User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.0 / 5

Value for Money

2.5 / 5

Customer Support

2.5 / 5

Functionality

3.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(26)

26

4 stars

(46)

46

3 stars

(33)

33

2 stars

(17)

17

1 stars

(45)

45

  • Pros

  • "It is very easy to learn and work with this product. I found it extremely intuitive and loved how easy it was for me to just jump right into this software. "

  • "This was a simple, cut and dry program that was beyond easy to navigate. Everything is so simple to find and the layout is great"

  • "Easy to use, self explanatory, customer service is great, searching for patients is easy, ales representatives are very quick"

  • Cons

  • "It is not user friendly for the clinical staff but I personally do not have anything bad to say about it. When there is an issue, it does get resolved but sometimes it takes too long."

  • "too many manual era postings, the options to prevent things from automatically posting a great but should be more defined"

  • "support is in India and there is no accountability for bad advise, the management is hard to deal with unless you email the CEO"

Browse TouchWorks EHR Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 165 results

April 2019

Nathan from Advanced Family Eye Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Smooth and gets the job done

Gets the job done. Makes eprescribing easy.

Pros

Simplifies the documentation process and works well sending Rx

Cons

Not as user-friendly as other choices in the marketplace

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Handles most needs, but room for improvement

Generally, this is a pretty good platform to use. It is simple to learn, reasonably well organized, and no-nonsense. Additionally features could make this go from good software to something really excellent.

Pros

Allscripts has a tremendous capacity to store, and organize (reasonably well), a patient's various documents. For instance, there are tabs for notes, reports, hospital documents, etc. These tabs are very easy to use, and as long as the office staff is scanning things appropriately, it is pretty easy to find a patient's records and reports UNLESS the patient is complicated and there is simply a lot of documentation. In that case, it would be nice to have a quick way to change/adjust the titles of certain documents (i.e. instead of just including "MRI XX/XX/XXXX, letting someone write in PREOP MRI MM/DD/YYYY) so physicians and users could glance quickly into the chart and retrieve things easily. The notes feature is easy to use, and does not crash often, which is very helpful when you are busy seeing patients. The notes are also pretty clearly listed, which is helpful. The billing features are straightforward, and it is easy to generate a consult letter.

Cons

It would be helpful to be able to mark documents/results as important and to modify their titles. For instance, as a surgeon I would be thrilled if I could add PREOP MRI to a document name/title. For some reason, Allscripts outpatient does not always import lab results from its inpatient product, Sunrise (also made by Allscripts). Occasionally, it is much easier for me to view my patient's labs in Sunrise, necessitating having both programs open. Also, the layout for the lab results leaves something to be desired. It is time consuming and tedious to scroll through the documents, and there is no trend feature or easy dashboard to use. It would also be wonderful if I could easily import labs and results into my notes. Currently I have to go through everything manually.

July 2019

Heather from Carris Health

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Allscripts EHR

Allscripts was the first EHR I used, and it was definitely easy to learn how to use. The layout of each patients chart is easy to follow, as well as easy to sort through to find what you're looking for. I really like that you can follow tasks/messages for a specific patient, so you can keep on top of specific tasks that you're working on. You can also push tasks/messages out any length of time you would like, so it will reappear on your desktop when you specify, so you can follow up when needed.

Pros

Easy to follow tasks (messages) in each patient's chart I like the layout of the patient's chart, and that you can sort by document type, specialist, outside communication, etc.

Cons

Unable to see a patient's insurance card through the chart

January 2020

Noel from Preferred Pediatrics

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Look elsewhere for an EHR

When they talk about EHRs making life difficult for physicians they had Allscripts in mind. What should be simple tasks are made difficult. I'm sure there are other systems out there that are worse but it is hard to imagine.

Pros

I like the ability to customize the software myself but it is not always intuitive as to how to do this.

Cons

The cloud-based system is not very stable. Not only have they been the target of ransom-ware that shut down the system for 10 days but getting through a single day without getting kicked off is unusual. Updates to the system means at least a week of connectivity issues. A recent update required us to update to Windows 10 and then the next update made it not work well with windows 10. A recent update also made us unable to use tablet computers. Customer service is poor. Getting a password reset took 30 minutes on the phone as they wanted to mirror the computer first and getting that to work was a nightmare. Completing tasks for HEDIS, meaningful use and patient centered medical home are tedious. It takes an employee as hour a day to reconcile electronic visits that are sent to us due to the complex and counter-intuitive way they force us to do it.

October 2019

Lawrence from Clearlyderm

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Allscripts is Always Good

Good experience

Pros

Very reliable and easy to use system which will suffice most practices needs

Cons

A little difficult to diagram skin lesions

Reasons for Choosing TouchWorks EHR

More flexible and affordable

November 2019

Amber from Hospital & Health Care

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2019

Needs to be more user friendly

I believe that there are better EHR formats out there and that Allscripts needs a major change to be more competitive with them and become more user friendly.

Pros

I like that there is places to view flowsheets in a grid type manner in order to compare data.

Cons

It is not user friendly. There are too many ways to chart something to view something which makes it confusing.

November 2019

Jocelyne from Lubbos Medical Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2019

DO NOT engage in business with this horrobvle company

where to start: just Horrible and just got worse over years since 2010. Just to know still on 11/26/19; we have to log in the system at least 10 times daily since 11/05/19 because they did a certain update; system kept freezing and impeding our workflow and nobody cares even with the senior analyst involvement. Cannot believe that we pay that much money for something that keeps failing us. Bills are not itemized and always contains abbreviated items costing thousands of dollars; kept charging for providers that left the practice due to 3 years contracts despite notices; apparently, they do not get any notice because their staff kept changing. Customer support representative only available when they want to sell something. Did not deliver what their promised despite the hefty bills we paid. Could not qualify even for 1st stage MUR because they did not set up the patient portal right. Had folders inside folders like smoking and tobacco use that do not capture data for reporting. I can spend days writing all the failures and mishappenings with Allscripts

Pros

I got used to just paste my own templates

Cons

Horrible customer support. They had an update on their system on 11/05/19 and system keep failing since then.

November 2019

BETH from Hildebran Medical Clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Billing software

Customer Service is fantastic! Answers the call quickly and very knowledgable

Pros

The reporting capability was very thorough. Anytime that I needed a new feature it was added immediately.

Cons

It was not easy to maneuver in this new system as the old dos based system

January 2020

Rhonda from CHCW

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Buyers Beware

Poor

Pros

I enjoy that I no longer have to search for a paper chart.

Cons

The software is labor intensive which requires more personal time to complete an office visit. There are numerous screens that most be completed before you view or complete a simple action such as reviewing patient medications. The software is confusing and is not standardized resulting in complex, faulty navigation excursions, that result in the same outcome.

October 2019

Brian from Midwest Medical Specialists

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2019

Horrible product

Bad. Do not buy.

Pros

There really is nothing about this product that I have ever liked.

Cons

So many to mention.... Antiquated software platform - uses microsoft remote desktop. Several login screens, and you get locked out frequently. Reminds me of Windows 95. NOT user friendly They were HACKED last year, which cost our practice thousands of dollars in productivity, not to mention made our lives a living hell!!! There are actually errors within the exam section - anatomic areas are in the wrong place Horrible HPI autogeneration And the list goes on...

April 2017

Warren from Pharmaceuticals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2017

Terrible software, terrible company and trapped due to 7 year contract!!

None....only a practice in debt......................................................................................................................

Pros

You can take breaks between patients while the EMR goes down quite frequently. The patients don't like it though when they start a riot in your waiting room. Because the software and cloud are terribly made and break down a lot you do get to talk to the folks in India a lot...that's where the IT is based from. Since they aren't able to help you and just say things like "this is a global problem we are aware. " That's really nifty but I have 15 patients waiting for me. This hasn't really turned out to be a PRO.... to be honest there really are no PROs.

