TotalMD is a practice management solution suitable for small and midsize practices. TotalMD provides an integrated suite of features that includes e-claim services, patient scheduling, financial reporting, EMR integration and more.

The solution enables users to collect and manage payments and collections, schedule patient appointments and access reporting tools. The system can be deployed on premise or as a cloud-based solution.

On the billing side, every version of TotalMD is ICD10 and 5010 ready, and offers additional capabilities for insurance collection management, patient accounting, advanced scheduling and a report designer, as well as online eligibility, EHR integration and a collections module. The solution offers free data conversion from Medisoft and Lytec and conversion from any other system is available.



38 Reviews of TotalMD

Overall rating

4.5 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 38 reviews

December 2018

Jodi from Healing Ground LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

Friendly customer service!

We are a small Chiropractic office with one provider. I feel like Total MD was great for our practice and very affordable.

Pros

I like our customer service rep. ! She was awesome with answering all my questions. It was a painless switch from my previous software. I feel it's a good deal for a small to medium office.

Cons

I wish there was a manual for training that I could have referred to from time to time. But I always received good support on the phone.

November 2018

Debbie from DT Medical Billing

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Good Software

Great

Pros

The ease of usage and the customer service is great

Cons

Some times while typing in the account number, the screen would flip off it but once you hit Enter, the patient's account would pop up anyways. It was just typing where you could not see the curser.

October 2018

Angel from East Valley Counseling Associates

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

Super easy to learn!!

The sales team is AMAZING!! Super friendly and helpful. Support is always easy to get ahold of, If I have ever had any issues they have been able to find a solution quickly.

Pros

I like that I have been able to learn how to use this software very quickly.

Cons

there's nothing really that I don't like. TotalMD is a great solution for every practice

July 2018

Jessica from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

July 2018

Lacking in facility features and numerous errors.

This program has a long way to go before it will be a good software choice for a facility/hospital that bill on a UB04.

Pros

If you bill professionally from a doctors office and are tracking patient payments and appointments, then there are a lot more capabilities that the program can offer you.

Cons

There are no quick ways to make a note on a claim and see the notes at one time for all the claims in the ledger; you have to run a report to show the notes for each claim at the same time. Too many errors in the day to day tasks for a facility and billing, that slow down the workflow.

July 2018

Robert from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

July 2018

Great software but could improve in institutional billing

I currently use this software and am not considering leaving.

Pros

Mostly great customer service and fairly responsive. Our concerns seem to actually be taken into consideration. Claims submission is easy once completely set up.

Cons

They are not set up completely for institutional billing although there have been many improvements. We have not had access to submitting claims in ANSI format however one of our facilities has started beta testing ANSI claims for them so I don't see that being an issue in the future.

July 2018

Preston from Outsourced Health Solutions LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

July 2018

It gets the job done

We have accomplished a lot with their practice management platform. I just wish their reporting had a better flow to it. The integration with the clearinghouse is lacking. Not my first choice, but when you're on a tight budget, it gets the job done.

Pros

Basic essentials for RCM are available.
Support is very patient and helpful.
Great value as they do not charge per provider.

Cons

Software is outdated and full of bugs.
Software is not user friendly.
Software has frequent crashes.

June 2018

Holly from Stone Ridge Billing LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

June 2018

TotalMD is great for the small to mid size business owners.

I would recommend this software.

Pros

Very easy to use and affordable. Set up is easy enough and support is excellent. It is easy to recommend this product.

Cons

Can be slow or have lag with using the cloud version. Would be better if it was out of the box ready to use with any clearing house.

April 2018

Rosie from Life Bridge Health Hospital

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

One of the team member of Total MD has lot of understanding about the software, consistent in her patience and caring in customer service. Gives exceptional service. Is extra ordinary and solution finding.

Excellent training and support from one of the team members. She is the only one from Total MD who made all flow so well. Thank you so much.

Pros

Is understandable. Very easy to learn. Tech support in the training section, Customer representative made all this happen. Well supported by billing part.

Cons

Calling for tech support, the wait time is sometimes too long. I wish we could schedule and then make it simple.

April 2018

Ana from Jupiter Gardens Medical Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

Nothing bad to say about the software. It is an excellent product.

Very easy to learn and use. Fair price. Excellent tech support. Being able to use it from any computer, even when I was abroad.

Pros

Very easy to learn (we are all women in the mid 50's, some with little comp experience). Switched from Medisoft in 2015, and a couple of weeks later, we were asking ourselves, why didn't we do the change 5 years before. It makes insurance and patient billing extremely quick and accurate. The tech support in AZ is great, and they all have the patience of monks. We have to call maybe twice a year now with questions, since they are no glitches. I love the fact that we can get access to it from every computer. Also, we will be signing for EMR with TotalMD (after previously checking other software), and I have no doubt that it will be as easy to work and as well supported as the billing part.

Cons

Sometimes the wait time when we call tech support, however once they are in the line, we have their undivided attention until the problem is solved.

March 2018

Scott from Ability Clinical Technologies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2018

TotalMD gives our clients high-performance billing and practice management efficiency, challenging systems costing thousands more.

This software is "bullet-proof" as far as data corruption is concerned, from what we've observed over the years, in comparison to other systems we support (Medisoft, Lytec, et al.) However, as with any software, we always insist our clients make daily backups.

Pros

Reliability, ease-of-use, error-reduction capabilities and high-performance collection tools have been a few of the many reasons so many of our clients have switched from Medisoft, AltaPoint, Lytec, Chiro8000 and more over the years. As a dealer, we enjoy the easy setup and very low support requirements of this product line. Continuous additions to TotalMD's free video library provide a wealth of knowledge for users to get the most out of their system.

Cons

For larger offices (more than 20 providers) there is a slight lag of performance if older equipment (servers, routers, etc.) is used. We always recommend an evaluation of current systems before performing an installation.

February 2018

geraldine from pathways to healing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2018

it works

nope

Pros

easy to use and costs less than other software companies. it is easy to use. we had a lot of technical problems in the beginning but they were fixed in a timely manner

Cons

tech problems-we had a lot of problems in the beginning, the tech support team had to access my computer to fix something. a few times they had to do something to where we need to leave our computers on after hours so they could do something

January 2018

Mark from Crouch Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Many great features for the price

Overall good value for the price. There are 3 levels of service/features/prices. We had a catastrophic failure of our previous practice management system and had to quickly choose software to meet our needs. The install was quick and smooth. Training was well done. Program is easy to use. The fully functional demo was a great tool to help us learn how to use the program before it was installed. The other practice management software venders we contacted had live demonstrations or demo videos you can watch but no fully functional demo to download and use. Being able to play with and learn on the demo helped us make our decision to go with this software. We feel like we chose the right software for our needs.

Pros

Great features, Easy to learn, Good training and support, Customizable Pages, Text reminders, Interactive real-time texting, Customizable scheduling templates, Customizable reports. There is a fully functional demo you can download and instantly play with. There are a number of training videos on YouTube. You can learn by watching these videos while playing with the demo before you buy anything.

Cons

Small Icons, No way to enlarge fonts, Received texts do not show patient's name, No patient recall for lost patients,

August 2017

Robert from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

Easy to use but could use some updating for facility billing and report staff

If they did some updating on facility billing and found a new report writer (or provided customer support training to their existing report writer), I'd be much more comfortable recommending them to colleagues.

Pros

Easy enough to learn and easy enough to use. It's fairly customizable as far as viewing and some of the support staff can help accommodate issues.

Cons

They don't seem 100% ready for UB04 (facility) billing. They have one report writer and he always seems inconvenienced if we need help. He also refuses to work on any reports that were sent to us by someone else (within their company) or if we have had any changes made to the reports. We have found it very hard to get help from him and there are no other options when it comes to reports or forms (including a printed UB04 form).

June 2017

Tracy from Especially Births

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2017

Diamond in the Rough

I love how they charge me by user instead of by provider. This allows me to serve small practices cost effectively.

Pros

A very feature rich program for an affordable price. They also have fantastic customer service and support that is completely US based.

Cons

I wish they had an address verification tool built into the software. I am told they will have that when the next version is released.

February 2017

Hanul from Nidraveda

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2017

Good software!

Overall a great product, though the specific menus could be improved for ease of use and tailoring.

December 2016

Darlene from Wesley Chapel Neuro

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2016

Office Manage

Since we started using this software our patient charting time has decreased making our physicians schedules lighter. It is more efficient for the physicians to chart on their own vs using a company when it comes it for billing there are less errors. We were able to add more patients to our daily schedule. Very user friendly. Efficient and great features.

September 2016

Sally from Sandia Neurology PC


Ease-of-use

1.5 of 5

Value for money

2.5 of 5

Customer support

1.5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2016

Private practice use since 2009

Pros

It provides all the capabilities needed to create 1500s, electronically edit and send them, make corrections, post payments, and keep track of balances.

Cons

It definitely has lots of bugs. Having designed software before I became a doctor, I appreciate the complexity of the multi level platform. It takes time and motivation to surmount many of them. I have to pay for support, for example if I have a question about technique, I have to buy a punch card of how many calls I am allowed. I have to pay for training if i hire yet another biller. I am now doing my own billing and can figure out most of it, but there are still balances that are off and inaccurate statements. It is a headache but hard to change.

Response from Laurel of TotalMD

Replied February 2017

Dear Sally, Thank you for your review of TotalMD. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns. TotalMD makes every effort possible to thoroughly test and release error free software. On occasion, as with any software program, our customers may encounter instances in which the software does not perform as they expect. We value and encourage this feedback from our clients so we can continue to ensure the product is of the highest standards. We also issue free Service Pack Updates which are designed to fix any minor items we find after a release (just like updating an app on your cell phone). Service Pack Updates are always free and available for easy download by the customer. We do have an in-house support team available, and their ability to assist you is increased with a current support contract, which allows them to log into your computer and see what you see. However, Support would be happy to walk you through any troubleshooting necessary, even without obtaining a support contract. Our support department is also always available to discuss any instances you’ve encountered in which TotalMD is not performing as you expect, and will report those issues to program development as necessary. In many situations, these issues can be resolved by having a short training session, or changing program settings, without the involvement of programming/development. TotalMD never requires you to purchase additional training for new office staff, however, we do offer training sessions available for purchase in one hour increments should you choose to have a TotalMD trainer conduct a live training session to cover basic functionality. Of course, you always have the option of providing your new staff with training by one of your existing staff members, in addition to the numerous webinars and training videos we offer for free on our YouTube channel. We have attempted to contact your office to address these concerns but have been unable to reach you. Please feel free to contact our support department so that we may further discuss your experience and help you to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback.

September 2016

Judy from clinic on the park


Ease-of-use

2.5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4.5 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

September 2016

mixed results

Pros

the product was well supported and my questions were answered promptly

Cons

it was not easy to transfer the data from the existing program. The vendor is in AZ which is in Pacific time when we have Daylight Savings Time

Response from Nelson of TotalMD

Replied December 2016

Judy, thank you very much for letting us know your feelings about the TotalMD product as the feedback we get from customers is very valuable to our company. I did review your account and I understand a little bit better where you are coming from in your review. I know you were made aware of this at the time of purchase you but I want to remind you that you purchased the TotalMD Essentials program which is the most basic program we offer. At the $199 price tag it is very limited in its functionality and it not quite as easy to use. If you would like the ease-of-use and functionality that our other customers enjoy then please consider our other programs that are specifically designed for that. Also, it is important to note that the conversion was a little more difficult because you purchased our tool for $199 so you could do it yourself. I don’t know of any other company that allows you that option so you can save that money instead of using our conversion services but we are glad you took advantage of it. In the future, if you have any ideas, questions or concerns regarding TotalMD then please feel free to contact us. We look forward to continuing to work with you and we very much appreciate your thoughts.

August 2016

Jackie from DFW Surgical

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2016

AWESOME!!!!

All support needed has been taken care of within a timely manner and expertise. All staff are very courteous and professional.

Pros

Claims are virtually easy to process

July 2016

Tiffany from Southwest kidney institute


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2016

TotalMD usage

Pros

Its great and easy to use. Nothing too complicated about this product.

Cons

The software is great and I dont think I found anything about this product that I dont like.