It provides an efficient clearing house for billing. The technical staff does attempt to assist your needs.

Cons

This software is not suited for mental health documentation. It is designed for medical offices. It lacks flexibility.

May 2017

Yessenia from LA Speech Therapy Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Awesome Service

Love the service and it's helped a lot with the business.

Pros

Easy to track claims. I love how there is a calendar that helps you understand when claims were submitted and when they were rejected.

Cons

A little hard to read rejected or processed claims. There needs to be some sort of portal.I'd like to see a list of all the claims.

November 2016

Ignacio from NonSurgical Medical Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2016

Practice Mate Review

It is so difficult to deal with this program. It seems like the creators just stacked amounts of data creating a horrific, time wasting, not biller friendly program. On many occasions, I've called to get help. Depending on who I get, I'll get just enough of the information to calm me down, and I usually have to call again to suck out more. If I need an "Expert" it's it's usually a wait of 2-5 days. Seriously, who has time to wait? On top of that, the system is always crashing, and extremely slow. Nothing seems to be easy about this program.

Pros

I can send an email message to the doctors.

Cons

Where do I begin.... There's not enough space or time.

April 2017

Andrea from Preserve and Recover, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2017

Poor service, get ready for the run around!

Pros

It's cheap. The word cheap here represents all facets -- price, functionality, non-existent customer service. You get what you pay for.

Cons

- You have to sign up for each 'program' individually. - The programs don't communicate with each other. - While signing up for each program individually, you have to fax sheets. You will do this multiple times, have someone tell you they never got it, then give up and get another EHR. Then, they magically find your fax after 2 weeks, sign you up and send you a bill. - While you are trying to sign up for everything, you will work with an awesome person with the payment processing/credit swiper who will sign you up and give you a good deal. However, once you give up on OfficeAlly and go with another EHR, the credit card people are rude and try to charge you a penalty for canceling your contract. - As for functionality -- it's bare bones, lots of searching for what you want/need. - Did I mention the down time?? - Ugh - stay away!

September 2017

Holly from Andres Counseling Services, KLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Easy to use.

Have utilized it for years and love it.

Pros

Love that there is no fee associated with electronic claims for a small practice. Easy to use and track. Really have had a great experience with the experience and ease of using this system.

November 2016

Jesus from Nonsurgical Medical Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Great

It's easy to use but does slow down a lot. Speed would make it a lot better.

Pros

Easy to use, progress notes well set up.

Cons

Slows down a lot. Sometimes freezes and takes hours to do simple work.

November 2016

James from NonSurgical Medical Group, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2016

OfficeAlly

OfficeAlly takes inordinate time to use. There are not many fast ways to do anything. It is the opposite of the iPhone in that Apple dynamically removes the clutter when they improve features... OfficeAlly just seems to add features that have led to a overburdened, bogged down, convulted practice management software system.

Pros

Cheap monthly fee. They have their own clearing house. Some MU/PQRS features.

Cons

Slow. Much down time. No batch billing. EMR and Practice Mate back and forth activity wastes time.

February 2015

Jan from Jan Jacobs, Psy.D.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

February 2015

Solo Practitioner

Pros

It's free. Support is readily available. Once you have everything set up, submitting a claim is quick.

Cons

Some things are cumbersome to set up correctly, and the site isn't set up to easily find some things.

July 2016

Michael from Burien Medical Eye Care

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2016

Takes forever to move between schedule and exam records

Pros

Inexpensive, when many EHR systems cost tens of thousands of dollars

Cons

Takes about fifteen minutes to simply find a patient on the schedule and sign off on the exam notes.