About KASA

KASA is a HIPAA-compliant mental health EHR solution that helps medical practices of all sizes schedule appointments, accept payments, process claims and more. It comes with a built-in calendar, which allows front desk employees to organize appointments using color codes and automatically send reminders via email or text message.

KASA lets medical professionals use the internal messaging channel to establish two-way communication with staff members across the organization. The patient portal allows clients to update personal details, schedule appointments, make payments and view account balance statements. Additionally, therapists can create, save and print patient progress notes with appointment dates, types and locations.

<...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

50 Reviews of KASA

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.38 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(33)

33

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(3)

3

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 50 results

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Software if easy to use and meets my needs

Pros

Ease of use. Scheduling is easy. Love the credit card feature. Being able to track my billing as well as patient balances are great. This software gives me all of the information I need to keep up with my practice.

Cons

There are some issues logging on at times when software is down. Also, there is lag time going from one screen to another at times.

Response from KASA Practice Solutions

Replied July 2018

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. As a tip, if you ever have trouble logging in to your portal, head over to kasa-solutions.com/status to determine if it is a local issue or a reported system problem; that will help keep you looped in on the current situation! Thanks, KASA Solutions

October 2019

Anne from AH Blake, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Best

Everything has been great from the comprehensive on boarding to the ongoing support. I’m not a computer person, and this has been easy to learn. This soft ware has enabled me to be more efficient, and spend more time with my clients. I get paid quickly and don’t have to hassle with claims issues.

Pros

I love this software because it helps me be organized, stay in top of my work load, and write much better notes and evaluations.

Cons

I haven’t found anything yet. If I do run into a problem that their Help menu doesn’t address, they respond to me quickly! They have real people giving real responses.

Reasons for Choosing KASA

KASA has everything you need in one place. You can choose the options that you want. They place claims daily, do you get paid fast! They are professional and really care.

Reasons for Switching to KASA

SimplePractice had very poor customer service. It took a long time to get a response from them. Sometimes people, particularly in the billing department, were rude. Then the billing department was bought out by another company, BluBird, LLC, and things got even worse. I lost thousands of dollars because they were very limited as to what they would do to follow through with denials, and they did not make their billing process clear from the start.

Response from KASA Practice Solutions

Replied October 2019

Anne, We're excited to hear you love using KASA! We're always looking to add more ways to provide support and work hard to ensure we always respond quickly, professionally, and with the right information! Thank you for trusting KASA to partner with your practice! Thank you, The KASA Team

January 2020

Monique from Vine Christian counseling Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2020

Kasa - Sub-Par in an industry with many options

My overall experience with Kasa leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth. I was paying 9% of my income to Kasa for billing, yet, their billing team struggled with communication with me. I was expected to somehow "know" about policies that were not outlined in our contract, which cost me a lot of money. The issues that Kasa's billing team were lagging on or that they mishandled were EASILY corrected when I personally made calls to insurance panels myself, which left me wondering why I was paying Kasa in excess of $1,000 monthly. When I communicated with Kasa via telephone I was told one thing, which changed in practice and Kasa acted like they didn't know who had given me erroneous information. When I asked to be released from my contract 2 months early due to their breach of contract they refused, stating, "we just miscommunicated." I have switched to Therapy Notes and let me tell you - I wish I had chosen them from the onset! Their customer service is excellent; their documentation features are good/current and I am saving $1,000 a month.

Pros

The software, itself, is average to less than average. The scheduler is easy to use, in general. Compared to other software programs there isn't much more that I can positively comment on.

Cons

The options for documentation are outdated, still containing some DSM-4 criteria. Adding documentation could be easier. It is not as intuitive as other software programs, like Therapy Notes, for example.

Reasons for Choosing KASA

I knew another therapist who used Kasa, who started under a different team than the one I had.

Response from KASA Practice Solutions

Replied January 2020

Monique, Thank you for your feedback! In looking over your account, I am glad to see that while there were a small number of claims that were escalated, we successfully and promptly processed and collected on nearly all of your claims, and your assigned team members worked hard to provide you with all the information requested on any of your claims. As a clarification regarding diagnoses in our software, and as our support team has shared with you also, the diagnoses you were unfamiliar with seeing were actually ICD-10 codes, which are required to be included on claims, and do vary at times from DSM-5 codes. Our diagnostic tool does not display DSM-4 codes. While we're sorry not to be continuing to partner with you, we are happy that you have found a solution that works well for you to process and manage your billing. We hope there is opportunity to partner with you again in the future and hope you continue to see great success in your practice! Thanks, The KASA Team

November 2021

User Profile Picture

Sarah from Private

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

A high quality contender

Although the entire platform was friendly, easy to use, and comprehensive, KASAs overall execution was a little too business minded and a little less thought out on the medical and therapeutic fronts, but overall is a solid product and was the one I voted for! It would be an interesting idea for them to offer their platform chunked out as different services for different price points, because I still think their patient portal and intraoffice communicating are some of the best around!

Pros

KASA was one of the top contenders when I was helping launch a speech therapy department at a newer clinic. The scheduling, reminders, and credit card functions were fabulous features not offered by a lot of medical documentation and billing providers. KASA has a sleek look to it's user interface and I loved the patient portal, after hours and out of office communicating with patients is an often a tricky but required part of the job and I loved the reassurance that KASA offered.

Cons

Ultimately, our team chose another product that focused more predominantly on SOAP notes, documentation, and billing because KASA wasn't as customizable on the documentation end of things as the rest of the staff wanted.

October 2019

Carilyn from Autumn Leaf Therapeutic Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Excellent new mental health practice software

Probably the best and most responsive customer service I have ever had. Our reps responded consistently in less than 24 hours and explained everything for me in understandable terms. The customer service alone is worth the product! And transitions between teams is seamless (onboarding to cause managers). It’s so easy to schedule, note, bill and get paid

Pros

Nice aesthetic, easy to use, easy to view and navigate. Ability to scan, upload documents and add notes. Customizable (to an extent).

Cons

Little bugs here and there. I can’t have more than one goal per note. Limits to the ability to customize boxes and selections. Goals that are too long can’t be printed with the note (they literally write off the page), some changes in formatting between functions and silly requirements like selecting a goal is “therapy” and then having to additional drag a little box that says “therapy” from left to right.

Reasons for Choosing KASA

Responsive customer service, simple, good aesthetic, easy to use

Response from KASA Practice Solutions

Replied October 2019

Carilyn, Thank you so much for your review! We passed along your kind words to your account management team and it made their day! We love hearing from our users and are proud to partner with you and your practice! Thank you, The KASA Team