All Luminello Reviews

1-25 of 67 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Excellent Transition

Luminello is a unique solution for psychiatric providers who always considered joining the private practice but were hesitant to work solo and spend too much non-billable time.

PROS

When I transitioned from academic-based hospital practice to private practice, one of the most important aspects for me was finding an EHR system that could integrate the functionalities of intake, scheduling, and billing. Luminello appeared as the ultimate solution at a very competitive price. The system is simple and intuitive. Their technical support was impressive. We exchanged several e-mails during this process, and I was amazed by their near-immediate response. The onboarding session was extremely valuable.

CONS

Because it is a 100% cloud-based system, I may have noticed occasionally slowed functions during busy times.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

Moved to private practice.

Vendor Response

Hi Daniel. Thanks for your feedback. We love to hear our team is providing you excellent service and that you've felt taken care of during this process. We will be happy to hear anything we can do in the future.

Replied July 2022

Dreama

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Too good to pass up

Luminello is everything I need all in one. The customer service is great. The software is great and works smoothly. I know going forward that it will definitely be a game changer for my practice. I like it so much that I already started to refer Luminello to my colleagues.

PROS

I like that it has so many features and that it is tailored made for mental health providers. I like that the customer service is awesome. Everyone that I have emailed, chatted, or spoke to was very knowledgeable and answered, if not all, most of my questions. If they didn't have the answer right away, they got back to me quickly. I also like that it has videos, how-to, and onboarding to help you navigate while learning their system. The getting started checklist, I definitely love that because it makes me realize that its more to use and learn. I like it so much that I am writing a review. I either write reviews when things are really bad or really good. In their case, Luminello is great.

CONS

I haven't used it too long, so I haven't yet realized anything bad. However, I feel that if I find something wrong, they will be right on it to fix it. I had little small issues like something didn't show or submit, but that was because of what I was doing. Once I realized it, it worked with no problem. Again they have a lot of videos and guides to show you what to do, so I feel like you can't go wrong.

Reason for choosing Luminello

I was looking at price, features like e-prescribing, and being user friendly. Each of these had one thing or another that I felt was a deal breaker. I have some experience with a couple of them and I didn't care for it because it wasn't user friendly. I feel that time spent one figuring it out would be a waste of my time. I feel that it s important to keep cost down in the beginning of starting a practice, but at the same time, I'm saving myself a headache from having to switch later. Therefore, Luminello ticked all my boxes; the price was in the middle, it has all the features I need, and it's so easy to use.

Vendor Response

Dear Dreama, Thank you immensely for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that Luminello aligns perfectly with your needs and that you've found our customer service exceptional. Your endorsement and referrals are a testament to the quality and effectiveness of our platform. We're excited to be part of your practice's success and look forward to serving you and your colleagues with excellence.

Replied September 2023

Windsong

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2024

solo psychiatrist

Horrible. Feel conned and ripped off. Now that I have many patients and am paying a biller and ever increasing fees to Luminello I feel trapped and am trying to search for anther EMR with prescribing and billing.

PROS

only feature - it helped me set up e prescribing.

CONS

No lab integration possible for solo telepsychiatry Added billing fees are exorbitant. Worst off 30% or more of claims submitted through APEX/Luminello are rejected. No support or guidance.

Vendor Response

Dear Windsong, We apologize for the challenges you've faced with our platform. We acknowledge your concerns about billing fees and claim rejections. We are actively reviewing pricing and working to improve integration issues. Our support team is ready to assist, and we're committed to enhancing Luminello to better meet your needs. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your patience as we address these issues.

Replied January 2024

Katie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Exceptional EHR

The Team has been INCREDIBLE. I am incredibly grateful to each person at Luminello who has helped me. I am so thankful for how they fast-tracked the migration process to make it as smooth as possible. Thank you so much.

PROS

The Team has been EXCEPTIONAL at Luminello. They offer individualized attention, support, and assistance to my private psychiatry practice. The platform is user-friendly, efficient, and easy to navigate. The customer service is outstanding. I am incredibly grateful to be using this EHR and highly recommend Luminello to every person looking for an EHR that is focused on mental health & psychiatry.

CONS

Very satisfied. I would only request an integrated Spravato REMS feature for ease of compliance with this treatment and customized templates specific to Spravato and Ketamine Therapy.

Vendor Response

Dear Katie, Thank you so much for your incredible review of our EHR for psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners! We are absolutely thrilled that you found it to be perfect. We have put a lot of effort into creating a comprehensive and user-friendly solution, specifically tailored to meet the needs of psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners, and it is incredibly rewarding to know that our hard work has paid off. Your feedback motivates us to continue improving and serving you better. We genuinely appreciate your support and trust in Luminello. Thank you again for your wonderful review!

Replied May 2023

Sarah

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Clinical Provider Review

Overall, I've had a positive experience with Luminello due to consistent customer service and troubleshooting within a reasonable timeframe. When I began using the software, I would reach out to customer support multiple times per week and their responses were invaluable in the beginning stages of opening my clinic. I've used other software for clinical documentation and realized through using Luminello the importance of a user-friendly patient portal, online booking, document signing, and direct communication between clinics and the insurance clearing house - Apex EDI.

PROS

Patients and practitioners have easy access to documentation, financial details, document signing, and messaging.

CONS

Features that are missing include template for treatment plans which allow patient signature. Uploading photos of insurance cards and photo ID - required for telehealth - is not user friendly. It would be helpful if patients could upload their own photos of their insurance cards and ID to reduce steps and increase ease of use.

Reason for choosing Luminello

I investigated features of other products and concluded that Luminello is a superior product. In addition, I watched some of the videos of the [SENSITIVE CONTENT] of Luminello and appreciated their point of view.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

I opened my own clinic and had the flexibility to test new products. ICANotes did not provide ease of use and user-friendly access for patients. I've been impressed with several aspects of Luminello in comparison to other EHRs.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear our customer service team has been there for you. We'll add +1s for your feature requests. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us whenever you need help or have a suggestion.

Replied April 2022

Elizabeth

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Perfect solution for my needs

See above

PROS

I am a solo practice provider and unlike the other EMRs which I have tried, all of which claimed to be specific to psychiatry, this product actually is. It is not cluttered with functions I do not need and allows a surprising degree of customization within some constraints. I can easily manage scheduling, notes (fully customizeable), integration with prescribing and labs, and the billing is a breeze compared to previous systems I have tried. The price is extremely competitive. The main selling point, above all, is that their customer service has been spectacular. I am a single customer, and yet have had their service people respond helpfully to every single request in a timely way; they listen to suggestions and are incredibly supportive when there are issues. I am very happy with them and relieved to have finally found a good solution. I am now able to manage a medium sized psychiatry practice without any staff which is a huge accomplishment. My patients seem to really like the portal, which frees me up from providing superbills for insurance as my patients can generate their own; also keeps my communications with them easily accessible instead of hunting through messages, emails etc for reminders about things they have asked me about.

CONS

There are some things about the user interface that could be better from a design perspective, and there are certain functions that I think they are working on upgrading--they seem to be in development still and to be improving their software over time. For instance, the software to build your own forms and notes doesn't work that well on my computer--it is time consuming and doesn't always save which can be frustrating. On the other hand if you want them to build forms out for you they will do that at a very reasonable rate. It would also be nice to have a little more structure built into the charts, eg separate areas for medical history, other providers and so forth. But with a little thought you can find workarounds. They are working on integration with faxing; the only thing I have to have separately set up is a HIPPA compliant fax and I got that from SR fax for a low cost. There could be more functionality in terms of running reports and doing accounting kinds of things easily, moving appointments on the calendar using a click and drag. Again I think most of these things are in development. Overall these are small issues for me, more than made up for by the customer service and the specific fit for my needs of the product.

Reason for choosing Luminello

Positive reviews by psychiatrists and exceptional service from their sales team. The person who helped me set it up was on the phone doing screen sharing trouble shooting from day one. Extraordinary.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

As is evident, I have been through a few rounds of this. I began with Valant, which was ok but I hated the way the access to old notes worked -- you had to download and then open a PDF each time you wanted to look at one, which meant I couldn't scroll through quickly to refresh your mind as to where things were. Other things were clunky--the way notes worked seemed rigid. Simple Practice was great except for the fact that they don't have prescribing; I never used it as a standalone, only as an alternative to WRS until my contract ran out with WRS. WRS was a disaster. They promised all sorts of things they never delivered; were unable to find a way for me to generate statements with a diagnosis code on them (only solution was to give patients a CMS type superbill for every single visit, which doesn't work for therapy patients), and customer service was abysmal. They charged $1700 for a download of my files when I left, even though I have only about 100 patients....and then the data I received was in a form I couldn't easily use, so I did it myself by hand. Total disaster experience.

Salvatore

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Outstanding EHR for Mental Health

I work in two hospital settings and a government setting part-time, and relative to the EHRs used there (Cerner, EPIC), I am blown away by how much better Luminello is. (To be fair, those EHRs cover entire health care systems and they're not terrible). I have also used NewCrop and ClinicTracker in past settings, and both of which are horrendous.

PROS

Chart software is easy to use and intuitive. The templates are exhaustive and easily customizable. The integrated patient portal is a life safer. I am able to operate a mid-size private practice without added staff due to the integrated messaging, calendaring and billing features. The ability to accept and track referrals online is also essential. It allows enough control to tailor the practice to my needs. I also work in two hospital settings and a government setting, and relative to the EHRs used there (Cerner, EPIC), I am blown away by how much better Luminello is. (To be fair, those EHRs cover entire health care systems). I have also used NewCrop and ClinicTracker, both of which are horrendous.

CONS

I am looking forward to the ability to order and review labs directly through Luminello. I know they are working on it, but currently it requires going to an external application. (paper orders can be generated though).

Reason for choosing Luminello

My experience during the demo period with Luminello was better.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

I reviewed dozens of EHRs for my private Practice, and Luminello was the best fit. Again, I am a solo practitioner, I don't have experience working with it in a multi-person practice. But, I would continue to use it if I expand.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for this great feedback. We take pride in having built our platform from a fresh perspective, compared to other EMR and EHR tools. We strive to provide time-saving features while maintaining intuitive functionality.

Replied October 2020

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2023

A cluster from start to finish

Originally as a sole provider- it was OK, that was before it got sold. Now it is a different company and it is HORRIBLE. They don't know what they are doing and they don't even know the basics of billing. It is a total mess- and it is a fraud for them to be saying they can do the billing with this software, because they clearly cannot.

PROS

For solo providers, maybe passable. Horrible for groups

CONS

The billing is a total cluster and now so is customer service, outsourced to the DR. Your bills go through APEX EDI clearinghouse BUT the ERAS supposedly come back through Change Healthcare- two different clearinghouses- special fees with that, of course. Our company was never set up properly nor advised of this and have had no ERAs for more than 10 weeks now. ALSO they incorrectly set up the billing and mislabeled NPI2 so that we were getting denied for about 1/3 of our claims. And when we discovered this, they told us it was our problem- even though THEY set up the billing and we gave the correct information.

Reason for choosing Luminello

cost was a factor except most of what they did give us has not worked, so it is not worth the price

Reasons for switching to Luminello

Not getting ERAs in Next Gen properly and trouble getting help tickets answered

Vendor Response

Dear user, Your detailed feedback is invaluable. We apologize for the billing and service issues you've faced. We're actively improving our billing system and customer support to ensure a smoother experience, especially for group practices. Your insights drive our commitment to refine our services and address errors promptly. We deeply value your patience and willingness to highlight these issues. We're currently discussing the points raised in your review at a higher level within our team. Warm regards, Your Luminello Team

Replied December 2023

Kristen

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Best EMR I have ever used

I am only in my trial month so I am new to the program but it is already far easier to use then my last EMR.

PROS

Customer service has been fabulous - especially compared to my last EMR. Weekend hours, quick email or chat response, ability to have 10 min zoom call for help, friendliness of staff are outstanding. Price compared to my last service is half the price for a better product. This program is simple, user friendly and easy for both staff and patients to use.

CONS

I have not found anything I am dissappointed in yet.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

poor customer service, price, difficulty of using program for both staff and patients, glitches in system

Vendor Response

Hello Kristen, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience using Luminello. We are thrilled to hear that you found our EMR to be user-friendly and effective for your needs. At Luminello, we strive to provide top-quality practice management solutions that can make a real difference in our mental health community. Your positive review inspires us to continue working hard to meet and exceed your expectations. Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing Luminello. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to continue serving you.

Replied April 2023

Sean

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Excellent EHR for solo private practice

Excellent.

PROS

Templates, patient portal, tech support, integrated e-Rx.

CONS

Nothing. I found the platform intuitive, user-friendly, and efficient.

Reasons for switching to Luminello

Luminello's platform was more intuitive and user-friendly and Luminello offered a patient portal.

Vendor Response

Hi Sean! Thank you for such an amazing review! We're glad that you were satisfied with our platform and support assistance. Thank you for choosing Luminello.

Replied April 2022

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Luminello for a 20 hour per week private practice

I’m very happy with this software. This EMR has a portal, templates, questionnaires, scales, and integration with scheduling and billing, which together makes documentation more efficient, secure, HIPAA compliant and up to date with current regulations like the no surprises act. Keeping up with ongoing regulatory changes was challenging to do in a part-time practice and this was a major driver of my decision to use Luminello.

PROS

The feature I like most about this software is the ease with which I can post questionnaires for patients and then directly transfer that information into a note. Customizing a Luminello template or creating my own is straightforward, if a little time consuming, but these templates allow for an amazing degree of automation without the need for programming. They make documentation quick, painless and useful.

CONS

I appreciate that there are many paths to the same functions but they could be a little more intuitive.

Reason for choosing Luminello

Prescribing module and much greater overall flexibility to customize

Vendor Response

We're so glad to hear that! We are working hard to improve. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Replied March 2022

User Profile

Kent

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Excellent EHR with amazing support

Love the flexibility of being able to do my notes and billing from any computer.

PROS

Pros: The integration of billing and charting in a single piece of software, the ease with which clients can access the portal and manage their own billing and statements, the secure messaging feature for clients, the flexibility of the note taking system, the fact that it was developed by mental health professionals for mental health professionals, the responsiveness of their support and development teams to suggestions. I also like that it has a free option though I use the full version myself.

CONS

Very few cons. Occasional bugs, though these have typically been addressed quickly. I also wish there were a way to send monthly statements to all my clients by email rather than doing them individually.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Dr. Grelling. We definitely pride ourselves on top-notch support, so we are thrilled to hear that's been an important part of using Luminello for you. We always appreciate receiving new ideas and suggestions from our users that we can use to further enhance our EHR. We've noted your suggestion for sending monthly statements in bulk (all at once - with a single click), and that's been on our list as well. We will let you know once that feature is ready for prime time!

Replied April 2018

Nigel

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Excellent

Overall, I'm very happy. Comparing the other options, Luminello seems to provide the best value in terms of functionality.

PROS

Stores records in a HIPAA secure way. Very simple to generate invoices. More importantly, the generated invoices have (so far) been accepted by insurance companies without issue.

CONS

The standard templates are not great and more geared towards child psychiatry. However, there is the option to paste free text notes from Word or other software to make writing easier. Alternatively, the team will generate a personalized template for you on request. Setting up with Bluefin was a protracted process but their staff were very courteous throughout.

Reason for choosing Luminello

Value for money - Luminello delivered the most functions for the lowest cost

Vendor Response

Hi Nigel! Thanks so much for your honest review and for sharing this valuable feedback. We're glad to hear you're satisfied with our customer service and functionality. Please let us know anytime you need our assistance.

Replied August 2022

Shinichi

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Highly recommend

Overall, a solid EMR that allows me to run my private practice effectively

PROS

Integration of credit card charging into EMR

CONS

The interface is sometimes slow loading between the different screens

Vendor Response

Hello Shinichi! It's great to hear our EMR fits your needs! Thank you so much for the review. We'll contact you directly to troubleshoot the loading time and find possible solutions.

Replied July 2022

David

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Luminello is a Lifesaver

PROS

Integration with current processes went smoothly and it is very user friendly. Being able to integrate patient's credit cards into the system was a definite billing time saver. The onboarding time was very quick and the support is great.

CONS

There are a lot of small inconveniences that could be greatly streamlined in various menu options.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for this great review! We're happy to have you onboard and know that you like the credit card processing integration. We'd love to learn more about your menu option ideas. We'll email you directly to discuss.

Replied March 2022

Dr. Rajnish

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

I have been using Luminello for about 18 months. It has been a lifesaver!

PROS

The simple, intuitive design and customization to the specific needs of mental health professionals is what attracted me to Luminello. Having ALL the features and services in one place is tremendously helpful. I use the ability to clone notes, use templates, send ratings scales, exchange secure email messages with patients (almost eliminating phone calls), patient self-scheduling of appointments (and cancelation and rescheduling if needed), automated appointment reminders to patients, patients getting their own receipts and statements, e-prescribing (from anywhere where I have internet access, even from 30,000 feet in the air), billing, credit card processing, etc, etc. If it were not for Luminello, I would have to either hire an assistant or spend a lot of my time dealing with all these administrative tasks.

CONS

They are constantly improving and are adding e-labs as well. I wish they would add e-fax in the future. That is the only feature that I need but Luminello doesn't have yet within the software.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind review, Dr. Mago! Glad to hear you are having a great experience with Luminello. We also wanted to let you know that an e-fax integration is now past the planning stage and ready for development soon -- we'll let you know once it is ready to go.

Replied April 2018

Lauren

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT