SalonBuilder Software Reviews

SalonBuilder Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The use of beautiful up to date changeable website templates to create a professional website instantly without paying a lot. A SEO that enhanced my online presence with high rankings."
  • icon"It brings me business at a super reasonable cost."
  • icon"Designs from the beginning help me build are a great website and have attracted many clients and I did not have to work hard from scratch which is not that difficult of a task."
  • icon"YOU NEED TO LEAVE A MESSAGE FOR SOMEONE TO CALL YOU BACK."
  • icon"It’s gotten expensive and I’m not sure it pays for itself."
  • icon"Im still not understanding how to do a single day to block out time. Also, my clients cant use the guest book option and still no reply from support."

Browse all SalonBuilder Reviews

  • Have you used SalonBuilder and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 48 reviews

Linda

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Excellent Web Hosting, Marketing and Management

I have been a Salonbuilder member for approximately 19 years and overall, my experience with their team and their services has been excellent. They continue to grow their systems and do so at affordable rates.

Pros

Salonbuilder allows users to create their own online presence in a very creative way, with a wide variety of customizable tools. It also allows for self-management of their website and other aspects of branding and marketing. I also find that working with the technology team at Salonbuilder is one of the best aspects of this company. They go to great lengths to accommodate their clients and provide customized attention.

Cons

There are aspects of the software that can be limiting, due to some of the constraints of working within certain templates. That said, however, the developers are continually updating and upgrading their software to increase its flexibility for the end user, and due to custom options, they have created many features that bypass the standard templates and which work for those who want to create a unique presence. The only other con is that some of the templates, photos, e-marketing features, etc., are somewhat still more salon-oriented, as opposed to the wider gamut of sub-categories within the salon/spa/wellness/health/fitness industries that Salonbuilder serves.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Linda, you are one of our most valued and active members in SalonBuilder and it has been a pleasure getting your feedback and growing the system to accommodate your requests over the years. As a custom design member you do have additional functionality not available with all the standard templates, however, with the new Responsive Designs just launched we have integrated a lot of new customization options. Using one of these designs you are able to change the name of your pages, customize accent colors and add video backgrounds to site pages. Plus they look and work great on mobile devices. As always, you can upload your own photos (in your case spa focused imagery) which can be taken yourself or downloaded for a few dollars from a stock photo site. We do our best to provide imagery for everyone in the Beauty Industry and we will continue adding new spa photos in the coming months.

Replied May 2019

Angela

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Member since 2007 Love it!

My experience with Salon Builder has been incredible! Customer service is superb! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] along with the staff are so reliable and has been so patient with me for many years. Currently we're rebranding our Salon and Salon Builder has been eager to assist me with everything from online appointment booking, setting up online booking, graphics brand logo, customizing photos, product sales and more. When I first started with this web hosting site I had my front desk person to handle setup assuming I lacked marketing skills thinking it was hard to navigate. Now in 2020 as I'm rebranding I love the website even more with the many up to date features. I know my review is long and I must say overdue but during this quarantine due to Covid-19 I had to express my appreciation for the love and support over the years. Thank you so much Salon Builder Team!!!

Pros

I love the simplicity of navigating and managing pages with easy and the capability of editing tools 24/7 when re branding. The use of beautiful up to date changeable website templates to create a professional website instantly without paying a lot. A SEO that enhanced my online presence with high rankings. Free domain, hosting, listing and emails adds value for my money. This website increases client retention rates and search results our clients tells us how they found us. The marketing aspect is amazing, appointment system and SMS texting with an mobile version has again simplified my life so I can focus on the clients.

Cons

This Software is amazing there's nothing I like least.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thank you for your great review Angela. So glad we have been able to make a difference in your business over the years.

Replied May 2020

Christine

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2019

Dana Lauren Salon Review

i like how easy it is to set up/modify my site

Pros

I like how easy it is to design your salonbuilder website with the dashboard

Cons

i think the design of the website could be more modern.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Hi Dana, Thank you for your feedback. Having easy to use management tools is one of our top priorities so its great to hear that you have had a good experience designing your site. In the past few months we launched 18 new, modern, Responsive Designs and converted 12 of our most popular designs to Responsive sites. A Responsive Design moves and adjusts content to fit perfectly on mobile, tablets and larger devices. You are still using a legacy design which we recommend you update so you can benefit from the new features and imagery available with the new templates. We will follow up with you today to discuss which design would best fit your business style.

Replied May 2019

Damaris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Alternative Medicine

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Salonbuilder Review

Great! I've been in business for a little over six years. I must say all my issues over the years Salonbuilder has been the only part of my business I never have to worry about. If I ever need help it gets taken care of immediately

Pros

I like that we have control of our website 24/7 and I can make changes at anytime. I was use to the old version and I struggle sometimes with the new version but I always figure it out

Cons

Everything about it is good. I'm not great at the computer so when they change something it takes me time to figure it out but thats ok

Reasons for choosing SalonBuilder

It seemed to have everything I needed

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Damaris, thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that SalonBuilder has been so reliable and effective for you. Hope you utilize the video tutorials if you ever get stuck with a tool that is different then it used to be.

Replied May 2019

Pilar

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Recommend highly ! & Accessible for help when you need it.

This team goes over and above the call of duty to make sure you get it ! If you have a question they get right back to you not like all the other systems. I'm extremely happy and recommend.

Pros

I can't say enough about what your getting and for the price your getting it for!!! Everyday I find another facet of this system and I'm wowed ! nothing else compares. I have been with salon for over 10 years and I had been lead astray by another once never again it only took me a couple of months to realize it was a big mistake leaving. They welcomed me back with open arms . This team goes over and above the call of duty to make sure you get it ! If you have a question they get right back to you not like all the other systems. I'm extremely happy and recommend.

Cons

I don't have anything to say but it waont submit without something ion this box

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thank you Pilar. We never blame our members for trying out the competition and very often get return members who come back once they realize all the great features and options that are included in a very affordable membership. We do everything we can to make sure your website is a vehicle for making you money instead of something that costs you money. Utilizing all the included features in SalonBuilder makes that easy to do.

Replied May 2019

Phil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

SalonBuilder Satisfied Customer

I have been using SalonBuilder for close to 10 years now and I get solicitations all the time from other company’s and I have checked out a few and they do not compare to SalonBuilder and most I would be required to pay a web builder to make simple changes. SalonBuilder is for me!

Pros

Support is the best. Rep has helped very time I had a question or needed a little help. I love the fact that I can add or delete features and choose what I want on my website myself.

Cons

The only thing I can say is the email blast are a little harder to navigate the mailchimp but it probably is because I haven’t used Salon Builder email that much. I’m pretty sure once I become more familiar with it that it will be a breeze.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Phil, We are so glad you are so happy with SalonBuilder and the self editing tools that allow you to manage your website, online marketing and promotions. The Email Marketing system has a lot to offer with customizable email templates, integration with special offers, staff, and services from your website, and drip campaigns as well as regular scheduled emails. If you need assistance with the system we have video tutorials available or call customer service and we can walk you through any spots you find difficult.

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

EXCELLENT SOFTWARE

Pros

I have been with Salonbuilder for over 20years and they have stayed current on technology and very eager to assist me along the way. Customer service is excellent and they always are available to handle questions and problems if needed. (Although we have never needed them to for emergency’s ) WE have recommended them to professionals for years!

Cons

Nothing love my company and I will continue to stay faithful for years to come!

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thanks for the review and your very long membership with SalonBuilder. You have seen us through many years, many software evolutions, and many new offerings. We are so glad we have been able to provide you with the resources you need to manage your business online and stay current with the needs of your industry.

Replied May 2019

Fanit

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Alternative Medicine

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

SALON BUILDER

THE BEST SOFTWARE FOR THE BEAUTY AND SPA INDUSTRY.

Pros

GREAT WEBDESIGN OPTIONS. CLIENT APPOINTMENT CONFIRMATIONS, EMAIL MARKETING AND MORE

Cons

YOU NEED TO LEAVE A MESSAGE FOR SOMEONE TO CALL YOU BACK.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thanks for the great feeback Fanit! We are so happy you chose to return to us after trying out another company for your website, booking and marketing needs. We really value your membership and are so glad to be a part of your large successful Spa. We don't send our incoming calls off to a call center across the globe so sometimes that means we are on the other line helping another customer. We do our very best to return all calls within 1 business day and reply to emails often even faster.

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Salon Builder is perfect for my small spa!

I really like the way the website, social media interface and email work together to advertise my small spa. I can use my own logo, photos and am able to make changes easily.

Pros

I am able to edit, post to social media, change my website without delay. The scheduler is easy to use. I send a weekly message to all of my clients that includes special promos. Support is fantastic. I highly recommend Salon Builder.

Cons

Absolutely nothing! It's perfect for my needs.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Sounds like you are a very active member who utilizes all the great options and features available in SalonBuilder. Thanks for your rave review!

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

I've Been Very Happy

I have always had a great experience with this business and have no plans of going anywhere. Great value!

Pros

The website was so easy to set up. I love the gift certificates option as well. Customer service is always quick and easy and have always resolved anything I have had an issue with. They are a joy to work with.

Cons

My only complaint, and it isn't really a complaint, is that they had a little bit more upscale web design templates. Some seem a little outdated.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thanks for your review. We love to hear that the gift sales feature is a successful tool for your business. Also, just wanted to mention that the new Responsive Designs have a ton of customization options that were not previously available with the older designs. If you would like to try one of them out or get a free site review (where we look over your pages and offer advice) we would be happy to do so. Just send a message to customer support: info@salonbuilder.com.

Replied May 2019

Stephanie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2019

underwhelmed

The website fit our needs as a low cost way to achieve online booking . Overall we are just underwhelmed.

Pros

I liked the option to have so many photos available but have found they are not really representative of our salon. Is Fairly easy to use and doesn't cost much.

Cons

It may be our level of tech savy but it has become stale and uninteresting

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Hi Stephanie, Thanks for your feedback. We take pride in being an easy to use, affordable option for online booking, client management and marketing for Beauty Industry professionals. It's great to hear that you feel that we have succeeded there. Also glad you like how many photos and graphics are available for posting on your website and marketing materials. We try to provide great imagery for all beauty industry businesses but if they aren't exactly your style you can customize the graphics everywhere on your site and marketing materials. You can take your own or download images from a stock photo site for a few dollars each. We would love to hear more about what you find underwhelming in SalonBuilder. We highly value our members feedback and are constantly evolving our system to fit your needs.

Replied May 2019

monya

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Had it for years!

I have had it for years, have not had any complaints; I just would like it to look and feel a bit more user friendly. I am not sure if it has an ability to upload videos, if not, I think this option should be added. I think that anyone that has had an account with SalonBuilder for over 5 years should get some additional perks like get a custom made website template at no charge or other little perks like that.

Pros

I most like the fact that I can do my own updates on my website, I personally don't like to rely on others to make updates to my website, so I like the ease of it. I would like to add webpages and name them what I want to; don't think this is offered. I also would like to upload my own images without having the Tech Support Team do it; some images can be uploaded, but some area's of the website the images have to be emailed to the Tech Support for them to add them.

Cons

It looks a little bit antiquated and outdated, it also in my option isn't very user friendly. It's a bit easy to work with but I think it could be a bit more user friendly.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

SalonBuilder is built for professionals like yourself that want to manage and make updates themselves instead of having to ask and wait for changes to be made. We are glad you are satisfied with that. There are some areas that we have our professional graphic artists help with so we can make sure the images fit and look great. We know how your online image is so important so this is offered free of charge. Great news, all the new Responsive Designs in SalonBuilder now have the ability to have custom page names and video backgrounds. We do also offer great discounts for the custom design program for long time members. We have put a lot of effort into making the tools in SalonBuilder easy to use and intuitive but we will take your feedback into account and try to find ways to make the user experience even better.

Replied May 2019

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

Salon Builder for Tanning Salon

I have total control over the content of my website and the ability to change it at any time. I've been using the software for almost 10 years.

Pros

Easy to set up and make changes. I can customize the tabs and features month to month. Customer service is usually quick to respond.

Cons

Gift Card option was not as easy to set up, customize and use. Switched to another software for gift cards. Some improvements to mobile use, but still not as polished and easy to view and use as I would like. Most photos provided are geared toward hair and not so much tanning. I would like to be able to edit the product page myself. My products are usually not in the list and I have to get it completed by customer service.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Hi Mary, It's nice to hear you have had an easy time updating your website and features over the years. Your constructive feedback is valuable to us. Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the Gift Card options. We have a large library of printable gift certificate designs that you can choose your favorites and turn the rest off, or there is always the option to have a custom matching gift card designed to keep consistent with your business branding. As we have mentioned to many reviewers, the new Responsive Designs have a greatly improved mobile website which I think you would love! You are still using a standard design so you may consider updating that if you aren't satisfied with the look of your Mobile Site.

Replied May 2019

Amanda

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Website Software

I have always had good experience. If there are any technical problems the company takes care of it right away. Overall it's good for us, as we don't have to worry about anything.

Pros

It's easy to use, I can redesign the website myself, since it's template based. If I need help the customer support is always available. I's real time changes.

Cons

I wish the cost was lower. The cost seems just a little high.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Thanks for the feedback Amanda. We are so happy we have been able to help whenever you needed assistance and that your experience with building and maintaining your site has been easy. Sorry you feel like the cost is too high...I will have someone reach out to you to make sure you are aware of all the great features that are included with your membership... (client management, booking calendar, promotions and offers, email blasts, clients alerts via texting, free employment listings on SalonEmployment.com, and much more) If you utilize all these systems you should more then make up the cost of your membership with increased sales and bookings each month.

Replied May 2019

Angel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

I Love It!!

Overall I really like the website. It has freed up alot of my time for scheduling appts for clients vs. other apps i have used .

Pros

I like the ease of use to schedule appts and market services. Its pretty easy to understand and navigate. Also the pics they have for use are a nice quality.

Cons

I dont like the and still dont understand how to change my availability for time off. I tried to put in a vacation day and it changed my whole schedule. Im still not understanding how to do a single day to block out time. Also, my clients cant use the guest book option and still no reply from support.

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Hi Angel, We are so happy that the booking system has been a time-saver and helped you spend more time behind the chair and less time on the phone. Sorry to hear you were not able to easily schedule a vacation with the booking calendar. I have sent a message to customer support and someone will be in contact today to help you learn how that works. You may be using the full schedule updater instead of the vacation scheduler. They look similar so it may be easy to mix them up. We will make a note to add additional clarification to the page soon. As for the other comment, your clients can login to their accounts via the GuestBook page to view upcoming appointments and purchases. We will do some testing with your account to make sure everything is working properly and get back to you soon.

Replied May 2019

Patricia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

SalonBuilder Review

Gives us feedback with great reports on who what and where

Pros

I can change the look in a matter of seconds for the holidays

Cons

I do not care for some of the pictures for use on my website. I thought they could be better

Response from E-laborative Technologies

Hi Patricia, thanks for the review! We do our best to provide a variety of imagery for all Beauty Industry businesses, but we know that everyone has unique style which is why all the imagery is changeable. All you need to do is upload your own photos which you can take yourself or download from a stock photo site for a few dollars each. We will continue to expand our photo library as often as possible to give everyone a lot of choices of professional beauty imagery. Having the ability to change your design in seconds and have all your information and photos move to the new template is one of the ways you can keep your site fresh and up to date. Glad you use our seasonal designs to bring some holiday spirit to your online presence.

Replied May 2019

Natalie

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY