All MemberSuite Reviews

1-20 of 20 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Shaun

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Access and adaptability enabling

MemberSuite runs the core of our business. There are several modules and systems that have been centralized, and the system is the primary system in which all member accounts and systems are referenced against. This centralization of our member ecosystem allows us to more efficiently and effectively manage our records with the staff resources we have.

PROS

A competitive advantage MemberSuite has over other providers is the flexibility of its API and ability to integrate with other systems and its ability to customize fields and data import/exports to manage data. This makes the system scalable and allows for a more customized fit to meet business processes of the organization, while staying on a core product.

CONS

MemberSuite knows it cannot be a one-size fits all or one-stop-shop for what dedicated systems provide, which is why integrations are important; however, there is basic functionality in the finance and marketing modules that if given a little more love could be decent baseline modules without the additional brute-force staff time it takes to make them operate efficiently.

Louisa

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

MemberSuite Will Scale With You

We have regular meetings with our customer service manager, which allows for a scheduled time to ask questions, find out what new features/updates are on the way, and share any feedback we may have for the company.

PROS

Having unlimited users meant that as our organization grew, our cost for the software *did not*. Annual membership renewal is easy to set up and run. Searching can get as granular as you want, allowing for truly targeted communications. We could use it out of the box. You can set up as many custom fields, relationship types, etc...as needed, which means as your needs evolve, the system will evolve with you.

CONS

Over the five+ years we've used MemberSuite, the company has continued to invest in the development of the product, which means that features that we wanted initially have since been implemented. In some cases, later than we needed it.

Reason for choosing MemberSuite

Price and modules

Reasons for switching to MemberSuite

Our members are organizations, not individuals, and MemberSuite was already set up to allow for that.

Shahil

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

MemberSuite Review

PROS

The system is good for small associations looking for all-in-one product. The membership module is very robust and can accommodate complex membership processes. For examples, our membership dues are quite complex with different categories and pricing based on membership type and region. MemberSuite has enabled us automate this process, which used to be manual in our previous system.

CONS

MemberSuite system has many features and functions that a typically association would need, but given limited resources, it can't specialize in specifics tasks. The implication is that most features are rather basic. For example, it does have a E-marketing module, but the features are not as advanced as HubSpot or other platforms that specialize as a CRM.

Reason for choosing MemberSuite

It seemed more budget friendly and promised that we'd be able to centralize much of our functional tasks in one platform.

Reasons for switching to MemberSuite

We were use a fundraising tool product as an AMS, which obviously wasn't sustainable.

Sue

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Multiple Options and functions

Overall, our experience has been great. The customer service when needed has been exceptions

PROS

Membership tracking and dues billing were the most beneficial for us. We used the membership functions multiple times a day!

CONS

Event registration was not as intuitive to our members as I would have liked

Reason for choosing MemberSuite

The support during the transition

Reasons for switching to MemberSuite

Net Forum was very difficult to use and VERY poor customer service

Michael

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Pretty darn good & getting better

We are a membership association and we have an additional group of subscribers and stakeholders/ interested parties and we are able to manage all of that data and those relationships in MemberSuite. We have see significant improvement in the usability of the system and the responsiveness of the staff at MemberSuite since new CEO took over 9 months ago. Cudos to the Board for making the change. The release of Portal 5.0 will be a great leap forward and the expansion of the INSIGHTS reporting tools is huge as well.

PROS

The software is easy to use. The training went well and we are able to self manage our entire database and customer relationships with a very small staff. The reporting package is good and getting better and there is a new layer of reporting software that provides even more granular information.

CONS

We came on the system at a time of significant growth at Membersuite and they were challenged to keep up with us and all the other new clients. Their culture has improved from a developer driven mentality to a customer facing mentality and that change, while welcome, has taken 24 months.

Melissa

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

The Truth and Nothing But...

I could take it or leave it. It has its pros and cons, but overall I do like the system. I just wish it was easier to use. It has way too many levels to get things done.

PROS

I love my account manager [sensitive content hidden]. He is the reason we haven't left yet.

CONS

MS needs to listen to the smaller users as well as the larger users. We don't need the same thing, but we all need it to function for our needs.

Reason for choosing MemberSuite

It appeared to do all the things we felt we needed at the time. We just didn't realize how many layers you had to go through just to get something basic done.

Reasons for switching to MemberSuite

Because they didn't allow us to print the reports we needed. They were so out of date with their infrastructure.

User Profile

Candice

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

A Good All-In-One Resource for Associations

PROS

Even though each association is different, MemberSuite is highly customizable--events, awards, certifications, member directory... they can cover it all.

CONS

Our company has been a client since 2011 and over the years we've had some challenges with Support but this has become much better recently. Our CSM has been a very valuable resource.

User Profile

Brian

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Flexible, configurable AMS System

PROS

Flexibility of the software - it is highly configurable Very open API Great access to data

CONS

I would like the console to be a little more user friendly/intuitive

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

MemberSuite was Sweet

I formerly used MemberSuite and was relieved to have a powerful system with excellent reporting capabilities. Every system has it's strengths and REPORTING is the best part of MemberSuite. I trusted my data and was glad to set up reporting as I needed and not have to depend upon "canned" reports.

PROS

I appreciate their highly customized reports.

CONS

The system would go down at an inconvenient time, although perhaps this has been resolved.

User Profile

Michelle

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

MemberSuite - Good Association Mgmt Tool

PROS

MemberSuite is easy to use and can be accessed from anywhere. One of the best features for my place of employment is that it gives unlimited user access. It's also highly customizable.

CONS

User experience in the portal is not as intuitive as it could be.

Matthew

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

MemberSuite: customizable, user friendly, and the best CRM/AMS I've used.

I'm the database administrator for a member-based non profit organization. We've been on membersuite for about a year and a half, coming off an AMS that seemed to break a little more with each patch. The difference in getting switched over was immediate and a huge improvement for our employees and our members/customers. We have a large number of business functions that we used to outsource to third party vendors because we lacked the ability to do them well in our old database, including event/exhibitor registration, abstract submissions, award nominations and judging, and email marketing campaigns. Since switching to membersuite, we've brought all of these back in house, since membersuite's tools and functions are easily as good if not better than the vendors we would use. We've also been able to automate a huge number of business functions that used to take hours of staff time daily/weekly. Overall, membersuite has streamlined many of our functions and processes, improving them greatly from where we came from, and allowing us to expand our thinking of what's possible through our CRM/AMS. I have no regrets about making the switch and I've gladly recommended membersuite to other database admins/IT professionals.

PROS

The reporting tools are the best I've ever used: it's incredibly easy to filter and tune reports towards exactly what you need for any given data set. Customizing your database's back end towards your needs is really easy and makes the system incredibly versatile. Users have reported a much better experience with membersuite than our old database, particularly in terms of online purchasing and event registration.

CONS

The lack of a spreadsheet import can be a hindrance. Also, there's no way to copy merchandise or most other objects in the system, which would be really helpful when creating a lot of inventory.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Overall, this has been a disappointing experience.

I learned that we should have picked something else?

PROS

Their sales pitch is good. There are a lot of ways to customize the software and, for the right association with a very complex organization is can be customized to be a great tool.

CONS

This expensive software is sold as a "one stop shop" solution, but many of the features do not work well or are no longer supported. For instance, we were told that the built in CRM was great and just like Salesforce or dynamics with an outlook plugin. But there is no pipeline, no way to track communications with members, and the plugin for outlook is no longer supported/ Several things we were told would be rolling out with new versions have not happened and it has been over a year. I was interviewed about a new UX several times in late 2016 and early 2017, but there has been no change to the tool. At the 2016 conference, new analytics features were announced and a lot of hype was made. But when these were released, they were for an additional cost, which would almost double the annual software cost. Our implementation was terrible and we are still finding things that do not work or were set up incorrectly. Despite walking through billing runs and discussing renewal emails, this was never set up and took more than 5 hours of customer support and paid training to get set up because it is so convoluted. Lastly, members complain because it is not intuitive or easy for them to use.

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

MemberSuite One year in

Since using the billing process through MemberSuite, invoicing takes much less time for staff to process and our members are paying their dues more quickly since they can download an invoice from an email and pay online. We have also found the e-marketing included with MemberSuite so easy to use, we are canceling the contract we have with another e-marketing platform and sending all our emails through MemberSuite.

PROS

It is intuitive to use. There are links and instructions all over the software to help you navigate and get the informaiton you need. Additonally, any information your organization puts in the AMS can be pulled out in reports. This was not the case in our previous software.

CONS

There are reports included with the AMS and they are very helpful but they don't inlcude exaclty the information we'd like to see. We have been able to create reports to pull the information the way we want. However, I believe MemberSuite is working to make these reports more customizable.

User Profile

Lakisha

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

MemberSuite is a perfect fit for us!

We are a small staff of 10 that services almost 3,000 members. We needed a system that allows us to customize pages and site easily. We use MemberSuite as our central "hub" for all things related to our association. We utilize API to link our registration company, our online journal and our technical papers. This API allows for SSO (single sign-on) and our members to use their one login to access all sites. We went live in 2015 after transitioning from a different AMS. The transition was really smooth and the customer service has been great.

PROS

The ability to customize and the price point was perfect for us compared to other systems. The customer service is really good as well.

CONS

We have been anxiously awaiting the roll-out of the new customer portal.

Susan

Banking, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Engage your members with ease of use in MemberSuite

Great experience overall and the customer support is top notch!

PROS

The ease of having our events visible in the member portal makes for easy interaction with members for registering for events and updating information. The standard and custom reports available in MemberSuite have been very useful in our accounting.

CONS

There are a few reporting and financial issues that we are still working through so I wish all issues could be resolved in a timely manner but I do think most of our issues are resolved quickly. I also wish we could have two bank accounts within MemberSuite.

Laura

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Web based, highly configurable system that allows us to manage most aspects of our association.

PROS

Highly configurable with the option to customize if needed. Allows us to run almost every aspect of our association with one system. Ability to integrate through a robust API. Only pay for the modules you use and need, with an unlimited amount of users.

CONS

The user experience in the portal is clunky and not as intuitive as it should or could be. The length of time it takes for bugs to be fixed. If they are system wide, they are addressed quickly, but if they only impact a small amount of customers, they take quite a bit longer.

Michelle

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

I've noticed a huge improvement in MemberSuite since our implementation over three years ago.

PROS

I like that it is web-based so all I need is an internet connection and I can access our database from anywhere. I like the attentiveness of our customer success manager and the support team. The search feature is very useful when we need to pull data on our members, event registrations, awarding continued education credits, etc.

CONS

The current portal has some limitations, but those will hopefully be addressed with the upcoming upgrade. The flexibility to enhance the product to fit our needs comes with a steep customization cost.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2020

Not a great product. Surprised they are still going.

PROS

The report builder was actually pretty good.

CONS

Virtually nothing integrated easily with the system. It has its own home-grown CRM. Upgrades would often break certain components. Support was rather slow. Look and feel was old-fashioned and not mobile friendly.

Sam