Cons

high price to get out of contract. Shady company with a very bad product. This will be the worst business decision you ever make. You simply cannot get out of contract. In my opinion would never ever do business with this company.

May 2017

anna from Michael C. Kushlan

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Expensive and not flexible

Pros

Easy lay out and easy to use. it has all the aspects of EHR like eRx, faxing, internal communications.

Cons

If you want support for your equipment, you have to purchase all hardware and software through them at 3 times the cost. We were trying to upgrade and their estimate included "education and training" for 3 years. When I asked to have it either removed or brought down to 1 year since we won't need it, they refused because it's what they think is best for us. Their monthly maintenance fees are very high and any updates I can't do myself, I have to pay extra to them. We were looking to switch to cloud based version but their fee is so high which didn't work for us either. In other words, once they got you and you are stuck with them, anything you want to do will cost you a fortune.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Good program but could use some updating

I truly do like this program and it is a significant part of our practices day-to-day functions. When it goes down clinic is highly negatively impacted. I would absolutely recommend this program and paired with Allscripts PM. Both are EXTREMELY ESSENTIAL is helping our practice run efficiently.

Pros

can view schedule and check in/discharge patients, holds all patients records and notes, i like the layout of individual patient's charts, the fact that you can scan in documents including insurance cards/ID's and designate where to drop them

Cons

freezes frequently, organization of general layout could be better, more breakdown of ways to search for a patient chart, crashes OFTEN, LARGE ISSUE WITH ALLSCRIPTS PM CROSSING OVER TO ALLSCRIPTS CLOUD EHR!!

September 2018

Julia from Gastroenterology Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Allscripts Review

Charting consistently on the system over years allows for continuity of care in our office. Overall the system is efficient and allows me to meet my objectives of charting on my patients.

Pros

It is helpful to make specific templates for each problem. This saves a lot of time which is helpful when you have a busy day of patients. Clicking on pertinent positives and negatives with the ability to add comments all build the note together nicely.

Cons

Usually the only issues we have with Allscripts is that it tends to freeze. Then we get kicked out of the system which is frustrating since it wastes a lot of time. It is not always clear if this problem comes from Allscripts itself or is in part due to our internet connection.

November 2017

Kelsey from Beacon Medical Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

I am a user of this software and it is easy to use once you are aware where things are located.

I was able to get referrals and orders sent to other facilities a lot quicker and easier.

Pros

The internal fax that was included in the software. It made it very easy and accessible to fax documents and records in Allscripts EHR. It wasted less paper by allowing us to fax things (ie; lab orders, diagnostic test orders, referrals) to other facilities rather than print it out and manually fax it from a fax/copy machine.

Cons

There was no shortcut to find documentation. I would have to search through documents by dates to find different messages or things that were scanned in. Once I was able to find what I was searching for then it was easy to locate the document again.

April 2017

Amber from Iowa ENT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2017

WORST.EHR/EMR.EVER!!!!

It is so ancient. Not sure how they can say they are one of the best or leading in EHR?? Complete lie! Has any of the faculty or developers of this company ever seen any other EHR?? I'm guessing not. Maybe they should see some other EHRs or have experienced providers help them! You also get nickel and dimed on everything even when you pay majors dollars to have the program and have to continue to pay for services, monthly fees, and for every upgrade and added the feature. Their customer support is horrible because half the people don't know what they are doing.

Pros

Nothing. Well I guess I'm supposed to pretend that I like something to move forward, but I honestly cannot!

Cons

Everything from the layout, templates, workflow, e-scribing, how only one person can be in the note and you have to steal it or take it over in order to do your part. I can't even create a note on someone I saw last week because another provider had two charts open on this patient that needed to be finished. AND...I can't even view any of these open notes either even when I am following up on this patient and need to see some things. You have to enter each prescription and send separately. The search buttons for diagnosis, procedures, test, education is horrible. You need to be able to find one thing with multiple names medical and layman, most commonly used. The nurses should be able to put in their vitals and go into medication, history, social, family, etc.....at the same time I getting into the HPI, exam, diagnoses and plan. I should be able to see the entire note, every section, on one page so I don't have to do a tone of clicking to try and see everything. I want to see the entire note. I should also be able to see problem list, medications, and other things off to one side. If someone is trying to open a section I am in it just needs to let them know by saying "so and so is in this section right now do you really need to take it over as it wouldn't save anything." This was helpful with the last EMR I had at my last job as I could even ask the person it said was on if they could get out of the section if I needed them too. When you have a template, you should be able to select something, but still alter it. For eg. if you choose one of the already made master list options you can't even put anything before or after or in between the sentence. Even when entering days or weeks to some of these sections you should be able to free text and even put 2-3 weeks or whatever you need to put in there. It should be very easy to make templates and edit things. Have any of these developers ever went into a medical office to even see how busy and complicated it is. It needs so much work. It is SOO old school!! I seriously am so frustrated, I can't even understand how this business is still successful?? I'm honestly going to spread the word on this program as it is the worst investment ever. Also when running reports it doesn't capture everything. Also isn't very helpful for meaningful use.

June 2018

Gordon from Mid-Atlantic Nephrology Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Very versatile product that is very difficult and expensive to configure.

Product generally works pretty well, but basic not critical bugs are rarely if ever corrected (even crossing major versions). Despite expensive maintenance contracts. I have been told that despite calling their period in version updates as "Cumulative Updates", they do not recommend applying these unless you have specific issues addressed. This would make them a hotfix rather than a cumulative update.

Pros

Extremely versatile and customizable product. User interface is fairly clean and easy to use. Vast number of features and options specific to your practice.

Cons

Company is slow to correct usability and bug issues. Support is slow and often does not seem very skilled. Extremely expensive to implement, upgrade and patch.

November 2017

Scott from Penn State Medical Group - White Rose

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2017

Word processor, with mandatory functions cobbled together and poorly searchable

Pros

Prescriptions easy to renew, though poor graphic layout makes it difficult to identify meds on list. Immunization chart can show column of last dose given

Cons

1. Not intuitive at all, needs 12 clicks to do pretty much anything. 2. Progress notes are not searchable for data(no snomed assignment of findings) very little is, so documenting quality parameters (e.g. diabetic foot exam or depression screening) means going outside of the progress note (12 clicks) and separately entering an order to do the exam then satisfy the order with a result. They kind of cobbled their data processor to a word processor. 3. The front office scheduling and billing module is often down, and Allscripts is very slow to respond and not proactive, only slowly reactive to problems. 4. Updates to the EHR tend to screw things up (like deleting favorites lists) and because of their slow responses, it takes 3-4 weeks to regain/repair that lost functionality. Our previous EHR would do beta testing on updates first which would identify glitches so they could be repaired before full rollout and we would be given the option of being a beta test site or not. 5. Templates for progress notes are primitive and not interconnected. For example, a diabetic visit and patient has sinusitis too. Clicking finding on one form doesnt show same item already clicked when using any other form. And the History forms are not linked to PE forms, etc, so if you have a Lyme patient you can search for a Lyme history form (12 clicks) but you would separately have to search for a Lyme PE form (12 clicks) or just give up and free text hx and PE findings (thus functioning more often as a glorified word processor).

July 2017

Marie from Home Care Plus

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Not up with the current times

We have been unhappy, but our Liason Sally Borel came to the rescue and set up meetings to answer our concerns and has kept in close contact with me. She is a big, big improvement over the Allscript liaison that we had before, Maureen. she never returned any phone calls or emails.

Pros

Careplan charting Support Team Sally Borel our Liason Fact that a clinician does not need to be hooked to WiFi to use Med profile more user friendly, still needs tweaking to be able to give to a patient

Cons

Not cloud based Need to sync in order to see documentation Need a server You charge by the license and not by the census Can not use the software on any device HHA care plan not user friendly

March 2016

Debra from Communtiy Hospital Home Health

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.0

March 2016

Home Health Review

Pros

Quick response time for IT help. The IT staff are very friendly, just difficult to understand sometimes. I like how the EMR looks when it is printed out.

Cons

It is difficult to understand the language or accent of some of the IT help. Also my staff can not sych from home sometimes and we have been told recently that Allscripts does not work with VPN or remote access. This is and important feature that is needed for a home health company. I also wish that entering medications and ending them were easier. If we have a patient that gets admitted to the hospital for a few days, we have to end each med and then add them back in when they come back home. The way Allscripts medication feature is set up is not worker friendly. Nurses would love to give you input on how to make this feature much easier.

April 2017

Gary from Gary Drillings MD PA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Lack of customer service and a multitude of issues including connectivity and third party vendors make this very difficult to recommend

The turnover within the company makes it difficult to establish a relationship with anyone if there is an issue. Routine failures in connectivity and lack of timely support create severe difficulty with work flow and patient care.

Pros

I have been using it for 7 years so familiarity is about the only saving grace at this point. It is a certified ehr vendor.

Cons

see review title. Follow My health portal was unusable. Third party vendors for additional add ons available for additional fees. I have been told that I will need to pay them for access to my patient records should I desire to switch to another vendor or retire.

September 2017

Ryan from St. Louis Children's Hospital

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Many Clicks Yield Low Results

Pros

This software makes inter-provider communication easy. The custom order feature provides increased efficiency. Pharmacy renewal requests are seamless.

Cons

Unfortunately, this software makes it difficult to track laboratory results across time which is less than optimal in the medical profession. Take notes is far from simple as the program requires multiple clicks in and out of text boxes to create notes. Finally, the custom patient and provider lists are cumbersome to create and manage.

June 2018

Jeffery from Aroci

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2018

Easy To Use, Slow, Bad Design

Look elsewhere, there are open source options I would choose before this.

Pros

It was easy to use and to find what you needed, it is a fairly simple software. The ability to send electronic prescriptions is also a plus.

Cons

Very slow and takes forever to load! Integrations with other systems is also nearly impossible. The software UI is very poorly designed and the coding is obviously messy. Downtime seemed to be a given each week as the system would go down randomly and seemingly every week.

September 2017

pam from Three Rivers Hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Review of Allscripts EMR

Pros

Like the fact that it auto generates orders, requires a complete chart before it can be submitted. Like that I can see patients from all offices.

Cons

Cannot flip around in the chart (assessments to care plan) without completing the previous section. Do not like that it does not calculate travel time correctly. Do not like that fact that the branch cannot be selected on the visit. Do not like the fact that some of the sections contain assessments that are not specific to hospice.

November 2012

Jim from Albany Medical Center

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2012

We use the Enterprise version (11.) in a large multispecilty practice. We used paper charts before this. This EHR is a Jack of all trades, but master of none.The user interface is antiquainted (the Pro version appears more develped in this regard) and oftentimes requires multiple clicks to get to basic information. It is hardly intuitive to someone like me who is very computer literate. The med list is hard to read and contains way too many details on the summary page. The note tools accept all forms of input, which is a postive, but the editing tools particularly for structured notes is absimal because of many bugs. Editing becomes a real chore and source of dissatisfaction. Input of laboratory data is not flexible in the sense that one cannot make manual entries or make custom feilds without significant tech support, which is lacking. Some of the order entry tools do not work correctly (standing orders to be specific), a known bug for a long time, but still no resolution. Problem oriented documentation is incomplete as there is poor connectivity between problem lists and an assessment of it (although, it does connect the dots for coding and for linking meds and labs to problems, just not easy to get too). Our in-house support staff are experiencing significant lags in updates and fixs for this product. To the extent that we can send scripts electronically and document changes in medication dosing, that part works well and should since that is where Allscripts excels. Its too bad that the rest of the product is so buggy and neglected. In short, I would not recommend the Enterprise version of this product. The ratings page for this site should probabaly make a distinction between the 3 products offered by Allscripts since they are not all the same.

July 2019

Marilyn from PT Home Services of San Antonio, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Personal Touch Review

Pros

It is user friendly and I have found different ways to locate the information I need, which is helpful.

Cons

It is not user friendly for the clinical staff but I personally do not have anything bad to say about it. When there is an issue, it does get resolved but sometimes it takes too long.

June 2017

Amy from a

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2017

Please use another product

The support I have received on technical issues is by far the worst I have ever experienced. Our issues are possibly stretched out over days to weeks. I submit our cases for support and most of the time I do not hear anything back that someone is looking at our case for days - sometimes I hear back the next day. We ask for guidance on server refreshes and they send us an out of date manual if we hear back. I have expressed our deep concerns when we experience down times due to lack of direction from the vendor. We had a down test environment for over 4 weeks and we had to reach out to another contact to get the issues resolved. I begged for documentation on what the fix was, and I have never heard back. We need to perform another refresh and are guaranteed to run into the same issues again. This is unacceptable as a company to offer this level of support to a paying customer. The company also only connects to your environment through SecureLink, a gateway that is usually non conforming to any sized organization's IT Security policies and preferences. They will not work with you on this issue either. I have not had a good experience with this company at the last 2 organizations I have worked that used Allscripts. This is my single point of contention in my job duties.

Pros

The product offers an ease of use for our end users.

Cons

Everything. The customer support is horrendous. The company's connectivity.

July 2019

Rachael from Margaret Stripling DO

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Allscripts is good software

It has been great. Easy to use and this company has been around a long time with cutting edge products. We started using them in 1992 and have never been sorry.

Pros

That you can simply change the date a charge was posted instead of deleting and reposting the charge.

Cons

We use the offline version so you only get 2 screens and when posting payments and answering phones and such it would be nice to have more screens so you don't have to exit posting.

December 2014

Buffy from Liberty Hospital

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2014

Nurse at mid-sized hospital using EHR

Pros

I can't think of a single thing I like "best" about this EHR.

Cons

The AllScripts EHR we are using is terrible to say the least. Nothing populates to anything else in a meaningful way. If I give insulin, it should populate to the diabetic flowsheet. But I have to double chart everything. It isn't capable of connecting to our telemetry, so again, another entry. The physical assessment is ridiculously laborious to chart. It takes nearly 20-30 minutes just to open my patients chart. As I move from room to room to chart at the bedside (per directive), the log in and out time is very long. Once charting, there are far too many descriptors that mean nearly the same thing. The list of possible findings is so long that it takes forever to look through and it's not in any particular order that I can see (such as alphabetical descriptors so it's easier to find what I'm looking for). It forces you through some things line by line, while completely skipping others so I have to manually go back. For example - on the skin assessment, I am line by line forced through everything each time. But on the cardiac section, it skips right over the telemetry parameter if the patient's assessment was WDL. If I've added a tele parameter I probably want to use it. There are so many columns across the page it's mind numbing to look at and often leads to people inserting data in the wrong column. If a parameter is accidentally clicked but is quickly realized not to be the one I meant to click, there is no way to delete it, this leading to yet another grayed out but space taking place. If there has been no data entered in a parameter, we should be able to delete or have an undo action option. In short, we are health care providers, not IT professionals. I should never be spending more time charting about the care I am providing than actually providing care. And the worst part is that with all the endless clicking of boxes, I chart less meaningful things than I did paper charting! I have yet to find one person who likes our system.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Decent EMR if you set it up correctly

Pros

If you spend weeks/months setting this up correctly before use, it is a decent EMR for primary care and some specialties.

Cons

Requires administrator AND PHYSICIANS to spend days/weeks if not months setting up system tables, protocols, and templates before system can be used appropriately. Limited usability with poor workflows for certain specialties that rely on body-site specific coding in ICD-10.

May 2019

Jennifer from Phc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

A little old fashioned

Pros

This is sufficient from an EHR standpoint. Overall it's quite easy to learn (helps to have some basic computer and previous EHR knowledge) and be somewhat proficient and efficient just within a few days.

Cons

-there is no way to have more than one chart open at a time -sometimes hard to navigate and though our EHR team is working to build a comprehensive flowsheet for health maintenance I find that the way it's set up in allscripts is not very helpful -not easy to refill groups of medications (as compared to other systems like EPIC, which I used previously) -lacks the functionality that EPIC has in a lot of regards and though I haven't used many other systems, have heard other providers feel similarly

March 2018

Shae Lynn from ABC Pediatrics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Allscripts has been a great EHR for our practice. It is very easy to use and easy to understand.

Pros

Allscript is easy to customize for each person. It is easy to use and easy to understand. Most things are very self explanatory. Overall the system is good.

Cons

The support sometimes takes a long time to respond to requests. Also when they respond to requests or open tickets sometimes it takes months to get thing actually completed. It seems that some people are quicker than other.

August 2018

Stuart from Francisco Gil Professional Medical Co.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Some good features but not user friendlly

We have gotten used to it, however the only reason we continue to use it is because we have payed so much for it.

Pros

by the book (but not very user friendly because of it), MIPS portal is nice(though very buggy), FMH is helpful and there are new features we are looking forward to.

Cons

Crashes all the time. Expensive. Hard to use if you don't have an IT guy. Support is hit or miss.

May 2018

Jordan from Sunland Home Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Excellent For Nursing Home Referrals

Pros

We used to use all scripts at our nursing homes. This is an excellent platform for staying in contact with the hospitals and not missing potential referrals.

Cons

I really don't have any negative issues with this platform. At one point it became difficult to manage as a person had to stay at the desk, they later upgraded the mobile version and resolved the issue.

March 2018

Lori from Pegasus Psychiatric

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

I used this soft ware at two different practices, I think it is good software

I think this is a very good software compared to a lot that i have tried. I think the appointment scheduler is the best part of the program.

Pros

I really liked the scheduling system with Allscripts, very easy to learn just a lot of steps. I also like the EMR portion of this software, very user friendly.

Cons

my least favorite thing about this software is the amount of steps you have to make to complete a task.

November 2019

Karla from Health and Wellness

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

East to use medical softeware

It solves the problem of paper charts, allows everything to be in one system for ease of use.

Pros

Able to keep a running chart for patients by breaking it down into categories of MD notes, authorizations, and even a running table on task/notes back & forth between provider/nurses.

Cons

Nothing as it's very user friendly and I have no complaints.

January 2018

Kory from Kitagawa Dermatology LLC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

It was an average EHR. Lack of customization was frustrating

Pros

It performed the basic functions well including orders, scripts, and basic documentation. Charting did not take excessively long

Cons

The most frustrating thing for me was the lack of customization. If there was a feature that made common sense to most docs, it would take forever for them to review the request and then it never got approved

July 2019

Lindsey from Revere Health

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good Product

It's a great product once you get into it. It's easy to use and easy to learn it just takes a really long time to get into it.

Pros

It is very easy to learn and work with this product. I found it extremely intuitive and loved how easy it was for me to just jump right into this software.

Cons

It takes a really long time for the software to start up and I have to restart it whenever I leave my computer. It is actually really annoying.

February 2018

Shiv from Abbott

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

easy to use software

Pros

easy to implement, administer, use and the ability to send prescriptions with th click of a button using this software thereby saving productive time

Cons

at times, it takes multiple clicks to reach the end goal we are trying to accomplish and also at times historical notes really become hard to sarch

August 2017

Andrea from IFWH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Lots of setup

Pros

There are a lot of features and it comes with several reports right out of the "box". Also appreciate the ease of integration with 3rd party software.

Cons

This EHR seems way to have a much too intensive setup/customization process and too many templates. Very time consuming data entry.

April 2018

Shelley from Integris

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Clinic use

Simple and easy to use.

Pros

The ease of use and the adaptability of the software between specialty clinics. Also, support for the software is readily available.

Cons

Does not always integrate with other health systems. The obstetrical componet sometimes locks and does not allow editing.

September 2018

Deborah from Sunland Home Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

A needed platform

Ongoing QA assessment and constant improvement and R & D

Pros

The necessity of using this in the medical industry. The wide range of various arenas of healthcare.

Cons

The heavy traffic and slowness. Sometimes it is slow during heavy traffic times at certain periods of the day.

December 2017

Latrelle from Sandhills

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2017

Horrible

Ehr experience .

Pros

Allows us to meet the state requirements. Cost was reportedly very good. Inferior by far to other systems I have used but price meant you got in the game.

Cons

Version we use does not link cpt codes to results. It is like paper charting using a computer. Our version allows only one user at a time which is ridiculous.You have flaws like pap offered overriding an actual done pap when you are trying to trace your quality goals.

May 2017

Baldemar from Baldemar Covarrubias

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

I wish it was a faster EHR

Pros

Lab and X-ray interfaces work as expected The H&P format is appears good. Support is fast for critical issues but a little slow for other problems

Cons

It takes too many clicks to finish a note and dragon speaking is not part of EHR but can be added.

October 2018

Evangeline from Healthcare Management Associates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Outdated

Pros

-once you get used to the dinosaur-ancient-like interface, you can probably get your claims to go through

Cons

-ancient-like interface, totally not user friendly and a pain in the you-know-what to navigate or solve any simple issue

April 2018

Kortni from Verity Medical Foundation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Archaic Software

It's thorough and can be customized, but building the functions out requires a lot of time and effort.

Pros

I like that we can ePrescribe and eFax. It shows the patient's insurance carrier at the top, but it doesn't show their ID number, and to do anything with the insurance company, you need the ID number, and the only place to find it is in their SCANNED in insurance docs - chart viewer. That's pretty bad.

Cons

The interface is not attractive, the software itself is really big, so it's slow, and worst of all it requires A LOT of clicks to do anything!

March 2018

ROSEMARY from ISK INSTITUTE

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

ALLSCRIPTS PROGRAM

Pros

THE PHYSICIANS USED THIS PROGRAM A LOT! THEY DID LIKE THE EASE OF PLACING MEDICATION SCRIPTS FOR PATIENTS.

Cons

MOSTLY USED FOR WRITING MEDICATION PRESCRIPTIONS. WE RARELY USED IT FOR ANYTHING ELSE. GOOD FOR WHAT IT WAS USED FOR.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great software but expensive

Sending electronic prescriptions is very easy. Overall this is a expensive program that lacks of a strong customer support.

Pros

Its features of e-prescription, immunization scheduling, easy to use and manage.

Cons

Transition times between screens. Speed is not what we expected. Customer care representatives are not as helpful as you would expect. Long-term contracts make difficult to look for another supplier.

June 2017

Pam from Greenville Health Care Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2017

Our expenses for a small medical practice were out of control with Allscripts.

Pros

There is nothing that I liked about the company. I pay the bills for our company and every month I had no idea what I was paying for.

Cons

There is a long term cost for literally everything you want to do or change. Their contracts are so lawyered up they are impossible to get out of. We just terminated our service and we have struggled through with them since 2008. They were our first EHR company. They have now sent me my billing information through 2026. I left a voicemail Monday which as of yesterday afternoon had not been returned. I sent an additional email yesterday in regards to the bill which has not been answered. I also left my cell number since I would be out of the office and so far no word from anyone to discuss our bill. My practice is closing and opening up under a new name and tax ID. Not sure how to handle their bills for the next 9 years.

October 2019

Josh from The Independent Presbyterian Church of Savannah

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

You Got To Have One....

Great experience using this product and working with the Allscripts Staff.

Pros

We use this product in a Pediatric Medical Practice. It was a helpful product to have and Allscripts was wonderful to work with and continue to be a fully supported customer service program.

Cons

The forced paid upgrades always got me feeling like "why?"

Displaying 1 - 50 of 165 reviews