Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.78

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The best thing about Chorus Connection is that it is easy for anyone to use - from beginners to experts. The administrative side is also very intuitive."
  • icon"It was easy to follow to insert your picture and information. As a whole the chorus, really liked having all of the musical files in one place and with the ease of listening to them."
  • icon"For a small investment, I was able to free up a lot of staff time for other impactful efforts."
  • icon"I don’t like the look of the files and music pages."
  • icon"And, because you setup this stuff only a few times a year, it is difficult to remember everything that you must do to get it to work properly. Also, there are a few key things that are missing."
  • icon"But the biggest issues I have are 1. The whole concerts linked to attendance linked to music linked to payment is the loveliest concept ever invented but it is insane to use."

Have you used Chorus Connection and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Chorus Connection Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

A few features missing

There is a lot of very good things that Chorus Connection offers. The setup and implementation of the software is sometimes confusing and requires a lot of assistance to get it working properly. I don't think we are using the software to its full potential because there are things that I just don't know how to do. But, the staff does spend time helping you to set it up. They are available to answer questions and to help. The staff is personable and friendly.

Pros

It helps to contain all of our membership, calendar, files, and music in one location.

Cons

Some things that should be simple are not. Example: in order to see specific music selections for an upcoming concert, the are many other things that must be done first, but which are found in various places throughout the software. This is the same with collecting dues, and pretty much all other more advanced functions. And, because you setup this stuff only a few times a year, it is difficult to remember everything that you must do to get it to work properly. Also, there are a few key things that are missing. There is no way to send out a mass text to the members. I would also like to see polling, being able to ask a question of the members and see their responses broken down by voice part. Example: Can you sing at 1st Lutheran, on August 1st? or Which committee meeting date and times work best for you?

Reasons for switching to Chorus Connection

My hope was to have a service that would bundle everything into one service. But, there are some things that I still have to use other software/websites to accomplish needs, such a polling.

Sarah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2020

Easy to Master

Pros

I love that our members have a way to connect and to get information easily! I also love that it is easy to navigate and provide support for our group.

Cons

I wish this software "talked" to other software.... build that API! But I also wish it was more customizable, like the option to hide fields or easier to mass update information. Honestly, once you master Chorus Connection, you wish it could do so much more, however, it a great tool.

Melissa

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2020

Concept is great, needs better use-friendly interface

I am getting less enthused about CC. The concepts are great, but I need other things too, like a place to upload a video and be able to tell who watched it. The ability to assign kids videos to watch or assignments to complete. Integrate one note or something to help with the teaching side of what I do—the rehearsing and ticket side is great. And the billing is so frustrating I might stop my subscription just over that. I can’t adjust things easily.

Pros

I love the seating charts. That is a huge time-saver. I love being able to see the kids photos all together. I like the cheerful logo and the idea of having so many of the things I need in one place. I like that it gives some professionalism to the choir—for the parents. We look “serious,” which we are!

Cons

I don’t like the look of the files and music pages. It doesn’t feel friendly. I want to click on those pages and see buttons for each song that I can click on and get my links and music right there. The pages now are not easy on the eyes. I want a cleaner look—white background, colorful buttons—happy—like the logo and the customer service people! The menus and pages feel small, cramped, and wordy. More clickable buttons please. I make a newsletter every week. I would like to post that on the welcome page and have it be fully integrated so that my singers can click on a video in my newsletter and it will play. Right now it’s easier for me to just use Constant Contact to make my newsletters and post links to what I want folks to use. Chorus connection has ended up being backup for content—a last resort. I don’t enjoy loading stuff on it. My adhd needs larger type and clickable colorful buttons. But the biggest issues I have are 1. The whole concerts linked to attendance linked to music linked to payment is the loveliest concept ever invented but it is insane to use. I am still trying to wrap my head around creating inactive concerts that are actually the rosters for my choirs, and then having to go in and find the magic button to have each kid sing on certain concerts is confusing. That whole system needs a major overhaul. The concept is brilliant, but the program gives me headaches. It isn’t intuitive. And then the billing system...ug. Super confusing!!!

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Best chorale management software in the market!

We have used Chorus Connection to help singers obtain their music electronically (thus eliminating the cost of printing music and being more environmentally friendly) as well as using this software to communicate to specific groups within the chorus (for example, just the Basses or the Sopranos). Both the artistic staff, the administrative staff and the users/singers all comment on how easy the system is to use.

Pros

The best thing about Chorus Connection is that it is easy for anyone to use - from beginners to experts. The administrative side is also very intuitive. The best compliment I can give Chorus Connection is from our users/singers - over 250 singers use Chorus Connection almost daily and we have had only a few complaints or confusion about the software. The customer support is outstanding - and since the developers of this software are singers from choruses themselves - they know exactly what a chorus needs in chorus management software.

Cons

We asked Chorus Connection to help us process paying dues each month. Chorus Connection developed this feature and we are mostly pleased with how this feature turned out, but we found out that we had to customize this feature since we offer scholarships as well as a monthly giving program in lieu of dues. The reports to show how many people have paid their dues is a bit clunky as well.

Reasons for switching to Chorus Connection

We have tried at least two different chorus management software - one was "homegrown" and when the developer left the chorus, it quickly became obvious that this software was not only user-UNfriendly, there was no "customer support". We moved to a commercially available chorus management software that several other choruses that we knew used, but quickly found that although cheap, it didn't meet our needs and the customer support was very slow. Chorus Connection has been a breath of fresh air and is now something I know I don't have to worry about.

Belinda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Couldn't have handled membership growth without it

We have been using Chorus Connection for several years. During that time we have expanded from one choir to three and multiplied membership four-fold. We could not possibly have handled that growth without a solid membership admin tool and Chorus Connection has served us very well.

Pros

Chorus Connection is written exactly for community choirs. So unlike other databases where we have had to mold them to our purpose, this works "right out of the box." We can manage multiple choirs and support teams, and we use pretty much every feature they offer -- email, calendar, payments, attendance, directory, file storage, choir line-ups, and ticket sales. The development team is very open to receiving suggestions for new features -- not that they all can be implemented, but they take the time to get to know their customer needs.

Cons

There are a few features where we have pushed Chorus Connection to its limits and we're waiting to see if our wish list makes it into development. The biggest would be that we haven't uploaded our music library into their database because (1) can't define custom fields, (2) can't import data automatically. So meanwhile, we battle on with Excel. There also isn't a "read only" option for Riser Charts, which means that we can't share that information with our singers until we have taken the time to capture charts in PDF and upload them.

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

The product seemed to fit our needs the best.

J Ernest

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Great product for managing a chorus

My experience has been great and I am glad we use CC. With the exception of the limitations with regard to members I don't have any major criticisms.

Pros

I like the tracking features that allow us to see attendance, seating etc. In recent months we have used the Bulletin Board feature more actively and this has helped our members stay in touch.

Cons

At first I thought it was a little expensive to subscribe to and this kept me from adopting it as early as I first thought I would. When I eventually opted in the Annapolis Chorale and saw it work I was very pleased and eventually opted to use it with the Music program at St. Anne's Episcopal in Annapolis. The one thing I don't like is that the max number of members seems too low for each price point. We would like to be able to keep records of past members longer and find ourselves having to delete and then "re-invite" when they return. We would also like to include members of Annapolis Chamber Orchestra, because much of the info we share affects them as well. This would bump us into another pricing tier which is not possible for us. As a result, it creates a lot of redundancy in our communications through CC. I would recommend eliminating the tiers or at the very least increase the max numbers of members for each.

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

I liked the interface and the ability for selected volunteers to use the product and be a part of tracking and communicating.

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Chorus Management Tool Created by People Who Manage Choruses!

We have eliminated the manual directory for our membership, streamlined our communication with our members, and made access to important files easy for everyone. Implementation was easily achieved. Whenever we've had a question, customer service has been prompt and thorough. They are always open to suggestions for improvements, and we feel that they listen when we make recommendations. The key leaders have real experience managing real choruses, and that makes a difference!

Pros

This chorus management tool was easy to implement and is easy to use. Among our favorite features: member profiles and the member directory; the calendar and attendance tracking; the riser setup; the files area where we keep files for all members as well as files for board members only; and easy communication among the group members.

Cons

I would love the ticket sales function to do two things: (a) make subscription tickets available and easy to use; (b) provide the option to process the payments through our own (nonprofit) Stripe account vs. their (corporate) account at the higher rate. I'd also love to see a music library feature that would make it easy for us to inventory our music.

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

The user interface seemed more straight-forward with Chorus Connection. Chorus Connection provided the functions that we needed--and didn't offer extraneous things we don't need. They offer tremendous value. We definitely feel it is money well spent.

Patti

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Fantastic tool for our community chorus!

We have found that it is much easier for section leaders to take attendance and for members to access pdf files of music markings and uploaded practice files. Communication with the chorus is improved with the use of the email tools.

Pros

Chorus Connection is an excellent tool for managing chorus members, files, attendance, dues, and more! It is easy to use, and chorus members can easily access files, recordings, and other essential materials. The bulletin board is a great way for members to post information. We have been thrilled with the excellent customer support provided, and can't imagine how we ever managed without it!

Cons

We have not had any complaints in our experience with Chorus Connection. Technical support is always interested in doing whatever is necessary to meet our needs.

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

We chose Chorus Connection over other competitors because we were offered a comprehensive demo that enabled us to ask questions and determine that the product was indeed the best to meet our needs and competitively priced.

Mary Katherine

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

All in one place!

Setting up our Chorus Connection account was a breeze. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was very patient and helpful in answering my questions and helping me navigate and learn the program. We spoke on the phone and via emails. I've even had a few of my singers contact Chorus Connection and they have all said their requests/problems were addressed quickly, politely, and professionally. Great company and product.

Pros

Chorus Connection has been instrumental for me in having all my organization's information and data in one place. I no longer have 5 different spreadsheets for attendance, overall membership, specific section information, etc... I love that my membership can log on and get info about their fellow singers. Saves us time and money from publishing a paper member directory. Also love being able to add all music links associated with a specific concert in one place. The Eastern Shore Choral Society is a 90+ member volunteer community chorus comprised of mainly older singers who aren't tech savvy. Chorus Connection is easy for them to navigate. My singers are able to go to one place and find all the resources they need for the semester. Easier for them and easier for me as an Artistic Director. Communication has been streamlined!

Cons

I wish there was a way to handle semester registration. Currently we still use a Google Form for our members to register each semester.

User Profile

Sebastian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Great Product That Keeps Getting Better!

Chorus Connection is helping my community chorus get and stay organized! It helps my members find all their music and important documents all in one place, and it lets them access as needed, versus the management team having to spoon feed it to each individual. It's just a great tool for streamlining our administration, leaving more time to make music!

Pros

I like the the interface is pleasing to use. It is simple enough for non-tech-savvy users to access the important features they need. It is intuitive enough for administrators to quickly make changes and add content as needed, and it is powerful enough to handle lots of different tasks in an organized way that lets my chorus stay organized!

Cons

Nothing so far! It has been a breeze to use, and if I have an issue, Customer support really helps me understand how the product can work for me.

Reasons for switching to Chorus Connection

Because G Suite for Non-Profits just wasn't fitting the bill for a central access point for members who don't all have Google accounts, and creating a "shared" account really wasn't effective.

Response from Chorus Connection

Hi Sebastian - nice to hear from you and thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Facebook and Capterra! We're so happy to hear that Chorus Connection has been easy to use from both an administrator's and singer's perspective. Our mission is "to connect choruses with their members, patrons, and communities, making it easy for them to deliver beautiful choral music to the world." So we're very glad to hear that your streamlined administration has left you more time to make beautiful music! That's the most important thing to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and to recommend us!

Replied November 2019

Rose

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Great Chorus Management System

Overall my chorus and I are really enjoying the program. I find sometimes the way you have to go about getting things updated or use certain functions is a little confusing, but i'm able to figure more things out in the program. And If i'm unable to figure it out your support team has been great in getting answers back to me. It's helped my chorus consolidate everything (files, music, learning tracks) and streamline a lot of our processes, but there are some features I've mentioned above that I would really like to see added to the program to make it even more efficient and productive.

Pros

I love the calendar integration and it's live feed. I love the members data management that has the individual update their data rather than having to have spreadsheets. We were previously using multiple programs to house our communications, videos, sheet music, files and learning tracks. It's been really helpful to have the ability to store all our items in the same place and have one place for communication.

Cons

There's a handful of admin abilities that aren't available that I find create some road blocks. The inability to link your payment center reporting to quickbooks. Not being able to choose whether the organization or the members pay fees associated with collecting funds through the system. Having to run our payment center on the calendar year rather than a fiscal year like our organization does. Not being able to delete and remove items an admin has entered or added into the system (custom fields, offline payments). Not being able to set re-occurring calendar items so we can set and forget. Not being able to search our members by birthday. More filter options would be great!

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

The live calendar feed and integration was the main reason I chose the system and the payment functions as well as the over all cost was what drove us to pick this system.

Amir

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Wonderful tool, team, and resources

The team at Chorus Connection has been amazing. They've been engaging, supportive, helpful, and insightful, and they are wonderful to work with. Using Chorus Connection has been a game changer for our choir members feeling supported. They can go to Chorus Connection and immediately see all the things they need in one spot. No longer do folx need to hunt around their emails for links, documents, music, etc.

Pros

Chorus Connection does a fantastic job of being a one-stop resource for choir members and most of the things they need. Music is easily available, the calendar function is really clear and configurable, and the member directory is super meaningful. The home/dashboard function is a great way to keep things at the surface for choristers. I highly recommend trying this software out to see if it's right for you and your org.

Cons

There are some specific functionalities that I wish were in Chorus Connection, but none of them are dealbreakers for me personally. You cannot create a recurring calendar event (rather you need to duplicate each one and save as a unique event). Some areas are customizable but others are not currently, e.g. you cannot select which fields show up on the initial member card when browsing the directory. Lastly, the Files section is not super robust and does not allow you to drag and drop or relocate subfolders, so you'll need to be very intentional about how you set up the structure or reach out to the CC team to move mass files for you if you need to reorganize a lot of things. I do also wish that you could host live documents (aka links to Google Docs or Sheets) in the Files section, but anything in Files needs to be a static document. (A workaround for this is to host live docs in the homepage/dashboard.)

Silvia

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Overall a great software product for choirs

I believe that overall Chorus Connection is great software product. It does help connect members and keep information all in one place. Even older/less tech savvy members seemed to have understood its functionalities pretty well.

Pros

It's very intuitive and easy to navigate. I like the fact that everything is one place. Best features are the member directory and the front page. Member directory helps tremendously in getting to know choir members. The front page allows a main message to be displayed and important emails to be listed for easy access / retrieval.

Cons

I wish that the bulletin board would allow attachments. I also wish that particularly heavy files could be opened and streamed easily. My experience is that it's not always the case. In quite a number of occasions I had to resort to downloading to my computer video recordings saved there because their streaming on Chorus Connection would halt after a few minutes.

Tim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

A Great Option for Choral Organizations

Customer service is great; recommendations from other choruses to use Chorus Connection because of their good customer service influenced our decision to use Chorus Connection in the first place, and the recommendations were well-founded.

Pros

The members of Sage Singers seem very comfortable utilizing the Bulletin Board feature, which they use often, and the Board of Directors use other features like creating specified-member email groups, posting of Board documents for internal review, and posting organizational documents that are intended to be seen by the members and the public. The Calendar is perhaps our most used feature and becomes even more valuable as we get all of our singers to remember to look there first, before asking for details regarding something about which they have a question. We are even posting the links for our Zoom rehearsals and Team meetings in the Calendar.

Cons

We had to set up with another vendor for ticket sales, because Chorus Connection did not yet have that capability. I hope that this new feature has been a successful addition.

Reasons for choosing Chorus Connection

As mentioned above, the good customer service. Also, we had an online walk-through to reassure us of the ease of use and the many features available before we made a financial commitment.

Kayln

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Accommodates All Of Our Needs!

I've loved using Chorus Connection because it's so user friendly and intuitive. I love the resources available and often find myself coming back to the blog posts because they are incredibly helpful. Customer service has always gotten back to us quickly and resolves any issue in the first try which really helps us.

Pros

We've used other software and it wasn't nearly as user friendly and organized as Chorus Connection. We have quite a few older members in our chorus that struggle with technology but have had a very easy time navigating the ins and outs of Chorus Connection, which has been great. We're able to have everything in one place and that's helped streamline our communication with our members.

Cons

The only thing I would like to see from Chorus Connection would be an app that would make it easier to navigate on a mobile device.

Reasons for switching to Chorus Connection

It wasn't user friendly and many of our members didn't use it because it was so hard to understand.

Ora

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE