All OpenEMR Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

David

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Excellent product. Should have done this years ago.

I like to be self-sufficient. I have used OpenEMR for over two years and find that it suits my needs perfectly. That having been said, I am a specialist and have had to develop many of my own forms and other customizations before the product was directly useful to me. I have tended to view that more as a hobby than an impediment but for those who are not so inclined it appears that there are vendors about who would be happy to do this work for you, presumably for a price. Alternatively, the help forums are active and helpful, although one must know how to define and ask the question before the answer will be of benefit.

PROS

The price is wonderful! The product works, although not necessarily right out of the box if you have special needs. Flexibility is great. Freedom from support costs is gratifying (although it does require one to become proficient to the desired level if you wish to avoid all support costs). Fancy equipment not required. Works on multiple platforms.

CONS

There is a learning curve, especially if customizations are in order. My suspicion is that this would be relatively quick for primary care practices. Specialists might require additional customization that will either need to be done in-house or contracted out. This is not as much a con as simply a fact. I'd much rather have an open source product that I can customize myself than a proprietary one-size-fits-all product for which I can't access the code and have to keep running back to the mother company every time I want to make a minor (or major) change.

User Profile

Ralf

Verified reviewer

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

A very powerful system but some assembly is required

We are a relatively new solo Internal Medicine practice with less than 1000 active charts. We replaced NextGen's Office EMR system with this EMR. The migration from the old commercial system was painful, labor-intensive, and time-consuming because we did not have direct read access to the NextGen Office database (proprietary commercial database, which ironically was also on AWS just like our new system but we did not have system administrator or backup access). Everything had to be converted to PDF's. We chose the AWS Hosted Standard version, and we were immediately surprised how much faster and more reliable the hosted OpenEMR system was than our previous commercial system or other cumbersome and extremely unreliable and slow systems we have been forced to use at other clinics and hospitals. Staff required minimal training to use the system and historical records and patient documents can be very quickly uploaded to this system up to about 10 MB in size without changing any of the default configuration on the AWS system (there is probably a timeout setting). We use another database from larger attachments archival. The developers and super-users of this system provide expert support to upgrade issues and critical problems. With minor issues, you are more or less on your own if you want an immediate fix (hire a consultant or figure it out yourself). OpenEMR is being actively developed and new features and improvements are constantly being added.

PROS

* Extremely low cost of ownership. * Clean, easy to understand user interface and workflow. * Many functions can be enabled to add features or disabled to simplify the system with a massive but well-organized settings menu. * Very fast user interface and database when run on appropriate hardware. * Can be run on extremely fast and scalable Amazon Web Services (AWS) as a hosted system. * With AWS or another suitably designed and implemented system, you get ultra-reliable and near 100% uptime (100% except for scheduled database or software upgrades). * With AWS or another suitably designed and implemented system, you get the very best database management tools (such reliable backup and restore functions). You can also potentially access the database with other custom-written software. * Can be integrated with essentially any other system but often requires developing custom interfaces. * Infinitely customizable. * "Free" support from the developers and other power users instead of well-meaning but incompetent technical support staff who waste precious time to identify what the problem is, attempt to mark incidents are repaired when they actually aren't. * You never have to worry about a 3rd party software vendor holding your patient charts "hostage" as they raise prices or force you to use a crippled system that is not performing well. You have 100% control of your patient data instead of giving the keys to a profit-oriented entity that couldn't care less about your clinic.

CONS

* Requires either strong inhouse IT staff, staff with significant computer system skills and experience to install and maintain or hiring of an outside consultant. * The billing system is rudimentary, and we do not use it except to record the patient's insurance information. We enter our coding into our progress notes and then send them to our in-house billing staff. * The electronic prescribing system either requires cumbersome or expensive 3rd party integration or use of a separate system. I attempted one of the 3rd-party e-prescribing integrations, which is free ... except that I could not get it to work. It also turned out not to be true e-prescribing (uses faxes). Instead, we use stand-alone web-based MDTOOLBOX, which is reasonably priced, extremely powerful, efficient, reliable, and fast. It has an amazing feature that allows the physician to be prompted for expiring prescriptions, which can then be renewed -- saving countless hours dealing with certain faxed refill requests. The system also handles electronic refill requests seamlessly. In our progress notes, we indicate the medications are reviewed and reconciled in MDTOOLBOX. We also tried Allscripts' stand-alone web-based ePrescribe (now Veradigm ePrescribe), which is a decent system, but a little more expensive and more cumbersome/inefficient to set up and work with on a day-to-day basis compared to MDTOOLBOX. * "Free" support from the developers and other power users who are quite busy so somewhat limit

Eno

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2021

Office Manager

We had to get rid of the software after 90 days usage.

PROS

The only thing I like about this software was that it was free and all I had to do was hired trainer to train office staff how to use it.

CONS

User have to program or do set up of all functionalities.

Reason for choosing OpenEMR

Software was free.

Reasons for switching to OpenEMR

Lack of customer support.

Dr. Michael

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

More than meets our needs.

We have run it successfully on the same server for over 8 years with no issues.

PROS

I was looking for something that would get me away from paper charts. In addition, I wanted something that was more robust and would allow for proper record keeping.

CONS

I wish it automatically could e0mail patient reminders.

Reason for choosing OpenEMR

HIPAA compliant and we own and control the server. While we are in Canada, it was quite easy to alter the program to meet Canadian requirements.

Kishore

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Best free open-source php emr software

We have been using it for eight years so far from version 4.2.2 through 5.0.2 to 6.0.2 currently.The current version is very easy to utilize in a small but busy medical practice.

PROS

Easy to use.Multiple types of forms are available for data entry.Interface of openemr 6.0.2 is definitely silky smooth.It is suitable for our small practice which has 13,000 registered patients so far.

CONS

There is no dedicated mobile app developed yet.Browser-based interface is suitable but that would be a plus.

Richard

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

The best EHR solution in the World

PROS

This software is ndlessly customizatable

CONS

Does not have an out of box inpatinet module

Santiago

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

About this software

PROS

Price, easy to install , dont crash. Iam using Openemr from 2010 in my private medical office. All my service are in the net, in our domain. I install this software, Im not informatic, Im orthopaedics,..

CONS

Translate, is very hard (form me) translate to portugues

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2024

Worst Code Bases Ever

PROS

Open source and has most of the functionality you'd expect in an EMR

CONS

1- No support and very poor documentation 2- Poor API (Very few endpoints) 3- One of the worst code bases I have ever come across, Views have SQL queries, no standards, poor database design

Jake

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2018

You need patience and computing skills

Overall, it can do a lot and has a high amount customization potential. It's in the best price range. It takes a lot of time and know-how to get it to work... in the end it just wasn't for me.

PROS

Well the biggest pro is it's free, which is why spent extra nights and weekends trying to set it up and make it work. It is very vast and has the potential to do just about anything.

CONS

It is geared more towards a standard medical model and not alternative options. Customer support isn't that great but you can pay for a better one. I felt as if I needed an IT/computer background in order understand and get the most out of it. I was using the latest which I think was a downgrade from an older version a colleague of mine has.

Richard

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

A great software and the way to go

PROS

The code is freely available, it has beautiful user interface and can be easy to use with some orientation.

CONS

There lacks adequate videos and animations to guide users on configuration and customization of the software.

Rodney

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Fully functional open-source EMR

PROS

Many people commented that the PROs is that it is free. I agree but only second to the fact that it is very customizable beyond most EMRs on the market. Some knowledge of set up and maintenance is necessary but I find our customer service rep and his crew to be very responsive and knowledgeable.

CONS

Only real con is the need for either knowledge or IT support. As mentioned above, working with a team of openEMR experts makes this part much easier.

Wesley

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Need some improvement

OpenEMR is generally an excellent EMR.

PROS

Generally it is a good EMR compared to others.

CONS

The barcode pop up should include customized patient details like the OpenClinic GA which generates an opd card with patient details. Also, the "in house" option in dispensing module should be removed to make the dispensing module easy. If you forget to select a drug from the "in house" drop down, then the system will give an "Internal error, no drug ID specified!" error. Please remove the "in house" option.

Seth

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Great Cloud Based System with Great Support Staff

PROS

Great product and easy to use. Cloud based. Loved the support staff. Enjoyed the customization. Enjoyed the billing team.

Rosemary

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

OPEN EMR

PROS

THIS OPEN EMR SYSTEM IS GREAT! WE CAN SEE THE PATIENTS MEDICAL HISTORY AT A GLANCE AND IT IS A USER FRIENDLY SOFTWARE!

CONS

I DO NOT HAVE MUCH TO SAY ON A NEGATIVE NOTE... THE SYSTEM DID FREEZE UP ONCE IN A WHILE BUT AS FAR AS ANYTHING ELSE, IT WORKED GREAT!

Sergey

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2016

OpenEMR Best Features.

C Open EMR have experience for more than 1.5 years. This EMR was very simple, fade understandable The main advantages: - Set up new and existing patients with demographics - Scheduling calendar - Bill patients - Make notes - Upload charts and x-rays - Keep track of conditions and prescriptions - Work with multiple doctors - Work with multiple facilities - Demographics - Insurance tracking - E-prescribing and much more! Best Features: - Details EMR Data: Demographics, Clinical - eRx - Code Diagonjstics: ICD9, ICD10 - Details Reports - Billing - Import/Export: CCD/CCR - Compliant HIPPA - ONC Sertification

PROS

Simplicity. Convenience. Openness. The calendar.

CONS

Open Source. Calendar Appointemts. Vitals.

Crissa

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

EMR Review

PROS

The program is easy to use and navigate. Check in of patients is quick and easy to do. Easy to document notes.

CONS

There are some issues when trying to verify insurance which can delay a patient's check in. Overall, easily resolved.

Carole

Medical Practice

Used less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2016

The Good and the Bad

PROS

Software's strength is in the medical record. Medical records are detailed and organized.

CONS

Vendor is weak in account management, such as insurance follow up, posting payments and adjustments to correct dates of service. Not much reviewing and reporting outliers such as underpaymentsand producing Receivables aging reports,

Hussien

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

openemer to manage rentals log and tracking

It is intuitive and robust. I am amazed at the access control and sharing functionalities that are built into it.

PROS

It is to configure by creating forms from scratch or modifying already present out of the box.

CONS

manage log and tracking of rental items such as scooters and wheelchairs is not easy, the product does not have any pre-configured features.

Robert

Financial Services

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY