All TherapyAppointment Reviews

1-25 of 105 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Small Therapy Office

It makes my life 10 times easier! But we still need clients to fill out information on paper because they have a difficult time setting up and using their accounts properly.

PROS

I'm the billing assistant in the office. My favorite part is that it makes billing insurance companies so much easier and faster. It also tells me when I'm missing information in a client's file.

CONS

One of the features allows clients to create their own accounts in the system. Their system is so different from the one I use. It's difficult for them to access it without explicit instructions every time. It's not user friendly for ages 40+ from what I've found. It's also a pain to re-bill under a different CPT code if it's already been submitted once before under a different specific code.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad TherapyAppointment makes your life easier! We are always working to make our software better, so appreciate your feedback on the patient portal and billing CPT codes. The patient portal in V2.0, our next upgrade, was built with user-friendliness in mind and we think you'll love it! Also, our team of billing experts is happy to take a look at this billing issue as well -- please give us a call and we'll see what we can do to help!

Replied November 2018

Kristina

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

By Practitioners, For Practitioners

Overall, TherapyAppointment has been an integral part of starting and maintaining my private practice. The ease with which I am able to access TherapyAppointment across devices helps me manage time and productivity. The comfort in knowing I will receive personalized support allows me to work through issues without stress. The billing process through TherapyAppointment has been one of the most painless processes I've ever encountered while working in mental health. I would highly recommend this program to colleagues in similar practice situations as me.

PROS

This program is wonderfully built to support my therapy practice needs. I can easily enter and access client information, upload documents, schedule, check billing and contact customer service. There are multiple helpful videos for initial set up and customer service personally walked me through step-by-step directions when I still did not understand some initial start-up procedures. Adjusting billing documents before submitting helps eliminate returned or rejected claims.

CONS

My only struggles have been around issues with adjusting or deleting scheduled appointments without a cancellation and recreating therapy notes but those can be adjusted by utilizing forms.

Reason for choosing TherapyAppointment

More colleagues had positive things to say about TherapyAppointment than Simple Practice and I like the set-up for TherapyAppointment better than the layout of Simple Practice.

Amy

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2017

Expect Outages

I am in the process of switching over to a different system.

PROS

Easy to use, you can make some very basic templates if you want. No significant training needed to get started Low cost

CONS

Frequent outages Poor customer service - I asked for a partial credit due to significant outages and was arrogantly told that the electric company does not issue credits, and the most they would do would be to remove the outage time from the last bill when I decided to leave their system. They have promised an update for a while now, and still no ETA. Templates are very basic, you can only make a template with text, no check boxes, etc.

Vendor Response

We have continued to test the software changes made in response to the recent service outages. and are convinced that the problem caused by by our new password encryption system using too many resources and crashing the system has been resolved. We also have a compensation policy that you will likely not find from most software companies. Here is our policy: we consider any service outage that lasts for more than one hour to have a significant impact on the utility of our system. For this reason, we consider any day with outages totaling more than 60 minutes to be a "lost day of service" for which compensation is appropriate. We count four such days in the last month; therefore, we will be giving credit for four days of service. This is consistent with the End User License Agreement that you accepted as a precondition for use of our system. We understand that you may rely upon TherapyAppointment as a locus of organization of your practice, and recognize that a system outage can disrupt the operations of your practice. We will continue to strive for consistent service delivery; we believe that the recent problems are resolved.

Replied June 2017

Gwen

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

What I Love About Therapy Appointment

My experience has been positive. We like the software for all it offers us and how efficient it is.

PROS

The accounting, the overall record keeping, the ease of use.

CONS

After a year I still do not have invoices with my letterhead and we cannot submit secondary claims electronically. Also, there is no phone app for my therapists.

Reason for choosing TherapyAppointment

Mostly because of the great customer care. I felt supported through the entire on boarding process. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was clear and concise about what the product could offer. Also, it was amazing to me how for so many years the legacy software had little to no complaints - it was serving clients well.

Reasons for switching to TherapyAppointment

We wanted to bring all of our claims, billing and credentialing in house - Kareo was not affordable for us to do this.

Julie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

A decent EHR option for mental health therapists

I have really appreciated the responsiveness of the support team. I send in my question/request and hear back, typically that day or within 24hrs, with it answered/completed. Despite the things I get frustrated about with the system, I feel like the people behind this system are doing what they can and like I have a HIPAA team behind me, watching my back.

PROS

I've used this for years and appreciate the ease of storage, billing, and reassurance that the note formats keep me HIPAA compliant. It is best suited to an individual provider, although it can scale to small groups of providers.

CONS

It does not integrate well/function well for groups of diverse providers, such as group practices that include prescribers and other medical providers. It is limited in its ability to run useful reports. It suffers from significant glitches (like, reversing a payment you distributed in error reverses ALL of them for the client, not just the one you made the error in. This requires you to redistribute everything, which takes a lot of time, especially if you've seen a client for a long time). The statements it creates for clients are very confusing for them to read and understand. It does not facilitate a paperless office - no ability to exchange/complete all intake forms/questionnaires electronically - can send out but forms must be printed out by the client, filled in and signed by hand, brought in to the appointment (or uploaded by client and emailed back to office), scanned to computer by therapist and then uploaded to client's chart; no ability for electronic signatures, etc. There's a rumor that this bit about the paperless office has been corrected in the new version - fingers crossed!!

Vendor Response

Hi Julie, Thanks so much for sharing and being part of the TherapyAppointment Family. We appreciate that you've been part of our family for years, and are grateful for your honest feedback so that we can continue to grow! We're excited for you to get started in TA2.0 -- it has more adaptability for groups than our legacy product, and will address most of your concerns. For example, your office will be able to switch to a completely paperless practice with the addition of esignatures, customizable forms, attachments in messages. Feel free to uncross your fingers --it's here! :) We do hope that you'll continue to share your thoughts on how we can change for the better: TA2.0 is built to continually grow so that we'll never stop improving! Thanks again for being part of our family, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied December 2018

Tricia

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Pleased with this system

Overall I am pleased with TherapyAppointment. It meets my needs and the improvements that need to be made are not deal breakers for me. I find it affordable for my solo practice and it has enough features to keep my running my practice smoothly each day.

PROS

Customer support is efficient and prompt. I was concerned that getting support via email would be cumbersome or untimely but they respond promptly and thoroughly. I contacted my rep with billing questions and had a 30-minute demo with her over the phone which was extremely helpful. She is a therapist as well so she knew first-hand what my needs were. It offers both email and text/voice reminders which is included in the monthly price. It securely stores credit/debit cards for easy payment. My biller has not problem logging in and doing her work remotely from her office which is in a different city. They are available for her as well when she needs customer support.

CONS

You can't hover over an appointment time to see an "alert" you have written such as "husband joining session today"...you have to open the appointment which just takes extra time. The patient portal is too difficult for patients to navigate through so the idea of having them self-register is out the window for me. It doesn't have required fields so they can create an account, fill out a few things which is typically their email, phone number and then they log out. When they complete that you get an email stating a new patient has registered but in reality they have much uncompleted information so you have to contact them anyway to complete their registration. It defeats the purpose. That was a big disappointment to me. I did email support about this and they said they would alert their design team.

Malarie

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

Great for small practice or one provider.

This system is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. It serves its purpose, but if you are looking for something with bells and whistles, this may not be for you. Want something simple that makes scheduling easy? Then you may have found the perfect system for you.

PROS

The scheduling function is really easy. Integrated credit card processing allows for easy check in and payment, right from the schedule. It is easy to use, and the minimal functionality keeps the system from getting overwhelming. It is completely cloud based for easy access from any device with internet access. I haven't used customer support much, but when I have, the response time was almost immediate and all my questions were answered.

CONS

Functionality is limited. There is no ability to create invoices from the system, so we have to use an external system for billing. It is very manual. If you don't do much external billing, or if you can submit insurance claims completely electronically, or you are completely private pay, this system would be perfect. Another con is that when you add a new patient, that patient must be added under a single provider, not under the practice. If one patient sees multiple providers, that patient will end up with multiple records and multiple accounts. It can get quite confusing for note taking, payments, and data updating. If they change their address, you have to update a bunch of records, not just one!

Kaitlyn

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Good program but still missing a few things

PROS

I think the updated TA is great and there are a lot of new great features. I like the ability to do more online forms and the ease of use has increased.

CONS

There are still some limitations. I feel the software is most conducive to seeing individual adults clients. For a counselor who sees children it is not as ideal. There is not a way to list multiple address or phone numbers for different parents if they are divorced for example.

Vendor Response

Hi Kaitlyn, This is helpful information and we really appreciate the honest feedback. So happy that you think the new software is great! Your perspective as a children's' counselor is invaluable, and we believe many of your concerns are addressed in the final version of TA2.0. But as you train on it, we hope that you'll let us know how we can continue to grow to better serve your practice! We do thank you for being part of our family, and we are glad that you took the time to share how we can improve! Best wishes, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied December 2018

Annette

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

TherapyAppointment review from Dr. Savitz-Smith's office

Overall, our experience with TherapyAppointment has been positive. Support team is always helpful and informative.

PROS

It is easy to perform all of the functions and it is easy to read/view.

CONS

It would be helpful if there was a way to split billing as well as save more than one credit card on file as we often have more than one party paying for service (e.g. separated parents splitting the cost for child's therapy).

Vendor Response

Hi Annette, Thank you for sharing your experience and being part of the TherapyAppointment family! We are glad your experience has been positive-- our Support team strives to help you with your every need! And thank you for your feedback; our new software will be able to store and remember a card! We're continually working to ensure our new billing features are more streamlined, so we always appreciate our community's feedback on how we can improve! Thanks again for being part of the TherapyAppointment family! Best, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied November 2018

Lisa

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Therapy Appointment

Very positive. Good customer support and good value for the dollar.

PROS

Very easy to use. Submits claims and stores record electronically. Offered appointment reminders to clients.

CONS

The statements portion is cumbersome and could use revamping.

Vendor Response

Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad that our software has helped you manage your practice and you've found it to be a good value. We're grateful to have you as a member of the TherapyAppointment family! Your insights on the statements portion of our software are helpful, and we've spent a considerable amount of time revamping billing, even between the beta and TA2.0! We expect you'll find it as streamlined as the rest of our new software -- but please continue to let us know how we can improve! Thanks again for your thoughtful review and for being part of our community! We really appreciate your insight as we seek to continually grow and improve. Best Wishes, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied December 2018

Melissa

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2017

I wish I hadn't ended up using this in the long run.

Honestly, I have sincerely avoided writing bad reviews, because I know the effect it can have on a business, and I am a positive person, trying to hang in there. However, I want to save somebody the headache that I am now dealing with. I would love to find a resolution. I have been holding on to the thought that Therapy Appointment will get better or at least make it right, but I'm a therapist. Out of anyone, I should be realistic and convince myself to lose all of my hard work and move on to another system. I am looking now, so if anybody can contact me with suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.

PROS

At first, there is a slight learning curve. Scheduling and billing was nice. sometimes reminder texts didn't go out. they called it a "glitch" and say that it's a service free of charge and the contract states that they're not responsible if something goes wrong with it. needless to say, many of my clients have come to rely on it, so on those days, I have quite a few no shows.

CONS

Have to have a separate clearing house, and they still don't have electronic paperwork. The website goes down almost once a week. I can't see my schedule, can't write notes, can't schedule new clients, my clients can't log on. Their solution has been to refund the few dollars from that day. The loss to my business is nowhere equivalent to what they "make-up" in a measly small refund of a few bucks. I have e-mailed and called on multiple occasions about this, but they have all the control and obviously don't care about losing my business.

Karen

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Great for Solo or Group Practice

TherapyAppointment really does help streamline notes and insurance claims/billing. I get to spend more time being productive seeing people, then pushing paperwork!

PROS

I've used this since opening my private practice- as a solo practitioner and now we have expanded into 5 therapist group practice. Love the quick response from customer support. I like the various options on how to write a note. Free admin accounts a bonus. The capability for ERA and automatic posting is great.

CONS

I don't like that we, as a therapist, cannot make appointments for the other therapists and have to have the admin account to do this. I believe with the new update this will be addressed.

Vendor Response

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for being part of the TherapyAppointment family! We are so happy to hear we've helped your practice streamline it's processes and been a part of it's growth! We do think you'll love TA2.0, and are looking forward to hearing the feedback from your growing practice. You're right -- customizable administrative controls have been expanded so that you have much more flexibility. Thank you again for your review and being part of our community! We hope that you love our new software and, together, we can continue to grow your practice! Best wishes, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied December 2018

Pam

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Our company uses this and I love it.

PROS

It's super easy to navigate, with internal communication and I can access all of our providers, no matter what state they are in, with just the click of the mouse.

CONS

I haven't figured out how to delete an Insurance Co. LOL. I wish a refund, of any amount, was possible to make. If a patient over pays it has to be left as a credit or refund the entire amount.

Vendor Response

Hi Pam, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you are part of our community and that our cloud-based software has made managing a dispersed practice a breeze. Sorry for the delay on this response, but please do feel free to give our Support Desk a call at 1(800) 242-2127 whenever you have questions. We can help anytime you have concerns like this! We've also created a pretty large library of help topics here: https://therapyappointment.desk.com/ Please let us know if we can help with anything! Thanks for being a valued TherapyAppointment customer!

Replied September 2018

LISA

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Follows the work flow of a psychotherapist, saving time and making it easy to complete notes and send claims.

It may not look as pretty as competitors (but an upgrade is in the works), but it is priced for non MD budgets, works consistently effectively and is great value for the time and financial investment required. I love being free of paper.

PROS

Easy, cost effective, and clients LOVE the online scheduling, appointment reminders and email bills. It follows work flow so I don't waste time clicking from window to window. Customer service has been quick, responsive and effective every time over the last 5 years.

CONS

No to do list on the margin of all screens, would like a list of important history as a margin in patient prog notes, would like to send/receive/autoscore assessment tools, would like printing of notes to be an easier process.

Doug

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Amazing ReDesign

PROS

The layouts are thoughtful and intuitive, and easy to see the information on the page. It responds quickly, and is a very modern refresh of the old design.

CONS

The site still needs to be made more robust in ways to navigate and offer data delivery options.

Vendor Response

Hi Doug, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are ecstatic to hear that you love TA2.0 and our extensive update! We've worked hard to make it responsive, intuitive, and modern, and appreciate that our efforts accomplished their goal. We hope you'll continue to share your thoughts and feedback as we roll out the training software and TA2.0. We are honored to have you as part of the TherapyAppointment family. : ) Best wishes, The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied December 2018

Lindsey

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

Looking for a new software

My office of colleague are sadly looking elsewhere for our EMR.

PROS

user friendly and customer service is very helpful and kind. Love the 24 hour text message reminders to my clients.

CONS

The site is "out of service" often and refunds are not offered. I would not be concerned for a refund if this was not a regular occurrence, but unfortunately this is becoming a familiar pattern. My other concern is I have two different office locations and the software does not allow myself or clients to distinguish between the two offices when signing up for sessions.

Theresa

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Helpful program

Having a "one stop shop" kind of experience has been great. Easy access to electronic files that meet HIPPA standards and privacy, documents can be uploaded, created. Reminders for completing documentation and then being able to send billing to insurance companies with the push of a button.

PROS

I like the ease of scheduling. It is great to have the "dashboard" to keep track of who you still need to chart on and when completed charting is ready to submit for billing. It's nice to have that taken care of with the program submitting to insurance companies.

CONS

I do not like the difficulty in syncing my schedule to my phone. It can be done, but there are a couple of steps to it, and if you make any changes, you have to re-sync. I would much prefer an automatic sync to my phone .

Vendor Response

Hi Theresa! Thanks so much for your review! We're so happy you've joined our community of mental health pros. :D It's wonderful to hear that we've helped you streamline managing your practice with our "one stop shop" solution! Regarding your schedule syncing, this is something we can absolutely help you out with. I'll ask Remy from Tech Support to reach out to you directly with a little more information on a calendar syncing feature we added a few weeks ago that should make it so much easier! Thanks so much,

Replied April 2019

Paul

Mental Health Care

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING: