All Waystar Reviews

1-25 of 199 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Carmen

10,001+ employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed December 2021

Waystar After a Year...

Mike

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Waystar (Formerly Zirmed)

Before we got Waystar (Zirmed), we would either submit the claims on paper (which is hard to track) or through the payers provider portal. We would need to maintain a dozen or so username and password for various websites. You would need to sign up for a lot of websites. With Waystar, all you need is one username and password. You can electronically submit claims to various payers with one click. Waystar will scrub the claim to see if there are any front end rejections. If the payer rejects the claim, you can correct it within Waystar without having to go back to the EMR and correct it. You can track your claims within Waystar. You can download an excel spreadsheet with the information you need.

PROS

You have the ability to correct claims that get rejected by the insurance company. Waystar will scrub your claims even before they sent it off you the insurance company. The layout is very user-friendly and straight forward. If the Payer allows it, remittance advice can be downloaded and uploaded to the EHR software. Claims can be copied if you have to enter them manually. YOu don't need to reenter the whole patient information over and over again.

CONS

You'll need to call in order to add a child account. The claims status should be updated if the claim has been paid. Right now, the last status you'll get us if the claim is recieved by the Payer.

Brenda

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Great product for a great value

We started with Zirmed and transitioned to Waystar. It was flawless. It's easy to use. The value is excellent. They have a huge list of insurances OR you can have them send a paper claim. We were working with an older (outdated, frankly) practice management software and Waystar worked with us so we could still upload claims. Editing rejected claims is very easy. There are also Premium products you can buy if you would like to streamline your RCM such as code look up and insurance verification.

PROS

It is very user friendly. Their customer service has always been very responsive.

CONS

Medicare Secondary billing is clumsy. (Not a Con but) there are several features we don't need/use. They clutter up the dashboard.

Reason for choosing Waystar

I was pleased by the price, the functionality it offered, and the sales/tech people were wonderful and weren't pushy.

Reasons for switching to Waystar

We weren't unhappy with Proxymed but we felt it wasn't outstanding. I'd heard great reviews about Zirmed from several colleagues. I looked into it. We ended up paying less than Proxymed and there were more features with Zirmed (this was 10+ years ago).

Tina

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Too Many Hidden Fees

I canceled my contract with them, and they would not allow me to cancel and I had to ride it out until the end and pay all their hidden fees. This is ridiculous and a mistake signing up with them. Our payment processing with them got very expensive because they did not have a chip reader for the credit card transactions. They have a magnetic stripe credit card swipe that you can buy for $99 that doesn't work 90% of the time, so we ended having to manually key in each transaction which causes the processing fees to be much higher and on top of that we had to pay them a monthly fee to use their product. I ended up switching to a different credit card processing company that gave a rate that is 15% less than their processing rate, they don't charge a monthly fee, they don't have a contract, and they don't have any hidden fees. So having to ride out this contract and using the new company to process my credit card transactions will save me more money than if I use them until the end of my contract. Lesson learned.

PROS

The payments for the patients were listed and you can access it anytime to verify payments.

CONS

All the hidden fees and it got expensive with them not having a chip reader for the credit card transactions. They have a magnetic stripe credit card swipe that you can buy for $99 that doesn't work 90% of the time, so we ended having to manually key in each transaction which causes the processing fees to be much higher and on top of that we had to pay them a monthly fee to use their product.

Jenny

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Great customer service and sales team.

efficient claims processing, denials management, great reports with comparrisons to others in the same industry.

PROS

Their customer service lives up to the 3 ring rule. Customer service are very pleasant and helpful on the phone. If your question is beyond that department they listen to all of your questions or concerns and directly transfer you to the right person/department to help with your needs. I am been very happy with their live training. The videos for additional tools and training are very specific you are able to accomplish what you need to learn. I have found the sales team to be very accommodating when renewing products. I have found their fees for the credit card /Payleap to be the best prices out there.

CONS

Not able to interface payments directly in to our EMR software. I know they have plans to eventually make this happen. I am hoping it will be soon.

Brittany

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

6 Years of Use-Happy Customer

We were a fairly small practice when we started with Navicure (8 physicians) and grew to almost 30 providers. Navicure worked great even as we grew.

PROS

The messaging system you can use for issues/questions is usually responded to pretty quickly, reps are nice via telephone also. Easy system, user friendly. Didn't require much training. it gives you the option to correct claims directly in Navicure, or cancel and resend from your billing system. Printable reports when needed, easy sorting.

CONS

There aren't really any I recall, but it would have been very nice to have two way communication (meaning the changes made in Navicure would be sent back to the billing system). For this reason we chose to cancel the claims and correct them in the billing system to avoid the possibility of forgetting to update in the billing system after it was done in Navicure.

Dorota

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great resource

Overall Waystar has been invaluable to our company. It's a one stop shop for us for claims and payments.

PROS

This product is contracted with most insurance companies to submit Professional or Institutional claims all in one place. And, it also provides electronic remittances. Product is very easy to use and customer service is always there to help. We only use the product for claims submissions, remittances and patient billing. We don't use it for eligibility checks.

CONS

I don't like that we sometimes have to wait months for customer service to come up with a resolution for any claims issues we have. And, sometimes it takes weeks for a customer service representative to work on our cases. We also wished to would give us more details on patient eligibility, but they don't and so we don't use it for that.

Reasons for switching to Waystar

New vendor program

Angela

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Waystar works

very happy with this program - I am not the daily user of it, but our coder and biller likes it.

PROS

is an accurate program that integrates with our very difficult operating system, allowing easy claims processing, monitoring and corrections or resubmissions as needed

CONS

Overall we are very pleased with Waystar - it is cost effective and works well with our billing program Allscripts, the only negative per say is that not all payors are included so a second system for insurance verification is needed at times or for claims submissions.

User Profile

Mai

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Poor customer support

We switched our EMR system and when asked to port our account no one seems to have any quick resolution. We are going on the second month unable to bill and access our account. Customer service will promise to call and don't. And when you answer their questions of preference to your account nothing is done until you call again. And no one can help you except for the first person that started the case. And it's a complete run around of no one being able to communicate. They instruct you to do something and then another person says you can't do it. Then tells you they need sales to call you back to get it set up and no one calls. Just a simple answer of how much and what is needed to port your account will be like building a house from scratch! Maybe they've gotten too big that they've hired techs and customer service that are not trained in their own product.

PROS

comprehensive payer list and easy function

CONS

extremely poor and slow customer service.

Elana

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Great Product

Waystar has helped to bundle processes into one solution. Ins verification, Claims, and patient statements are all in one system.

PROS

I like the ease of use. Offers several different functions for the providers office that allows us to streamline processes.

CONS

Every time I log in to the system, I have to agree to terms of use. There should be an option to agree to this in the beginning and not have to do every time.

Ashley

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Clearinghouse used for Hospice & HomeHealth billing for 6 years

I don't have as much daily use of the software as I used to; but I would recommend it.

PROS

I've used Waystar just about 6 years (since it was Zirmed). Navigation of the software is pretty cut & dry. I was billing only hospice Medicare when I was introduced to this product, but started home health billing as well as private insurance payers as well. I prefer the original format of the rejected claims page, but understand the need for more search parameters. Maybe that makes me "old school". When our office was setting up new information in the software, support was always available and very helpful. I'm not sure how often this happens, but I even had the direct cell phone line of the gentleman helping get us up and running. He never complained once about our calls.

CONS

The update to the rejected claims dashboard a couple of years ago. I've gotten used to it but still think the original functionality was better. I used the "show me the original format" button until the day they required all users to update.

Sheila

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best Software for Medicare Billing for Home Health

Overall, Waystar is an excellent tool for Medicare and non Medicare Billing, user friendly and very dynamic. It helps billers stay organized and on top of timely filing issues.

PROS

what I like most about this software is their ability to manually entering claims daily. While other clearing houses take 48 to 72 hours to process claims, Waystar does so daily and within a few minutes. This feature assures the user that their claims will be billed in a time sensitive way. It is simple to use to run insurance verification, making the software useful not only to the billers, but also to other departments like Intake, and Authorizations. It has a lot of options to run Revenue Cycle reports, and it has improved our collections tremendously.

CONS

The only negative aspect that I see is that lately their customer support is lacking resources. A few months ago, we were able to get someone to help over the phone after a few minutes of hold, and lately, their call hold time exceeds 45 minutes to an hour sometimes. Their customer service through email option, even though is very efficient, it takes a couple of days to receive an answer back, and some issues need to be resolved faster than that.

Reasons for switching to Waystar

Financial purposes

Gina

Medical Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Waystar Customer Service / Value for the money

PROS

You have the ability to correct claims that reject by the insurance company. Waystar also provides "scrubbing" for the electronic claims and sends back "Waystar level rejections" so that edits can be made before claims transmit to the payer source. The layout is very user-friendly and straightforward.

CONS

Customer service is very poor. There is a failure to fix problems in a timely manner. Each customer service team (claims solution, remit solution, patient statements, credit cards, client billing, etc.) clearly lacks the initiative to set a higher standard of customer service which allows critical issues and problems to go unresolved for unreasonable lengths of time.

Reasons for switching to Waystar

Upon recommendation from another company.

Carmen

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Software Review

We have used other platforms in the past; we made the switch to eSolutions and since then we have not entertained the possibility of any other platform. We appreciate our account and customer service representatives for providing the support we need, when we need it!

PROS

The interface is functional and easy to use; real-time responses and updates readily available within several of the modules within the Enterprise Package.

CONS

A fluid flow of information from one module to another seems to be lacking; for example ClaimRemedi/Polaris doesn't integrate with File Transfer Service. These two modules should be merged. Claims should be submitted from one module for any payer and remittances should be accessible in one module as well.

Trace

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Good but Problems

If it wasn't for the claims processing delays, I would say that Waystar is wonderful. Everything else about it is very good.

PROS

Waystar has a nice interface and is fairly user friendly. Many features makes claim processing quite efficient, and is very easy to use. Claim scrubbing is good.

CONS

Claims processing delays are way too frequent. Especially during the first part of the month when many are billing. But these delays can and do happen all through the month. When I say processing delays, I mean it may take 30 or more minutes to process one claim! I process a high volume of claims, and these delays really make me less efficient in my job.

Todd

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

BEWARE of WAYSTAR and their Poor Customer Serivce

The customer service is tier biggest flaw in my opinion. They do not call customers back. Any accounting or credit issues did not get resolved based on my experience. They are truly in for the all mightly dollar and lock you in to long termination agreements.

PROS

There wasn't much I did like. The company I was using was purchased by waystar. Once waystar took over, quality went way down.

CONS

The features provided by the clearing house they acquired did not function as they did before and the ones that did performed at a lessor accuracy.

Portia

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Very user friendly.

Navicure sends all of our practice's electronic and paper claims quickly which gets us our payments faster.

PROS

The software is very user friendly. I like how it catches edits that I've missed and alerts me prior to sending the claim. Customer service reps are always friendly, helpful and quick.

CONS

The only thing I can think of right now is that you're not able to transfer incorrectly scanned items in the Patient Documents Administrative area. We would have to delete it and rescan it. Other than that everything's great.

Victoria

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Best product I have used in 25 years of Healthcare Admin

Easy to track and send claims. Easy to stay current on rejected claims. Easy to fix and resubmit corrected claims. Easy to review remits.

PROS

Intuitive functionality. Great customer service. Claim history that is readable & accessible. Claims correction on site.

CONS

I wish that there was a "Print" function for printing claims history that was easier than the current set up. We often need to appeal timely filing denials. I know HOW to make the data print, but it would be easier if I could just hit a print button.

Penny

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE