All Action1 Reviews

1-25 of 96 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Christo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

I cannot believe this is free!

Simply Superb!

PROS

Besides the fact that the features I use is free, the easy deployment and setup is simply mind boggling, to be free. Usually free things are not very user friendly, but boy am I wrong with Action1. Simply superb!

CONS

None that I can find to mention here, especially after I'm getting it for free...

Reason for choosing Action1

Price, Ease of Use, Integration and Deployment was Childs play

Reasons for switching to Action1

Pricing, and ease of use

Darren

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Action 1 Simple Efficient and Easy to use

Faster more efficient means of accessing clients machines for support.

PROS

It is very simple to setup and deploy. The remote connections are hassle free and need no client interaction which is more efficient whilst still remaining secure. The patching is easy to control and gives the ability to ensure all clients are fully patched. We can even choose when and how they are deployed.

CONS

Monitoring could be better with easier access to the logs. This way you can see things like bad blocks or memory errors.

Reason for choosing Action1

Support and cost seemed to fit our needs.

Reasons for switching to Action1

Cost was no longer suiting our business needs and no ability to remove licenses. If a client moved away you were stuck with the license cost until a new client is brought on board.

User Profile

Issac

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

A centralised IT management platform with automated maintenance functionality

Easy to use .Supports quicker maintainence of remote system compared to traditional methods while using action1 rmm

PROS

Easy to use for endpoint management Supports schedule based automated maintenance of servers and connected workstation Very effective in remote desktop and unattended access.

CONS

Ui looks a bit outdated and requires a ramp up Connection is found to break at times reducing overall reliability

Vendor Response

Hi Issac, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback with us. We're grateful for your honest feedback and we're glad you feel we're on the right track. We are sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your connection. Please, contact support@action1.com, and they will be happy to assist you. We also appreciate you've brought some issues re. Ui to our attention. We are constantly improving our product, including enhancing Ui. Some particular Ui improvements will come with the next product release.

Replied July 2021

Christian

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

A Platform that works great and a compony that cares.

I can't say enough good things about Action1. I leave two things here: 1.) 100 Free endpoints forever - no card required. This is great for smaller internal IT departments. They won't even let you make a donation towards the development. They are great people with a heart for service. 2.) They listen to their customer (whether they are paying or not). The roadmap is wonderful and allows customers to upvote feature requests and comment on what they would like to see.

PROS

- Roadmap: Action1 provides a public roadmap and allows users to upvote feature requests. The best part is... they listen to their users and are constantly involving. - Software Deployment: Action1 makes software deployment quick and easy. They have a Software repository with dozens of programs that are always up to date. You can also easily add your own software with all the parameters and scripting needed! - Easy Turn up: You can deploy endpoints quickly! - User interface - Automate deployment and patching - Reports: Built-in and custom - Scripting: Built-in and custom

CONS

- Need CLI Interface - On the roadmap - Need better remote desktop option - On the roadmap

Jerad

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Action1 Review after about a year of use.

We used to be a much larger MSP managing 200+ clients operating with a staff of 9 techs. Since COVID, we've all but closed down and were paying other RMM tools a small fortune to simply rdp to their systems to help an end user figure out why their printer wasn't working. Action1 has saved us an incredible amount of time and money by providing a fantastic RDP / Remote monitoring suite.

PROS

Action1's price for a smaller operation is 100% the reason we even considered it. We manage approximately 60 devices and their "free" use for up to 100 endpoints was critical in helping us switch over. Their deployment is a breeze; the organization of endpoints for the different companies we manage seems logical and straight forward. I don't recall ever doing a mass deployment to a particular company "group". After installing the endpoint manager, it's easy enough for us anyway to assign them to the group we want in the dashboard, but your miles may vary. Once you group your devices into a group, the overview is incredibly helpful. You can see the name of the system(and rename the hostname if you need too for better organization), add some custom notes, see who's currently logged into the machine, if its online or not, if a reboot is suggested, what OS the system is running and if the system is missing any updates. All at a glance. You can push scripts, connect via RDP with a click of a button, reboot the system and more. Incredibly intuitive interface that 100% meets all of our needs. I'm 100% confident we don't even use a fraction of what this software is capable of, but of the parts we do use, it's become critical for us and how we operate.

CONS

Currently, as we're a very small MSP, there's nothing I ever sat down and needed Action1 to do that it doesn't already do that we maybe don't have a work around for, so it's not a huge issue for us. The only thing that comes to mind is file transferring? I'm not aware of the ability to transfer a file from my system to the remote endpoint. If there is, I apologize. We have a SFTP site I just log into and drop the data from, so it's not that big of a deal. The clipboard works so if I have to copy and paste a password for instance, that works, which is 99% of all we need to do "transferring" anything.

Reasons for switching to Action1

Cost. Atera was starting to get to be around a few hundred dollars and we don't really operate what most would consider a "MSP" anymore. It's all mostly break fix now so we don't have any clients paying us a monthly subscription fee to offset the cost of remote access. Because we're now mostly just break / fix but still having a way to remotely access a client's devices still saves everyone involved a lot of time and frustration just being able to quickly remediate a problem when they call and we can just invoice after confirming the problem resolved and everyone goes on about their day; happy as can be. With their "Free to 100 endpoints", it really helps smaller outfits like us still provide a professional appearance like the big guys, while keeping costs down on the backend.

Michael

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Great Service to MSP

PROS

As a sideline MSP, it is great that there are 100 free endpoints to get me going until I can expand my business. It allows me to use high-level tools without the startup cost and expand from there.

CONS

Not really a con, but the remote desktop does need some additional features. It is great for basic remote options but other services definitely offer more.

Reason for choosing Action1

The cost was the determining factor rather than the feature set for me.

Reasons for switching to Action1

As a small sideline MSP, I need a low-cost option while I build my client base.

Joe

Farming, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Patch Management and Software Deployment we can count on!

Action1 has become an indispensable tool in our toolbox. Actually, it is more like a toolbox of tools. We have software deployments, patching, and scripts which set configurations all running automatically. They are continually improving their platform as well and I am optimistic that the product will just keep getting better.

PROS

Action1 automation policies ensures all our systems are patched. Action1 also streamlines our new workstation deployment. We just install Action1 and then all other required apps get deployed by automation policies. Super easy!

CONS

Reboot prompts need improvement. Currently you can notify a user that a reboot will occur at a specified time and they can either reboot now or snooze the message. There should be an option to allow them to cancel the reboot up to a certain number of days.

Reason for choosing Action1

Ease of use and on-demand software deployment

Reasons for switching to Action1

Needed better coverage for off-domain devices and 3rd-party apps.

Tim

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

The best fit for our needs!

I have had nothing but great support from Action1, and the product has helped me with all my remote access needs. As well as windows updates and patch management. For any SMB that is struggling to find an RMM. I would give A1 a serious look.

PROS

Pricing is great for a SMB, with the free version for 100 endpoints, it fit well for us.

CONS

Remote desktop could use a few more features.

Reason for choosing Action1

The price was a hard one to beat, but the functionality is what really led me to utilizing this product.

john

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Action1 RMM

Excellent. Has worked fine for our use from day one.

PROS

IT's simplicity in use and dashboard showing the health of client machines.

CONS

For my purposes. Could use some enhancements in reports and dashboard. 1) A report that shows duration, time and date connected to client machine(s) 2) Add time and date last online (connected) to endpoint screen.

Reason for choosing Action1

It's simplicity in use and pricing was good.

Reasons for switching to Action1

Exorbitant pricing from LogMeIn. Comodo (Itarian) had too many connection issues and it's pricing was high also.

Ken

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Action1 Awesome!

Love the product. It just works. Have been able to deploy software and updates easily.

PROS

The price (Free for up to 100 users). Patch management, vulnerability management.

CONS

Pet peeve. They moved the remote desktop icon from the main bar to the side. I got used to it, but loved it on the main screen previously.

Reason for choosing Action1

Really liked NinjaRMM, but once I saw the features and pricing for Action1 there was no going back.

Dan

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Action1 - For Small or Medium Businesses with limited IT staff you can't go wrong!

PROS

Made my life much easier. Instead of trying to manage Windows Updates, Device Updates, Inventory Management, and Remote Access it 3 or 4 different apps, this put it all in one place.

CONS

Sometimes finding the correct updates in the Update Approval Screen can be a bit tidious

Reasons for switching to Action1

Ease of use. Had all functionality I needed in one package

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, Dan. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Action1 RMM, and we are happy our product helps you succeed. We also appreciate that you've brought some issues to our attention as we are constantly improving our product. Our Customer Success team will reach out to you to better understand your issues with finding the correct updates in the Update Approval Screen. Could you leverage the Search box to find the necessary updates? Thanks again!

Replied October 2021

Doug

Libraries, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Action1 is a one of our best IT resources!

Action1 has been a gamechanger for us in regards to an easy to use product to help us manage our fleet of computers for our small organization within a limited budget as well as limited IT adjacent staffing. Being able to schedule patching, deploy apps and running scripts in the background, as well as being able to real-time troubleshoot across our network via the remote access tools. It has saved hours and hours of staff time as well as being affordable for us in that we can take advantage of the free tier based on our PC count.

PROS

Ease of installation on our machine, the ability to create and manage multiple groups, the easily accessible patch and app management features, as well as remote desktop support. The ability to select patching types and schedule them by individual computers, groups or entire organization is a huge time-saver as well.

CONS

Would like to see additional options added the remote desktop interface to improve the features available within that tool. Would also be great to have more customization within the asset management and reporting tools. Also better support for adding and deploying third-party apps not included already in the library (we have seen some issues with pushing .exe files in particular for installation - MSI files work great!)

Reason for choosing Action1

We chose this over other products as Action1 allowed more machines to be managed on their free tier, by far, than any other RMM we looked at. Also the settings and interface for setup and deployment were much more streamlined and intuitive than some of the other competitor products we examined.

Donatas

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Best tool for little organisation to manage endpints remotelly

Action1 has been a game-changer for me. Not only has it streamlined my patch and update process, but it has also been instrumental in addressing windows-related issues for my users. The ability to troubleshoot without being physically present on-site is a significant time-saver. Moreover, the software's capabilities in handling multiple endpoints simultaneously mean that I can do more in less time, eliminating the tediousness of manual operations.

PROS

I've experimented with various tools, but Action1 stands out. The ease of installing an agent on an endpoint with zero configuration is commendable. With just a link to the end user, I can manage updates and patches (including third-party apps). It offers the flexibility of executing pre-deployed windows scripts or using bespoke ones. One of the standout features, from my perspective, is the ability to swiftly connect to a remote desktop without requiring any additional tools or the hassles of user IDs and passwords.

CONS

While I've had a largely positive experience with the software, I think it falls short in its inability to manage other operating systems. A more holistic solution would integrate management for platforms like Android and iOS tablets.

Reason for choosing Action1

In comparison to other products I've tried, Action1 provided a more intuitive and seamless experience. The sheer convenience of not having to juggle multiple tools – especially when connecting to a remote desktop – made it an obvious choice. The time-saving aspect, especially when managing updates for a multitude of endpoints, cemented my decision to go with Action1.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Solid patch management for an unbeatable price

I've been using Action1 for a little over a year and they've only improved. Their roadmap is solid and they're constantly adding new features. I've yet to run into an issue using it that wasn't caused by my own misconfiguration.

PROS

Action1 has several filters and ways to craft policies for granular rollout of automated patches. It's incredibly easy to set up the policies and apply patches to pilot and production groups. Their third-party application library is also growing at a decent pace, and the ability to enforce automatic patching on those is one of the primary reasons I use Action1.

CONS

My least favorite aspect of Action1 has to be their remote access tooling. It's missing a few features I would consider critical, like direct terminal access and file copy, but it gets the job done if you just need a simple way to access a remote machine.

Ariel

Farming, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Fantastic Tool

For many years I have used Microsoft's wsus tool, but it has not been updated for a long time. when I found this program I fell in love

PROS

It is an easy to use and at the same time very efficient tool.

CONS

There are no things I don't like because it doesn't work well.

Cameron

Media Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Review_A1!

PROS

The price and ease of use is what I liked most.

CONS

I wish the Remote features were faster and it lacks a help desk.

Edgar

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

The best tool for patch management

Extremely ease to manage patches, missing updates and vulnerabilities. Greater visibility of notebooks outside the company without VPN connected The best tool I've had used.

PROS

Best tool I've ever used for patch management and remote installation. Fast and light agent, with ease installation. Wonderful web management interface, quick communication with the machine and now with a list of known vulnerabilities.

CONS

When trying to delete a user profile with Action1 installed, the function is disabled while the Action1 service is active. The speed of remote access can also improve, as there is a delay.

Aaron

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY