All Gym Assistant Reviews

1-25 of 184 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

katie

2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2021

Simple, cost effective, useful

Debbie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Happy Customer

PROS

It is very easy to use and has all the functions we need.

CONS

Nothing. I like everything in this software.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

It was more user friendly and more what I was looking for.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your supportive feedback. We are pleased to see you find Gym Assistant software simple to use and powerful too. We appreciate your business, thank you. - Gym Assistant

Replied December 2019

Debra

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Gym Assist Software

PROS

The product helps with obtaining all aspects of accounting regarding sales. It is in depth, clear to understand and help full for tax reports.

CONS

The help button could have more answers instead of using the manual.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

Reviewing all options as well as electronic entry, Gym Assistant seemed to be something we could afford and understand. It has helped with the accounting more than we could have imagined.

Reasons for switching to Gym Assistant

More in line for what we needed for our business.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback about Gym Assistant Software. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team for answers via phone or by email, we always respond and are glad to help. Thank you - Gym Assistant

Replied October 2020

Jared

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

One of the only options out there

Good system overall for what it does. Poor customer service.

PROS

Able to allow 24 hour access to our gym through the card software. Its easy to use most of the time, but there are some glitches. Easy process and new member entry. We like the SMS feature that sends text to notify of denied access or membership due.

CONS

Its expensive. The customer service is non-exsistant once you pass your initial trial unless you pay them an unreasonable customer service fee. They won't even respond back to you on small questions unless you pay them first. Every little option cost extra. In a small gym like ours this gets to be very expensive and digs into our overhead. Their system is very off and on again and sometimes freezes up and won't let people in, usually on weekends when the office staff isn't there. We would switch, but honestly there isn't another option for 24hr access systems.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback about Gym Assistant. Good News! You have an active Support subscription that is valid through 01/02/2024. So you are currently eligible for Support services at no additional cost. We will have our Technical Support Team reach out to offer assistance with your door Access Control system. We appreciate your business for over a decade and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied August 2023

Peter

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Happy Customer

It's been great. Perfect for a small / mid size gym such as ours

PROS

It's simple, I'm not over loaded with a bunch of bells and whistles that I won't use

CONS

The software is not stored online, or web based

Reasons for switching to Gym Assistant

Mind body was expensive, and had more than I needed

Vendor Response

We appreciate your overall positive feedback about Gym Assistant software. We are glad you find it easy to use as designed. Thank you for your business - Gym Assistant

Replied October 2020

Jonny

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Gym owner? Buy this software!

I feel so fortunate to have this software and door system. It has recreated my whole business and given me the desire to not only keep going (this year will be our 15th year in business) but to strive towards opening more locations.

PROS

I love the ease of use with gym assistant. I’m someone who learns as they go and with gym assistant, it has been a great journey with [sensitive content hidden] and the teams help along the way. Their customer service is second to none plus integrating with VIZpin and the online portal has been a game changer for my business. It has literally given me more time with my family and less stress in my everyday business practices. Thank you [sensitive content hidden]!!!

CONS

I had to wire the door controller but with [sensitive content hidden] help we got through it!

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad that you find an "ease of use" with our software and backed by "second to none" Support services. We appreciate your business over a decade and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied September 2023

Stephen

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

A great product for Fitness Centres

We have used Gym Assistant for over 15 years now and it is integral to the operation of our Fitness Centre and has been essential in growing and tracking the membership base

PROS

Gym Assistant is very easy to use and the product support for us, based in Australia, is excellent. It is a relatively intuitive programme to use and new staff have very few problems working with it. I appreciate the inexpensive upgrade capabilities as our membership grows.

CONS

We would like more functionality for marketing purposes when emailing clients.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

Certainly price and ease of use. Being able to purchase the product outright with a relatively inexpensive annual support fee was also critical.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad you find our software "easy to use" and backed by "excellent product support". We appreciate your business for well over a decade and beyond! -Gym Assistant

Replied August 2023

KayLynn

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

Great baseline product, could use a few more features.

Gym Assistant takes your feedback and makes the program better.

PROS

You can run so many different types of reports in gym assistant, it makes it easy to pull the data you need. It's also easy to change information or update member information in their profiles.

CONS

Issuing refunds is near impossible in the system, it doesn't track accurately. We need more options for adding other items that have variable costs other than needing to have each cost listed, such as our catering equipment that we rent out, and the backcountry cabin that we manage.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad you find our software a "Great baseline product". You might consider operating integrated payment processing to make the overall Billing process more efficient. We appreciate your business for nearly two decades and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied August 2023

Heather

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Review after one full year of use

Overall, I am very satisfied with Gym Assistant and it's features.

PROS

Gym Assistant was very easy to setup and learn. We primarily use it for membership management and payment processing at our fitness center. The Gym Assistant help center was very helpful in getting setup and always available to help with any questions. Overall, we are very happy with this product.

CONS

It would be very helpful if you could process more than one transaction at a time, instead of billing a member's card twice. For example, if a member wanted to purchase a class punch card and merchandise, it would be helpful to run it as one transaction.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

Gym Assistant was most cost effective and the team was very responsive to all of my questions.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad that you found our software "very easy to setup and learn" and backed by a "very responsive" Support Team. We appreciate your business over the past year and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied September 2023

Stephen

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

A++ Gym management software and customer support

Overall, great experience.

PROS

Gym Assistant does not charge monthly fees, it is easy to navigate, has a small learning curve, and has awesome customer support.

CONS

If they had an admin website/portal and/or admin app developed - absentee facility owners or managers who are away longer than normal time periods could manage membership changes and/or FOB issues. Using a software program that mirrors the desktop has not always worked well for us.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your very positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad that you find Gym Assistant "A++ Gym management software and customer support." Also, our Software Development Team is currently working on your wish list, so new features start getting released towards end of year, stay tuned... We appreciate your business over a decade and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied September 2023

Nat

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

gym assistant review

very good

PROS

user friendly set up easy operation and no subscription base fees

CONS

A lot of functions are not compatible in my country

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

a friend recommended

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad you find our software "easy" to use. We appreciate your business over the past several years and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied August 2023

Keisha

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Easy to use!

I have been very happy with the price and options that gym assistant offers and with their customer service.

PROS

I like that gym assistant is affordable! Their customer service is great and it’s an easy system to use that allows you to be hands off. As a small gym owner we can’t afford systems that huge corporate gyms use and we aren’t staffed all the time so having hands-off options is so important!

CONS

It’s a bit outdated in some ways. Some of the features that are the most important to running our gym don’t work super well all of the time.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad you find our software "easy to use" and backed by "great" customer support". We appreciate your business for many years and beyond! - Gym Assistant

Replied August 2023

Cindy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Gym Assistant should be your top choice!

We bought our first gym in 2016 and chose Gym Assistant because of it's value and simplicity. We have since added a second location with over 1,000 members along with a retail shop. Gym Assistant has been robust enough to grow with us. They continue to expand the product and the support has been outstanding.

PROS

I love the value that you get. From starting your first location with 100 members to expanding to multiple locations with 1,000+ members, Gym Assistant is robust enough to handle it. Easy to train new employees to add new members, ability for multiple membership packages, flexibility with monthly or daily billings. Point of sale add on for snack bars or retail merchandise is a great interface.

CONS

Could use a class scheduling module. Also, ability to have dual entry for the controllers, a fob and a 4 digit code for the keypad.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

Value, ease of use, expandability

Reasons for switching to Gym Assistant

Our second location was utilizing Zen Planner. We continued to use it for weeks to compare it to Gym Assistant and determine if we needed to make a change. Zen Planner had very good scheduling features but it could not compare to Gym Assistant when it came to managing the business, managing the memberships, billing, etc. It was an easy choice to cancel Zen Planner and put in Gym Assitant.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. It is great to hear you find our software good for managing your overall gym operations. We appreciate your business over these past many years and beyond - thank you! - Gym Assistant

Replied November 2021

Drew

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Best software without subscription

Overall it's great! Most daily tasks are easy to handle. It's integration with credit card processors is great. I don't use their door controller system or their check in system but it would make things even simpler. Customer support is excellent, even if you have to leave a message sometimes. Gym Assiant developers adapted quickly when covid hit. They updated their software to include features for our new gym worlds. By the time my gym was able to reopen they already had new features in place.

PROS

No subscription model. Once you purchase the software, you own it.

CONS

There's a learning curve for more advanced features. Renewing a contract after an extended leave, or adding family members in the middle of a billing period, etc usually required a call to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to clear it up. After 5 years of using it, I still fumble around occasionally. I will say that it does allow for nearly unlimited customization and is very powerful, but sometimes you have to get creative with it.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

No subscription.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your valuable feedback about Gym Assistant. Correct, our price model is "You buy it, you own it!", there are NO monthly fees to operate our software. We are glad you found our recent improvements valuable related to COVID-19 including the now available eSignatures and Occupancy Monitor plus Online New Member Sign-ups for general release in November 2020. We appreciate your business - thank you ! Gym Assistant

Replied October 2020

Karla

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Do it all software for easy gym management

Overall this has been a great experience. The ease of use was most astounding and the few times that I needed assistance it was fast and helpful. I can look to see my financials with a couple keystrokes. I can monitor usage without being there. I love this software!

PROS

It was so user friendly especially for a minimalist technology user. It tracks members, payments, dates and times of use. It gives me flexibility for different types of memberships and punch cards. I would recommend this product ( and have) to anyone starting out in the gym business. I was new to the business when I started and this was a business saver for sure. It tracks financials daily, monthly and yearly that help at tax time. Gym Assistant has allowed me to operate my 24/7 gym without much overhead. I can track usage without being present. Thank you Gym Assistant!

CONS

The only difficulty I had was on set up with my door mechanism. I hadn't understood that I needed to purchase that from a different source.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

I can't remember the other products but I feel like the overview sold 1/2 of it and dumb luck the other 1/2.

Vendor Response

Glad to hear your satisfaction with Gym Assistant software. We look forward to continue to serve your business. Thank you - Gym Assistant

Replied September 2019

Karen

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Gym Assist Makes Running Our Business Much Easier

We are very pleased with Gym Assistant. We have found it to be a very supportive system that is accommodating and flexible with our ever evolving and growing programs.

PROS

I really love the fact that I can work Gym Assist around our business model instead of having to run our business around the abilities of Gym Assist. We are punch card and add-on services heavy, rather than long term membership heavy and Gym Assist is flexible enough to manage these services well. In addition, we can customize reports to show exactly what we need to see to keep our business on track.

CONS

When taking a payment to renew a punch card the software shoots up an alert saying how many visits are now available but they visit number cannot be edited from that screen. We have to go back in and edit the member to change the number of visits. Not a big deal, but it's an extra step.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback about Gym Assistant. We are glad to hear you find our software easy to use and flexible to your business requirements. We appreciate your business over these past 18 years, Thank you! - Gym Assistant

Replied October 2020

Kim

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Gym Assistant needs some small upgrades

Overall, it is a good programs. With a few minor changes the program would be even more user friendly.

PROS

It is very easy to use and train new people to use.

CONS

- When sending a letter out in an email to the members, you can only send in notebook. This needs to be updated so that Microsoft word can be used to send emails. I don't know anyone that uses notebook anymore. And you cannot convert a word document to Notebook. -When printing mailing labels, you can't sort by city. This takes more time when sending out letters and having to resort 1,000s for letters by zip codes.

Reason for choosing Gym Assistant

I honestly was not involved in the purchasing of this product. When I started here they had already purchased it but it was not implemented yet.

Vendor Response

Thank you for overall positive feedback about using Gym Assistant software. Our Sales team will follow-up with you about options to upgrade your software version which will improve your overall functionality considerably. We appreciate your business. - Gym Assistant

Replied October 2020

Raymond

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT